• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best Education system in the World. Singapore Boleh!

cheongsimon

Home ›
Singapore News

Singapore excels in latest Mathematics and Science study
By Zhang Tingjun, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 09 December 2008 2205 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore students have once again done well in Science and Mathematics at an international study. The latest Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) looked at the subjects at the Primary 4 and Secondary 2 levels.

In Science, Singapore ranked first in both primary and secondary levels.

As for Primary 4 Mathematics, Singapore was second with a score of 599, eight points behind leaders Hong Kong.

Taiwan was ranked third and Japan fourth.

For Secondary 2 Mathematics, Singapore was third behind Taiwan and Korea with only five points separating the three.

The Ministry of Education said schools will continue to help students build up strong foundations in the two subjects so they will be equipped with the necessary skills to participate fully in society.

Since 1995, Singapore has been ranked within the top three positions with the exception for 7th position for Primary 4 Science in 1995.

The TIMSS study also affirmed that Singapore schools are well-equipped with Science laboratories, and resources are readily available for Mathematics and Science instruction.

In addition, Singapore schools are ranked the highest or second highest internationally when it comes to providing students with a safe and conducive environment for learning. - CNA/vm

Ah Guan

Funny... we do so well in school but still no Nobel Prize winners or top entrepreneurs.

We have to beg FTs to come and rescue our economy some more....

Neh_Neh_Pok

Actually who cares about your primary/secondary/O levels/A levels/diploma when you got your Bachelor/Masters/Doctorate? Which weirdo employer will look at your primary and secondary report books?

chupacabra

Home ›
Singapore News

SINGAPORE: Singapore students have once again done well in Science and Mathematics at an international study. The latest Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) looked at the subjects at the Primary 4 and Secondary 2 levels.

As for Primary 4 Mathematics, Singapore was second with a score of 599, eight points behind leaders Hong Kong.

Taiwan was ranked third and Japan fourth.

For Secondary 2 Mathematics, Singapore was third behind Taiwan and Korea with only five points separating the three.

The Ministry of Education said schools will continue to help students build up strong foundations in the two subjects so they will be equipped with the necessary skills to participate fully in society.

Since 1995, Singapore has been ranked within the top three positions with the exception for 7th position for Primary 4 Science in 1995.

The TIMSS study also affirmed that Singapore schools are well-equipped with Science laboratories, and resources are readily available for Mathematics and Science instruction.

In addition, Singapore schools are ranked the highest or second highest internationally when it comes to providing students with a safe and conducive environment for learning. - CNA/vm

Are there first rate jobs for best educated sinkee created by best educated sinkee employers in peesailand?

Why best educated sinkee are being replaced by fake degree 3rd world foreign trash?

What so great of being 1st educated when there are no jobs created for sinkees?

Why sinkee cannot survive overseas against less educated counterparts?

Why fake degree CEOs can easily con best educated sinkee like Temasek?

Why best educated sinkee must copy tv programs from the west?

Why best educated sinkee not even guaranteed a minimum wage?

Best educated sinkee is overrated la. Not worth anything in the real world.

Home ›
Singapore News

SINGAPORE: Singapore students have once again done well in Science and Mathematics at an international study. - CNA/vm

Another price for rote learners? No wonder PAP said Singapore lack of skilled workers, and all these prices and award will not worth its value in time like this when employer run road.

cheongsimon

Which weirdo employer will look at your primary and secondary report books?

I agree only weirdo employers look at primary and O levels results... but in Singapore the weirdos are Government and GLCs.

You apply job with them, you need to give your O levels results. Infact, if you look at Ministry of National Development career page, you will find -

Job Requirements

The right candidate should have:

(a) At least a B4 for English Language obtained at 'O' levels; and/or
(b) At least a B4 for General Paper obtained at 'A' levels; and
(c) A Pass Degree from a recognised university

http://www.mnd.gov.sg/
So yes... please submit your O levels results if you are interested in a Civil service career.

vamjok

this is nothing. i know someone who had a 2nd upper then completed his phd. he ask for some sponsorship from the panal, end up those clown ask him why he fuck up his A level and did not score all A (i think his result was DCE or something like that).

they rather look at his A level than his current research. funny idiots

Zeitgeist

We don't need Nobel Prize winners because we are doing more than well enough with Exceptional Families!:biggrin:

vamjok

suddenly recall a funny incident. i also heard of a guy whom immedliately after completed his O level went to study for uni overseas after his college years. then went on to one of the ivy league to do his master.

came back to apply for job, glc ask him where is his A level. dun have A level cannot. MUAHAHAHA

Zeitgeist

suddenly recall a funny incident. i also heard of a guy whom immedliately after completed his O level went to study for uni overseas after his college years. then went on to one of the ivy league to do his master.

came back to apply for job, glc ask him where is his A level. dun have A level cannot. MUAHAHAHA

A levels = Indoctrination Cerfiticate?:mad: Aiyayayaya!:eek:

chupacabra

Havings balls is more important than science and maths. But then again like someone said sinkees got castrated long time liao.