• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2012 Mercer Worldwide Cost of Living Survey- Singapore #6 Most Expensive City to live

Peiweh

Proud? We now more expensive to live in than #9 Hong Kong! More expensive than #25 London!! Much more super expensive than #33 New York City!!!!! High food cost, high housing cost, inflation 5.4%, Car cost record high, we are now top in world for super expensive price to living!!!!!!!

And government do what? More FT to keep prices increase further! Singaporeans more miserable than ever before!

Singapore has failed. It is no longer working for you nor I.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-...luanda-as-most-expensive-city-for-expats.html
By Jennifer M. Freedman - Jun 11, 2012 7:01 PM ET

Tokyo Overtakes Luanda as Most Expensive City

Tokyo advanced past the Angolan capital Luanda to become the world’s most expensive city for expatriates of 214 ranked by Mercer, while Moscow remains the most costly place to live in Europe.

“Recent world events, including economic and political upheavals, have affected the rankings for many regions through currency fluctuations, inflation, and volatility in accommodation prices,” Mercer said today in its annual Worldwide Cost of Living Survey.

The analysis uses New York as a base city and measures the comparative prices of more than 200 items in each location, such as transport, clothing, food, household goods and entertainment. Housing costs, which are also included, are critical in the ranking as they are often the biggest expense for expatriates.

A pair of blue jeans costs $174 in Luanda while expats in Moscow pay about $9.60 for an international newspaper, Mercer said. In Tokyo, a cup of coffee runs about $8.15 and the monthly rent on a luxury two-bedroom unfurnished apartment is $4,766.

Geneva retained its ranking as the world’s fifth most expensive city for expats, while Zurich moved up one place to sixth and the Swiss capital, Bern, gained two spots to 14 following the strengthening of the franc against the dollar. Karachi is the least expensive city for expats, less than a third as costly as Tokyo, Mercer said.
Europe Cheaper

Most European cities dropped in the ranking, mainly due to what Mercer called a “considerable weakening” of local currencies against the dollar. The euro has lost 3.9 percent in the past six months, the worst performance among the 10 developed-nation currencies tracked by Bloomberg Correlation- Weighted Indexes.

Oslo fell to 18 from 15 in the rankings, London dropped to 25 from 18 and Paris slipped 10 places to 37. Milan, Rome, Stockholm, Vienna, Amsterdam, Brussels and Dublin all lost between seven to 14 places.

“Despite some marked price increases across the region in the first half of last year and widespread increases in VAT charges, most European cities dropped in the ranking,” said Nathalie Constantin-Metral, who compiled the data. “This is mainly due to the unstable economic situation across Europe, which has led to the depreciation of most local currencies against the dollar.”

Rental accommodation prices have slid in Greece and Spain, which required international bailouts, as well as in Italy, Constantin-Metral said.
Bucking the Trend

Most British cities also slipped in the ranking as the British pound fell against the dollar, said Milan Taylor, head of Mercer’s data and product services in the U.K. and Ireland.

“Birmingham and Belfast bucked the trend, moving up in the ranking mainly because rental costs for expatriates increased a fair bit and price increases in these cities were higher than in, say, London and Glasgow,” Constantin-Metral said in a statement.

Tel Aviv remains the costliest city for expatriates in the Middle East, though it dropped seven places to 31, while Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, is still the cheapest in the region, at 186. Johannesburg fell 23 places to 154 and Cape Town lost 21 to rank 179, “reflecting the considerable weakening the South African rand has suffered against the U.S. dollar in the last year,” Mercer said.
Venezuelan Inflation

Higher consumer prices also helped catapult Caracas, Venezuela, up 22 places to 29 in the ranking, though Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro, at 12 and 13, remain the most expensive cities for foreigners in the Americas. Venezuela’s annual inflation rate stood at 22.6 percent in May.

Osaka, Japan’s third-largest city, advanced three places to No. 3, followed by Singapore at 6 and Hong Kong at 9. Higher prices for goods and a stronger yuan pushed Chinese cities including Shanghai, Beijing, Shenzhen and Guangzhou up in the rankings, Constantin-Metral said.

In New Zealand, both Auckland and Wellington jumped a “very significant” 62 places following “large increases in accommodation cost and demand, coupled with a stronger New Zealand dollar,” she said. “Demand for rental properties has also increased significantly in all the Australian cities we rank. Coupled with very limited availability, the result has been very tight markets and increased prices.”

To contact the reporter on this story: Jennifer M. Freedman in Geneva at [email protected]

To contact the editor responsible for this story: James Hertling at [email protected]

Re: 2012 Mercer Worldwide Cost of Living Survey- Singapore #6 Most Expensive City to

Its a lie, all these are lies just like what they say about our unbiased and free press. Imperial bastards they are to destroy the very fabrics of our harmonious society that hold us all Singaporeans and foreign talents together in perfect harmony. Lies! Lies! Lies! Don't believe them only believe in our Straits Times and Mediacorp news.

wMulew

Re: 2012 Mercer Worldwide Cost of Living Survey- Singapore #6 Most Expensive City to

1 typical sandwich in Ang Moh land 5 Euros. 1 typical plate of Chicken rice in SG, 2.5 SG dollar. Yeah SG more expensive then Ang Moh Land

Aussie Prick

Not surprising at all. We are now so successful, our leaders have delivered not only a Swiss standard of living, but a Swiss cost of living as well.

http://www.mercer.com/costoflivingpr#City_rankings

So we are behind Japan, and tied with Switzerland for the title of most expensive in the world.

I wonder if there will be silence as usual..........

Govt already very nice liao....
They pre empt this by rolling out the 120 $2 NTUC food stalls....
No sinkies will starve to death! This is their promise to you.
You want 3 meals in hawker centre, fast food or restaurants?
Just let your MP know

Not surprising at all. We are now so successful, our leaders have delivered not only a Swiss standard of living, but a Swiss cost of living as well.

http://www.mercer.com/costoflivingpr#City_rankings

So we are behind Japan, and tied with Switzerland for the title of most expensive in the world.

I wonder if there will be silence as usual..........

Ash007

This ranking is for expatriates. So it means it has nothing to do with cost of living expenses for locals then ?

Aussie Prick

This ranking is for expatriates. So it means it has nothing to do with cost of living expenses for locals then ?

Mercer is an HR firm. The list is for companies who send workers into other countries. The cost of living is based on a basket of goods and services such as clothing, a movie ticket, and food costs in these cities - the only additional cost is rental of an apartment in the formula so its a cost of living for foreign talent. US Dollar weakness contributes to these costs, but also the underlying CPI as well.

But as the list points out, Singapore is now ranking higher on the list than Hong Kong - I can tell you HK rents for apartments are VERY HIGH so you can take an educated guess about the other costs in that basket and what it means for ordinary citizens.

Ash007

But that is my point, you don't expats to stay in HDB flats or 50sqm high-rise in HK do you?

Mercer is an HR firm. The list is for companies who send workers into other countries. The cost of living is based on a basket of goods and services such as clothing, a movie ticket, and food costs in these cities - the only additional cost is rental of an apartment in the formula so its a cost of living for foreign talent. US Dollar weakness contributes to these costs, but also the underlying CPI as well.

But as the list points out, Singapore is now ranking higher on the list than Hong Kong - I can tell you HK rents for apartments are VERY HIGH so you can take an educated guess about the other costs in that basket and what it means for ordinary citizens.

Fook Seng

Singapore is the 6th most expensive but the 40th wealthiest city. This discrepancy does not bode well for the state of the economy.

Import and entice more tycoons to come and balance up

Aussie Prick

But that is my point, you don't expats to stay in HDB flats or 50sqm high-rise in HK do you?

Yes you are correct, locals dont have to pay rent but they do have home ownership costs - high rents make the city more "expensive" - Is it cheaper to own or rent? In Singapore owners complain about rents barely covering the cost of ownership. So it would be interesting to run a second list that includes home ownership vs renters as the housing cost. But locals have to pay the other costs in the basket - last look at HK rents they are higher than Singapore, but they are lower on the list, so that must mean locals are paying more for items in Singapore than in HK, when you exclude rent.

This list is used when expats migrate for work. If the expat is sent to Singapore, based on this list he can negotiate a higher pay package than if he was sent to HK, because of the cost. Its skewed because the US$ is so low. The second reason is the CPI. Here in Singapore we are running above 5% this year, so we can expect Singapore to move up this list next year. In Australia you are very fortunate to be running in the 2-3% range.

Another plus for you - rents are up, but not nearly as much as Singapore!