• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bus commuters overcharged S$300,000

/ASIA\

By Dylan Loh |
Posted: 22 November 2010 1634 hrs
<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20"></td> <td align="right" width="240">
phpm2Xrg7.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top"></td> <td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

An SBS Transit bus
</td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td class="update"></td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>
SINGAPORE: Bus commuters have been overcharged some $300,000 since distance-based fares kicked in on 3 July.

This was revealed after an island-wide bus stop review by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) found errors in actual distances measured between bus stops.

Commuters have also been undercharged some S$100,000 in the same period due to these mistakes.

About 150 bus services have been affected by the errors. They ply routes passing some 100 bus stops across the island.

LTA says all errors will be corrected by Friday.

Commuters who have been overcharged will have a six-month window from 18 December to obtain refunds.

Notices will be put up at affected bus stops and bus interchanges from Tuesday on how commuters can get the refunds.

The public transport operators will bear the costs of undercharging.

- CNA/ir

<object height="385" width="480">

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pKAYzdMYWnY?fs=1&hl=en_US&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" height="385" width="480"></object>

By Dylan Loh |
Posted: 22 November 2010 1634 hrs
<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20"></td> <td align="right" width="240">
phpm2Xrg7.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top"></td> <td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

An SBS Transit bus
</td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td class="update"></td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>
SINGAPORE: Bus commuters have been overcharged some $300,000 since distance-based fares kicked in on 3 July.

This was revealed after an island-wide bus stop review by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) found errors in actual distances measured between bus stops.

Commuters have also been undercharged some S$100,000 in the same period due to these mistakes.

About 150 bus services have been affected by the errors. They ply routes passing some 100 bus stops across the island.

LTA says all errors will be corrected by Friday.

Commuters who have been overcharged will have a six-month window from 18 December to obtain refunds.

Notices will be put up at affected bus stops and bus interchanges from Tuesday on how commuters can get the refunds.

The public transport operators will bear the costs of undercharging.

- CNA/ir

<object height="385" width="480">

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pKAYzdMYWnY?fs=1&hl=en_US&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" height="385" width="480"></object>

1. now, this is what we called world-crass transport network.
2. well done sheep!

>Bus commuters have been overcharged some $300,000 since distance-based fares kicked in on 3 July.>

Dear commuter x, after a review by LTA ( Late To Act), we discover that we had over charge you by 10cts when you travelled on July 4, 2010...kindly proceed to the nearest translink office to claim your 10cts & there will be an admin fees of 30cts.

>Commuters have also been undercharged some S$100,000 in the same period due to these mistakes.>

Dear Commuter Y, we know who you are, and we are watching you...

Here's the link to check if you have been overcharged:
http://www.publictransport.sg/publish/ptp/en/bus_service_distance.html

As usual, they put in an obscure textbox for you to key in the service you *think* you took, instead of a list of bus services for you to browse.

Who the hell remembers what bus service you took between dd/mm/yyyy and dd/mm/yyyy?

They overcharge $300,000, less undercharge $100,00, they still make $200,000 & only 1% of that amount will make claims, & they still make $180,000...just say, sorry!...oops! I program computer to make mistake!, so clever to make money....these MONkeys!:biggrin:

da dick

fucked up leh. forget the money. can the gahmen just sue them and make them pay a fine like that time when SP service made whole island black out? i want revenge.

Cruxx

fucked up leh. forget the money. can the gahmen just sue them and make them pay a fine like that time when SP service made whole island black out? i want revenge.

You want revenge? Vote wisely this coming election. :smile:

da dick

sorry. pappy dog stronghold with LOTS of mats and new PRs. i'm not rich enough to move to potong pasir or whatever.

This is typical singapore GLC mentality. When they screw up, they want you to chase them for your money back. Everything is computerised now. How hard is it to track all the ez-link cards that were used on those routes on the affected days and than credit them back for the overcharge? I know some commuters do not use ez-link, but most do. when u swipe the card entering the bus, the system tracks who the card belongs to, how much is the balance, etc. So for sure, they know which cards were overcharged, they can easily credit the card holders back without any input from them.

Instead of crediting them back the money thru their cards, they make people go thru the website and jump thru all the hoops to try to remember where they were and what route it was, give them a time limit, etc. Worse of all, the fucking LTA is useless as a regulatory body. They are in cahoots with the bus company. First, they should have fined them a large some for overcharging. Than force them to top up everyone's ez-link card for free. Also, I don't understand why LTA would allow the distance based fare system without checking the actual charges are based on the actual distance. is it too hard for LTA to have someone drive around all to the bus stops to measure the distance (or do it on google map) and than compare it to what Transit bus is charging BEFORE approving this new fare system.

How does the system work:

1. Passenger underpays and gets caught, fined, government makes money.

2. Operator overcharges and gets caught, fined, government makes money.

3. Operator overcharges and passenger claims refund, pays for more fare to station to process refund.

4. Operator overcharges too much, bigger fines, affects profits, increases fares, passenger pays.

5. Fining the operating company makes no sense. Fine the managers and executives involved.

saratogas

LTA did not say what SBS will do with those unclaimed overcharge of $300k? Donate to charity?

SBS should just provide a free bus ride day for all!

wizard

LTA , Bus companies and garment same same lah. even you fine them .. right pocket go left pocket.

Does sinkies actually believe it.. : )

Equalisation

.... this kind of hiccups are unforgiveable .... what the fxxk is happening nowadays ....full of cock-ups everywhere !!:mad:

saf_ranger

>Bus commuters have been overcharged some $300,000 since distance-based fares kicked in on 3 July.>

Dear commuter x, after a review by LTA ( Late To Act), we discover that we had over charge you by 10cts when you travelled on July 4, 2010...kindly proceed to the nearest translink office to claim your 10cts & there will be an admin fees of 30cts.

>Commuters have also been undercharged some S$100,000 in the same period due to these mistakes.>

Dear Commuter Y, we know who you are, and we are watching you...

wtf claim 10 cent need to pay 30 cent for admin fee and still earn profit of 50 percent more.

world class transport... lucky for me i left this country for good.

Z

Zombie

if the distance between x and y bus-stop, is 300m overstated,
just understate by the 300m for the same number of months loh...

sadfcuk

if the distance between x and y bus-stop, is 300m overstated,
just understate by the 300m for the same number of months loh...

Only on the assumption that the passengers who took that route and were overcharged, will be taking the same route again (to be undercharged).

Which wouldn't be very right...