• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

Back to LOS. On renovation contractors in LOS. They never fail to make my blood pressure go up. My advice is if you have any renovation jobs in LOS, you need to be there physically. Yes, you need to double up as the supervisor as well.

EMERGENCY MESSAGE TO U.S. CITIZENS
Emergency Message to U.S. Citizens: Possible Terrorist Threat

January 13, 2012

This message alerts U.S. citizens in Thailand that foreign terrorists may be currently looking to conduct attacks against tourist areas in Bangkok in the near future. U.S. citizens are urged to exercise caution when visiting public areas where large groups of Western tourists gather in Bangkok.

U.S. citizens are encouraged to maintain a heightened awareness when out in public; be alert for unattended packages/bags in public/crowded places and report any suspicious behavior to the nearest law enforcement personnel. We also encourage you to keep a low profile in public areas, particularly areas frequented by foreign tourists.

The American Citizen Services Unit of the U.S. Embassy is located at 95 Wireless Road in Bangkok, and can be reached by calling 66-2-205-4049, or by e-mailing [email protected]. The Embassy’s after-hours emergency telephone number is 66-2-205-4000. The U.S. Consulate General in Chiang Mai is located at 387 Wichayanond Road in Chiang Mai. The American Citizen Services Unit of the Consulate General can be reached by calling 66-53-107-777 and by e-mail at [email protected]. The after-hours emergency telephone number is 66-81-881-1878.

For the latest security information, you should regularly monitor the Department’s Bureau of Consular Affairs Internet website, where current Worldwide Cautions, Travel Alerts, Travel Warnings and health-information resources can be found. You can also obtain up-to-date information on security by calling 1-888-407-4747 (toll free) in the U.S. and Canada or, for callers in other areas, by calling a regular toll line at 1-202-501-4444. These numbers are available from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. (Eastern Time), Monday through Friday (except U.S. federal holidays).

We encourage you notify us of your presence in Thailand by enrolling in the Department of State’s Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP).

Note: Due to a technical error, some recipients received this message - followed by a recall message - a few minutes later. Please disregard the recall message.

Original post at US Embassy in Thailand website http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/525916-us-embassy-warns-of-possible-terrorist-attack-in-bangkok/

Not sure why US Embassy issued the "Emergency Message on Terrorist Threats" when no other countries did.

Did not mention Pattaya so think Pattaya should be alright. Joetys, think Americans don't go poseidon right?

Not sure why US Embassy issued the "Emergency Message on Terrorist Threats" when no other countries did.

Did not mention Pattaya so think Pattaya should be alright. Joetys, think Americans don't go poseidon right?

Heard on CNN that a Lebanese was detained in BKK & suspected to have ties with Hezbollah

Actually it's two lebanese. Personally, I think it is very difficult to target American/Israeli interests in LOS without damaging other nationalities.

For example, if they target whites in Pattaya or Phuket, think the casualties for Americans will be the least. Other than the US Embassy, Americans in LOS is very scattered.

johnny,

True words of wisdom!

Made a decision to quit my full time job in LOS about a year ago. Friends/colleagues/boss/family say I out of my mind (kee siao). Why quit job and face future uncertainties? They even more shock when I told them I will remain in LOS instead of returning to SG.:*:

Life is unpredictable. If don't enjoy now, wait until when? My definition of enjoyment is to do things I really like and not worry too much, not necessary spending money or travelling. One minus point is that notice myself have become quite lazy (nua) but BP measurements did went down since I quit my job. :smile:

Would have made my decision sooner except for the global recession & poor health. There's nothing like a wakeup call to remind one that time is running out for us all. Had forgotten that there are more important things in life than $ & work:wink: The lifestyle in Spore is not healthy, I think Sporeans have been brainwashed into accepting the heavy workload as "normal".

I was at Kinokuniya today & while browsing saw a book which piqued my interest titled, "Retiring in Thailand, Live in Paradise for pennies on the dollar" by Bryce/Terlecky, Paiboon Publishing. It's a book written with the input from expats living in Thailand & a thai native, $37.34. I of course bought the book.

Would have made my decision sooner except for the global recession & poor health. There's nothing like a wakeup call to remind one that time is running out for us all. Had forgotten that there are more important things in life than $ & work:wink: The lifestyle in Spore is not healthy, I think Sporeans have been brainwashed into accepting the heavy workload as "normal".

I was at Kinokuniya today & while browsing saw a book which piqued my interest titled, "Retiring in Thailand, Live in Paradise for pennies on the dollar" by Bryce/Terlecky, Paiboon Publishing. It's a book written with the input from expats living in Thailand & a thai native, $37.34. I of course bought the book.
Paiboon is a good publisher.

Last week, returned from SG with a 40KG luggage full of used children/baby clothings, footwear, toys donated by relatives/friends from SG. These are for Pattaya Orphanage. Again, many say I 'siao' but I happy can already. :wink: Still packing all the goodies for my little friends at Pattaya Orphanage. The in-charge at Pattaya Orphanage is an Ang Moh pastor and very appreciative all these donations.

Sometimes, when I lose money on the shares/stocks/football/online casinos or overspending on food/drinks/vices, I feel guilty thinking of my little friends.

P1000273.JPGP1000274.JPGP1000275.JPG
Feel very 'sayang' that these things are thrown away. Some of the toys/clothes I received is in unopened/brand new condition. Not I pretending to be a 'good charity person', but I feel 'shiok' lay. Till now, Pattaya Orphanage don't even know my name though they politely requested. I only told them I am from SG.

Maybe last time, I do too many bad things. :biggrin:

china-mcdonalds.jpg

Sawasdee krup everybody.

Just want to assure everyone that my disappearance got nothing to do with the arrested terrorist suspect in Bangkok. I still around.

Past two nights been drinking like a fish in Hangzhou. Hope I did not miss any action in SBF. Today will get back to Shanghai and return tomorrow.

Later in Shanghai will help Fook Seng look for the 108 dumplings restaurant and also do some shopping for Chinese New Year at Jade Garden and Nanjing Walking Street.

再见

dysentry

anyone bought thai condo through a local company called black diamond?

they have seminars once in awhile, not sure about their credibility.

anyone bought thai condo through a local company called black diamond?

they have seminars once in awhile, not sure about their credibility.
Hi dysentry,

It's a real estate agency which represent some foreign properties, probably with financing schemes. I believe many SG folks are able to pay for most of their properties listed in Pattaya with cash. The Pattaya properties listed on their website are from more reputable developer.

For those interested in renting commercial properties in LOS. There is a term call "Pae Jia" which literally means 白吃。Pae Jia aka key money is an additional compensation to the landlord for those high traffic/tourist areas. These Pae Jia can be much higher than the rental itself. It's usually paid in full before moving in or sometimes by installment and is usually calculated annually.

Black Diamond is local agency.
Thai properties that hold sales here are for the more hi end developments usually SGD 250k up types.

If not wrong only 1 local bank does Thai property financing as compared to previously....unless like bro said you are able to pay in full if not you need to fork out 30-40% downpayment.
Also most sinkies live in HDB which now cannot own foreign properties so there are many cons financing a Thai property thru non thai bank loans.

Hi dysentry,

It's a real estate agency which represent some foreign properties, probably with financing schemes. I believe many SG folks are able to pay for most of their properties listed in Pattaya with cash. The Pattaya properties listed on their website are from more reputable developer.

Black Diamond is local agency.
Thai properties that hold sales here are for the more hi end developments usually SGD 250k up types.

If not wrong only 1 local bank does Thai property financing as compared to previously....unless like bro said you are able to pay in full if not you need to fork out 30-40% downpayment.
Also most sinkies live in HDB which now cannot own foreign properties so there are many cons financing a Thai property thru non thai bank loans.
NW, Thanks for the info. Any links to existing HDB owners not allowed to own foreign properties? This rule is not wise at all but wonder how they track HDB owners who own foreign properties? Have no intention to own any properties in LOS yet but might consider in the future.

You got heart (as thais seem to include this in their vocab for better or worse).
Hehehehe. In the past, did not have the time to check if I got a heart or not. Now, realize still got a heart. Hopefully, still strong and don't need any medical attention. :smile:

P1000354.jpg
For KYP, have you decide to get Ninja or CBR? Think this brand new CBR250R belong to my new neighbor but have yet to see to owner.

NW, Thanks for the info. Any links to existing HDB owners not allowed to own foreign properties? This rule is not wise at all but wonder how they track HDB owners who own foreign properties? Have no intention to own any properties in LOS yet but might consider in the future

I dun have the links but you can google it....this new law to wayang to those who complain about PRs and new citizens who buy HDB flats.

It's impossible to enforce but if you take a loan from local bank then higher chance they will find out

I dun have the links but you can google it....this new law to wayang to those who complain about PRs and new citizens who buy HDB flats.

It's impossible to enforce but if you take a loan from local bank then higher chance they will find out
NW, thanks for the info. I will check out. Currently. don't affect me as I don't intend to own any properties in LOS or anywhere. But have already think of ways to overcome this PAP wayang or stupidity.

Some pics of Walking Street during the day taken this morning on my way to my new office.

P1000335.JPG
Entrance of Walking Street from Beach Road (Pattaya South)

P1000337.JPG
Alcatraz Agogo. Walking Street is open to cars/bikes from 6am to 6 pm.

P1000338.JPG
Club Insomnia. This is a disco. Think open till 4-5am in the morning. This is the place where everyone goes when the bars closes. Place to pick up chio bus.

P1000339.JPG
Nang Nual Seafood Restaurant. (Pronounce as Nang Nuan) This is the best Sea food restaurant in Walking Street. Can forget the rest. It is located right in the middle of Walking Street. The captains/waiter/waitress are dress in sailor/navy uniforms. Good selection of red and white wines, Chinese Mao Tai and even Brandy. Tip: Request for the outdoor tables beside the sea. Beware! One of the waiter/ress is a bapok. But (s)he is ok.

P1000341.JPG
Mixx disco. This is the place to be. Raided by MIB many times but still going strong. This place is mainly Russians crowds. Yes, there are Russians FL working here. Drinks are reasonable. There are separate areas for different music within the disco. You can park your bike and cars for a small fee (Car THB 40 and Bikes THB 20) in their car park even if you don't want to visit Mixx disco.

This is Pattaya Park Tower (Cannot remember actual name). Quite an important place because it is a good landmark in case you get lost in Pattaya. There are some Tower rides and rotating restaurant but have never tried. Photo is taken from Pratamnak Road going towards Jomtien direction. Pratamnak and Jomtien are more hi-so then the rest of Pattaya. The Russians preferred place and not so well to do Ang Mohs don't stay here.

P1000345.JPG

Pan Pan Italian Restaurant. This is the only place where I will eat pizza. Owner is authentic Italian cook. They are still using the traditional charcoal oven. There is 3 or 4 outlets in Pattaya and one in BKK but this one is the original. Good selection of wine and desserts. Might need to make reservation in advance during weekends/holidays.

P1000348.JPG

Overall, Thai food in Pattaya is not very good compare to the Ang Moh food. Think the reason is the Thai food here is catered to Ang Mohs taste. If you are looking for good authentic Thai food in Pattaya, you need to go to places where Ang Mohs don't go.