• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

BreakingInsideNews:RWS workers not paid!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - BreakingInsideNews:RWS workers not paid!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>11:40 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32865.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Just heard this from a source in NTUC. Apparently there is a small hooha going on in Resort World Sentosa. Some of the workers are not being paid their salaries or yet to receive their pays... matter being brought up to NTUC...
What's going on? RWS lose too much money in the Casino to pay workers?
Any bros here got any friends or relatives working in RWS? Can they confirm?

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>wwwDRAGONwww <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>11:59 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(5 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32865.5 in reply to 32865.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Goldman Sachs thinks unwashed construction workers capping RWS casino takings (Temasek Hedge)

casino-gambling-pic.jpg

Goldman Sachs thinks unwashed construction workers capping RWS casino takings

March 26, 2010<!-- by uncletrader --> ¡¤ Leave a Comment

An interesting take from the latest Goldman Sachs report on RWS, the gist of which is that: the unwashed masses of foreign workers and marginal gamblers will displace high-rollers at the gambling tables.
Here are the relevant highlights from ¡°Goldman Sachs Conviction Sell: Genting Singapore plc ¨C 24 March 2010¡å
To deter Singapore residents from entering the casino, Singapore citizens and permanent residents are subjected to a S$100 casino levy, which will allow 24 hours play in one casino; alternatively, for multiple visits, Singapore residents can take up S$2,000 annual membership for each casino. In addition to being for social reasons, we feel it can also function as an effective means to keep out marginal gamblers, which considering Singapore¡¯s limited gaming space, may be commercially constructive.
A bigger negative, however, has been the large 1.3mn population of foreigners living in Singapore, majority of which earn less than S$1,800/month, and are not subject to any casino levy. While we are not simplistically equating low income to low gambling appetite, we are concerned that 1) lower income foreigners, who may have lower gambling budget, may lower casino yields, and 2) crowding of lower income foreigners could be a potential ¡®put-off¡¯ to more affluent, higher limit gamblers.
i.e. High-rollers don¡¯t like sitting next to sweaty Bangla or Chinese construction workers. I¡¯d like to be the fly on the wall for the next Genting AGM.
It¡¯s simply excellent how Goldman has managed to dress up xenophobia AND racism as ¡°shareholder value maximization¡±. Amazing what you can get out of a Harvard MBA.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>wwwDRAGONwww <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:59 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (5 of 8) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32865.5 in reply to 32865.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Goldman Sachs thinks unwashed construction workers capping RWS casino takings (Temasek Hedge)

casino-gambling-pic.jpg

Goldman Sachs thinks unwashed construction workers capping RWS casino takings

March 26, 2010<!-- by uncletrader --> ¡¤ Leave a Comment

An interesting take from the latest Goldman Sachs report on RWS, the gist of which is that: the unwashed masses of foreign workers and marginal gamblers will displace high-rollers at the gambling tables.
Here are the relevant highlights from ¡°Goldman Sachs Conviction Sell: Genting Singapore plc ¨C 24 March 2010¡å
To deter Singapore residents from entering the casino, Singapore citizens and permanent residents are subjected to a S$100 casino levy, which will allow 24 hours play in one casino; alternatively, for multiple visits, Singapore residents can take up S$2,000 annual membership for each casino. In addition to being for social reasons, we feel it can also function as an effective means to keep out marginal gamblers, which considering Singapore¡¯s limited gaming space, may be commercially constructive.
A bigger negative, however, has been the large 1.3mn population of foreigners living in Singapore, majority of which earn less than S$1,800/month, and are not subject to any casino levy. While we are not simplistically equating low income to low gambling appetite, we are concerned that 1) lower income foreigners, who may have lower gambling budget, may lower casino yields, and 2) crowding of lower income foreigners could be a potential ¡®put-off¡¯ to more affluent, higher limit gamblers.
i.e. High-rollers don¡¯t like sitting next to sweaty Bangla or Chinese construction workers. I¡¯d like to be the fly on the wall for the next Genting AGM.
It¡¯s simply excellent how Goldman has managed to dress up xenophobia AND racism as ¡°shareholder value maximization¡±. Amazing what you can get out of a Harvard MBA.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!--PostMsgHTML--><SCRIPT language=JavaScript><!--if (adPosition == 1){ GA_googleFillSlot("DF_ROS_inline_BTF_1"); }//--></SCRIPT><!--/PostMsgHTML--><!--PreMsgHTML--><!--/PreMsgHTML--><TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>wwwDRAGONwww <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:04 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (6 of 8) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32865.6 in reply to 32865.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Some casino staff told to leave (ST 23 Jan)

Jan 23, 2010

Some casino staff told to leave
Applications to work at gaming tables rejected by the authorities

<!-- by line -->
By Jessica Lim & Lim Wei Chean
casino2.jpg

<!-- end by line -->

<!-- end left side bar -->IT WILL be months before the first cards are dealt at Singapore’s two casinos, but several employees have already been fired because of stringent rules that dictate who can work there.
Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) has fired more than 30 casino employees, while Marina Bay Sands (MBS) has also told an unknown number of workers to go.
The Straits Times understands that the workers’ applications to work at the gaming tables were rejected by the Casino Regulatory Authority (CRA).
No reasons were given, but it is likely that the affected workers had brushes with the law in the past.
There is one key difference between the actions taken by the two sides, however. The affected MBS’ workers have not started work, although they were given employment contracts.
But RWS’ employees had completed their three-month training stints: Some croupiers it hired were even sent overseas for training.
The workers were told on Thursday that they had to go, a day after RWS opened four of its six hotels.
Initially, RWS wanted them to repay $8,000 in training costs, but it later waived this requirement.
MBS, meanwhile, broke the news to its employees last month.
It sent e-mail messages to those affected, saying that their employment contracts were voided because they had failed CRA background checks.
Unlike RWS, which began training its casino staff last October, MBS started instructions for a few hundred dealer inspectors, and cage and surveillance staff, only recently. The dealers are not slated to begin their training until after Chinese New Year next month.
When asked if affected workers would be offered other positions in the integrated resort (IR), MBS declined to comment.
RWS, however, said that it would be ‘happy to assess them for other areas’.
But Mrs Seah-Khoo Ee Boon, its senior vice-president for Human Resources and Training, said: ‘It’s not a given. They have to go through the selection pro-cess.’
Asked why it began training staff before they had been cleared to work in the casino, she said: ‘The training takes up to three months… and we have an opening timeline.’
She added that the IR had conducted background checks on its casino employees. She said all applicants were asked repeatedly during their interviews if they had past criminal records.
‘With this group of employees, my guess is that they didn’t tell us everything about their background,’ said Mrs Seah-Khoo. ‘We went though all the records they provided us with and did our due diligence.’
When contacted, some of the workers fired by RWS admitted that they have had scrapes with the law. Some said they had kept old offences from the IR, but others insisted they had come clean.
A 26-year-old croupier-hopeful, who wanted to be known only as Derrick, said he did not declare a shoplifting offence he committed when he was 14.
‘I didn’t really know it was considered an offence,’ said Derrick, who quit his job as a real estate agent to join the IR in October. ‘It was so long ago and I wasn’t charged.’ He will be appealing to the CRA for another chance.
Another affected employee, who would give his name only as Daniel, said he told RWS ‘everything’, including being caught for selling fake DVDs when he was 14. He said the resort told him to take his chances anyway. ‘This is not fair at all. I was upfront and now I am jobless,’ said the 26-year-old, who used to be an events organiser.
Responding to questions from The Straits Times about CRA’s criteria, its spokesman Vivian Heng said: ‘The criteria for approving special employee licences are consistent with those of jurisdictions such as the United States and Australia.
‘They are essentially stringent criteria, given that a casino is an environment where very large amounts of cash are involved. Thus, those with criminal records that involve dishonesty, lack of integrity or a blatant disregard for the law would not be suitable for this specific industry.’
It is possible that more employees could be fired in future as CRA still has employment applications before it.
Yesterday, Mrs Seah-Khoo brushed off the impact of the sackings on future casino operations. ‘This is actually a small number compared to those whose licences have been approved.’
[email protected]
Gilbert: If you or your friends are affected by the dismissal, do contact me at [email protected]. We will like to hear from you and if possible publish your story online. All stories sent will be treated with strictest confidence.<!-- story content : end -->

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>todaynogo <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:23 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (7 of 8) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32865.7 in reply to 32865.6 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>what abt those FT? who is going to do the background check on them? sack local sporean n give more jobs to the FT?
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

ahleebabasingaporethief

Fucking SCUMS only know how to 100% check Singapore citizens.

The FT person next to you could be a escaped MURDERER in his/her own country.

DEGREEs are FAKED by the FTs in SINGAPORE in LARGER numbers than detected.

By which time if detected, our banks could fail, patients would have died, etc etc.

SINGAPOREANS ALWAYS KENNA DOUBLE STANDARDS BY THE SCUMS.
EVEN SCANNING YOUR IC TO GET INTO THE CASINOs WILL HAVE SINGAPOREANS PROFILED AS "high risk" WHEN YOU NEXT TRY TO BORROW MONEY FROM OUR BANKS.

<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead" valign="top"><td class="msgF" width="1%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">From: </td><td class="msgFname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">todaynogo <nobr></nobr> </td><td class="msgDate" width="30%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">9:23 am </td></tr><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgT" width="1%" align="right" height="20" nowrap="nowrap">To: </td><td class="msgTname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">ALL <nobr></nobr></td><td class="msgNum" align="right" nowrap="nowrap"> (7 of 8) </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td class="msgleft" rowspan="4" width="1%"> </td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">32865.7 in reply to 32865.6 </td></tr><tr><td height="8"></td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">what abt those FT? who is going to do the background check on them? sack local sporean n give more jobs to the FT?
</td></tr><tr><td> </td></tr></tbody></table><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="msgleft" width="1%"> </td><td class="msgopt" width="24%" nowrap="nowrap"> Options</td><td class="msgrde" width="50%" align="middle" nowrap="nowrap"> Reply</td></tr></tbody></table>

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

besotted

Singaporean youngsters below 30 cannot think for themselves, so government need to nanny them. If not they anyhow gamble and borrow from ah long, all the HDB flats kena paint, how?

Foreign worker gamble, who dares splash paint on dorm? hahaha, 50 workers come out and whack the runner.

Merl Haggard

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - BreakingInsideNews:RWS workers not paid!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>11:40 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32865.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Just heard this from a source in NTUC. Apparently there is a small hooha going on in Resort World Sentosa. Some of the workers are not being paid their salaries or yet to receive their pays... matter being brought up to NTUC...
What's going on? RWS lose too much money in the Casino to pay workers?
Any bros here got any friends or relatives working in RWS? Can they confirm?

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

I also heard the same news from Mabel Lee who works for RWS. She also said Gentings Sp will make another rights issue soon.

ahleebabasingaporethief

I also heard the same news from Mabel Lee who works for RWS. She also said Gentings Sp will make another rights issue soon.

This is one share I will give a wide berth to.

How many rights issue already?
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

lek54

u hit it right on bro... These so call 'SCUMS' from credit bureau and now the 'CRA' all believe they are angels.. understaff then get them to man the casinos la!this jobs at 1st seems like veri grand if one is selected but see how now..hahaha ..

Our now angry merlion (which was struck by PAP thunder) has heard and answered Singaporeans call. That is a good sign.

dysentry

I think the place is profitable, but cash flow will take much longer to turn positive, because projections of customer numbers were too high.

Einfield

I was there for some business related activities.

Here's some observation

1.) Foreign friends think the $100 levy on local is a stupid idea
2.) The best attraction in the Universal Studio is down and we got a news blackout on why and when it will be up again
3.) The service standard there is not up to standard, staff in experience and not well trained.
4.) Food is expensive and standard below expectation

We seems to overemphasize on infrastructure but not the software, the people that work there, which will make or break the hospitality business.

I think the place is profitable, but cash flow will take much longer to turn positive, because projections of customer numbers were too high.