• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AGC acts against cartoonist Leslie Chew

A friend of mine reposted his cartoon in his fb and get called up by ISD for kopi.
Now statement taken pending if Kena charge for sedition.

ISD looks into many cases but few goes to court. Either a warning given or case referred to matu-chu. They may also use the interview process to gauge if one is suitable for cultivation!

swampfire

"Under Singapore's Sedition Act, among other things, it is an offence to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against the Government."

is this even legal in an international court of law? they can arrest you if you try to make people lose their love for the government? WTF is this? the PAP is doing a great job of it all by itself.

escher

"Under Singapore's Sedition Act, among other things, it is an offence to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against the Government."

is this even legal in an international court of law? they can arrest you if you try to make people lose their love for the government? WTF is this? the PAP is doing a great job of it all by itself.

Vote all those PAP walking bags of excrement and vomit out out out in 2016

aiyah, leslie chew just borrow your friend passport and fly to new zealand, once you are there, claim asylum and in future you can buddy buddy with sam leong. you dun have to work, the social system will pay everything, house, food, internet, medical cost etc.

Sam Leong hates peasant ...he will hunt leslie down and give him to ISD.

If Singapore fears a cartoonist, then what about other pictures?

To restore its hold on the people, PAP needs to restore education to the old days of the 80s where the teacher's word is accepted unquestionably as the truth.

Sinkees are questioning too much ...LHL is suffering from panic attacks with every issue that pops up. In the last month, he has to deal with haze, cleaning of hawker centre, kovan murders and now CPIB corruption. Soon to come, Auditor General report on his office. LHL's cancer will return in no time if issues continue to jump up so frequently.

What is his cartoon website link?

On the other hand, I've enuff of cartoon characters in this forum, I'm about to puke anytime.

So many people re-posted the cartoons. Are u sure they can charge all?

I doubt they can that's why sinkies need to rise up.
Or probably they just want to 'kill 1 to warn 100'.
In any case he has not been charged and as expected this was not reported in the papers.
Maybe just want to scare him as the guy used to be former SPF.
In any case, friends have told him to hire a lawyer and make a big hooha if he gets charged.
Make more aware, dun go down without a fight.

greenies

Cartoonist Leslie Chew Charged for Contempt of Court <--- Respect should be earned!!!

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/singapore-...lie-chew-for-contempt-of-court-102538645.html

A sad news, but expected it would happen one day to anyone having opposite views.
Making jokes about events and political leaders are life of artists and cartoonists.
Trying to resort under own courtyard does not earn them any respect.
In fact, they will lose more ground supports.
Don't they understand yet?

escher

I doubt they can that's why sinkies need to rise up.
Or probably they just want to 'kill 1 to warn 100'.
In any case he has not been charged and as expected this was not reported in the papers.
Maybe just want to scare him as the guy used to be former SPF.
In any case, friends have told him to hire a lawyer and make a big hooha if he gets charged.
Make more aware, dun go down without a fight.

How long will smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY continue to eat porridge and soft food?
smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will soon be eating joss sticks and candle wax.

That entire filthy corrupt PAP made from self centered nasty greedy wicked cruel back stabbing scums of society can last after LKY go meet gecko?

Ultŕaman

Updated: 07/29/2013 15:15 | By Channel NewsAsia

AGC drops action against cartoonist under Sedition Act

B90C1DE74694122733C3AB58498B.jpg

SINGAPORE: Singapore's Attorney-General's Chambers (AGC) said it will not be taking further action against Chew Peng Ee, also known as Leslie Chew, for offences under the Sedition Act.

It said the public prosecutor arrived at the decision after reviewing the evidence in the investigation papers that the police submitted.

Chew was arrested on 19 April 2013 as part of investigations into whether he had committed offences under the Sedition Act for his publication of the comic series "Demon-cratic Singapore" on Facebook.

He was released on bail on 21 April 2013, and has remained on bail since.

With the AGC's decision on Monday, his police bail will be allowed to lapse, and his passport, which was surrendered as a condition of bail, will be returned to him.

AGC said Chew was informed of the decision earlier Monday.

However, the legal proceedings against Chew for contempt of court will continue.

In its statement Monday, the AGC reiterated that issues related to a pending case before a court should be discussed within the court itself. - CNA/xq

StarshipTroopers

Updated: 08/06/2013 17:51 | By Channel NewsAsia

AGC drops contempt proceedings against cartoonist

B975C79ACCCBAC0684939178ED65C.jpg

SINGAPORE: The Attorney General's Chambers (AGC) has agreed to drop the contempt proceedings against cartoonist Leslie Chew over his comic strips about the Singapore judiciary.

AGC said it has received a request from the cartoonist's lawyers "not to pursue the contempt proceedings against him if the comic strips in question are taken down, with an apology and undertaking prominently posted on the Demon-cratic Singapore Facebook page."

An AGC spokesman said the offending comic strips have been taken down from the web page, and that Mr Chew has given an apology and undertaking on Tuesday.

Posting on his Facebook page, Mr Chew also said that he will not re-post the comic strips in any form or medium.

He stated: "I further undertake that I will not in future put up any post or comic strip, or do any other act that amounts to contempt of court."

Through the apology and undertaking, the spokesman noted Mr Chew has accepted that the comic strips in question scandalised the Judiciary of Singapore. - CNA/xq