• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino gambling fall in here!!!

alvin36

bro silverfox,

do you pay for the anual levy of 2k ?

one question, if you pay 2k anual levy, does it allow you to enter both casino ?

or 2k for each casino ?

Y

Yip Hon

Reuters, 26 Jun 04
Will Singapore bet on a casino? Stakes are high

SINGAPORE: State-run lotteries, casino cruise ships, illegal bookmakers, horse racing and illicit poker dens... Singapore is no stranger to gambling.

But a proposal to build the first fully fledged casino in Southeast Asia’s wealthiest state is dividing public opinion and provoking a groundswell of polite criticism in a nation where decisions are usually sewn up quietly behind closed doors.

Casinos would accelerate efforts to remould Singapore’s $93 billion economy into a services hub as China’s rapid economic growth erodes the city’s traditional manufacturing base and fast-growing cities such as Bangkok vie for tourist dollars.

They would open up a new avenue for tapping the growing affluence of Asian travellers, while plugging revenues lost to illegal gambling dens and countries where casinos are legal such as Cambodia, the Philippines and potentially Thailand.

But critics say Singapore is flirting with a social disaster. Evidence of the sensitivity of the subject: homegrown moviemaker Jack Neo’s latest work “The Best Bet”, which tells the story of three Singaporeans obsessed with the national lottery.

“What I want people to think about is, if you get into big trouble, if you gamble so much, it affects your family, it affects your life entirely,” Neo told Reuters.

Thailand, like Singapore, is also considering legalising casinos, while the Philippines announced this week it was accelerating a $15 billion casino and entertainment project.

Neo, a former gambling addict who wrote and directed the film, once spent S$1,200 ($700) a month for several years on the lottery. Critical but resigned, he reckons a casino is natural for a developed nation already betting heavily in lotteries, on cruise ships and via illegal bookmakers. He expects it will go ahead.

Government delegations have flown to Las Vegas and the Chinese gambling enclave of Macau to study casino models, and a decision is expected around the end of the year.

Financially compelling: The financial case is compelling, analysts say. GK Goh Research estimates betting revenue accounted for nearly 10 percent of Singapore’s overall government taxation in 2003, a figure that would swell if a casino opened. Singaporeans already spend about $180 million a year in neighbouring Malaysia’s casinos, which bar Muslims. About $140 million of Singaporean money is spent in Indonesia’s Batam island casinos and about $400 million is spent on casino cruises.

The Innovation Group, a U.S. consultancy that compiled the data, said “floating casinos” and illegal gambling in Asia were worth about $4.2 billion alone. Some estimates put the value of Asia’s legal gambling industry at about $14 billion.

“From my perspective I don’t see any reason why the government would not want to take that step to open and allow a casino,” said Steven Lim, the executive director of RGB, a Malaysia-based gaming supplier.

The Business Times estimates a casino in Singapore could earn $235-$335 million a year for the operators and create up to 1,000 jobs. Las Vegas Sands Inc, which opened a lavish Vegas-style new casino in Macau in May, has said it is ready to pump in as much as US$2 billion to operate a Singapore casino.

Hong Kong billionaire Stanley Ho’s gambling empire showed interest this week, along with Harrah’s Entertainment Inc, the number two U.S. casino company, and Vienna-based Casinos Austria International Ltd.

The draw is simple: Singapore boasts Southeast Asia’s highest per-capita income, Asia’s sixth-busiest air hub, the world’s third-largest number of city business conventions in 2004 and increasing numbers of affluent Chinese tourists.

Social ills: But public debate simmers over the social consequences and a proposal to restrict local access in the hope of heading off widespread gambling addiction.

Trade Minister George Yeo triggered an angry public response in March when he said: “If you are not of a certain economic class, you should not even think of going there.”

Islamic scholars have condemned the idea, and the Straits Times newspaper has bristled with public criticism. “There are certain businesses we should never get involved in and gambling is definitely one of them,” one resident, Ling Wai Ping said.

Even a senior official at Sociedade de Jogos de Macau (SJM), which enjoyed a 40-year monopoly on casinos in Macau until this year, speaks of the dangers. “In my view, if a place that is already a financial centre, (where) you have sophisticated trading, it’s not advisable to have a casino there,” SJM director Ambrose So said this week. “The casino operation will have a cannibalising effect on other industries if the locals are addicted to gambling.”

Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong said in 1991 that a casino would never exist in Singapore so long as he was leader. He is due to be replaced this year by Lee Hsien Loong, son of Singapore’s founding prime minister Lee Kuan Yew.

“The upside of this is there is money being collected and being given to education, sports and culture,” said member of parliament Chandra Mohan. “If it’s for a good cause, the government can justify it morally and ethically, to an extent.”

Besides, industry executives say, Singaporeans will gamble whether a casino goes ahead or not. “If gambling is not legalised, it merely goes underground and it continues to exist. It’s part of Chinese culture to gamble even at weddings and funerals,” said Theodore Loh, managing director of orientgaming, which runs online gaming.

aurvandil

Need to be careful of people who claim to be "god of gamblers" .

$69,000 gone

http://tnp.sg/news/story/0,4136,256003,00.html?

One visitor to the casino at Resorts World Sentosa claims that $69,000 worth of chips was stolen from him by a fengshui master, a "god of gamblers" and a beautiful woman.

Mr Ling Cheng Feng, 41, told Lianhe Wanbao he was at the casino with the three of them on Wednesday night.

At one stage, when he had $84,000 worth of chips on the table, he said he went to the toilet for 10 minutes.

When he returned, the group told him that all that was left was $5,000 as they had gambled the rest away.

Mr Ling told Lianhe Wanbao that CCTV footage showed that only $10,000 was gambled away while he was at the loo.

According to him, it showed the fengshui master putting the rest of the chips into his apprentice's handbag, leaving only $5,000 on the table.

According to Mr Ling, he had consulted the fengshui master about lottery numbers when he wanted to expand his business. The apprentice had been recommended to Mr Ling by the fengshui master as a "god of gamblers".

Police confirmed that a report was lodged last week, and they are looking into the matter.

silverfox@

I didn't realise that in the main gaming areas at close to 3am, almost 50% of the tables are closed. Very few people in MBS, even the croupiers are sleepy.

jjcc88

I didn't realise that in the main gaming areas at close to 3am, almost 50% of the tables are closed. Very few people in MBS, even the croupiers are sleepy.

Ya ... only a couple of others or so still at the L1 Power Platinum slots besides me around that time last Sun-Mon

Guess most people go off ard/after mid-nite at MBS compared with RWS which is so much more crowded & smokey [from my 2 RWS trips] .....

HUmble10

I see MBS cannot compete with RWS as there are more varieties in RWS and their rules are more comfortable to local. If you have share in MBS,now is the time to sell it and buy RWS.

aurvandil

This traffic pattern would seem to support the hypothesis that the majority of gamblers are Singaporeans. Most shopping malls are relatively empty during the week days and crowded during the week ends. If the place is open 24 hrs, the crowd noticably thins after midnight as people without cars leave to catch the last public transport home. If the casinos were achieving Minister Balakrishnan's KPI of 4:1, then we shouldn't be observing the traffic pattern that you are seeing.

Robert Half

good luck!!!

Thank bro... I just went MBS on Tuesday and lost $400 :(

Anyway it consider a good loss after I played Baccarat, Roulette & Rapid Sic Bo.
My oversea friends had begginer luck winning $350 :p

Not many Baccarat tables open in B1 so we went Ruby Room for a while to get some free drink.
The Baccarat tables surface changed to red colour and min bet $200. Luckily I did not gamble there :biggrin:

theblackhole

Thank bro... I just went MBS on Tuesday and lost $400 :(

Anyway it consider a good loss after I played Baccarat, Roulette & Rapid Sic Bo.
My oversea friends had begginer luck winning $350 :p.....

Don't be sad about the loss.Better luck next time. Had a very fruitful day at MBS - less people because of the roads closure and jams.

One uncle lost heavily on the roulette table. He told me he lost $12K !!! I saw how he played - peppering on a $10 chip roulette table and he played the same numbers over and over ....and his numbers never came out. He emptied his wallet and he walked out a dejected man. I think his son should apply for a restriction order. He looked so depressed...losing so much !!!

Roulette can be a killer if you don't know when to RUN - even when you are UP AND WINNING...must RUN!!!

jjcc88

Don't be sad about the loss.Better luck next time. Had a very fruitful day at MBS - less people because of the roads closure and jams.

Congrats !

HOW exactly did u make your way to MBS ???
Pls revert URGENTLY in order for me to make my FRI PM-OFF plans .....

popeye

I dun see so..abt less people today due to jams/closure? ..5:30-8:30 pm

How about this for sadness? I thot I am very cautious kia-su player.
Still lose 4 days (non-consecutive) in a row over 1 week:
$600 (8 hrs), $1,000 (10hrs) $700 (5 hrs), and $250 (2 hrs)...low-bets of $25-$200.

Touch card, low points. Join crowded bacaract table with pattern, start bet pattern gone. Stack on winning peoples' bets for 3-pictures, dealer 8-9-9 in a row... wtf, can even change own tables' and hi-rollers luck!

Momentarily Up for $100 max. only once per day for 10 mins or 3 hands, (3 out of 4 times is 1st 10 mins) ....
Very jinxed....w2do?

B

BCR101

http://tnp.sg/news/story/0,4136,256313,00.html?

Give back your winnings

RWS casino asks retiree to return winnings when exclusion order kicks in

By Chong Shin Yen

September 23, 2010

He decided to call it a night after winning $200 at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) casino.

But on his way out, Mr Teo Thiam Kee, 67, had a shock – he was told to empty his pockets and forfeit his winnings.

This was when he found out that the exclusion order barring him from the casinos here had kicked in.

Mr Teo told The New Paper that he knew his son had applied for an exclusion order. But as he was not told when the order would take effect, he continued going to RWS.

Mr Teo's son, 31, applied for a family exclusion order earlier this month after his father lost more than $100,000 at the gambling tables in less than six months.

When contacted, an RWS spokesman, Ms Lee Sin Yee, said the exclusion order for Mr Teo showed up in the system at the time of his exit and not when he entered.

-------------------------------------------------------------

The Electric New Paper :
Give back your winnings

RWS casino asks retiree to return winnings when exclusion order kicks in
He decided to call it a night after winning $200 at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) casino. But on his way out, Mr Teo Thiam Kee, 67, had a shock.

By Chong Shin Yen

23 September 2010

He decided to call it a night after winning $200 at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) casino.

But on his way out, Mr Teo Thiam Kee, 67, had a shock – he was told to empty his pockets and forfeit his winnings.

This was when he found out that the exclusion order barring him from the casinos here had kicked in.

Mr Teo told The New Paper that he knew his son had applied for an exclusion order. But as he was not told when the order would take effect, he continued going to RWS.

Mr Teo's son, 31, applied for a family exclusion order earlier this month after his father lost more than $100,000 at the gambling tables in less than six months.

When contacted, an RWS spokesman, Ms Lee Sin Yee, said the exclusion order for Mr Teo showed up in the system at the time of his exit and not when he entered.

rofthelper

Knnz... $200 RWS also want to confiscate, this can't be his initial bankroll meh? :rolleyes:

"When contacted, an RWS spokesman, Ms Lee Sin Yee, said the exclusion order for Mr Teo showed up in the system at the time of his exit and not when he entered."

This is totally bullshit.
up_yours.gif

theblackhole

Congrats !

HOW exactly did u make your way to MBS ???
Pls revert URGENTLY in order for me to make my FRI PM-OFF plans .....

Sorry for the late reply...Went by the opposite way. Finalyson Green and straight to Marina and turn left to Bayfront Avenue...Very fast from Finalyson Green.But on the way home, a big big JAM!!! But somehow managed to squeeze home - happier with the day's winnings!!!

Played Progressive - hit two Minis and enough to give me more capital to play my rouletter.Had a field day..B1 and L1....lucky day!

Good Luck to all....HUAT!!!!

theblackhole

I dun see so..abt less people today due to jams/closure? ..5:30-8:30 pm....

Momentarily Up for $100 max. only once per day for 10 mins or 3 hands, (3 out of 4 times is 1st 10 mins) ....
Very jinxed....w2do?

Take it easy when your luck is low.I was advised by forumers here to keep a low profile when I was losing. Yesterday was a good day.A lucky day. I went by the side entrance and drove from Bayfront Avenue from Finalyson Green.Good day at slots and good day at the roulette.

One uncle played $100 chips. He came and studied the numbers for a couple of minutes. He changed a thousand in $100 chips and he bet on a few numbers ...5,8,10,12...and he had 4 $100 chips on number 5 .And it was Jackpot!!! He took his winnings and left the table!!! Waulau!!!! I only had one $10 chip on No 5.But overall, I won...no complaints.

But of course, there were others who lost and emptied their wallets and purses!!!

Take care and pick up when your LUCK is good.

Good Luck to all bros and sis....HUAT!!!!

silverfox@

Knnz... $200 RWS also want to confiscate, this can't be his initial bankroll meh? :rolleyes:

"When contacted, an RWS spokesman, Ms Lee Sin Yee, said the exclusion order for Mr Teo showed up in the system at the time of his exit and not when he entered."

This is totally bullshit.
up_yours.gif

From my observation last time since my playing days in Genting malaysia, there was once someone lodged a report he lost his chips half an hour earlier, so they will view all the tapes and tracked down the person who took the chips.

In the end they realised that he actually left the table and went to play roulette lost $200 before coming back to baccarat table and play. The video tapes are able to account for all the chips he bet, won, lost.

So do not worry if you lost chips. Just inform the management, they will track down everything for you.

If want to say its his initial bankroll, not possible lah.

theblackhole

I agree with Silverfox. Once you step in, all the surveillance cameras are on you. They can track you and your chips and your card anywhere anytime.So cannot bluff and cannot cheat.If you are consistently winning, you will be more carefully checked.But no worry lah, if you are a small fly, no worry.Just go in and enjoy yourself.