• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

400 people gathered at Speakers Corner and called for abolition of ISA

Leepotism

[h=1]More than 400 mark anniversary of political arrest[/h]

• Attendees pose with former ISA detainees behind banners calling for the abolishment of the Act, as well as for the safe return of exiled Singaporeans. (Yahoo! photo)

<!-- START article --><!-- yog-5u -->
More than 400 people, young and old, gathered at Hong Lim Park on Saturday afternoon to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Operation Coldstore, a round of mass political arrests under the Internal Security Act (ISA) that took place on the same day in 1963.

Organised by a group of former Operation Coldstore detainees and volunteers, the event, titled “We Remember”, saw five former detainees from the Coldstore detention period, as well as Operation Spectrum detainee Teo Soh Lung, share their experiences in incarceration.

For organiser and former detainee Tan Kok Fang, 72, the commemoration of the day that changed his life and that of more than a hundred others is of great importance.

“It is something which happened to our lives long ago — 50 years ago — and it has left an indelible mark in our lives... and every time we think about it it pains us,” he said.

Sharing about the “very strong sense of camaraderie” that he has built up with fellow former detainees over the years, Tan said it was in mutual suffering and the pursuit of a common cause that bonded them together.

“I mean we suffered in prison, during hunger strikes we were beaten up, taken away and put into solitary confinement and so on,” he said. “So we shared all these hardships together, and that is the thing that made us come together.”

coldstore2-jpg_140913.jpg
A commemorative book entitled "We Remember" was launched at the event. (Yahoo! photo)

The group also launched a commemorative book of the same title, with accounts and reflections from former detainees in both English and Mandarin.

Several opposition leaders and civil society members were spotted at the event in support of the anti-ISA cause, such as Singapore Democratic Party leaders Vincent Wijeysingha, Vincent Cheng and Mohamed Jufrie Mahmood; blogger Alex Au; filmmaker Martyn See; and new Democratic Progressive Party leaders Benjamin Pwee and Wilfred Leung.

Although the crowd of attendees consisted mostly of Singaporeans who lived through the period, a significant number of younger people were present as well — not just as spectators either. Several were there as volunteers, with some documenting the event in pictures or video, and others assisting in the sale of the newly-launched books and collection of donations toward the cost of the event.

One of them was 25-year-old Anngee Neo, a freelance illustrator who helped the organising committee to set up chairs and sell books, while collecting donations at the same time.

“I think we have a long way to go in Singapore before we achieve democracy,” she said, although she also acknowledged that the advent of the internet and social media has triggered “a lot of winds of change”.

Neo said she was happy to see more young people like her present and interested in the event, adding that the older guests she spoke to said they were encouraged by their presence as well.

“I just want to do whatever I can, be it selling books, arranging chairs or whatever little bit that can be done,” she said. “I also hope the older folks will see that there are more young people interested (in the cause) and feel encouraged by that... it’s really nice to see them responding really positively.”

The six speakers at the event may have shared different aspects of their experiences and views on the events that unfolded in the early 1960s, but all of them hammered home the same message: for the government to abolish the ISA.

“As victims of the (ISA) we certainly would want that to be abolished,” said Tan. “That is something we hope the younger generation will see and help us in moving that way... because as long as that act is around, we do not have freedom of association, of publication, of expression... the possibility of being detained arbitrarily is there as long as it stays in place.”

if not for the coldstore
many of us would have been frozen
for the past 50 years
maybe still freezing.....:*:

another look at what happened...was this the turning point in our political history?
would singapore be better or worse without the Operation Coldstore?

It is a show of useless PAP low life who do anything to get into Power.. that is so shameful...

Sinkie, you want to protest, then protest anywhere lah, why must be Hong Lim Park...

Tuayapeh

another look at what happened...was this the turning point in our political history?
would singapore be better or worse without the Operation Coldstore?

Uncle where can I find the full length of this video ?

6000kmApart

It is a show of useless PAP low life who do anything to get into Power.. that is so shameful...

Sinkie, you want to protest, then protest anywhere lah, why must be Hong Lim Park...

boh pian....hong lim park only leegal place to protest...if not kena isa or public order act...

minuteman

extract from Wikipedia... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lim_Chin_Siong

Doubts have surfaced about Lim Chin Siong's status as a communist. The erstwhile Prime Minister of Singapore, Lee Kuan Yew, later Minister Mentor of Singapore, maintained that Lim was communist[citation needed], but this claim had been denied by Lim[citation needed]. Lim had also stated that he felt that labelling one a Communist was the quickest way to justify a detention without trial[citation needed]. The secretary general of the Malayan Communist Party, Chin Peng, never acknowledged Lim to be a party member[citation needed], while the MCP in Southern Thailand had also stated that they did not exercise direct control over the Singapore left[citation needed]. Lee Kuan Yew had once introduced Lim Chin Siong as "our future Prime Minister"[citation needed]. He had also perceived Lim to be a challenge to his authority[citation needed].
Declassified British documents [1] have stated that Lim was not actually a Communist. However, history textbooks in Singapore have stated that he is one[citation needed]. Dr Greg Poulgrain of Griffith University has also observed that the British Governor of Singapore and his Chief Secretary in their reports to London stated that the police found no evidence to establish that Lim was Communist. During Lim's rallies, the British and anticommunist Chief Minister Lim Yew Hock incited riots among the unionists and students in attendance[citation needed]. Lee Kuan Yew later used these incidents as reasons to imprison Lim under the charge of Communism[citation needed], after Lim split from PAP to spearhead the Barisan Sosialis[citation needed]. Lim was imprisoned not because of what he knew about Singapore. He was imprisoned because he had met the leader of the Brunei revolt, A.M. Azahari. He had promised his party's support to A.M. Azahari and the PRB. The then Brunei Sultan, Sir Omar Ali Saifuddin who was rebelled against by the PRB was furious. At his instigation, Lee Kuan Yew did the bidding of the Brunei Sultan to lock up Lim Chin Siong. This was so that the true history of the Brunei revolt would never be known. The complete story of this revolt in 1962 is not known even until today despite the passing of more than sixty years. Part of his jailing was to ensure that Lee Kuan Yew also had no competitors for the premiership during the early days of Singapore's establishment. Because of Lim Chin Siong's exile Lee was able to stay as premier of Singapore unchallenged for a longer time. The political survival of Lee Kuan Yew was furthered by Lim's exile. Lim later resided in England[citation needed]. Chin Peng, the leader of the MCP, stated that the Malaya Communist Party had never controlled and manipulated Lim Chin Siong[citation needed] or Barisan Sosialis[citation needed], in contradiction of the claims of Lee Kuan Yew[citation needed].

Yes, Singapore would have been very different today...this was LKY eulogy of Lim Chin Siong and the others ................

Lim and his followers' contribution to Singapore’s political development was that their dedication and selfless dedication to their cause helped to ensure that the ruling PAP also had to make sure that incorruptibility and integrity were central to their political legitimacy in Singapore.

Lee Kuan Yew wrote of Lim in his obituary:
“I liked and respected him for his simple lifestyle and his selflessness. He did not seek financial gain or political glory. He was totally committed to the advancement of his cause…Because of the standards of dedication they set, we, the English-educated PAP leaders, had to set high standards of personal integrity and spartan lifestyles to withstand their political attacks. They were ruthless and thorough. We became as determined as they were in pursuing our political objectives.”[2]

kingrant

The ISA is an evil weapon I will never disagree. It was applied wantonly on political rivals by one man and one party to destroy his competition. But with due respects to those who have suffered by its abuse, let me say that I do not belittle their sacrifice. Still, I think we should keep it around for a while longer. Why?

Our Opposition as an institution is growing by the day what with the clearly inept missteps of the PAP. There will be a right time to remove it but not now. We cant be sure that the day the PAP loses power that they would not turn rogue, violent, to hang on to power. Remember LKY threatening to call in the Army if there was a freak election? Therefore the new govt must have the right tools to put these rogues into detention without trial, to restore stability and prevent mayhem, the way they claimed to have used it for in 1960s and 70s.

Then after that, Singaporeans can have another national conversation under a new enlightened non-PAP govt to debate the ISA and to abolish it. Alternatively, we can circumscribe its scope and power so that we limit it to only target at real enemies of the state - racial extremists who incite violence, terrorists of any colour or political idealogy.

6000kmApart

The ISA is an evil weapon I will never disagree. It was applied wantonly on political rivals by one man and one party to destroy his competition. But with due respects to those who have suffered by its abuse, let me say that I do not belittle their sacrifice. Still, I think we should keep it around for a while longer. Why?

Our Opposition as an institution is growing by the day what with the clearly inept missteps of the PAP. There will be a right time to remove it but not now. We cant be sure that the day the PAP loses power that they would not turn rogue, violent, to hang on to power. Remember LKY threatening to call in the Army if there was a freak election? Therefore the new govt must have the right tools to put these rogues into detention without trial, to restore stability and prevent mayhem, the way they claimed to have used it for in 1960s and 70s.

Then after that, Singaporeans can have another national conversation under a new enlightened non-PAP govt to debate the ISA and to abolish it. Alternatively, we can circumscribe its scope and power so that we limit it to only target at real enemies of the state - racial extremists who incite violence, terrorists of any colour or political idealogy.

will the old legend (old man) see the day ISA be used against him....:eek:

LKY build his vision of Singapore on sinking sands. Today Singaporeans are called sinkies is just about right.
where got sinking sands
golden sands marina bay sands got lah
see the wealth
see the prosperity
see the joy and happiness everywhere
no quick sands, no sinking sands, no castle sands
singapore as solid as the rock of gilbraltar
we are strong, we are powderful, we are rich
thanks to the cold....