• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking: PRC bus drivers play collective truant after SMRT strike

Extremist

http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/03/18...r-smrt-strike/

Private bus operators have revealed that their PRC drivers are playing truant, giving the operators headaches in recent months after about 200 SMRT PRC bus drivers went on strike four months ago over poor salary and dormitory conditions (‘Breaking: 200 SMRT PRC bus drivers go on strike!‘). This is according to a TNP report today (18 Mar).

Some PRCs school bus drivers have developed a bad habit of showing up late for work. They deliberately shut off their handphones so they cannot be contacted. When they finally call the office, they would say they were on MC or they simply overslept. Some have frankly said they want to go home.

To make things worse, the PRC drivers would sometimes take MC together, causing great inconvenience to the bus operators. A bus operator said, “Finding so many replacements is really very difficult at such short notice.”

Another operator said, “Every morning, if all my buses can move out, I really thank the gods.”

TNP reported that such last minute no-shows have become more frequent in recent months after the SMRT bus strike. The bus operators have already sent back home some of the recalcitrant PRC drivers.

Like their compatriots who work for SMRT, the PRC school bus drivers are asking to be paid more. PRC drivers are currently getting about $1,500-$2,000 a month compared to Singaporean drivers who are getting $2,000-$2,500. The PRC drivers are paid less because they are provided with accommodation. Also, bus operators have to pay a foreign worker levy for each of them.

The PRC bus drivers are not just asking to be paid the same as Singaporean bus drivers but they want to be paid the same as lorry drivers, who can earn twice as much as a bus driver.

A lorry driver is paid per trip depending on the distance travelled and the kind of materials carried. The more trips a driver makes, the more he earns. A hardworking lorry driver who drives, say, 10 hours a day, can expect to earn as much as $6,000 a month. With the construction boom in recent years, the demand for lorry drivers to deliver construction materials has shot up.

Currently, there is a loophole in the system which some PRC bus drivers are exploiting. PRCs have to take a driving test in Singapore to be bus drivers here. The bus operators invest in them by sending them for months of training and tests. However, once they get their class 4 driving licence, they will be able to drive lorries as well. So, some of them, even before they start off as bus drivers after getting their class 4 licence, actually quit and go back to China before returning to Singapore to work as lorry drivers.

Under these circumstances, PRC bus drivers feel they deserve to be paid as much as lorry drivers. So they pressurise their employers into paying them more by playing collective truant. They know they can easily get a higher-paying lorry driver’s job.

Indeed, a transport operation manager said, “They began (to show their displeasure) by hinting that working as lorry driver would fetch more pay.”

sickpuppy

Ho say liao! Want cheap lah these employers never heard the saying " U pay nuts u get monkeys "? If add in all the ++ their gross pay might be higher than a sinkie.

Looks like the Tiongs haven't forgotten the words of Chairman Mao:

星星之火,可以燎原

Expect more strikes coming your way soon!

cheowyonglee

i laugh at our gov.pay back time.the ft will create more problems for our gov.
gov really deserve it.u love them...but they dun love you.
as simple as that.

winners

It's payback time. Those Sinkie employers once thought they could exploit their cheap FT labors and discriminate the locals are now getting back a taste of their own medicine. I'd love to see more of such instances happening in the near future, not just in the transportation industries, but hopefully also in the F&B sectors.

Hopefully, one of their beloved FT athletes have a no-show on the big day of a competition.

Employers willing to pay for these ah tiong to get their class 4? Y dont they give the subsidy to locals? Fucking bosses deserved to be fucked over,,,,assholes

During the good times, the employers were given up to $4k by the agents for every FT they employed. To meet the quota these bosses roped in their relatives as phantom employee to meet the quota requirements. The 4K sadly came from the FT who sold family possessions, borrowed money from Ah Long. The system was totally abused under Ng Eng Hen and Gan Kim Yong.

Employers who did not need FT began to take in FT for that sweetener.

When they no longer need these FTs, they would engage CISCO, owned by the Govt to forcibly remove them with special teams. No recourse to any help and MOm completely ignored these abuses for years until the NGOS and people Wham and Au got into the scene.

You can write a whole book on the various abuses, the Tua Peh Kong schemes used by elites running construction companies, MPs involved in recruitment of FTs etc.

It got so bad that ISD officers were transferred to deal with it.

Employers willing to pay for these ah tiong to get their class 4? Y dont they give the subsidy to locals? Fucking bosses deserved to be fucked over,,,,assholes

Not just fire them...the company should hold 10 days pay from them. this pay will be returned when the employee resigns. If they dont turn up for work,,,they get fired and the company keep the money,,these will teach the ah tiong not to play play....

My take is FTs hired into singapore is doing the fts a favour,,,they fuck around they get stuff,,,i dont give a shit about FT benefits and rights etc,,they want all these things,,they can jolly well stay and work in their own country,,,,working in singapore is a benefit not a right...

dont turn up for work, fire them. whats the issue here?

blissquek

lovely...nice move from prcs

I spoke to a coffee-assistant where i usually take my coffee break..

She highlighted to me after this PRC bus strike incident, her employer suddenly changed..
Gave her 4 days off per month instead of the usual two days per month off..besides the minimum 10 hours per day work..

Now...this highlight how inhuman some agency are...and how our MOM turn a blind eye..

These compatriots are human...they are manipulated for commercial gains by employers..made to do weekends and public holiday duties..all disguise as overtime and additional pay in their measly package...

What is our MOM doing..??? totally ignorant on the ground..???

Not so..this is happening for some time..What about the Panasonic case..$500 per month per worker..??
in this overpriced country with high cost of living..???..

Come on..Singapore ..do not bully and take advantage of these peasants...

When 200 over workers strike and made their statement...good if u re-read and empathise with them...

They have a life..and only one life to make it more bearable and meaningful..

What is the few millions extra u make and the few points upwards for your GDP..???

Shameless elite...

Hawkeye1819

This is what you get when companies are given every incentive to hire foreigners over locals. For SMRT it has gotten to the breaking point.

soIsee

dont turn up for work, fire them. whats the issue here?

You see, ppl like you cannot get the BIG picture.

The Sinkie employers have now geared their operation almost entirely on the dependence of FTs.

Hell, their FTs employees practically hold them for ransom and not only this, practically
every Tom , Dick and Harriet or should this be Tan, Ong and Lee industries or sectors are running on the dependence of FTs.

Even your banks are depending on them and so is the newspaper you need to have delivered to you every morning to the cashier at some joint etc .

It's PAY BACK TIME and as they say, the returning shit is always worse than the shit you stir and that is when it has not hit the fan. LOL

You see, ppl like you cannot get the BIG picture.

The Sinkie employers have now geared their operation almost entirely on the dependence of FTs.

Hell, their FTs employees practically hold them for ransom and not only this, practically
every Tom , Dick and Harriet or should this be Tan, Ong and Lee industries or sectors are running on the dependence of FTs.

Even your banks are depending on them and so is the newspaper you need to have delivered to you every morning to the cashier at some joint etc .

It's PAY BACK TIME and as they say, the returning shit is always worse than the shit you stir and that is when it has not hit the fan. LOL

If they can see the picture as you are saying, they would not be voting for the same shits, that have placed them in this situation!. The 60% just don't get it, they deserve what they get, from what they have voted for..so just move on & wait for a huge disaster to occur..which will be soon. We were blessed by providence, that many did not die from the MRT breakdown, how long will providence hold up?:p