• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

The raining season started earlier than expected. Heavy rainfall in several North Eastern provinces. Too much rain may not be a good thing. :*:

Jah, you and Rotikosong are both right - there's a turnstile alright yet there's a gap and I guess Rotikosong's karmasutra's skill is put into good use for this gap. Roti please take note for last minute changes to rules, mafias in uniform these days changes rules flip flop here and there.

Since those turn stiles were installed, I read that some taxis are turning away passenger who want to go to the airport.
This is because the taxi drivers are having problems getting customers returning to the city.

Since those turn stiles were installed, I read that some taxis are turning away passenger who want to go to the airport.
This is because the taxi drivers are having problems getting customers returning to the city.

This country used to be the most promising country in this region with a big market and strong consumer and cheap labour for manufacturing and export and humongous tourist market - its almost completely fucked now.

yinyang

...most promising country in this region with a big market and strong consumer and cheap labour for manufacturing and export and humongous tourist market - its almost completely fucked now.
Take heart, going by latest optimism on business sentiments (or propaganda? :p)

http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/loc...sentiment-index-rise-in-seven-months-says-fti

For construction sector

construction
Market ready to recover in second half
Published: 25/06/2014 at 06:04 AM
Newspaper section: Business

After facing a contraction in the first half of this year, Thailand's construction sector looks set to rebound in the second half, helped by the easing political situation and clearer economic picture.

Chakporn Oonjit, director of the Construction Institute of Thailand, said the sector was expected to grow slightly this year, lower than last year's growth of 2%, due to the political impasse.

"The political problems since late last year have frozen the government's fiscal investment budget. This had a strong impact on the construction sector," he said.
Last year, the construction sector was valued at 95 billion baht, up by 2% from 2012. Half the total came from government projects.

The labour shortage has seriously affected small and medium-sized contractors in border provinces because foreign contractors can cut construction prices.

The overall construction materials market has begun picking up after the coup as the economic outlook improves, said Nattaya Tangmitpracha, deputy chief executive of Ubon Ratchathani-based materials distributor Ubon Wassadu Co.

The market this year will grow by 5%, driven by the junta's investment in infrastructure projects, she said.

Ubon Wassadu plans to invest 2 billion baht in building its sixth branch on a 74-rai site on Rama II Road in Bangkok

And more hope?

BOT: Economy is improving
Published: 12/06/2014 at 01:55 PM
Online news:

The economy is expanding slowly this year but is expected to grow noticeably next year, Prasarn Trairatvorakul, governor of the Bank of Thailand, said on Thursday.
He said the factors that drove the national economy were being restored, and they included spending by the government. Spending under the 2015 fiscal budget would start this October and its merits would be obvious next year.

Export were not an important factor supporting the national economy this year because the global economy was recovering slightly, Mr Prasarn said. Regarding investment in the private sector, he thinks that operators are waiting for clear policies before deciding on investment.

Mr Prasarn said present monetary policies, good liquidity and strong financial institutions supported economic recovery. He believed foreigners had more confidence in Thailand as currency exchange rates fluctuated only briefly after the coup and then returned to normal, and foreign funds were returning to the Stock Exchange of Thailand.

Besides, credit rating institutions had no negative views on Thailand, the BOT governor said. He said rational economic policies could boost confidence while irrational ones dampened confidence, including the rice-pledging scheme in which the past government had bought rice from farmers at 15,000 baht per tonne while the market price had been around 8,000 baht.

Bangkok has one of the best Japanese food in SEAsia, prices is definitely cheaper than Singapore however for those who had visited Hokkaido its the most fresh, cheap and big portion.

The largest concentration of Japanese KTVs, restaurants and shops in Bangkok is Thaniya just beside Patpong.

This is one good sushi restaurant

Ichou or roasted ginkgo

Fresh oysters

Grilled chili

Chawanmushi

Mixed sashimi

Uni sushi

Akagai

Hokkigai

Botan Ebi

Hata hata

Ohtoro

yinyang

Positive UBS outlook for 2015, or just some economist's "discretionary" forecast (to be revised later, as nobody remembers?) :p

UBS predicts strong GDP growth in 2015 rebound
Published: 26/06/2014 at 06:04 AM
Bangko Post Newspaper section: Business

Thailand’s economy is expected to grow by 1.2% this year, prompted by increased domestic consumption and state enterprise investment coupled with stronger exports, says UBS AG.

The Swiss financial services company projects bullish 5.2% growth next year.

Edward Teather, an executive director and economist with UBS Investment Bank’s Asian economics team in Singapore, said the economy was expected to stabilise in the second quarter and record strong growth in the third quarter.

"The key factor is confidence. It is about a return in domestic spending, consumption and investment, not so much government spending in the very near term, although the infrastructure projects could come in later in 2015," he said.

The Bank of Thailand recently trimmed its growth forecast to 1.5% from 2.6%. Even though economic sentiment is improving, the central bank expects public spending to boost growth in the second half.

Despite bleak growth in the first quarter, exports are still expected to be another growth driver this year, said Mr Teather.

He said GDP growth was projected at 5.2% next year due to post-coup pent-up demand, an investment rebound, infrastructure spending and improving exports.
"That bounce back [of consumption and investment] is aided by confidence. The stock market is up 20% since the beginning of the year, and it is one of the best indicators of confidence that we have in any given economy," said Mr Teather.

Regarding Thailand’s swelling household debt, he said the credit growth cycle would increase as part of an economic recovery, but it was a process of reversing the sharp decline in spending versus income as experienced in the first quarter.

"It's not that households are experiencing a credit crunch, but they are experiencing a loss of confidence and willingness to spend rather than having austerity forced on them by cautious banks," said Mr Teather.

He said political protests and rising global oil prices stemming from conflicts in Iraq were considered downside risks for the Thai economy.

Asked whether recent developments between Thailand and Western countries would affect exports and foreign direct investment, Mr Teather said he expected reciprocal gains in the Thai economy coming from the strength of regional economies and a rebound in domestic demand to dominate and have greater importance.
UBS said the Bank of Thailand was expected to keep its 2% policy rate unchanged until early next year.

With UBS forecasting a higher federal funds rate in the US from next year's second quarter, there will likely be more upside than downside risk for Thai policy rates.

Many of us here think the current "feel good" situation cannot last as its being propped up artificially with many billions of dollars.

Read an interesting write up by a retiree living in Chiangmai thought it may interest some of you - http://www.retireworldwide.com/reti...ing-in-chiang-mai-thailand-on-1000-per-month/

Retiring In Chiang Mai, Thailand On $1,000 Per Month
By joseph.skinkis on April 27, 2014

I have lived in Chiang Mai for the past nine years and will probably live here the rest of my life. My reason for residing here is quite simply: finance, cultural enrichment, physical beauty, and the need to communicate in English.

The requirements for obtaining a retirement visa are: one must be at least 50 years of age, have Bht 800,000 ($25,806 US dollars) deposited in a Thai bank or 65,000 baht monthly income or a combination of both. If one is bringing a spouse this is double that amount. One can use this deposit during the year, but one must replenish the deposit three months in advance of your annual visa renewal. You will need a local police report saying that you have no felony criminal record, and a doctor’s certificate stating that you are in reasonable health. Please check with your local Thai consulate before you make a commitment because the rules always change. Of course, you can use a 30 day tourist visa (free) to check out the country for yourself before making a commitment.

Throughout this article I will be mentioning Thai baht so the conversion is: 32 baht to the American dollar. My Social Security from America and Canada comes to about $1,000 per month. If I lived in San Francisco (my last residence in America), that $1,000 would barely cover the rent and nothing left over for food, clothing, and other essentials. Here in Thailand that $1,000 allows my wife and me to live very well.

I bought my condominium when I moved here in 2005 so I pay no rent. That was when the Thai baht was worth 41 Thai baht to the dollar. I paid 1,400,000 baht ($34,146 USD). The condominium is 45 sq. meters and was fully furnished. It has a covered 4 sq. meter balcony that has a spectacular view of the mountains and we use this as our kitchen and dining room. This is one of the first-class condominiums in Chiang Mai. In this condo there are two swimming pools, a huge gym, a small mom and pop essentials store, 24 hour security, 24 hour help desk, a laundry, massage parlor, two restaurants, and many services such as travel agents, lawyers, clothing stores, and free underground parking. As a side note, I should mention that foreigners cannot buy land in Thailand hence most retirees buy condominiums. My UOB bank is right across the street, and there are at least 20 good restaurants within a four square block area. The Central Shopping Center is also four blocks from my abode.

Eating is my biggest expense. Since I had throat cancer I cannot eat most Thai food. One hot pepper in a dish would set my throat on fire. If one can eat Thai food, your food bill will be cut by more than 60%. Let me give you an example. Yesterday for breakfast, (we ate at home) my wife and I had fruit and cereal, coffee, tea, and toast. The cost came to about 100 baht. For lunch we went to Pern’s restaurant and had spaghetti with salmon in a light cream sauce, mushrooms done in a garlic-brown sauce, a large shrimp salad, and bottled water. This came to about 300 baht (about $10 for the both of us). For supper we cooked at home and had: mashed potatoes and gravy, grilled chicken wings and legs, a salad, pineapple, and two glasses of wine. We figured this came to about 250 baht. All in all, we spend about Bht 600 per day. 600 times 31 days a month equals 18,600 baht ($600.00) per month for food. I’m not sure, but I heard that Time magazine did a survey and found that Chiang Mai had the largest amount of foreign restaurants per capita in the world.

Some of the other monthly expenses are: Bht 800 maintenance fee for the condo, Bht 1,000 for electricity (mostly for A/C), Bht 300 for cable TV (four English movie channels, five news channels in English), water Bht 250, high speed internet Bht 900, and about Bht 2,000 for gasoline for the car. One does not need a car in Chiang Mai. The total comes to about Bht 24,000 per month for everything including the 18,600 baht for food. I get 32,000 baht every month. I love it. If you rent at a guest house you may pay 5,000 baht a month for a simple but clean room. You can subtract 800 baht for maintanance as that is included in the rent and 2,000 baht for gas. Now Some extras that I would like to include here are: two hour Thai massage Bht 300, haircut Bht 80, and manicure and pedicure together Bht 200.

Getting away from money, now let’s take on cultural enrichment. Thailand wasn’t called the land of smiles for nothing. Most of the people you meet on the street will greet you with a big smile if you at least acknowledge them. There are dozens of art galleries throughout the city. We have a Philharmonic, ballet, four major universities, an American library, numerous Thai cultural events throughout the city, and many coffee shops where one can engage the Thai or foreign people in conversation. Many of the coffee shops have free Wi-Fi. There has to be at least a hundred temples within Chiang Mai. From my balcony on the ninth floor, I can view the Doi Suthep Temple atop the lush green mountain.

Many of the small towns outside of the large cities will present a huge communication problem. Phetchabun, where my wife comes from, is a medium-sized city but has very few foreigners living there. Consequently, if you don’t speak Thai, you can’t communicate. Most of the foreigners living here in Thailand have a Thai partner to help them in these situations. In Chiang Mai this is not much of a problem. First of all, if I’m going to travel by public transportation, I go to the front desk and ask the clerk to write down the place where I want to go in Thai. I then give the information to the driver of the public transport. Most shop owners, in Chiang Mai, speak enough English for you to be understood.

Many people asked me about medical insurance. First, you cannot use Medicare here so let me share my medical story.

Thailand has wonderful medical facilities. I had throat cancer while I was here and for 4 months I had chemotherapy and radiation. Even though I could have gone back to the States and used my Medicare, the co-payment and the hotel expense was much more than the cost of having the procedure done here in Thailand. My doctor was trained in the USA and charged me about $4,000. I have been cancer free for 5 years now.

Since I wrote this article 5 years ago, I’ve had many people visit me to obtain more information and/or wanting a tour of Chiang Mai and surroundings. I no longer can afford to do the tour thing so we are charging 2,000 baht per day (8 am to 8 pm) plus gas and food. Please call me a couple of days in advance to make arrangements. The information is still free. My cell phone #is: 086-114-7992. My email is: [email protected]

Many of us here think the current "feel good" situation cannot last as its being propped up artificially with many billions of dollars.

A correction may be a good thing for those foreigners looking to spend more time in LOS. The price increases in LOS is/was making LOS unattractive.

One of the best Barolo I've had

Complimentary entre

Burrata Cheese caviar lemon zucchini

yinyang

Arrest of russkie mafia boss in Patts. Spurt of police action on what we know has been around for awhile?

Police target foreign gangs in tourist spots
Published: 27/06/2014 at 06:04 AM
Bangkok Post Newspaper section: News

mafia2.jpg mafia.jpg

Police look set to launch a massive crackdown on mafia gangs and foreign criminals hiding out in major tourist spots, following the arrest of a Russian mafia boss on Monday.

Authorities say the arrest on Tuesday of "retired" Russian mafia figure Alexander Matusov was the last straw, and promise a serious search and crackdown on foreign criminals and gangs operating in Thailand. (Photo by Kosol Nakachol)

Pol Lt Gen Sakda Chuenpakdi, acting commander of the Immigration Bureau, stressed the need to crack down on foreign criminals posing as tourists in major tourist provinces, such as Pattaya, Samui Phuket, Krabi and Chiang Mai, according to Pol Col Chaiyos Warakchunkiat, chief of the Chon Buri immigration office.
Russian criminal gangs are the main target in Pattaya, where Russians make up a large proportion of tourists, Pol Col Chaiyos said.

He said the crackdown will also target foreign criminals from other countries, not only Russians.

The move comes after a Russian mafia boss accused of committing crimes in his home country was arrested in front of a supermarket in Chon Buri’s Sattahip district.

The mafia gang leader, identified as Alexander Matusov, is wanted by Russian police for his alleged involvement in murders, extortion, kidnappings and other serious criminal activities from 1995-2006 in Moscow and St Petersburg.

The Russian authorities issued arrest warrants for Mr Matusov and other gang members for allegedly murdering four members of a rival gang in 1996.
Alexey Falunin, a Russian diplomat in Bangkok, earlier said: “They were responsible for a lot of killings and his detention is very important to us.”
Police said the “Chelkovo” gang leader holds Russian and Armenian passports. He first entered Thailand in 2009 but left at a later date.

His most recent entry to Thailand was in November 2013 on a fake Armenian passport. The 52-year old suspect had been hiding out in Chon Buri province and was arrested on Monday in the eastern seaside town of Sattahip district.

Thai immigration police revoked his visa and they plan to deport him to Russia for prosecution. Pol Capt Thanadit Thuenchamnan, a deputy inspector at the Chon Buri immigration office, said Mr Matusov has now been detained at the Immigration Bureau at Soi Suan Phlu in Sathon district of Bangkok.

Pol Capt Thanadit said investigators were questioning him to find out if any other members of his gang are in Thailand. He added that Interpol and the Russian police will fly in on Monday to question the suspect at the Immigration Bureau in Bangkok before escorting him back to Russia next Thursday.

Pol Gen Wut Liptapanlop, an adviser to the Royal Thai Police, who is in charge of the case, said investigators will expand their probe to see if the suspect had committed any crimes during his stay in Thailand. Police will also investigate who might have helped the suspect and which foreign criminal networks he might have contacted

yinyang

Time to swtch mine to Heine, or Leo? What callous opinion on poor ingorant of their vote!

Academics reject Chitpas for uni event
PDRC co-leader is 'too controversial'
Bngkok Post Published: 27/06/2014 at 06:04 AM
Newspaper section: News

The choice of Chitpas Kridakon, the Singha beer heiress and a co-leader of the People’s Democractic Reform Committee (PDRC), to lead an oath-taking ceremony for Chulalongkorn University’s graduation day has sparked controversy.

Ms Chitpas' outspoken ways were a bit too controversial to carry the Bhirombahkdi family name, and now prove too much also for Chulalongkorn University academics. (Photo by Seksan Rojjanametakul)

chula.jpg

Academics have boycotted the decision, saying Ms Chitpas is too politically controversial to represent the class.
Chitpas Kridakon, who graduated from Chulalongkorn’s faculty of political science, was asked to attend the ceremony for the department, scheduled to take place on Thursday.

The faculty’s Asst Prof Natthanan Kunnamas and lecturer Jakkrit Sangkhamanee said they would not attend the ceremony as they disagreed with the decision, which was made by a student committee. They voiced their disagreement on their Facebook pages.

However, Ms Natthanan said they both would perform the duty assigned to them — sending students into the hall before the ceremony.
Criteria for selection to lead the ceremony are based on the person’s academic performance. The chosen person must also be widely accepted by the majority of the graduates. Ms Chitpas, 29, was one of the key leaders of the PDRC, which staged long-standing protests against the Yingluck Shinawatra government before the military took power on May 22.

She was forced by her family to change her surname from Bhirombhakdhi to her mother’s maiden name of Kridakon last year so she could continue with her political activities.

Ms Natthanan believed Ms Chitpas, a former Democrat MP candidate, does not meet the standard required for ceremony leaders.
“She is still facing a lawsuit,” said Ms Natthanan, referring to the treason charge filed against her and other PDRC leaders by the previous government.
The PDRC is regarded as one of the major factors in widening Thailand’s political conflict, she said.

Neither a member of the PDRC, or its rival the United Front for Democracy against Dictatorship, should be chosen to represent the class, especially under the current political climate, Ms Natthanan added.

Mr Jakkrit expressed his disagreement on his Facebook page, saying Ms Chitpas was among the people who increased divisions in the country.
He said Ms Chitpas had made disparaging remarks about the rural poor during the height of the PDRC protests.

Ms Chitpas is alleged to have said that poor people do not understand democracy and one man one vote does not work, though she insists she was misquoted.

“I teach anthropology and I teach my students to respect other human beings. I can’t betray my own words,” Mr Jakkrit said.

Rector Pirom Kamolratanakul said Ms Chitpas was voted for by a student committee using a proper selection process. The rector said the university has always remained neutral in its political stance, so the decision to choose Ms Chitpas as a representative was not favouring any political camp.
Ms Chitpas could not be reached for comment yesterday. Her assistant said she had no plans to withdraw from the ceremony and confirmed she would attend the event.

Photos on her Facebook page showed Ms Chitpas at a rehearsal of the ceremony on Wednesday.

jubilee1919

This country used to be the most promising country in this region with a big market and strong consumer and cheap labour for manufacturing and export and humongous tourist market - its almost completely fucked now.

What's your opinion about surviving in this and other fuck-up 3rd world ASEAN countries now Joe? Since you are already into it and there is so much screw-ups, although business has it's ups and down, I suppose spreading your eggs is what you have been doing these past few years. I am sure you have made plans for the future in case the situation gets worse. Even Vietnam a year ago look very promising but in the light of recent events, investments may slow down considerably. So sad.:(

Jubilee, reply you later a little tipsy now from the Chianti and brandy. Celebrating doggy's birthday

Hehehe. Today quite good mood. But right wrist injured due to clicking the mouse too much during the last 2 weeks. KNN, use computer also can get injured one. Now right wrist got problem with slight movements. For example, when I throttle the motorcycle, can feel the pain. WC really no good.

Will also be expecting another good news this coming monday (not WC related). That's why I say life hor, People Calculate might as well let Sky calculate.

Think injury due to my wrist/hand holding the mouse for too long duration. Bo Bian lah, need to click as soon as the plates are on my side. KNN, money win also donno enough to see doctor or not. Eyes also now jialat. System font size increase until sibeh big liaoz.

Read about Ergo mouse and keyboard, think I should order one.But I still think it's the height of the desk that causes all the problems.

What's your opinion about surviving in this and other fuck-up 3rd world ASEAN countries now Joe? Since you are already into it and there is so much screw-ups, although business has it's ups and down, I suppose spreading your eggs is what you have been doing these past few years. I am sure you have made plans for the future in case the situation gets worse. Even Vietnam a year ago look very promising but in the light of recent events, investments may slow down considerably. So sad.:(
Will become worse. I am planning for another runroad liaoz.