• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Bro Lawrence Has A Valentine's Day Present For All Sinkies And Samsters! Guess What! Majulah PAP!

1672740929879.png

SINGAPORE — With more measures to help Singaporeans cope with the rising cost of living, Budget 2023 that will be unveiled on Feb 14 will be Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong’s "Valentine's Day present to all", he said on Tuesday (Jan 3).

“We recognise the concerns that many people have about cost-of-living issues,” Mr Wong, who is also Finance Minister, said at the launch of a new third tranche of the Community Development Council (CDC) voucher scheme.

“Hence, (we are) looking at additional measures in the budget to support Singaporeans over the coming year, especially those in the more vulnerable and lower-income groups,” he said.

Under the CDC voucher scheme, every Singaporean household will receive S$300 worth of vouchers, half of which can be used at participating supermarkets.

The extended scheme was first revealed in Budget 2022, with Mr Wong announcing that the Government will disburse S$200 in vouchers in 2023 and another S$200 in 2024. The scheme was enhanced last October, adding another S$100 to the 2023 tranche.

With the national budgets of the past two years focused on providing government intervention to support the economy through the pandemic, the coming Budget 2023 is expected to return to a pre-Covid state of affairs, though more support measures may still be rolled out to tackle high levels of inflation both here and abroad, according to pundits.

Mr Wong said on Tuesday: "The MOF team is now working on Budget 2023. The Budget would be announced on Feb 14. It will be my Valentine's Day present to all of you."

"(I want to) assure everyone that the Government will always be here for you, to help you cope with rising prices and inflation."

In his speech, Mr Wong said Singapore must be prepared for uncertainties and challenges to continue into the new year.

The war in Ukraine, which started almost a year ago, does not appear to be ending anytime soon, said the Deputy Prime Minister.

Possible disruptions in food and energy supplies are also expected in the year ahead, as Singapore faces a weaker global economy and continued geopolitical tensions especially between the United States and China, he said.

Furthermore, the pandemic is not yet over, with a new Covid wave taking place in China, Mr Wong added.

“We’re monitoring the impact closely, and what might impact us in particular, and we stand ready to take further actions if need be,” he said.

But with the high level of local immunity in Singapore, through a combination of vaccinations and natural Covid-19 infections, Mr Wong said he was hopeful that the country will be able to “put Covid-19 behind us”.

“We can put it in the rear-view mirror sometime later this year,” he said.

Mr Wong added that Singapore cannot expect that life in the coming year will be smooth-sailing, but is confident that the country will be able to find new resolve to pull through.

He urged the public to draw comfort and strength from Singapore’s journey through Covid-19 over the past three years, where through “grit, resilience and perseverance”, the country emerged stronger and more united.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...p-sporeans-cope-rising-costs-dpm-wong-2084071

Loofydralb

Pathetic $100
Pathetic $200
Pathetic $300

When what the citizens should be entitled to is the jobs that you give away to foreigners.

PAP is pathetic. We will vote you out next GE.

Boliao

$300 per family, and if you don't know how to redeem or forgot to redeem then it's your problem but PAP will still count it as their gift to Singaporeans :roflmao:

Boliao

Pathetic $100
Pathetic $200
Pathetic $300

When what the citizens should be entitled to is the jobs that you give away to foreigners.

PAP is pathetic. We will vote you out next GE.

Not just jobs.. we've been dishing out millions to foreigners for them to come here and studies while we deny our own children places in schools and courses.

Mr Wong added that Singapore cannot expect that life in the coming year will be smooth-sailing, but is confident that the country will be able to find new resolve to pull through.

He urged the public to draw comfort and strength from Singapore’s journey through Covid-19 over the past three years, where through “grit, resilience and perseverance”, the country emerged stronger and more united.

What a crock of shit! :roflmao:

gsbslut

Stupidman
evil pap only love cecas to help themselves profit more
they never care about singaporeans one lah
more cecas more profit to pap people and their business related families

steal from people $1000 then give back $100
this kind of job I also know how to do

You're simply jealous that Bro Lawrence has a Valentine's Day gift for us all. I bet you never gave your wife or gf any Valentine's Day present.

A Valentine present should be mind-blowing ...like $100k cash to every Singaporean (naturalized sinkees excepted).

Balls2U

You're simply jealous that Bro Lawrence has a Valentine's Day gift for us all. I bet you never gave your wife or gf any Valentine's Day present.

Ask him to give us a pure gold pendant then. That's what gfs normally receive on V Day. Not some stupid vouchers to makan at hawker centres and buy groceries at supermarkets. So unromantic.

bobby

It is very discriminatory stating that it is a "Valentine's Day present to all" when he jolly well knows that this is a day celebrated only by Christians for St Valentine.

How about m&ds and especially our dear CECA hindus ?They got no presents ?