• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2010 Academic Ranking Of World Universities ...

me dun read dat 154th ... but me dun tink dey got publish tis ...

World's top 500 universities in 2010 announced

The 2010 Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) is released Sunday by the Center for World-Class Universities of Shanghai Jiao Tong University. Starting from 2003, ARWU has been presenting the world top 500 universities annually based on a set of objective indicators and third-party data. ARWU has been recognized as the precursor of global university rankings and one of the most influential lists.

US still dominates 2010 list with 8 universities in the top 10 and 54 universities in the top 100. Harvard University remains the No. 1 in the world for the eighth year, followed by Berkeley and Stanford. MIT, Caltech, Princeton, Columbia, Chicago also appear in top 10 as in 2009.

The best ranked UK universities are Cambridge (5th) and Oxford (10th), other well placed European universities include: ETH Zurich (23rd) and University of Zurich (51st) in Switzerland, Paris 6 (39th) and Paris 11 (45th) in France, Copenhagen (40th) and Aarhus (98th) in Denmark, Karolinska (42nd) and Uppsala (66th) in Sweden, Utrecht (50th) and Leiden (70th) in Netherlands, Munich (52nd) and TU Munich (56th) in Germany, Helsinki (72nd) in Finland, Moscow (74th) in Russia, Oslo (75th) in Norway, and Ghent (90th) in Belgium.

106 universities from Asia-Pacific region are ranked among top 500 in 2010, among them the leaders are: Tokyo (20th) and Kyoto (24th) in Japan, ANU (59th) and Melbourne (62nd) in Australia, and Hebrew University of Jerusalem (72nd) in Israel. While the ranking methodology has been kept the same, the number of top 500 Chinese universities reaches 34 in 2010, which is more than doubled of that in 2004 (16), with National Taiwan University, Peking, Tsinghua, and Chinese University of Hong Kong ranked among top 200. Universities in Middle East countries are making significant progress, King Saud University and King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals of Saudi Arabia first enters into top 400 and top 500 respectively, Istanbul University in Turkey and University of Teheran in Iran are very close to top 400.

Watchman

4619843809_0647c45197.jpg

none from sg is in top 100 ...

The world's top 100 universities on the ARWU 2010 list:

Rank University

1 Harvard University

2 University of California, Berkeley

3 Stanford University

4 Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

5 University of Cambridge

6 California Institute of Technology

7 Princeton University

8 Columbia University

9 University of Chicago

10 University of Oxford

11 Yale University

12 Cornell University

13 University of California, Los Angeles

14 University of California, San Diego

15 University of Pennsylvania

16 University of Washington

17 University of Wisconsin - Madison

18 The Johns Hopkins University

18 University of California, San Francisco

20 The University of Tokyo

21 University College London

22 University of Michigan - Ann Arbor

23 Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich

24 Kyoto University

25 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

26 The Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

27 University of Toronto

28 University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

29 Northwestern University

30 Washington University in St. Louis

31 New York University

32 University of California, Santa Barbara

32 University of Colorado at Boulder

34 Rockefeller University

35 Duke University

36 University of British Columbia

36 University of Maryland, College Park

38 The University of Texas at Austin

39 Pierre and Marie Curie University - Paris 6

40 University of Copenhagen

41 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

42 Karolinska Institute

43 Pennsylvania State University - University Park

44 The University of Manchester

45 University of Paris Sud (Paris 11)

46 University of California, Davis

46 University of California, Irvine

46 University of Southern California

49 The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

50 Utrecht University

51 University of Zurich

52 University of Munich

53 Vanderbilt University

54 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey - New Brunswick

54 The University of Edinburgh

56 Technical University Munich

56 University of Pittsburgh

58 Carnegie Mellon University

59 The Australian National University

59 The Ohio State University - Columbus

61 McGill University Americas

62 University of Melbourne

63 King's College London

63 University of Heidelberg

65 Brown University

66 University of Bristol

66 Uppsala University

68 University of Florida

69 Purdue University - West Lafayette

70 Leiden University

71 Ecole Normale Superieure - Paris

72 The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

72 University of Helsinki

74 Moscow State University

75 Osaka University

75 University of Oslo

77 Boston University

78 University of Arizona

79 Stockholm University

79 Nagoya University

81 Arizona State University - Tempe

82 University of Rochester

82 University of Utah

84 Tohoku University

84 University of Nottingham

86 Michigan State University

86 University of Basel

88 McMaster University

88 The University of Sheffield

90 Ghent University

90 Indiana University Bloomington

92 University of Sydney

93 University of Bonn

93 University of Goettingen

95 Texas A&M University - College Station

96 University of Virginia

97 Case Western Reserve University

98 University of Aarhus

99 Rice University

99 University of Birmingham

nus is in 100-200 ... can check here http://www.arwu.org/ARWU2010.jsp

manokie

Rice University

Wow, even such no name university can beat NUS.

Talk about world class :(

Wow

Rice is 1000 times more useful to the world than NUS
Go look up on google what they have achieved

And it is a private university with an endowment that is almost twice as NUS's..

Wake up please!!

any rankings is oways contentious ...

tis rankings emphasizes mor on wat ze univ has achieved in research ... it is heavily skewed 2 nobel prize n global research achievements which r increasingly seen as n important measure of a nation's economic health n competitiveness ...

<span class="art-PostHeader">Ranking Methodology</span>
</h2>
<h3>Selection of Universities<a name="1"></a></h3>
<p>ARWU considers every university that has any Nobel Laureates, Fields Medalists, Highly Cited Researchers, or papers published in Nature or Science. In addition, universities with significant amount of papers indexed by Science Citation Index-Expanded (SCIE) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) are also included. In total, more than 1000 universities are actually ranked and the best 500 are published on the web.</p>
<h3>Ranking Criteria and Weights<a name="a"></a></h3>
<p>Universities are ranked by several indicators of academic or research performance, including alumni and staff winning Nobel Prizes and Fields Medals, highly cited researchers, papers published in Nature and Science, papers indexed in major citation indices, and the per capita academic performance of an institution.</p>
<p>For each indicator, the highest scoring institution is assigned a score of 100, and other institutions are calculated as a percentage of the top score. The distribution of data for each indicator is examined for any significant distorting effect; standard statistical techniques are used to adjust the indicator if necessary.</p>
<p>Scores for each indicator are weighted as shown below to arrive at a final overall score for an institution. The highest scoring institution is assigned a score of 100, and other institutions are calculated as a percentage of the top score. An institution's rank reflects the number of institutions that sit above it.</p>

manokie

Position no 99, you call famous? :o

You think some Ivy League Uni? :p

Why, you graduate from Rice, ah :o

Eh

At least there was 1 very famous nobel prize winner in Rice

Sinkie Unis leh?
Got who?
Top in what?
Without giving scholarships to those PRC and Indians, u think they want to go to NUS?
:oIo::oIo:

Teo Kok Eng

Eh

At least there was 1 very famous nobel prize winner in Rice

Sinkie Unis leh?
Got who?
Top in what?
Without giving scholarships to those PRC and Indians, u think they want to go to NUS?
:oIo::oIo:

What talking you?

Sinkies are crap! So is NUS, NTU and all Sinkies Uni! :eek:

Start talking if you are from Harvard, MIT, Columbia, Oxford, Cambridge :biggrin:

manokie

What talking you?

Sinkies are crap! So is NUS, NTU and all Sinkies Uni! :eek:

Start talking if you are from Harvard, MIT, Columbia, Oxford, Cambridge :biggrin:

I'm not but I graduated from a better university than you for sure :mad:

I cannot tolerate any insults against the top schools in my homeland, USA. :mad:

Start talking when you can get out of Sinking Sg and join me in USA :mad:

Teo Kok Eng

I'm not but I graduated from a better university than you for sure :mad:

I cannot tolerate any insults against the top schools in my homeland, USA. :mad:

Start talking when you can get out of Sinking Sg and join me in USA :mad:

You probably think you are the only Sinkie in USA :eek:

Duh :o

manokie

You probably think you are the only Sinkie in USA :eek:

Duh :o

No, I have tonnes of Singaporean friends in USA

But you are obviously not one of them.
Because you simply don't know how good Rice University is in some areas.

Be a man and admit your mistake :mad: