• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are rising home prices such a bad thing?

MarrickG

20110329.172818_29mar_housingprices.jpg

AT THE best of times, housing is a hot issue in Singapore.

But with increased grumblings about rising prices, limited choices and poor locations, this looks to be one issue the Opposition will try to exploit in the coming election.

As the man in charge of public housing, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan knows he's in the hot seat. But he is ready for the fight.

He told The New Paper: "What are they (the Opposition) going to say? 'If you vote against the PAP, vote against Mah Bow Tan and his team, prices will come down and everybody will be happy?' What are their solutions? Are their solutions sensible, credible, will they work?"

In a recent two-hour interview, Mr Mah said that out of 100 people who apply for a flat, there may be 10 to 20 who try several times, but can't get the flat they want.

"Out of that, maybe one or two will write to the papers, so people think, oh there are not enough flats.

Majority are happy

"But the 80 who got their flats, merrily renovating their flats, moving in, they don't write to the papers. We don't expect them to do that, but you know how impressions, perceptions are formed."

While Mr Mah acknowledges prices are going up, he offered another way of looking at it: They are high because the economy is booming.

"If prices come down, it can mean only one of two things: Either we do silly things, we make silly decisions; or the economy goes bad, unemployment is high, confidence is down. Then, property prices will surely come down.

"So we have to be careful what we wish for."

That's why the Government is doing its best to help preserve and add value to the flats by building new infrastructure in housing estates.

"Because their house is their biggest, most valuable asset. Something that they're going to live in for a long time, and hopefully one day monetise to support their retirement. So we must make sure their flats are preserved in value," he said.

"That's why we upgrade, that's why we put in infrastructure.

"If you look at Tampines, 30 years ago and today, with all the infrastructure, with the regional centre, with the MRTs, with the schools, with the malls, facilities - of course, prices have gone up. But is that a bad thing?"

Mr Mah believes that housing issues will not be the biggest challenge he faces in getting re-elected for his sixth term.

"My biggest challenge is to convince voters we will be able to do a good job for them overall.

"Housing will be one of the issues that will be raised. The Opposition will raise other issues, cost of living, immigration and so on.

"They won't talk about the jobs that have been created, they won't talk about the economy that has rebounded strongly from the recession, they won't talk about the houses we've built, the upgrading we've done.

"And yes, there are problems, but we are doing something about them. House prices have gone up, but we're doing something to moderate it."

And that's why Mr Mah said he has to fight for every single vote.

He said: "I don't take for granted any vote. Every vote is important, every vote is precious, every person who votes in the elections, you have to convince them that you've done well for them, that you are going to do just as well, if not better, in the future. If you fail to do that, then of course, you lose them."

This will be Mr Mah's seventh General Election (GE). He has served five terms. (He lost his first election in 1984, in Potong Pasir, to Mr Chiam See Tong.)

Said Mr Mah: "Every GE is different. The specific issues are different, what catches fire will be different. But like all GEs, at the end of the day, it will boil down to one issue; to me, the most important issue: Choosing your leaders.

"At the local level, who your MP will be, to look after you in the constituency.

"And then at the national level, who will form your Government, who will secure your future, make your future better, keep Singapore going, keep Singapore growing.

"I think that's a big issue."

His advice to first-time voters: Go out there, get as much information as possible from both sides and make a sound judgement based on the facts you have gathered.

"There will be a lot of rumours, a lot of hearsay, people will say all sorts of things during the GE.

"Just be discerning and make sure you hear from all sides... And always remember that an election is about doing what's best for you and your family."

Is he concerned about younger voters who may be more idealistic and want more opposition?

Said Mr Mah: "It's not the sole prerogative of the young to be idealistic.

I think there are (older) people who feel that way too.

"It's good to have opposing voices, listen to alternative views. In fact, there's no shortage of opposing voices, there are avenues for that.

"The new media does open up avenues for alternative views, so much so that sometimes you wonder whether it sheds more light or creates more confusion.

"But finally, we should come back to basics. An MP's job is not just to make noise and say things, but also to make things happen for the better for the constituents.

Who can do a better job?"

This article was first published in The New Paper.

superdude

So retarded. Rising property prices are only good if u have 2 properties and trying to profit from the sale of one.

Spock

Rising prices is good only if you have rising real incomes in tandem as well. Otherwise, it is just runaway inflation.

Char_Azn

There is nothing wrong with rising property prices even if U own a single property AS LONG AS THEY FREAKING DUN PEG THE HBD FLATS OF NEW FLATS TO THE RESALE MARKET!!!!

If the HDB sells flats to first time buyers on the cheap then there is no problem with high flat prices, in fact it is a good thing becoz your property value goes up. If U only have 1 property u can sell your property and downgrade to a smaller house using the profits for yourself. So no, rising property may not be a bad thing however in our case it's not a good thing

PAP dog : There is nothing wrong with PAP dogs defending PAP policies. blah blah blah.

This kind of comments from a multi million dollar minister is so retarded, I son't even know where to start. If the oppo was smart, they will have a field day picking this inteview apart and using is quotes against him in the elections.

He told The New Paper: "What are they (the Opposition) going to say? 'If you vote against the PAP, vote against Mah Bow Tan and his team, prices will come down and everybody will be happy?' What are their solutions? Are their solutions sensible, credible, will they work?"

Let's face it, the PAP's solutions are not sensible, credible or anything. In fact, they have directly cost the prices to go up in the first place thru not building enough flats in prior years, letting in so many FTs and giving them PRs to enable them to buy flats, and finally controlling the prices fo the flats by making them expensive so as to maximize their profits. What MBT failed to mentioned is that he has cost the prices to go up, and now he wants to put the onus on the oppo to come up with solutions to lower the price. What a fucker. Its like a doctor who caused his patient to have cancer, and than dares another dr, to cure his own patient. I can tell u that since the MBT and the PAP are not only the cause of these high prices, they are also not the solution. Its better for the oppo to take a crack at it, They cannot do any worse. [/COLOR

In a recent two-hour interview, Mr Mah said that out of 100 people who apply for a flat, there may be 10 to 20 who try several times, but can't get the flat they want.

"Out of that, maybe one or two will write to the papers, so people think, oh there are not enough flats.

Majority are happy

"But the 80 who got their flats, merrily renovating their flats, moving in, they don't write to the papers. We don't expect them to do that, but you know how impressions, perceptions are formed."

MBT failed to mentioned that the 80 that got their flats are all cursing about how expensive it is. They are not merrily renovating, I guarantee u that. They are merrily cursing that their overpriced flat is so bare bones, they need to sink in another $100K to renovate it. If he thinks this is a merry situation, he is way out of touch. I dare him to show an independent survey on whether these 80 people felt they received good value for their flats, that the location was good, and the addtional cost of renovations and mortgage payments was good. What a lying piece of shit.

While Mr Mah acknowledges prices are going up, he offered another way of looking at it: They are high because the economy is booming.

"If prices come down, it can mean only one of two things: Either we do silly things, we make silly decisions; or the economy goes bad, unemployment is high, confidence is down. Then, property prices will surely come down.

"So we have to be careful what we wish for."

This shit head don't dare to explain the direct correlation between booming economy and housing prices. If the economy is booming so much, why are so many native sinkies being laid off and replaced with FTs? In a booming economy, shouldn't there be enough work for everyone? Why are salaries not booming than? Is he saying that a booming economy creates higher paying and more jobs for sinkies, so they can afford to pay more for HDB flats, or their desire for HDB flats increase? Is that what he is saying? How can this be when he controls and sets the prices of the HDB flats? If the economy is booming, he is saying that he has raised the flat prices because sinkies can afford to pay more? Than why in the 2009 recession did he not LOWER the flat prices? If he wants to, he can easily price a flat at $80K whether the economy is booming or not. So, what shit is he saying? Also, is there not a direct impact to housing prices when there are close to 2 million FTs all running around looking for housing, and many granted PR and citizenship status? I think the pressure on prices is caused more by these FTs, than by his general statement of "booming economy". Even if the economy goes bad like he says, there is no guarantee that the prices will come down as it is he who sets the prices.

konglanjiaowei

20110329.172818_29mar_housingprices.jpg

konglanjiaowei :biggrin:

The Prostitute Times should get assholes like ivebert, cass888 so that they can come out with headings like : Rising home prices are not for losers :eek: :biggrin:

Spock

Majority are happy

Same logic as the people must be happy with the government since there is no one protesting outside Parliament.

same logic as woody goh's people must be happy with occassional floods becos japan has tsunami.

TNP(Tua Neh Pau)

Like what I learnt yesterday...

"Assumptions are the mother of all Fucked-Ups"

I hope his assumption that majority are happy is correct.

Majority are happy

Demand is high because housing is a very basic need of its citizens.

If one day, the price of rice is very high people will still buy because it is a need not just because demand is high.

Property prices rise because of demand. If housing was not affordable, then why is the demand so high?

"Because their house is their biggest, most valuable asset. Something that they're going to live in for a long time, and hopefully one day monetise to support their retirement. So we must make sure their flats are preserved in value," he said.

I am afraid this is a trick that all PAP ministers perpetrate on the public and unfortunately, the oppo seemed to have believe too. Your house or flat is not your most valuable asset. In fact, its not your asset. You don't own it. U are only leasing it. The transferability of your lease is your greatest asset. Ability to transfer your lease to someone else in exchange for monetary consideration is the only asset that u have with regards to your flat. Never forget this. Monetise is MBT's way of saying that you have to sell your flat to support your retirement. Its a tacit admission that your CPF is not enough for your retirement even though it is expressly set uo for your retirement. Your flat is not set up for the same purpose. Why is your CPF not enough? Its not enough because u have depleted it in order to pay for the DP and mortgage payments on your grossly overpriced flat. But than how do you decide when to monetise your flat, as MBT says? If you buy your flat when u are 25 years old, and its brand new. and you retire at 68 years old (43 years later), how much is your flat worth? Will even banks dare to finance any potential buyers given the lease is already approaching the halfway mark? If you want to so call monetise your flat for your retirement, than u have to sell it at the highest price in order to have the most money for retirement. But when is the maximum price? Probably not 43 years into the lease. Its probably around 20-25 years into the lease. But if you sell at that time, where would u live? What can u afford to buy? All these questions have turned you into a property speculator for the one thing that can never be speculated on, the amount for your retirement fund.

"They won't talk about the jobs that have been created, they won't talk about the economy that has rebounded strongly from the recession, they won't talk about the houses we've built, the upgrading we've done.

To date, no minister or ministry has ever broken down all these so call job creations. They always lump the jobs created as a whole, and as an economy. But, how many of these jobs were created for native born singaporeans, how many for recent PRs and new citizens, and how many for expats and FTs. They like to put the numbers for native born sinkies together with PRs and new citizens. We want to know the real numbers. Everyone, except the PAP knows these PRs and new citizens are just here to milk the system, and fuck off at the smallest sign of trouble.

But finally, we should come back to basics. An MP's job is not just to make noise and say things, but also to make things happen for the better for the constituents.

Who can do a better job?"

So than, he has admitted that he has done fuck all for his constituents. All anyone has heard him do is MAKE NOISE and SAY THINGS about how housing is so affordable and how the market subsidies are so much etc. How has he himself made things better for his constituents, other than lie to them, and cause their housing prices to go up. There has been many suggestions on how he can make it better, but he has not done so. From 30,000 units a year build, he dropped it to 7000 new build flats a year, thereby causing a major pent up demand. Is this a good job, getting caught flat footed by the large demand for flats caused by this pent up demand as well as the large influx of FTs? How about suggestions that people who have done their 2 year NS for their country should get first priority and real discounts? He has done absolutely nothing, and his track record shows it.

I urge people to read between the lines and logically analyse his arguments to see the smoke screen and bullshit that he is spouting.