• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AYG SO Badly Planned But Newspapers Blaming ALL S'poreans For Not Attending. CCB!

mercbenz

I am so sorry, I must apologize to the organizer for not turning up to show my support. My excuse? I have no idea what is AYG!

A Young Girl?
Another Yowgui Gathering?
Axe Your Gonad?

So sorry, still no idea! :rolleyes:

myo539

Actually I didn't even know there is a Asia Youth Game. .. Only on the very day that I know there is a Youth Game. Seriously this is very bad publicity.

Irony is the H1N1 is a disease of that hits the young most - it's been labelled as the "young people" disease! And here we have a game that is meant for the young - where thousands of young people are gathered together in large groups - and spreading through runs through so many schools. And H1N1 is spread through close contact for prolonged period of time eg a football game takes 1 and half hour to complete - not counting the before and after time - that players and spectators are subjected to. It's a situation ideal for community spread of the disease - for the propagation of H1N1!

We must also reserved some pity for the MCYS. You have to understand that the 2009 Asian Youth Games was awarded to Singapore several years ago and Singapore and other countries have to prepare for it - more so for the host country.

To postpone or cancel the event takes great courage as it involves great time and cost and scarifices are already invested in it. That's where we will depend on our million dollar ministers to deal with the problem.

With the support of the people, Singapore may make decisions that are exemplary of a dependable people and well-run country. So don't just sit there in front of your screen and KPKB - but give encouragement to the organisers in whatever way you can.

Watchman

Fuck them all!

First why hold the Asian Youth Games directly after the June school holidays?

Secondly, don't they know MID-TERM exams are just weeks away?

Thirdly, although our BELOVED GARMENT never warn S'poreans to stay away from crowded places, S"POREANS KNOW BETTER. Must we wait for ONE death from H1N1 here to issue such a WARNING?

Lastly, don't the GARMENT know S'pore is in a RECESSION and many are UNEMPLOYED? Attending such games are furthest from the unemployed and POOR minds.

Real fucking idiots are now using the NEWSPAPERS to 'shame' S'poreans for not attending and supporting the games.

Fuck up planning and time schedule if you ask me. But as usual blaming everyone else but themselves

You the best ~ Screwed the government for having dickheads !

Brightkid

Pay to watch AYG ? :eek:

I rather watch my tow-gay (bean sprout) grow from seeds over the next 2 weeks. More interesting. After that can cook them with salted fish as a dish to go with my porridge for lunch. At least I get some vitamins/minerals.

takcheksian

Aiya my fren

Why u bother with this?

PAP and 154th ALWAYS blame Sporns for everything. It is part of their playbook. If they cannot blame sporns, they will be forced to blame themselves.

Fuck them all!

Thirdly, although our BELOVED GARMENT never warn S'poreans to stay away from crowded places, S"POREANS KNOW BETTER. Must we wait for ONE death from H1N1 here to issue such a WARNING?

Lastly, don't the GARMENT know S'pore is in a RECESSION and many are UNEMPLOYED? Attending such games are furthest from the unemployed and POOR minds.

Real fucking idiots are now using the NEWSPAPERS to 'shame' S'poreans for not attending and supporting the games.

Fuck up planning and time schedule if you ask me. But as usual blaming everyone else but themselves

MarrickG

Singaporeans has better things to do since the FT are taking up our jobs, we need to work harder. No time to see 'bo liao' things...

alvin36

WHO CALL ME??? :confused::confused::confused::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Anyway, i emailed to that reporter at TNP, this is my message to him:

To Mr Santokh, instead of blaming the public 1st, why don't you point the fingers at Singapore Sports Council for not doing enough publicity in this event? Do we see enough ads and posters AYG across the media and the streets?

1st of all, the H1N1 virus, SSC COULD have postponed the event, but they didn't. And the event only started after the holidays are over, how can you blame the public for poor attendance?

2nd, please do not talk so big when you said :"Tickets too pricey? at $2?. Sure, organisers could have reduced the entrance fee, or even allowed free admission to students" Do you have the authority to ask SSC to give free admission to students? if not, pleasse shut up.

I'm dissapointed at the quality of reporters in SPH, instead of finding the problem and solve it, they blamed the public 1st for poor attendances.

Good luck in the next year World Youth Olympics, it won't get much better, this i will assure you.

You guys can email to him too, his email is [email protected]

To the TNP leeporter Santokh,

KNN... CCB... why blame the public ?? Did you bring your kids to support ??
KNN.. talk cock only !!:mad:

Blame the bad publicity lah !!
Blame the MOE and Organisation Committee lah....

I read in your TNP today, all the schools already postponed Inter-Schools sports games, why are we still holding Inter-national kids games ?? No Logic , right ??

Schools have already asked kids not to go crowded area, not to attend any big function... how can we parents ask kids to support the games ??

I'm sure no schools will bring the students to the games too.
If there is an out break of H1N1 at the stadium... who is going to cover their ass ?? Can you cover their ass ??

Otherwise... dont anyhow talk cock :mad:

now oni me get 2 read wat ah santokh wrote ...

Asian Youth Games
Support our sporting youths, show up!
By Santokh Singh

July 01, 2009

OH WHAT a sad spectacle it was, when a scan of the terraces revealed a dearth of spectators.

On the Jalan Besar Stadium pitch, a battle was underway yesterday between 22 passionate youngsters from Singapore and Thailand, punishing their lungs, fighting for every ball, yearning for glory.

And off the pitch? A mere 500 scattered like tumbleweed in stands meant for 6,000.

It made me want to shout: Come on, Singapore! Surely we can do better? And I would NOT be referring to the home team's performance (Singapore lost 1-4 to Thailand).

Never mind the quality of the football or the result, the 22 boys on the pitch deserved a better atmosphere and lustier support from fellow students.

Where were Singapore's students?

Even a fraction of the 100,000 kids in the 12-to-14-year-old school cohort would have packed the stadium to capacity.

But no, there seemed to be other, more important factors at play.

Parents, being Singapore parents, would be thinking about their children's exams.

Principals, being Singapore principals, would be worried about rankings, results, additional remedial classes, enrichment programmes, mock exams or common tests ahead of national examinations.

And then there's this thing called Influenza A(H1N1), which no doubt is feared mostly for possibly threatening the 'A' that really matters.

Putting into practice

But isn't the Games an opportune occasion to teach and practice social responsibility?

H1N1? Sure, if you're not well, stay away. But if you are okay, show some spunk and spirit; come support our kids and do your bit for the country.

Tickets too pricey at $2? Sure, organisers could have reduced the entrance fee, or even allowed free admission for students.

But really, for teenagers who don't think twice about indulging in a fast-food meal of more than $4, what is $2?

Afternoon match scheduling should have been friendlier to school hours?

Certainly. But would a few hours off over eight days result in a national examinations catastrophe?

In the sixties and seventies, there were principals like the late Mr Philip Liau of Raffles Institution, and Victoria School's now-retired T P Naidu.

They took bold decisions and yet produced some of the top political and business leaders today. Why can't today's principals show the same confidence?

I remember as a student making no less than 10trips a year to various sports events during curriculum time - and still my batch produced three Cabinet Ministers.

The educators then had it right: Sport is nothing without support, and achievement is empty without camaraderie.

The young boys and girls here for the AYG have spent more than a year training, sacrificing their own remedial classes for the sake of the country.

They deserve better.

The AYG is a dry-run for the Youth Olympic Games, which Singapore hosts next year.

Singapore deserves better support.

The AYG soccer competition is already going live via the Internet to the world, as will several other sports over the next few days.

With TV and web cameras scanning the action, do we want the world to see near-empty stands reflecting the host nation's athletic apathy?

There is still time. The Games have just begun.

Show up. Cheer our guests and our teenagers over the next week.

Pack the stadiums, the swimming complexes, the sports halls.

If you're not ill, be part of the thrill.

nickers9

Fuck them all!

Tell the Shitty Times reporter that, if LKY pass away, I dont need them to publish in their newspapers, I will definitely go to his wake without them informing us.