• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang Moh Appalled by $5.6k Bill for 2hr Day Surgery!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Hospital's estimate: $1,800 Final bill: $5,600
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I RECENTLY had a hand operation at Mount Elizabeth Hospital. At the hospital's admissions, I was told that the estimated hospital bill would be $1,800.
I had the day surgery with no complications. As I was leaving, the hospital gave me an additional bill for $3,800. That came up to a total of $5,600 for two hours in the hospital.
What happened to the estimate? Isn't it supposed to be a close approximation to the actual cost? Or is it just an arbitrary dollar amount the hospital comes up with and then charges whatever it wants? What does estimate mean? Sharon A. Morris (Mrs)

shelltox

1800 estimate is for surgery, the rest goes to doctors consultation fees, parkway medical reits rental,

besotted

Bloody expat no money go Geylang polyclinic lah

After successful surgery save the hand complain about price

If Singapore no good, go back to your fucking country and join the queue

DerekDear

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Hospital's estimate: $1,800 Final bill: $5,600
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I RECENTLY had a hand operation at Mount Elizabeth Hospital. At the hospital's admissions, I was told that the estimated hospital bill would be $1,800.
I had the day surgery with no complications. As I was leaving, the hospital gave me an additional bill for $3,800. That came up to a total of $5,600 for two hours in the hospital.
What happened to the estimate? Isn't it supposed to be a close approximation to the actual cost? Or is it just an arbitrary dollar amount the hospital comes up with and then charges whatever it wants? What does estimate mean? Sharon A. Morris (Mrs)

Extra $3800 = FT levy

yogi1973

i trust that they will be investigated for overcharging, and their license revoked if found guilty ala newton style.

ahleebabasingaporethief

i trust that they will be investigated for overcharging, and their license revoked if found guilty ala newton style.

Singapore as a MEDICAL HUB has FAILED.

UAE refuses to pay bills for supposed over-charging.

Ex-Marketing man is paid commissions to bring in patients? Paid commissions for SICK people? That is indeed SICK! SICK! Making money from the sick.

Most Indons are now going to Malaysia- Malacca and Penang for treatment...cheaper.

The rest that used to come to Singapore and now going to Bangkok for medical treatment.

Why did we fail? Because we are TOO GREEDY.

When public hospitals also want a piece of foreign patient pie, that's when the cookie crumbles. That's when YOUR medical cots go sky high because they want to make MONEY.

You still say we got SMART leaders? I say we got GREEDY ones that have to show profits in the ministaries that they run.

As for the angmo that complained, tell that cheapo cannot afford dont stay in Singapore lah.

JohnTT

$1800 is hospital fees (inclusive of usage of Day Surgery room & facilities & other equipment) while $3800 is the doctor's or specialist's fees.

This is a well known fact.

Angmoh always like to complain, especially in Singapore :mad:, b'cos they know that the govt is pro-foreigner, unlike in China & India. By the way, Angmohs nowadays are no longer as rich as before.

takcheksian

Exactly, fren!

If Sinkies must pay sky high for everything, anyone who want to be ft here should also pay sky high for everything. Boh song, fark back home and enjoy your first-world, healthcare social safety net.

Why angmoh charboh so stupid to cum here to this fake first-world cuntry also I dun know. She never hear story of that other angmoh charboh (Wall Street Journal editor) that PAPpies are trying to bite now, Melanie Fitzpatrick?

... What happened to the estimate? Isn't it supposed to be a close approximation to the actual cost? Or is it just an arbitrary dollar amount the hospital comes up with and then charges whatever it wants? What does estimate mean? Sharon A. Morris (Mrs)
u nt happy? ... nex time go jb, iz much cheaper ... dat fella who collect million $ salary said tis 1 ..

cass888

Bloody expat no money go Geylang polyclinic lah

After successful surgery save the hand complain about price

If Singapore no good, go back to your fucking country and join the queue

It's not the money. It's the fact that you go into something with a certain estimate. Even if the final bill was $3k is still fine. But $5.6k is too far off.

When you use your own doctor, you expect to pay your doctor separately. But if Mount E is going to charge for the doctor as well, they should have stated the estimate full price not the $1,800.

Most Indons are now going to Malaysia- Malacca and Penang for treatment...cheaper.

The rest that used to come to Singapore and now going to Bangkok for medical treatment.

As a local who's had to be hospitalised I did notice how busy the billing department is. Before you are admitted you have to visit that dept to make sure you have enough $$$ & when you check out you have to visit that dept again to settle the bill.

Next time I'll go to Bangkok or Malacca :rolleyes:

JohnTT

It's not the money. It's the fact that you go into something with a certain estimate. Even if the final bill was $3k is still fine. But $5.6k is too far off.

When you use your own doctor, you expect to pay your doctor separately. But if Mount E is going to charge for the doctor as well, they should have stated the estimate full price not the $1,800.

The 'hospital' expense is billed separately from the 'doctor' expense. In other words, the hospital bill MAY NOT cover the doctor's fees or the full doctor's fees. The estimate is for the hospital's bill only, not for the doctor's bill (if you look at the 1st post). In other words, the estimate for the hospital side is $1800, but can be higher example $1900 in the event there is a need to use other facilities or medical products during the operation or day surgery. The $3800 is charged separately by the doctor for doctor's services rendered & may be billed TOGETHER at the hospital's side (after surgery). If billed at hospital's side, the hospital will pay the fees to the doctor later.

denzuko1

Okay, so we should expect STB to act and close down the Hospital, then represent the Ang Moh at small claim tribunal.

prinzy

same punishment lah ... suspend hospital for 3 months for over charging ..... incidentally after this bad publicity ... will people boycott this hosp like Newton Circus ?

R4g3

going Mt E for medical is the same as going Newton for seafood. Only different is 1 is legal chop, the other is illegal chop.

Okay, so we should expect STB to act and close down the Hospital, then represent the Ang Moh at small claim tribunal.

totally agree wif u ...

stb cannot n shud nt practise double standards ... stb shud b fair ...

ChaoPappyPoodle

The 'hospital' expense is billed separately from the 'doctor' expense. In other words, the hospital bill MAY NOT cover the doctor's fees or the full doctor's fees. The estimate is for the hospital's bill only, not for the doctor's bill (if you look at the 1st post). In other words, the estimate for the hospital side is $1800, but can be higher example $1900 in the event there is a need to use other facilities or medical products during the operation or day surgery. The $3800 is charged separately by the doctor for doctor's services rendered & may be billed TOGETHER at the hospital's side (after surgery). If billed at hospital's side, the hospital will pay the fees to the doctor later.

STB should close down the hopital for overcharging!

And these private hospitals that cater to foriegners, where do they get the blood, real blood for the operations?

No operation can be done without blood, real blood. Where do they get the blood from and how much does it cost?

Look for the trail of blood and you will find the answer as it always is withen a crime is committed.

ahpong

totally agree wif u ...

stb cannot n shud nt practise double standards ... stb shud b fair ...

Yes, agree. The newton case invloves $500, and this case more than 10 times more. Should close down the hospital for 3 years.