• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Canadian PR

Catherina

Re: Unusually Cold for Toronto in Dec

I just came in from outdoors all wrapped up tinkering with one of my cars' wipers. My outdoor thermometer says its -ve 5 degrees in the shade in my part of GTA. Looking at the bright side, its a beautiful snow-covered clear and sunny afternoon and days such as this makes the cold worth it. I am thankful to be here in this cold with the time and freedom to tinker around with whatever catches my fancy, both indoors and outdoors.

Hi Dole

Wonder how is your new friend (poster malxsin) putting up with his first Canadian Winter. I bet is surely a great welcome white out for him and hope he survive.:smile::smile::smile:

Hock

Hi Dole

Wonder how is your new friend (poster malxsin) putting up with his first Canadian Winter. I bet is surely a great welcome white out for him and hope he survive.:smile::smile::smile:

What's the big deal? I just experienced -30 in Calgary. My kids love the snow. They always want to snow slide after school.

fanta

Kids sure love the snow but never the cold.

Besides only insane parents would let their kids out playing with snow in sub-zero temperatures.

Snow = fun for people coming from hot climate countries

Snow = pain for Canadians

Hock

Besides only insane parents would let their kids out playing with snow in sub-zero temperatures.

Sinkie calling Canadian parents insane?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6s8xkTJ8Mk&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCutHKdV0yc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kX4wEPristA&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kksHWbAfVk

exSINgaporean

Count me as one of those "insane parents".....I bring my son for snowboarding at minus 27 degrees C....of course he does the snowboarding and I watch in comfort from the resturant.

You know what, even at that temp. he sweats during snowboarding and skiing. No kidding.

The only time he does not sweat is when we go ice fishing. Just sit there not moving much. That is really cold. But then we pitch a tent and I boil coffee to warm myself up. I do not fish buy enjoys watching my son does it.

fanta

Unless you want to play in snow 24/7, that is a different thing.

If not, don't get conned. Sinkies in Canada like to paint a pretty picture of Canada like those snow play videos. The reality is Sinkies in Canada are lonely, they try to get their fellow country men to join them in their miserable state.

You saw the snow play, now here is the harsh reality of cold Canadian winters and snow.

This Canadian will tell you how much snow is hated in Canada. To quote from him, "...I'm Canadian, I'm born in Canada, live in Canada .... One thing that really, really, really, really irratates about living in Canada is snow...."
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GO5t-PHUQRE

Winter Sucks
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8d_FQYb5gI

Driving in snow storm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQGsUHgT0vg

Car Crash In Snow
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvSZby7QzPY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJXBeH9vmuk

Getting your car in the morning
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cCXPjS14i8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maWaLXCAteM

Vehicles get stuck
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRtTmfdfhtQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsGNqrAnoMA

Cleaning after the snowfall
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTdqhShlEbY

Shoveling snow - this is a back breaking job especially if you are middle age, you need to shovel not just the area in your house but also the sidewalk. It is best to shovel your sidewalk because if someone slip and fall, they might sue you in court
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtmhNRdewx0

This thread has a lot of rosy information from Sinkies in Canada. They tell you all the nice things, all the snow play but they will never tell you the bad side of Canada because they want you to be screwed as well.

If you decide you like the above snow troubles, please join your buddies and me in Canada.

Dole43

Hi Dole

Haven't been in touch in a while, but M's smart, I believe that family will do fine here like many many other families before them. :smile:

Dole43

Unless you want to play in snow 24/7, that is a different thing.

If not, don't get conned. Sinkies in Canada like to paint a pretty picture of Canada like those snow play videos. The reality is Sinkies in Canada are lonely, they try to get their fellow country men to join them in their miserable state.

You saw the snow play, now here is the harsh reality of cold Canadian winters and snow.

This Canadian will tell you how much snow is hated in Canada. To quote from him, "...I'm Canadian, I'm born in Canada, live in Canada .... One thing that really, really, really, really irratates about living in Canada is snow...."

Winter Sucks
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8d_FQYb5gI

Driving in snow storm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQGsUHgT0vg

Car Crash In Snow
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvSZby7QzPY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJXBeH9vmuk

Getting your car in the morning
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cCXPjS14i8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maWaLXCAteM

Vehicles get stuck
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRtTmfdfhtQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsGNqrAnoMA

Cleaning after the snowfall
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTdqhShlEbY

Shoveling snow - this is a back breaking job especially if you are middle age, you need to shovel not just the area in your house but also the sidewalk. It is best to shovel your sidewalk because if someone slip and fall, they might sue you in court
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtmhNRdewx0

This thread has a lot of rosy information from Sinkies in Canada. They tell you all the nice things, all the snow play but they will never tell you the bad side of Canada because they want you to be screwed as well.

If you decide you like the above snow troubles, please join your buddies and me in Canada.

Nobody's trying to con anybody, there will always be families who will find either SG or CA better suited to their unique situation in any given stage of their lives. What you have here is information or misinformation depending on who is posting, its up to any prospective migrant to sieve the wheat from the chaff and make an informed life-changing biggest decision of their lives.

I've not bothered to watch those youtube videos yet, maybe later, but I can guess they are filmed because they are interesting. Who would want to video and post a typical winter road that is drivable with drivers driving carefully and patiently with lots of polite giving way? In any case, I'd rather have my cars and deal with winter car issues where I have to decide which car to drive today than to wonder whether I can ever afford the next COE when PARF time comes.

As for shoveling snow, I consider it as a healthy workout, it is not that hard a job when the snow is still light powder. Just don't let it accumulate till it gets too heavy or drive on it to compact it. The typical time taken to shovel snow is not longer than someone waiting for HDB lift and walking to the MSCP or bus stop. Its your choice whether you like to have a driveway or a corridor, both has its pros and cons.

I agree there are Canadians that hate winter and go to SG for the warmth, I'll bet they are the young and restless who do so for the adventure of the far east. I am finding Canada a good fit, the world is just to big to confine my kids in SG wondering whether their uni place will be given to an ASEAN scholar, dealing with the crowd mentality, dreaming of a COE, owning only one car at a time, no job security after 40, and no safety net in old age.

So this is another of the rosy pictures, believe it or not, its your choice. I'm sure there are many in SG who watch a snow video and conclude that all of CA is not good. There are also many in CA who watch a flood video and conclude that all of SG is not good.

chuckyworld

Snow is fun, if you do outdoor sports, canadians love skiing and outdoor sports.

Snow is a pain if you have to shovel or drive, but that is the pro and con living in a 4 season country and not hot and humids all year round.

Dole43

Just watched those videos, many minutes of my life wasted. The guy with the garbage can hating winter is such a loser. New detached house, many cars, large family, try exchanging that for 3-room flat, take bus, no family. Is he going to video spring, summer and autumn for us to watch, or is he too busy enjoying the seasons?

The video of car crashes, the sliding cars too ridiculous, if so many people can walk on the streets, those cars with proper winter or all-season tires shouldn't be sliding like that. Those cars are applying power in ice situation. People will slip first before a car can slide because people are light and only have 2 feet.

The cleaning car video are funny advertisements, haha.

panama

This is a very good video on the havoc snow causes. The cleanup of the snow on the car in the mornings when you have to rush to work, the dangerous/slippery conditions causes by snow, the shoveling of snow, the biting cold, the heating costs and many more harsh conditions does not speaks well of the cold winters in Canada. You might be better off in sunny California or Australia.

Dole43

This is a very good video on the havoc snow causes. The cleanup of the snow on the car in the mornings when you have to rush to work, the dangerous/slippery conditions causes by snow, the shoveling of snow, the biting cold, the heating costs and many more harsh conditions does not speaks well of the cold winters in Canada. You might be better off in sunny California or Australia.

You just reminded me to mention it is better to park the car inside the garage to save the trouble of getting snow off the car. Try to buy homes with garages, and try not to clutter the garage with lawnmower, snowblower, BBQ and stuff until the car has to stay outside.

I guess most Canadian PRs by definition will be living in Canada and not California or Australia :smile:

panama

Not every one can afford a house, a garage or home for that matter. Not all homes have garages. etc, etc. Homes in Metropolitan areas are not cheap.

Now you just reminded me of another painful task. Lawn mowing! The jokers here will tell Sinkies it is fun to do lawn mowing just to convince them to come to Canada.

If you have the choice, you will be better off in California or Australia.

Just ignore them. In the last 11 years, both in the old SBF and this, there will always be rejects who can't make it anywhere except in a well in Singapore.

Your kids will benefit immensely from the sacrifices that you made. They are now living in a country that is part of the 1st world, where individualism, welfare for less fortunate, innovation, and advancement of mankind is topmost. Its a democracy, where your views and opinions are respected.

If clowns have problem with petty things like snow and mowing lawns, they deserve to live in the well they call home.

Trolls will write the most ridiculous things and hoping to bait. Just don't reply or respond. Let them drown in their own swill and continue to be marginalised.

By the way, there is no such thing as a smart answer to a troll. A reply how well crafted is still a reply and a win for a troll.

Just watched those videos, many minutes of my life wasted. The guy with the garbage can hating winter is such a loser. New detached house, many cars, large family, try exchanging that for 3-room flat, take bus, no family. Is he going to video spring, summer and autumn for us to watch, or is he too busy enjoying the seasons?

The video of car crashes, the sliding cars too ridiculous, if so many people can walk on the streets, those cars with proper winter or all-season tires shouldn't be sliding like that. Those cars are applying power in ice situation. People will slip first before a car can slide because people are light and only have 2 feet.

The cleaning car video are funny advertisements, haha.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Haha!

I know there are many people out there who read the stuff here but do not post. Hi there! Hi Dad!

What you see is basically what you come looking for. It makes little difference what people write here.

I have said many times migrating is not about "better" it is just different.

Singapore has its good and bad. Is it perfect?

Canada has its good and bad. Is it perfect?

Of course those who live in a place and like it will sing praises. Does it mean conning people to join?

My approach to this would be to liken it to me talking about my wife. I sing her praises. Is my wife better than your wife? Am I trying to con people to marry my wife? Don't be ridiculous lah.

And frankly those peopl who do not totally absolutely utterly detest singapore should never ever migrate.

A very basic and simple test is to ask yourself if you can survive without a maid. I know most singaporeans have maids and would not know what to do without them. It is huge privilege to have a maid. Enjoy it in Singapore don't go elsewhere.

When you migrate life is going to be tough. I spoke to an Indian migrant who was complaining that her hubbys MBA was not recognized here in Canada. Their expectation was that it should. I told them Singapore recognizes foreign talents. More than locals. They said canada should do the same. Interesting eh? I am glad Canada is not Singapore o

wendypoh

When you migrate life is going to be tough. I spoke to an Indian migrant who was complaining that her hubbys MBA was not recognized here in Canada. Their expectation was that it should.

Potential immigrants to Canada should realize that foreign qualifications are not recognized, chances of getting employed is slimmer if the applicant does not have Canadian experience.

This is previously discussed in this thread:

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=53449

According to this report from the Canadian Press, new immigrants to Canada that are highly educated are struggling to meet their potential.

The study by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities notes that these immigrants with university degrees are four times more likely to be unemployed than other Canadians.

You can infer two important points from here:

• Immigrants are being discriminated in Canada, no matter how qualified they are

• Foreign universities degrees are not well received in Canada

The bottom line is it is safe to apply to Canada if you are 'O' levels holder.

If you have education higher then 'O' level, you are better off applying to USA, Australia or New Zealand, where your qualificatons are well received.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Wendy is right. Better don't apply to Canada.

Got O Levels lagi better don't apply. Waste your time only.

Canada is not the place for Singaporeans. Don't come to Canada. Stay in Singapore where your O levels, A levels, Poly diploma and NUS degree are recognized.

Go Canada nothing is recognized waste time only.

In Singapore everything is recognized. Even medical degree from bogus Indian Medical School also made it to "accepted" MOH list.

Singapore is still the best.

xenomorph

Canada is not the place for Singaporeans. Don't come to Canada. Stay in Singapore where your O levels, A levels, Poly diploma and NUS degree are recognized.

Go Canada nothing is recognized waste time only.

(my response : every country have their flaky weather system. singapore-everything rot and smell because of the humid. canada-the cold weather, us bible belt is also tornado belt, australia is dry as. some people like cold. some sweaty people like bone dry. some people like siesta- it is your choice. people complaining is quite common what-good for mental health. )

cass888

Your kids will benefit immensely from the sacrifices that you made. They are now living in a country that is part of the 1st world, where individualism, welfare for less fortunate, innovation, and advancement of mankind is topmost. Its a democracy, where your views and opinions are respected.

The very reason why you don't want to stay there. The much touted "welfare for less fortunate" resulted in a tax rate of 40%!

exSINgaporean

The very reason why you don't want to stay there. The much touted "welfare for less fortunate" resulted in a tax rate of 40%!

The 40% tax bracket is only for those high income earners ...with TAXABLE income of more than Can$120,000.

The progressive tax system in Canada means those with TAXABLE Income...NOT Gross Income....of less than $40,000 per year pays relatively low tax plus contribution to Employment Benefits and Canada Pension Plan.

For e.g. my daughter who is a special needs person and earns less than $20,000 per year, pays no taxes and in fact she even get tax rebates. As a special needs person she gets $1,200 per month from the Alberta govt and also pays only half fair for the monthly bus pass of unlimted travel.

Also she get free medical, dental and glasses. If she attends courses like computer training or martial arts or sports, she can get full subsidy.

My wife earns about $70,000 and she do not really complain much as at the end of the earn she normally gets back tax refund of $3,000 to $4,000.

However, I have some concern because I am self-employed and my tax bracket is high. But I am vry happy to pay my taxes....to me it is an honour to pay taxes to my own country....CANADA. I know after paying my taxes, I do not need to pay much "hidden taxes" like road tax, GST on essential stuff (no GST on milk, vegitables, eggs etc), no COE, no ERP etc.

It is indeed a good country. I love living here for the past 20 years. At least I know I am a free man compare to if I live in Singapore as a Singaporean.