• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

but........ PAP Govt used to brag that flood don't happen in SG...

sand_ban

LIAR LIAR! Slapped yourself again?
SG will not flood? Only when floods don't count!

SG will not have massive blackout too? Only the biggest in 2004! :oIo:

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/cna/20091116/tap-515-pub-gives-monsoon-period-updates-231650b.html

PUB gives monsoon period updates
Channel NewsAsia
Channel NewsAsia - Monday, November 16

PUB gives monsoon period updates

SINGAPORE: The PUB has completed several projects that will help alleviate flooding in flood—prone areas as the monsoon season draws near. Some of the areas include Cuscaden Road, Commonwealth Avenue and Bedok North Ave 3.

According to the National Environment Agency (NEA) on Monday, the monsoon season is expected to set in shortly and last till January next year. Heavy rain, coinciding with high tides, could lead to localised flash floods in low—lying areas.

PUB, the national water agency, had in October sent advisories to residents and shop—owners in flood—prone areas to warn them of the possibility of flash floods.

They have also been advised to take the necessary precautions to protect their belongings by storing them on higher ground or placing sandbags to block floodwaters.

PUB has also stepped up the monitoring of some 60 hotspots islandwide to ensure that the drainage system is not blocked.

In addition, checks on construction sites have been intensified to ensure that contractors keep the drains around their sites smooth—flowing and free of debris.

Motorists are advised to exercise caution when travelling along roads in the flood—prone areas. NEA said it will issue warnings through the media when heavy rain or prolonged monsoon rain is expected.

— CNA/so

cestycesty

uhhh sg will not flood is abt 30-20 yrs back. environment and weather is always changing. if u notice last year wind was unusually strong. this year could be stronger..

sand_ban

uhhh sg will not flood is abt 30-20 yrs back. environment and weather is always changing. if u notice last year wind was unusually strong. this year could be stronger..

PAP GOVT Bragged about SG will not get floods ONLY JUST FEW YEARS AGO not 20-30 yrs ago.

They bragged that when news arrived of huge floods in other countries e.g. Malaysia & PRC, they said that they had world class drainage system which they had squandered tens of billions of tax dollars into.

Now there is further more billions squandered into projects like the Marina Barrage. And still they are admitting finally that we will get floods here & there.

PAP govt is dishonest as they can selectively vary the facts even 100% contradicting themselves at different time, different place, different context and when they are satisfying a different portion of their own BIG EGO.

They twist things around when they are bragging about different things, if you carefully checked you will notice.
:wink:

ChaoPappyPoodle

The pappies are a boastful lot because they are supported by the 144th! All of their half truths are left as such and the Sinkies are left to believe the half truths which is wht disinformation is all about.

The pappies are a fascist political party and they like all fascists, they need the media and the military and police under their full control.

The pappies are full of boasts that cannot be attributed to reality. They are nothing but fascists who will elevate themselves so as to enslave others in modern poverty.

There are many floodsin Singapore but these are not reported by the state controled media. The foreign media are the states paid prostitutes who are required to pay and go through a multitude of forms before they are allowed to film in Singapore. Singapore is just like North Korea. There is no free media because the country is ruled by a relatively useless pinkyboy.

To give credit, when credit is due...the PUB water management whatever...had done a good job, in keeping most of our waterways clean & ensuring that floods do not occur frequently, of course, there are hiccups...some areas will still flood after some heavy raining, and so forth.

Tthey will make sure that, those MIW's biggies residences, the surrounding area will NOT FLOOD. , you know,Members have their privileges...you lesser mortals have to bear with it, if it does flood...

Of course, they will make sure that, those MIW's biggies residences, the surrounding area will NOT FLOOD.

Members have their privileges...you lesser mortals have to bear with it, if it does flood...

Just heard on the news that Sixth Ave got floods.

Isn't that area popular with the elites :confused:

Patriot

Just heard on the news that Sixth Ave got floods.

Isn't that area popular with the elites :confused:

Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Nov 19, 2009
Flash floods in Bt Timah

Flash floods in Dunearn. -- PHOTO: STOMP
View more photos

HEAVY downpours caused flash floods in the Bukit Timah areas, with waters reaching knee-high in some places.

Traffic snarled along Bukit Timah and Dunearn Roads as cars slowed to a crawl to get through the flood waters.

Motorists said the Bukit Timah canal was overflowing, causing waters to rise to knee-high level in some areas.

Students who had sat for their A Level exams were stuck at bus-stops and in schools.

According to Stomper Martin, the flooding caused a major traffic jam on Bukit Timah and Dunearn Road sometime between 1 pm and 2.30pm.

He said he was stuck in his office at Sime Darby Centre during the heavy downpour and was late for a meeting because of it.

Singapore's weatherman has forecast that the wet spell will continue till January and flash floods are expected in low-lying and flood-prone areas including Chinatown, the Central Business District, Geylang, Lorong Buangkok and Tanjong Katong.

PUB, the national water agency, has said that heavy rain brought on by the north-east monsoon could coincide with 3m- to 3.2m-high tides, triggering flash floods over the next few months.

To quell the effects of the stormy spell, PUB has invested $59 million over the last 12 months to widen and deepen drainage networks, as well as raise the roads in 10 low-lying areas such as Cuscaden Road, Mountbatten Road and Commonwealth Avenue.

Since last month, the agency has advised 204 residents and businesses to store belongings on elevated ground and place sandbags at entrances to block flooding.

If you have been affected by the floods or have more details, send them to us. You can also email photos to us at [email protected].

Blazars

I was driving along aye jus now. Around clementi road, there were flooding. 2 sbs buses could not carry on their journey. And worse, i saw a honda integra stuck in the middle of the flood. Mayb the driver can complain and get compensation from pub.

Got a frn that ask me. Why is our world class govt cannot make our drainage system world class??
!&!!

grc_jb_yacoob.jpg

KNN! My own house is flooded with cash. What d'ya expect me to do?

I was driving along aye jus now. Around clementi road, there were flooding. 2 sbs buses could not carry on their journey. And worse, i saw a honda integra stuck in the middle of the flood. Mayb the driver can complain and get compensation from pub.

Got a frn that ask me. Why is our world class govt cannot make our drainage system world class??
!&!!

th_lky-1-1.jpg

Comprain some more and I'll import more bangras to leeplace u! *chey*

PAP GOVT Bragged about SG will not get floods ONLY JUST FEW YEARS AGO not 20-30 yrs ago.

They bragged that when news arrived of huge floods in other countries e.g. Malaysia & PRC, they said that they had world class drainage system which they had squandered tens of billions of tax dollars into.

Now there is further more billions squandered into projects like the Marina Barrage. And still they are admitting finally that we will get floods here & there.

PAP govt is dishonest as they can selectively vary the facts even 100% contradicting themselves at different time, different place, different context and when they are satisfying a different portion of their own BIG EGO.

They twist things around when they are bragging about different things, if you carefully checked you will notice.
:wink:

1. aiyoh! sinkies still believe stuffs at bookfigure one!
2. sinkies kena screwed again and again.
3. just wait and see for the "tidal" waves hoh!
4. i am also wondering whether how many idiots fall for the recent "building one brick" thing?
5. it is a damn useless and stupid stuff.

JI_Fled

Why is our world class govt cannot make our drainage system world class??
!&!!

They had already threw in a World Class SPENDING, but they had however failed to achieve a World Class RESULT. Their flood warnings showed that it is a 3RD WORLD RESULT that they are delivering to us the TAX PAYERS. :mad:

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Is that our largest river, that cause these massive flood and the water from our tallest mountain Bk Timah?

What if PAP has to manage the flooding from real mountain and meandering river, couldn't imagine what will it be like?