• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino gambling fall in here!!!

longlicky

I remember you saying your capital will only last 6 hands per time you go to casino... double up method.

wow, you really must have a heart of steel to bet at the 5th hand!

Hey,

Actually I bullshit the amount I bet lah, Because someone here suggested my bet amount here is not real as the earn point does not tally with the bet amount i mentioned here.

I bet very small one. 50 to start and play only 6 hands max.
Not even a gold card member. My friend sign me in one.

jactoh

Hey,

Actually I bullshit the amount I bet lah, Because someone here suggested my bet amount here is not real as the earn point does not tally with the bet amount i mentioned here.

I bet very small one. 50 to start and play only 6 hands max.
Not even a gold card member. My friend sign me in one.

hahah...ignore the frog in the well...

that person must have never step into a casino...

longlicky

hahah...ignore the frog in the well...

that person must have never step into a casino...

We never know did he/her ever step into our IR before not. So... dont jump to the conclusion lah ok? :smile:

yesterday good day for me. i did push my luck and bet more. Got more than what i asked for. Won and run!

jactoh

We never know did he/her ever step into our IR before not. So... dont jump to the conclusion lah ok? :smile:

yesterday good day for me. i did push my luck and bet more. Got more than what i asked for. Won and run!

Good for you...what's the profit?

longlicky

Good for you...what's the profit?

Hahaha. Is the amount so important? Winning is the best and I want to achieve a better winning ratio.

got win, can liao. In case he comes in to point out my "fake".

Anyway, this shall be the last time I mention the amount I win, as I just dnt like to see him coming here to CSI what I post here is other wise.

Won close to SGD10,000.00. Period.

dg1111

Does anyone else plays blackjack in MBS? I can't seem to find any table.

went on friday night / sat morning, they close all the 4 tables in the non smoking area and the smoking areas got many tables closed, dun even have space to squeeze and play with ppl. they are seriously lack in dealers especially at night.

silverfox@

Presently there is a discussion going to increase the $100 day levy & scrap off the annual levy :confused:

What to do you guys think ?

Whoever suggested this is just stupid. Sometimes I just think to make things simple for everyone, why not just ban all Singaporeans?

Put levy prevent them from going, levy cannot prevent, want to increase, aiya why so headache? Just ban it.

We have a contradicting govt with contradicting policy makers. Smoking is bad, so they highlight all the bad things about it and yet do not want to ban it but just increasing its tax to prevent people from smoking.

Eventually they just want more levies into coffers. MCYS ban free buses into neighbourhoods not because they care about how many of these people are being driven for free to casinos. They do this because it hurt the earnings for SBS transit buses. Everyone take free bus, who take SBS bus?

I do this for your good, but in actual fact, its even better for me. :o

aurvandil

By Angela Lim – February 10th, 2011

Members of Parliament (MPs) and industry watchers are concerned that the levies imposed on local visitors to the integrated resort (IR) casinos are not achieving its desired effect.

A whopping S$130 million in levies were collected from both IR casinos between April and November last year alone, The Straits Times reported.

It seems the idea of losing S$100 even before hitting the tables has not deterred a few thousand Singaporean and PR visitors from entering the casino daily, based on the above figure.

Mrs Lim Hwee Hwa, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office and Second Minister for Finance and Transport, said the S$130 million collected is already being recycled back into the community via the Singapore Totaliser Board (Tote Board).

The Tote Board is given all the money collected and hands them out as grants to community projects, Mrs Lim added.

Just last week, Singapore’s two IRs registered more than a million visits combined during the first few days of the Chinese New Year.

Marina Bay Sands (MBS) alone courted some 885,000 visitors — both locals and tourists — who celebrated CNY from 3 to 6 February.

Initially, the Government introduced the S$100 daily levy, or an annual one at S$2,000 to minimise the social impact of the casinos on Singaporeans and permanent residents (PRs).

But four out of seven MPs contacted by The New Paper on Sunday were concerned with the significant revenue collected and said there should be a review of the current levies.

Denise Phua, MP for Jalan Besar GRC, thinks it may be a good idea to increase the daily levy to deter gamblers.

“Maybe we should also think about getting rid of the annual levy,” she said. “This merely encourages more frequent attendance to spread out the levy by the gambler.”

MP for Jurong GRC, Madam Halimah Yacob, added, “The fact that we’re collecting S$130 million means that a lot of Singaporeans are going to the casinos. So the question we need to ask is: Is this a novelty factor?”

The situation requires close monitoring, and if the levies collected still remain high in two or three years’ time, then there would be a need to review it or think of other deterrents, she said.

She added, “But we need to look beyond the levy, there are other measures to educate Singaporeans. We should also make sure the IRs do not target Singaporeans.”

Mr Liang Eng Hwa, MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, feels the levy amount should not be cast in stone.

“We should review it from time to time in light of data related to problem gambling,” he explained.

MP for Aljunied GRC Madam Cynthia Phua said there was a need for more meaningful information, such as how many Singaporeans and PRs are visiting the casinos before reviewing the levy.

“To me, it’s still very early, some of them may visit out of curiosity. We should monitor this trend. So far, the ground impact has not surfaced very seriously,” she said.

Mr Tony Compton, who lectures on casino management at the Boston Business School here, agrees.

He said, “The levy was put there by law to deter those who just want to go to the casino for fun or those who are half-hearted about paying S$100 to go in. Those who want to go in to gamble will not be deterred by a higher entry levy.”

Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry S Iswaran said last December that it was still too early to tell the full extent of the social impact that casinos are having in Singapore.

He added that the Government is monitoring the situation closely and will take additional measures if necessary.

But are there plans to raise the levy amount?

When contacted, the Ministry of Community Development, Youth & Sports (MCYS) declined to comment.

The casino levy, announced in December 2004, was among a basket of “social safeguards” spelt out for investors interested in developing the IRs. It was to serve as a signal that gambling was not a way to make a living.

The then Second Trade and Industry Minister Vivian Balakrishnan explained in Parliament in 2005 that the levy was set at S$100 because it is more than what Singaporeans must fork out to travel to Batam or Genting – the two nearest casino destinations.

“So by pitching it at that level, it allows me to honestly tell you that we are not making gambling more accessible. But let me also say frankly that no amount of levy will deter compulsive gamblers,” he said.

silverfox@

Stupid politicians wasting time again and again debating on this topic on levy. Talk about the harmful effects of smoking and yet smoking is not banned but price increase.
So now they are wasting time on talking about levy where they can use the time on better and more urgent issues on hand.

theblackhole

Stupid politicians wasting time again and again debating on this topic on levy. Talk about the harmful effects of smoking and yet smoking is not banned but price increase.
So now they are wasting time on talking about levy where they can use the time on better and more urgent issues on hand.

they will increase the levy...and increase the revenue....even $200 levy will not deter gamblers .....

i treat the casino like a club....i go there to play games as part of the entertainment...sometimes win sometimes lose...get "free" food, free parking and some offers and goodies....nice place to relax....

i don't join any other clubs where jackpots are also available....

as long as i have discipline ( which i'm trying to cultivate and develop), i will continue to be entertained.....ups and downs lah...

the politicians will have different ideas from us punters and patrons:smile::smile::smile:

cheers bro silverfox, hope you are on a winning streak.....:smile:

Heart Break Kid

Whoever suggested this is just stupid. Sometimes I just think to make things simple for everyone, why not just ban all Singaporeans?

Put levy prevent them from going, levy cannot prevent, want to increase, aiya why so headache? Just ban it.

We have a contradicting govt with contradicting policy makers. Smoking is bad, so they highlight all the bad things about it and yet do not want to ban it but just increasing its tax to prevent people from smoking.

Eventually they just want more levies into coffers. MCYS ban free buses into neighbourhoods not because they care about how many of these people are being driven for free to casinos. They do this because it hurt the earnings for SBS transit buses. Everyone take free bus, who take SBS bus?

I do this for your good, but in actual fact, its even better for me. :o

Casino lovers do not want to see levy to increase further. But again banning all Singaporeans is not an good option either. If foreign tourists failed to come in to Singapore, then Singaporeans casino guests should be very useful :p

aurvandil

Casino lovers do not want to see levy to increase further. But again banning all Singaporeans is not an good option either. If foreign tourists failed to come in to Singapore, then Singaporeans casino guests should be very useful :p

This was a test ballon to see how Singaporeans would react. The lack of reaction from casino lovers means that the PAP can easily implement these changes without any serious political consequences.

Here it should be noted that the key issue is not the $100 levy but rather the $2k annual levy. All the people who have fallen victim to problem gambling have bought the $2k annual levy to gamble multiple times. This is therefore almost certain to be axed.

For the $100 levy, it is highly unlikely that this will be raised to $200 as this seem to be too dracanion a move. Also with removal of the annual $2k levy, such a large increase could cause financial problems for the IRs. My expection is for it to be raised to $120 to $130 with $150 being the max.

theblackhole

.....Here it should be noted that the key issue is not the $100 levy but rather the $2k annual levy. All the people who have fallen victim to problem gambling have bought the $2k annual levy to gamble multiple times. This is therefore almost certain to be axed.

For the $100 levy, it is highly unlikely that this will be raised to $200 as this seem to be too dracanion a move. Also with removal of the annual $2k levy, such a large increase could cause financial problems for the IRs. My expection is for it to be raised to $120 to $130 with $150 being the max.

Once again Bro Aurvandil, you are spot on - me!!! Initially, I paid the levy
( reluctantly but not so often ) and the going was good! I went to the IR once a week and sometimes once in two weeks. I was on a winning streak - small timer. Then I thought why not paid for the levy...only $2K after I had won a small sum - enough to cover the annual levy. And the road to hell began...

I started to go more often.2 to 3 times a week...I even took leave ...and when I was on leave, I went there everyday!!!! After all my levy had been paid!!! It was a roller coaster ride up and down...initially, it was good...won
$2K to $3K quite often. Then the slide began after more "free" trips to the casino...then the pain and losses began to bite. It was no longer fun anymore...I was chasing after the losses...and I dug into my savings....

After reading the Law Of Large Numbers by Bro Aurvandil, I knew I have to reduce my visits to the casino if I want to continue to stay alive!!!

Thank you Bro Aurvandil...you wake me up. Cheers!

jjcc888

Nobody gamble nowadays after losing big money in RWS & MBS :biggrin:

Not true leh ....

I'm STILL gambling despite that ....
guess so long as still have funds can still afford to continue playing until it's no more fun or TOO painful etc etc etc :o :p
Hmmmm .... think got some spare cash from monthly salary as very last resort BUT that means no further savings etc :mad::rolleyes::eek:

BTW my username is now jjcc888 instead of jjcc88 - for some reason just couldn't register under old nick jjcc88 bc of email etc ?????

Robert Half

Not true leh ....

I'm STILL gambling despite that ....
guess so long as still have funds can still afford to continue playing until it's no more fun or TOO painful etc etc etc :o :p
Hmmmm .... think got some spare cash from monthly salary as very last resort BUT that means no further savings etc :mad::rolleyes::eek:

BTW my username is now jjcc888 instead of jjcc88 - for some reason just couldn't register under old nick jjcc88 bc of email etc ?????

Rich people like you can travel around the world casinos and gamble without worry :biggrin:

rofthelper

140311_casino.jpg