• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$600 a month - Swiss Standard of living

if sinkies live frugally on 3 small meals a day and don't go anywhere to get themselves jerked, $600 a month is doable.

Frugally - meal is big plate of rice and some cheap vegetables, take MRT or bus as luxury, don't get sick, flush toilet once a day, shower twice a week, turn on one light for 5 hours max.

Swiss standard of living indeed.

Frugally - meal is big plate of rice and some cheap vegetables, take MRT or bus as luxury, don't get sick, flush toilet once a day, shower twice a week, turn on one light for 5 hours max.

Rubbish if bangras can do it why can't sinkies.even bangras can enjoy the swiss standard of living nowadays.iv seen groups of 10 or 20 bangras enjoying a meal at McDonalds and KFC nowadays.the first time I ate at KFC was when I was primary 5.

That's a lie isn't it?capitalism is a pyramid shaped scheme,it cannot enrich the masses,only socialism can.capitalism can only enslave the masses to enrich the few.

Capitalism,communism and socialism are merely different models upon which society works.different ways of cutting up the pie and sharing the wealth.why would you support one extreme end of the scale and not the other.pure capitalism itself is just as bad(and evil)as communism.

Have you ever taken a drive down Singapore streets and notice a group of 10 or more bangras slaving under the hot sun constructing roads.did u feel grateful its them slaving under the merciless 1pm sun and not you sitting in ur air conditioned bus or taxi?did it make u feel less guilty that its bangras from some third world countries slaving for peanuts and not ur fellow Singaporeans?have u ever walked thru the malls and look upon the countless of poor peasants slaving as cashiers and cart pushers and cooks and cleaners to make sure that everything runs like clockwork ?the bus drivers and bank tellers?the truth is all these human capital are important,the world will simply fall apart if we do not have them to keep the world running.so why would u support a system where a few people makes millions while the rest of us slave for peanuts?without the rest of the people do you think you can be rich.to pay your million dollar jiak Liao bee salary,10000 of us have to slog night and day.

We are sold a lie ...that we get an education and work like a dog, we can be rich. So, the crowds just do it, not realizing that only few can rich that pinnacle of wealth.
The reality is that it is possible for the masses to attain comfortable middle class lifestyle if the government plays a role. And that is what we see in the Scandinavian countries. Folks there are comfortable and happy because the major expenses in life - childcare, education, healthcare, unemployment insurance and retirement pension - are taken care of through sharing of public funds. When you don't need to individually save for these major expenses, you don't need to live in financial insecurity. Life becomes a breeze for you to enjoy and seek fulfillment.
Having a social democratic system does not stop entrepreneurship or innovations, as right-wingers would like to tell otherwise. From the Scandinavian countries, you have world class companies eg. Ikea, Carlsberg, Sandvik, Ericsson.

USA is the richest country in the world. if you go there, you see a lot of poverty in USA. The gov job is not to enrich everyone, but most people. The capitalist model will and must create poverty to work. It is not a perfect system. But a system everyone want.

Americans are living a myth ...they think that by working hard they can get ahead. The reality is starting to dawn on them that it isn't true. But in the US, the mention of socialism is anathema to their brain-washed minds.
The social democratic model is the way to go. Let's stop lying to the masses that they can be financially secure by working hard. They can't because in the animal world, it is the survival of the fittest. In the social democratic system, the government, using taxes, helps everyone to attain middle class existence by ensuring that everyone need not worry about childcare, education, healthcare, unemployment insurance and pension. If you have these major expenses in life taken care of, you truly have the freedom to live.

We are sold a lie ...that we get an education and work like a dog, we can be rich. So, the crowds just do it, not realizing that only few can rich that pinnacle of wealth.
The reality is that it is possible for the masses to attain comfortable middle class lifestyle if the government plays a role. And that is what we see in the Scandinavian countries. Folks there are comfortable and happy because the major expenses in life - childcare, education, healthcare, unemployment insurance and retirement pension - are taken care of through sharing of public funds. When you don't need to individually save for these major expenses, you don't need to live in financial insecurity. Life becomes a breeze for you to enjoy and seek fulfillment.
Having a social democratic system does not stop entrepreneurship or innovations, as right-wingers would like to tell otherwise. From the Scandinavian countries, you have world class companies eg. Ikea, Carlsberg, Sandvik, Ericsson.

We have Temasek, which owns world class companies such as Singtel and SIA. We are the envy of the developed world.

$600 inclusive in a month not enough for national recreation hobby...4D...lol :biggrin:

Just simple calculation....stay in rental flat..everything subsi-DIE!. See if you can survive with $600.... 1 tank of LPG $29.50, 2 kg of low grade rice from NTUC Supermarket, used to be $1.80-$2.00, now $4.25. 1 kg fine sugar SIS brand $1.90, Thailand Brand $1.35...
3-4 small pieces of Mackerel around $3-$4.50...one tray of eggs forgotten numbers $3.50, of course smaller ones can get $2.20...one can campell soup $2.50 used to be $1.50-$1.80...etc..

One chicken from wet market, $6.50 to $11.50 depending on size, One breast Meat around $2.20, etc..the cheapest, you pay $2 you get a lot of gizzards & Livers...

This is just a simple calculation is you want to survive on a $600 per mont salary....never mind the luxury of using a smartphone, if you an afford Wifi..then you are bluffing on a $600 salary ha ha ha, add ons, like transport, cigarettes & contribution to the POOLS..etc

Can you survive on a $600 salary..even 'saw tar piah' ( cream crackers) cost $2.50 a kilo...miklmaid milk $2.00 a tin...etc..try!:wink:

JOKERCHEW

Q: no more $2.50 nasi padang? 50cents bandung?

Q: do you want three meals in a hawker centre,
food court or restaurant?

Rubbish if bangras can do it why can't sinkies.even bangras can enjoy the swiss standard of living nowadays.iv seen groups of 10 or 20 bangras enjoying a meal at McDonalds and KFC nowadays.the first time I ate at KFC was when I was primary 5.

Ah Nehs have free food at work lah. Housing taken care of. Transportation also. That's why they can send home so much money.

And they don't spend money on punk sai chua.

We have Temasek, which owns world class companies such as Singtel and SIA. We are the envy of the developed world.

Singtel and SIA are world class companies? PAP says so only lah. Is it true? Xinhua agencies says lots of good things about China. You believe?

kryonlight

Koalas are more frugal. I heard they sleep 20 hours a day and eat only eucalyptus leaves.

and don't forget to leech on someone else's wi-fi to surf sbf and talk cock sing song. that will consume most of the day, especially for krafty type of sinkie uncles.

Q: no more $2.50 nasi padang? 50cents bandung?

Q: do you want three meals in a hawker centre,
food court or restaurant?

You got to be a MEMBER to eat $2.50 nasi padang, 50 cats bandung...remember the "hakka" clan is very frugal....you got to spend $300 million in excess, before, you ask the question on, where you want to eat..

In other words....like the Auntie at the Ants Till You C supermarket ask you " Member" ( do you have one? ha ha ha) you have "passion" ( for her, maybe)...

Some people are really stingy, I have a colleague once, he was not HAKKA, but making around $8,000 not to mention 3-4 months bonuses, does his "business" in the office loo in the morning, have his coffee from the office pantry. There was one, that showered in those last time, they have those squash or tennis centre....I did shower at those places too, for they are FREE ( back then).

Being frugal is nothing wrong...but force to live lower than the 3rd world workers, working in your own country, where these people can afford taxis, have coffee at Spinelli, eat at Tung Dung Fan...what a shame, this the Swill Standard of Living.... that the Holey Goh promised..