• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$80 Chingay Tickets - U Wanna Pay?

Free for ministers, etc.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Chingay moves from Orchard to Marina Bay
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Change of parade site from next year aimed at drawing bigger crowds </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Lim Wei Chean
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->THE annual Chingay Parade has a new home.
From next year, the assorted stilt-walkers, musicians and other performers who grace the parade will strut their stuff over a 1km route that will begin at the Formula One Pit Building at Marina Bay and end at the Singapore Flyer.
The move marks an end to Chingay's 19-year association with Orchard Road.
The parade - a street procession to celebrate Chinese New Year - had been moved from Singapore's main shopping street to City Hall in 2007, but it was to have been a temporary, two-year arrangement while Orchard Road underwent a $40 million makeover.
However, the organisers of the parade, the People's Association (PA), decided on a permanent move to Marina Bay to attract bigger crowds.
The new route will have seating space for 18,000 spectators a night, more than triple the 5,500 at Orchard Road.
'It will give us a chance to put on a bigger and more spectacular show,' said Mr Nah Juay Hng, chairman of the executive committee for the event.
Chingay is a top draw for tourists and Singaporeans alike each year, and tickets are snapped up quickly once they go on sale.
Tickets for next year's parade, to be held on Feb 19 and 20, will go on sale from Aug 1. They will cost between $25 and $80.
Organisers will also be leading a drive to get people overseas to buy tickets.
To do this, the PA has teamed up with two travel agents. GTMC Travel and City DMC will market and sell tickets in countries such as China and India, and will offer tour packages with the parade as a highlight as well.
At a briefing yesterday, organisers gave a peek at what is to come at next year's performance, which will incorporate creative takes on Asian legends and traditional arts.
The opening act promises to be spectacular, with a dance that incorporates the setting off of firecrackers, called Firecracker Dragon. Performers will be specially flown in from the Chinese city of Guangxi.
More details on the six-act parade will be announced later.
Orchard Road businesses, meanwhile, say that Chingay's move is a boon for them. The chairman of the Orchard Road Business Association (Orba), Ms May Sng, said retailers have always had issues with the hosting of Chingay because of space constraints.
They felt that the stands erected for spectators hampered pedestrian traffic, thus hurting business.
Ms Sng added that Orchard Road will still have plenty of activities without Chingay - the annual Christmas Light-Up, the Great Singapore Sale and the Singapore Fashion Festival, among others.
She said Orba was working with the Singapore Tourism Board to add more events.
Others, however, said the loss of Chingay dampens some of the allure of Orchard Road.
Said one Orchard Road hotelier, who declined to be named: 'So many things are happening in Marina Bay - the F1 race, the integrated resort. It's inevitable that will take some attention away from us.'
[email protected]

Watchman

Wow Singapore has become an international market place !
Even for leisure activities ! There will be no room for the poor .

There still is...go downstairs and watch the old men play chess...it's free...

Got naked nubile dancers or not?:biggrin: you can get more pleasures with $80 than throw your hard earned money...on CHINGAY!:p

1. one sure way to recuperate what was spent on the fi circuit.
2. it was free for all these years and now, sinkies got to pay for some roadshows that have nothing to do with cny or local cultures.
3. i would not even pay 20c for it.
4. i have something better to do than that.

angie II

am4pj4.jpg

"We are pro workers OEI OEI! We are pro business OEI OEI! Upturnnnn the downturnnnnn..."

"Count on me Sinkiepoor.... Count on me Sinkiepoor and more...."

KuanTi01

must be siao! $80 can still buy alot of things. Let me watch free I also not interested. Growing up as a kid, Chingay was free and it remained free for a long time until some CBs highjacked the whole parade and make it so commercialised and gimmicky. What cheek to charge $80 when economy is so bad. Yeah, VIPs and chobolans watch it for free some more. They should pay since they can well afford.Those who can't afford, don't watch lah. :biggrin::biggrin:

annexa

ChinGAY should be banned. It promotes GAY lifestyle not condoned by certain segments of society who believe themselves to be majority.

There are many pleasures one can do with $80..other than bonks...:biggrin:

Some non-commercial pleasures are even free :smile:

But for those with $80 to burn & looking for something "commercial" to do,

"commercial" bonking is still an option. You may even get a discount since its The Great Singapore Sale :biggrin:

angie II

But for those with $80 to burn & looking for something "commercial" to do,

"commercial" bonking is still an option. You may even get a discount since its The Great Singapore Sale :biggrin:

But you might end up getting a discount in "services" too. :biggrin: