• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another Comfort Taxi Burst Into Flame!

Taxi catches fire on expressway
Posted: 08 May 2012 1352 hrs
display_image.php
Photos 1 of 1<INPUT id=btnPrev disabled value="<< Previous" src="/images/butt_previous.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image><INPUT id=bntPlay value="Play - Stop" src="/images/butt_stop.gif" width=19 height=15 type=image><INPUT id=btnNext disabled value=" Next >> " src="/images/butt_next.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
dotline_240.gif

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<!-- for social media sharing functions -->

<fb:like class=" fb_edge_widget_with_comment fb_iframe_widget" ref=".T6kpAIinJIw.like" show_faces="false" font="arial" width="120" action="recommend" layout="button_count" href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1199925/1/.html"><IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; WIDTH: 130px; HEIGHT: 21px; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none" id=f35fc694fd5ae44 class=fb_ltr title="Like this content on Facebook." src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?action=recommend&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter.php%3Fversion%3D5%23cb%3Dfa26af01609cf%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%252Ff3450e2c2451f5%26domain%3Dwww.channelnewsasia.com%26relation%3Dparent.parent&extended_social_context=false&font=arial&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1199925%2F1%2F.html&layout=button_count&locale=en_US&node_type=1&ref=.T6kpAIinJIw.like&sdk=joey&show_faces=false&width=130" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency name=f3aa52008be327 scrolling=no></IFRAME></fb:like>

<IFRAME style="WIDTH: 112px; HEIGHT: 20px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" title="Twitter Tweet Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.1335513764.html#_=1336486145317&count=horizontal&counturl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1199925%2F1%2F.html&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1199925%2F1%2F.html&size=m&text=Taxi%20catches%20fire%20on%20expressway%20-%20Channel%20NewsAsia%3A&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1199925%2F1%2F.html%23.T6kpAP3a9is.twitter" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>

inShare1
[URL="http://www.sammyboy.com/#"]7[/URL]

<TBODY> </TBODY>
<!-- END social media sharing functions -->
SINGAPORE: A taxi caught fire on Tuesday afternoon along the Pan-Island Expressway towards Changi Airport, near the Old Police Academy.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said it was alerted about the fire at about 12.45pm.

The fire was put out within 10 minutes of SCDF's arrival on the scene.

SCDF said no one was injured.

ComfortDelGro said its driver was travelling along the PIE when she noticed white smoke coming out of her car bonnet.

She quickly drove to the road shoulder and got out of the cab.

She was a distance away from it when she noticed flames coming out of the bonnet, and quickly notified the company which immediately sent emergency assistance.

SCDF firefighters arrived shortly after.

This is the second such incident in recent weeks involving ComfortDelGro's Sonata taxis.

On April 24, a taxi burst into flames in the Kampong Java tunnel of the Central Expressway (CTE).

ComfortDelGro said on Tuesday that it is doubling up efforts to pinpoint the cause. It is in very close contact with the manufacturer, which will be sending a specialist from South Korea to assist with investigations.

ComfortDelGro said the cause of the fire is still not known but said there are several possibilities. These include a shorting of the electrical circuitry.

The company said once it is sure of the cause or causes of the incidents, it will recall its taxis to make sure that this does not happen again.

The manufacturer, Komoco Motors, said in a statement that a specialist team of technicians will conduct a full investigation at all ComfortDelGro taxi service centres next week.

Their task is to make random inspections of all high-usage taxis and ensure minimum recurrence of the incidents.

- CNA/wm/ac <!-- Zone Tag : Channel News Asia In Text <script type="text/javascript"> innity_pub = "66368270ffd51418ec58bd793f2d9b1b"; innity_zone = "12251"; innity_width = "**"; innity_height = "**"; innity_country = "SG"; </script> <script type="text/javascript" src="http://cdn.innity.com/network.js"></script>-->

hotbot

ha! lady driver, what do you expect! she may know how to drive but does she know that coolant is critical for engine running hours on the road. probably, this is the cause!

I_Hate_Pappies

:eek: That's all? A non Anti PAP posting from Makapaaa??? Must buy 4D today!:biggrin:

Makapaaa, any idea what is the TAXI car plate number? Come lah, share share leh. :biggrin:

Ask the taxi drivers of these Hyundai Sonata turbocharged cabs and they will tell you they overheat easily. The next question is if the LTA is sleeping to allow them to run on the road despite the safety issue. Of course, if it can help some Temasick-linked companhy save a few cents, everything goes.

B

Baluku

SGP so hot of course must top up radiator coolant water lah!

Simple things like this also dunno, how can be drivers har?

Charlie258

Ask the taxi drivers of these Hyundai Sonata turbocharged cabs and they will tell you they overheat easily. The next question is if the LTA is sleeping to allow them to run on the road despite the safety issue. Of course, if it can help some Temasick-linked companhy save a few cents, everything goes.

Not easy to make a Diesel car catch fire. Just try this simple test for yourself: put a drop of diesel on the road, and put a drop of petrol nearby. Try to light them with a match or a lighter. The drop of petrol will light even before your match/lighter actually touches it. The diesel drop will take a damn long time to light, if it ever lights!!!!

Moral of Story: Korea cars are Crap!!!!!!:biggrin:

saratogas

Comfort taxi drivers forget to perform first parade task... Just like military drivers must check their vehicle before driving off!

Krafty Hotbot cab burst into flames a few times before after he was drunk and pumped its fuel tank with whisky. No problem. Claim insurance and apply for change cab. Just evade fast enough before police comes to take breathalyser test.

I_Hate_Pappies

Nabeh, don't share don't share lah. KNN must die die link to PAP! You are GOOD!:biggrin:

sukhoi-30

I remembered few years back when a taxi driver told me he prefer a Toyota as he feel that hyundaii or Korean cars are not made to stand the rigors of taxi driving. it seems he was right afterall.

I think Korean cars while having a very nice exterior body still lag behind Japanese cars. As a recent driver of both Japanese and Korean cars, i think the differences are quite big though Japanese car might seems dull outside.

phpYCXvId.jpg

6adf6feffe6a52260568f7f237ccc2e1_330.jpg
63073__1335317352.jpg

D0CDC567759E27DEF93C66EBB24A8.jpg

cte-tunnel-taxi-stompe.jpg

I dedicate the following song to Sinkieland's public transport.

[video=youtube;8Lx8uHC7I4M]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Lx8uHC7I4M[/video]

bayiLuiTuckYew.jpg

She's on fire! And he's a flamer!