• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Australia Best for raising kids.

Ash007

http://www.smh.com.au/business/australia-best-for-kids-expat-survey-20100311-q16s.html

Australia best for kids: expat survey
March 11, 2010 - 5:09PM
With its beaches, outdoor lifestyle and friendly schools, Australia has been voted the world's best country to bring up children by expatriates parents working there, an HSBC bank survey shows.

Australia provided the best environment for healthy and active children, with more than three quarters of expat kids spending more time outdoors than in their home country, the survey said.

Expat children living Down Under also found it easier to make friends and ease into new school environments, while schools in the United States and Britain were the least child-friendly for foreigners, the study found.

The survey looked at more than 3,100 expatriates from 50 countries, now living and working in expatriate hubs including six major ones: Hong Kong, Singapore, the United Kingdom, the United States, United Arab Emirates and Australia.

Respondents rated their adopted homes on quality of childcare, education, ease of integration, costs of raising children and time spent on outdoor activities.

Australia had the largest proportion of expat parents who reported an improvement in the quality of family life compared with their original homes, while almost half (45 percent) said moving to the UK could have a negative effect.

Singapore ranked second overall behind Australia in the top six, followed by Hong Kong, the UAE, the United States and Britain. But Singapore ranked first for safety, while Australia was marked down slightly on childcare quality. Parents saw Britain and the U.S. as generally less healthy places to live, with children in both countries more likely to spend more time watching TV and playing computer games.

Children in the United States were also more likely to frequently eat junk food compared with where they used to live, with 47 percent of expats eating more junk food, HSBC said.

Overall, expat parents believed their children benefited by moving to a foreign country, with an average 48 percent of expat kids adapting well to a new culture, half making new friends easily and 49 percent adapting well to new schooling.

The UK ranked top on cultural adaptation, while cultural differences saw the UAE ranked last.

Reuters

kiwibird7

fishbuff: Oz of course... year 7 and still rounding numbers.. still havent cover algebra or geometry yet.. :P

OZ maths for primary and secondary schools may pale in comparison to Singapore but their graduates from OZ universities are well sought by the SG govt. How strange?

Mining, Geology, Architecture, Telecommunication Satellites, Car Manufacturing, Engineering etc to name a few disciplines that require a strong grasp of Mathematics right?

Singapore may teach have a very SIONG Maths curricullum but do we see Singaporeans leading the way in any of the specialist areas of the named industries listed above?

Ash007

You should see how they are teaching maths in US nowadays, apparently they are telling the kids to draw pictures etc to determine the correct "sum", "groups". They call it "new maths" for some reason.

axe168

if u see their math and science syllabus, u can vomit blood.

Oei, dont complain lah.. with the blessing from the locals, I managed to obtain my Dean Merit Awards... All my SG frz's kids in Melbourne are top in class.. My son came 2nd in class.. Not too bad leh, hehee. I think his scholarship for Yr 7-12 is within reached !

mustspeakup

Never trusts these surveys do your own research on the web and try to live in those countries to experience the real situations on the ground!

My ranking for best places to raise your kids!!

Northern european countries beat oz uk and us hands down!!

neddy

Nothing wrong.

What you see are kids from the losers in the community.
You see the same losers types in Vancouver recently protesting "Housing Vs Olympics".

By the way, it is a fantastic games put up by the Canadians despite the mild weather and how they managed to get the 4th column working at the closing ceremony !!!

neddy

Oz of course... year 7 and still rounding numbers.. still havent cover algebra or geometry yet.. :P

I was put off studying math in Singapore because they are too complex.
What's more. I do not need to use additional math in my daily life.

Math can be taught later in life to those who are interested in the subject.
Eg I ended up studying actuary math.

In Singapore, we overstudy math when what we really need is to be numerate.

Well, wait till your kids get to Year 11 & 12, when they need to double up for uni.

wendypoh

Australia provided the best environment for healthy and active children, with more than three quarters of expat kids spending more time outdoors than in their home country, the survey said.

If the person has the cash, Australia is perfect for being close to Singapore and all the sunshine..

Don Muthuswamy

Sure or not? I thought Ang Moh countries are bad for raising kids? The survey is rather biased. Singapore is much better for raising kids, of course, the minus point is NS.

kiwibird7

Don Muthuswamy: Sure or not? I thought Ang Moh countries are bad for raising kids? The survey is rather biased. Singapore is much better for raising kids, of course, the minus point is NS.

Methinks you have never been a parent or have never travelled to places like NZ.

1. Don't think so much based on what little information you have been brainwashed with or get your propaganda information from the ST. Go and find out yourself first hand.

2. NS conscription applies only to 18 yr olds who are NOT kids!

Kids need to play, enjoy open spaces to run around with their friends, brothers and sisters. Being crammed in a pigeonhole is very claustrophobic for a kid.

Children must not get bogged down and stressed out by endless remedial classes, tuition, tests/exams etc. Their parents must also have enough leisure and energy to play with them and not leave them with childcare centres/maids or become latchkey children entertained by videogames/TV/hanging around shopping malls.

Singapore is a highly stressful and crammed place (pigeonholes, sardined packed transportation, overcrowded recreational places) not conducive for more children to be brought forth.

wendypoh

I dont have the cash, I own the bank $$$... yet i am enjoying in Australia:smile:

I suppose you owe the bank $$$, and not own the bank $$$.

Correct me, if I am wrong, I don't want to look down on your $$$.

But if you indeed own the bank, I thought you are a chicken seller, you sell all your chickens to buy the bank :confused:

axe168

I suppose you owe the bank $$$, and not own the bank $$$.

Correct me, if I am wrong, I don't want to look down on your $$$.

But if you indeed own the bank, I thought you are a chicken seller, you sell all your chickens to buy the bank :confused:

ok-ok.. typo error.. the wording used is above board, lets move on.. :biggrin: Ho Ching can make an error over and over again.. I guess my minor mistake is sustainable :smile:

On 2nd thot, I do own a bank (some shares in M'sia) due to its good dividend.. In summary, I do own and owe a bank..

I was once a chicken seller and a ceiling fan watcher. Now, I'm Phua Chu Kang - Best in Melbourne & Brisbane.. I am not ashamed of what I did.