• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

advice on china

catch71

dear bros, just a quick note to see if someone can offer any advice on my situation.

abt 18 months back, i was doing bad in singapore. partnership just broken up, and new biz not getting anywhere. so i encouraged my wife to out her hand up for a opening in china - thinking it might be good to have a fresh start. it took a while and now it has materialised.
however, my biz has since picked up as well, and i was actually doing ok now in singapore. while i am unwilling to drop everything here, i am concious of the fact that i encouraged her to go in the first place. so i dun want to disappoint her.
there is no real financial reason to go away comparing what i loose in income here vs her improved package. in fact we'd prob do worse. but, it is not to say we will go and suffer hardship. i believe the package is sufficient for us as a family, including kids.
of cos, i will still try to look for a source of income over there, but at this point, i am a little lost. not prepared to live off my wife, and stay at home as a house husband. not going is not an option - i dun see the family living in diff places, what is the point? kids are very young.

any suggestions on what i can potentially do over there? i have a very niche technical specialisation. as such, i dun see myself getting job in the city where she is based, cos there is no application for my expertise. starting new in another field would be a pity, considering i have 15 yrs experience in this particular field already. but circumstances is such that i may have to. any pple with experience in china, who can advise what area i should look into?

Keep well away from China and its inhabitants. The place is riddled with fake food, fake goods, fake medicine and fake people.

Ash007

What field are you in to begin with? And which city in china are you going to? China could be more modern then you think.

China could be more modern then you think.

The infrastructure may look modern but the inhabitants still behave as if they're in the dark ages. They have no morals, no scruples, no pride and no shame.

I would never, ever impose the conditions that exist in China on any of my loved ones. Every single mouthful of food may contain deadly toxins added by some dishonest chinamen simply to make a quick buck. Every trip to the doctor or hospital could be an appointment with death.

China is the stuff of nightmares. If there is a hell on earth, China has to be it.

kingrant

Sam is right. If it is Dubai, Bahrain or ME, even vietnam, I'd still say try it. But China is full of dangers - in health, food, safety, environment, water etc.

Since you sounded also hesitant and unsure about yr own prospects, and if it's only about not disappointing yr dear wife because you were the one who suggested the idea, I dont think this is a good solid reason for relocating. Yr wife I'm sure can understand that things have improved for you.

So my advice is a no-no. the opportunity costs are too high for you, now and the future.

dear bros, just a quick note to see if someone can offer any advice on my situation.

Cuntamania

I totally agree, this place is full of crap! I am staying and working in this shit place. Honestly i didn't like it a bit. Locals here didn't care what will happen to others be it die or whatever. Most importantly they must make money. All they care about is MONEY! Waiting for opportunity to be relocate to another country. Here in China MONEY TALKS ONLY!

Sam is right. If it is Dubai, Bahrain or ME, even vietnam, I'd still say try it. But China is full of dangers - in health, food, safety, environment, water etc.

Since you sounded also hesitant and unsure about yr own prospects, and if it's only about not disappointing yr dear wife because you were the one who suggested the idea, I dont think this is a good solid reason for relocating. Yr wife I'm sure can understand that things have improved for you.

So my advice is a no-no. the opportunity costs are too high for you, now and the future.

Charlie258

Amazing. All this China Bashing. Sounds like I am posting myself. Bravo, Samsters! You have arrived. We have all arrived!

Death to CCP!:biggrin:

hairylee

We Sinkies are only clever. The Chinese are brilliant people.
So just ask yourself what you can contribute to these people.
Look no further than LKY in Suzhou.

China: 13-storey apartment building collapse in Shanghai, Killed one worker

June 30, 2009 chinaview Leave a comment Go to comments
r
a toppled 13-storey apartment building that buried one worker in Shanghai June 27, 2009
Report from Reuters

13 STOREY HOUSING CONDO FALL FLAT ON THE GROUND ! CHINA ENGINEERING FAILURE.

YES, IT IS A 13 STORY BUILDING LYING ON THE GROUND.

Anybody who bought a condo here sure has a problem.
Talk about a collapsed market! YES, IT'S A 13 STORY BUILDING IN CHINA LYING ON THE GROUND.

(1) An underground garage was being dug on the south side,
to a depth of 4.6 meters.

(2) The excavated dirt was being piled up on the north side,
to a height of 10 meters.

(3) The building experienced uneven lateral pressure from south
and north.

(4) This resulted in a lateral pressure of 3,000 tonnes, which was
greater than what the pilings could tolerate. Thus the building toppled over in the southerly direction.

Then the plan called for an underground garage to be dug out.
The excavated soil was piled up on the other side of the building.

*Heavy rains resulted in water seeping into the ground.* The building began to tilt. Then it began to shift and the "hollow" concrete pilings were
snapped due to the uneven lateral pressures

And thus was born the eighth wonder of the world.

If the buildings were closer together it would have resulted in a domino
effect.

They built 13 stories on grade, with no basement, and tied it all down to
hollow pilings with no rebar.

Brought to you by the same folks that make your kids' toys and want to build your car.

what kind of business are you in?

there is still money to be made in china. depends on how your business is positioned.

teach English?

do a degree with one of the university there - if you can get in of course...the prestigious ones..

else, stay put here...China is not too far away...some more if you are running ur business, you can afford 3 -days a week fly there to meet up with her...

not like singapore women fear china mei mei snatching their men ... ur wife shld be okay....

Sam kor....but i like the china meimeis leh........lidat how ah?

China meimeis in S'pore are ok. Those on WPs must undergo medical tests. They are clean. Have no fear. No need go China when tens of thousands are here. Check the hospitals - lots of PRC nurses. Factories too.

So, bro kukubird, no problem at all.

mako65

Easy to invest your hard earned $$$ but very difficult to channel your profit out!!! If u dun drink or smoke, avoid China!!! Hahaha...

Easy to invest your hard earned $$$ but very difficult to channel your profit out!!! .

Getting your $$$ out is not a problem. Knowing who to go to is the key. Millions are taken out daily without any hassle. It is an international operations alright.