• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Brookstone - another investment by Temasek going for bankruptcy filing

wendychan

Someone even dares to say "the amount involved is trivial"...
He thinks US$440 millions is nothing.
He might be a multi-billionaire.

Sebastian Pang:
March 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm (Quote)
Every investment has risks, and every portfolio will have good & bad performers. Temasek is no exception. Given it was a buy-out consortium and total value only $440 million, even if Temasek were to lose everything, the amount involved is trivial. Brookstone was not a bad investment to begin with, or else someone like KKR would not be involed. Perhaps operationally Brookstone needs to be improved, therefore Spencer Spirit Holdings comes in with the ability to that. It may not be the best investment but Temasek did little wrong with this one, and Temasek’s annual returns over a 20-year period still beats other mutual funds, hedge funds and sovereign wealth funds hands-down.
Rating: -83 (from 89 votes)

another word for "peanuts:?

Fishypie

As the Namesake impLied: Broke & sToned..which is why Quite a handfuL of the Better Educated Chinese wouLd
aLways insist on Having a Grand Name for their Companies etcc..:cool:

Cpf...... ...................

A Bank with endless flow of funds....where on this earth, you can find? & no fear of recrimination or repercussion from those who freely contribute the funds...for they have no choice & no voice..where on earth can you get such people & such funds...

CPF is you & me....we are that "special" people....sic!

Aiyah, sap sap soi lah. Only 440 million nia. Not even 1 billion leh? Can always have unlimited top up from sinkee peasants what. Dio Boh? Afterall, Sinkees willing to pay Citizen Protection Fee what?

palden

Ya lor... we accustom to counter "buy high. sell low" tactic by our beloved Temasek investment practice.
But, I am still painful to see our precious millions-billions tax dollars were gone and no one is accountable for it?
Very painful but still LL.

Aiyah, sap sap soi lah. Only 440 million nia. Not even 1 billion leh? Can always have unlimited top up from sinkee peasants what. Dio Boh? Afterall, Sinkees willing to pay Citizen Protection Fee what?

Indeed. Sinkies keep feeding the Lee Wealth Fund, COE, ERP, HDB, GST, taxes, fees, fares, fines, stamp duties, rental... any amount of money lost can be earned back easily. It's like going to the casino and having an unlimited free supply of gambling chips.

Someone even dares to say "the amount involved is trivial"...
He thinks US$440 millions is nothing.
He might be a multi-billionaire.

Sebastian Pang:
March 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm (Quote)
Every investment has risks, and every portfolio will have good & bad performers. Temasek is no exception. Given it was a buy-out consortium and total value only $440 million, even if Temasek were to lose everything, the amount involved is trivial. Brookstone was not a bad investment to begin with, or else someone like KKR would not be involed. Perhaps operationally Brookstone needs to be improved, therefore Spencer Spirit Holdings comes in with the ability to that. It may not be the best investment but Temasek did little wrong with this one, and Temasek’s annual returns over a 20-year period still beats other mutual funds, hedge funds and sovereign wealth funds hands-down.
Rating: -83 (from 89 votes)

Usd440m is a huge sum, never heard of any other single investor losing such big sum beside Spore..

They die die won't term it as a LOSS.
They'll call it a realigning of portfolios, revised investment strategy, retiring non performing entity, etc etc.

Indeed. Sinkies keep feeding the Lee Wealth Fund, COE, ERP, HDB, GST, taxes, fees, fares, fines, stamp duties, rental... any amount of money lost can be earned back easily. It's like going to the casino and having an unlimited free supply of gambling chips.

That's why we need MORE foreigners!