• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Visited JB today

15915191540_201662d937_b.jpg

Decided to eat at this restaurant called teochew chengdul

15915047418_a3b215848e_b.jpg

Friendly staff

15916728897_56d6ef3f74_b.jpg

Close up of the pictures

15916729277_04cddd17f9_b.jpg

Of course you need to eat their famous chengdul it's their signature dish

16076697666_382d745f0b_b.jpg

The assam laksa is another signature dish

16102470045_a61e71c807_b.jpg

It looks like friend chicken but it's actually some type of fried carrot cake thing

15482797643_979d88a022_b.jpg

This dish is known as mee jakwa

15916391609_47fdf2fa3c_b.jpg

What does JB have to do with thailand you might ask. Well the streets and the pace of life is more on par with thailand compared to sinkieland. Kuala lampar is more on par with sinkieland.

Jb streets

15916911257_d4c56e4841_b.jpg

15916911037_360a20a98f_b.jpg

15482977973_a408d89d8b_b.jpg

I think this is the little india section

15480337194_1bf2823f31_b.jpg

16100735931_d80c7c3981_b.jpg

A man repairing clocks

16100734501_24f9285615_b.jpg

Their stalls are like buffet where you can take as much as you like

16076874136_7de65c2c0b_b.jpg

Close up

15916907717_402b02695a_b.jpg

Here's the chinese section

15483124623_cf936848c8_b.jpg

Hiap joo bakery and biscuit factory

15480482224_5678079d6f_b.jpg

Look at their menu

15915516650_e2713bcb9f_b.jpg

Got a box of banana cake

Now to eat it at a nice old fashioned kopi tiam

15917058127_4fc778a1f0_b.jpg

Seems like it was from the 19th century

15483124993_5357c1a885_b.jpg

Does this banana cake look good. Baked in old fashioned clay type of oven

15483126593_3056e572af_b.jpg

Anyway travel further into johor to ksl city shopping mall

15916082218_d117f72235_b.jpg

Checked out the surrounding streets first

15916081698_0105a2385b_b.jpg

15917757217_49ba5e6888_b.jpg

15483823443_b15911030e_b.jpg

15917753917_94ea20d818_b.jpg

11 century hotel

15481182084_c0b95d8980_b.jpg

Finally decided to eat at this wanton shop

Prices

16101601771_b3e0788716_b.jpg

Signboard

15917443269_be3dc33c92_b.jpg

Boss preparing the food

15917770497_4259110c7a_b.jpg

15917770007_6767c11e90_b.jpg

16077736886_8222f9dc8d_b.jpg

Here's the noodles. Small size

15917766267_6da198117b_b.jpg

Large one

15917765617_37e9dcf59f_b.jpg

A customer

16077735866_00e8726b27_b.jpg

Anyway also tried this nice japanese shabu shabu restaurant inside ksl.

Shabu shabu is japanese steamboat i believe

Here's the restaurant

15917496589_f1a5572eec_b.jpg

15916142188_664931a43a_b.jpg

Raw ingredients

16077784886_b7bf323b77_b.jpg

15917817087_cc9bb8ec15_b.jpg

15483890583_63b7a5b46f_b.jpg

15917824347_52da061852_b.jpg

15481251974_57e7eb0232_b.jpg

Ready to cook

15916146208_e144b0aa02_b.jpg

cooking

16102845092_88e8fb8c29_b.jpg

15917818657_fff515faca_b.jpg

ready to eat

15481252764_7a01a61dbf_b.jpg

Went to a Chinese restaurant along Ramintra Road near my place

Sharks fins

Fish maw

Beehoon - this is unique and nice

Kailan with oyster sauce

The inside

Was a simple meal, 2 pots of large sharks fins, fishmaw, beehoon and kailan and teas costs only 3150 baht or around $130. Very reasonably

yinyang

At the heart of allegations of thai human trafficking.

Thailand struggles with dark side of vital fishing industry
Bangkok Post Published: 25/12/2014 at 12:12 PM

Thailand, the world's third-largest exporter of fish and fishery products, is facing something of a crisis for its international reputation.

The glamorous packaging of Thai seafood in supermarket fridges around the world stands in contrast to the picture that emerged this year of the industry's abuse of trafficked workers, including 20-hour shifts, beatings and deaths.

According to the International Labour Organisation (ILO), nearly 17% of workers on Thai fishing boats have experienced forced labour. In June, the United States downgraded Thailand in its annual human trafficking report after revelations of slavery in the supply chain of the shrimp industry.

"Withholding meals and lashing with iron rods" were widespread forms of punishment, said Sompong Srakaew of Seafarers Action Centre, an organisation that helps victims. "Some boat workers witnessed the deaths of their fellow crew members."

The international outcry led the military government to announce a series of initiatives to shore up the reputation of its 8-billion-dollar fishing industry, which employs an estimated 300,000 people, although official figures are not available.

The most recent plan in November involved sending select prison inmates to work on fishing boats in return for good behaviour.

"Convicts can replace illegal migrant workers," said an official at the Department of Employment. "But this will be done on a voluntary basis."
"There is a significant labour shortage in the fishing industry because no one wants to work in a hard manual labour job that pays very little," the employment specialist explained, requesting not to be named.

On average, workers on fishing boats earn about 200 US dollars per month, less than half of the minimum wage on land.
The inmates plan was derided by rights groups in Thailand and abroad.

"It would be a human rights atrocity roughly equivalent to sentencing inmates to the death penalty since some boat workers go out and never return," said Phil Robertson of Human Rights Watch (HRW).

Among other measures aimed at improving working standards, authorities are working on a database for boat and worker registration. The Fisheries Department is also working on a system to monitor fishing boats more closely.

Relevant ministries and departments have been directed draft law amendments to protect migrant workers and making the registration process easier for them.
"Our main focus is to fight human trafficking and illegal overseas fishing," said Viriya Sirichai-ekkawat, the president of the Thai Overseas Fisheries Association, part of a coalition of producers including Charoen Pokphand Foods, or CP Foods, Thailand's largest food export firm.

Such plans have not won over the industry's critics, who believe the problems of Thailand's huge fishing industry - in particular its reliance on illegal labour - may be too entrenched.

"The problem with the anti-trafficking effort in Thailand is that it too often remains on the policy level and is not implemented vigorously," said Annette Lyth, a regional project manager for the United Nations Action for Cooperation against Trafficking in Persons (UN-ACT).

"There is a significant labour demand in the industry that has not been met" by the legitimate labour market, Lyth explained. "Workers, mostly migrants, are brought by brokers to meet it."

HRW's Robertson agreed that the system seemed to be institutionalized. "Human trafficking appears to be a business model used on the fishing boats," he said.
Industry representatives say it would be impractical to increase the tracking of personnel.

"The owners of the boats usually don't know the origin of the workers," Viriya said. "Only boats going overseas will require documentation from workers," he added.
The European Commission, which in November warned Thailand about its efforts to fight illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing, said it was watching the country "very closely."

"The EU is still concerned about the serious allegations," said a representative of the European Union delegation in Thailand.
"Substantial progress is still needed on a number of important points, notably on enforcement, inspection and prosecution," she said.

The UN has also called for more to be done. "Although Thailand has taken some important steps forward in fighting trafficking, there is still room for improvements," Lyth said. "We are not seeing significant progress," Robertson said of the government's recent efforts. "It is a failure in political will."

Muthukali

Went to a Chinese restaurant along Ramintra Road near my place

Sharks fins

Fish maw

Beehoon - this is unique and nice

Kailan with oyster sauce

The inside

Was a simple meal, 2 pots of large sharks fins, fishmaw, beehoon and kailan and teas costs only 3150 baht or around $130. Very reasonably

How come you can changed your moniker? You Tua Kee than Ang Mo?

Sawasdee krup from Suvarnabhimbi Airport. Happy New Year.

In Thailand at this time of the year the basic greeting whenever you meet someone will be "where are you going for your New Year holiday?" Really boring to repeat and repeat and repeat but then your obligated to reply. The reason is because every new year Thais normal take a long break like 5 days to a week for travel, mostly going back home. So the exodus began two days ago, Friday. Now Bangkok is quiet and sabai sabai.

Well, I'm doing my part and going for a short holiday too.

Breakfast in the airport lounge

Eggs on demand any which way you request

Arrived in Gili Trawangan a small island off Lombok 15mins by speedboat. Flew from Jakarta to Lombok about 2hrs then another 2hrs by car from the airport to the place to take the boat.

The car ride costs 500,000 rupiah about $50. On the way stopped by a very local restaurant specialize in kampong chicken

Honey chicken

Spicy chicken

Lime chicken

Cumi

Gurame

Our waitress

Mt Abang the active volcano in Bali

Leaving Lombok for Gili

Gili Trawangan is an island with no motor vehicle only way of transport are bicycle and

To hotel

In front on hotel

Did not post much yesterday because in Gili Trawangan island the internet connection was very slow and difficult to upload pix.

The hotel

Went to central of the island for lunch yesterday

Again by the horse cart

Mee goreng

Bee hoon goreng