• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chee Soon Juan call on America to stop business with Singapore

MarrickG

If the US agrees with Chee, what will happen to us?

Chee Soon Juan to go on U.S. talk shows asking Obama to address human rights abuse in Singapore

A week after MM Lee Kuan Yew was interviewed on the U.S. Talk Show – the Charlie Rose Show and was given a rare meeting with U.S. President Barack Obama at the White House, Singapore opposition leader Dr Chee Soon Juan will go on a series of radio shows in America.

The interviews come on the eve of President Barack Obama’s visit to Singapore for the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) meeting from 12-14 Nov 09.

Among the interviews will be one with Mr Ron Reagan on Air America and veteran talk show host Lionel Lipshitz on The Lionel Show.

In an earlier interview with Talk Radio News Service Bureau Chief Ellen Ratner, Dr Chee spoke about the repressive laws put in place by the Singapore government to curtail the political rights of citizens such as the recent public order law passed which ban even peaceful solo protest.

He also urged Mr Obama to take note of the human rights abuses in Singapore and call on America’s political and business leaders to stop collaboration with the Singapore government unless it improves on its human rights record.

Last week, Singapore Law Minister Shanmugan spent 3 days trying to convince a skeptical American audience from the New York State Bar Association that Singapore is a country of law and that its situation is “unique”.

Dr Chee’s personal testimony of the human rights abuses and political persecution he had suffered at the hands of the ruling party is likely to win him much sympathy from the American public and further damage the reputation of the Singapore government.

Though the ruling party is able to maintain a tight grip over the local media, it has little or no influence over the American press.

While President Obama is unlikely to heed Dr Chee’s call to exert pressure on the Singapore government to liberalize the political landscape, the negative publicity generated worldwide will nevertheless make the regime feel uncomfortable.

Being a globalized city heavily dependent on trade, Singapore cannot afford to allow its international branding to be tarnished by charges of political repression.

In stark contrast, Hong Kong, despite having only limited self-rule under Communist China, seldom encounter such negative publicity about its political system.

Even China is becoming more conscious of its international image. Chinese President Hu Jintao recently gave a pledge to the western media that they would be allowed to report freely on events in China.

In an increasingly inter-connected world where barriers between states are breaking down fast by the internet, the Singapore government is finding it harder to keep the facade of itself being a “democracy” for long.

U.S. NGO Freedom House wrote in its 2009 report that Singapore is not an “electoral democracy which would have a detrimental impact on the impression the Americans have on Singapore.

While Dr Chee was never a MP, his influence on Singapore politics will extend far beyond Singapore’s shores.

The Singapore government should realize that its tried and tested methods of stifling political dissent through repressive measures will eventually backfire on them and damage their own credibility which no amount of PR exercise will reverse.

From now onwards, it has to be especially vigilant to its actions which may give others free ammunitions to shoot at it.

Singapore “exceptionalism” is no excuse for its oppression. The Singapore government may be able to deceive its own people, but not freedom-loving souls from the rest of the free world.

http://www.temasekreview.com/2009/1...a-to-address-human-rights-abuse-in-singapore/

Dun worry, your fears are totally unfounded.

He is a genius and not like those PAP fools who tells sinkies that they are rich because rising debt has slowed down.

RonRon

I thought SDP claimed that they are concern abt the bread and butter issue for poor singaporean??? Why SDP want US to sanction and demage our economy? This is really terrible..:mad:

He's calling on the Yankees to sanction the PAPee CBs, not Sporns! Unless u subscribe to the PAPee's LIE that Sg = PAPee!

Internet Brigade

Dun worry, your fears are totally unfounded.

He is a genius and not like those PAP fools who tells sinkies that they are rich because rising debt has slowed down.

Genius you say.

Is DOCTOR chee aware that singapore is an export-driven economy with Singapore as its biggest trade partner?

Is DOCTOR chee aware that the US will do business with anyone (iraq, iran, n korea, sudan, burma...) as long as their is something to be earned?

Is DOCTOR chee aware that his same argument can be used to say the US shouldnt trade with CHINA?

What rubbish is he talking about. And he says he cares for the ordinary Singaporeans.

Hellooo.... has DOCTOR chee heard of the trickle down effect? Not everything must go straight into peoples pockets you know.

Our consolation is that nobody takes him seriously and only pay him lipservice because its fun to see a little doggies get so excited when you show him a snack.

I thought SDP claimed that they are concern abt the bread and butter issue for poor singaporean??? Why SDP want US to sanction and demage our economy? This is really terrible..:mad:

i hope SDP has realised the correct spelling for HYPOCRISY. if they don't, maybe the peasants should spell it for them.:oIo:

Devil Within

So, in order to "punish" the PAP, he is suggesting to US to "punish" the common people in Singapore as well? CSJ's credibility is going down the drain deeper and deeper. It is bad enough for PAP to mix business with politics, now CSJ want to follow PAP's footsteps?

csj is another paps and probably a worser one.

ThePlen

Obama cant even do anything about Myanmar not releasing Aung San Suu Kyi. why would Obama want to stop trading with Sg when the US economic status is still in shits?

Stage 5

I think Dr Chee and Lee KY are in cahoots, both are basically going to US at the same time to ask Americans to intervene in our country.

Internet Brigade

"Dr Chee’s personal testimony of the human rights abuses and political persecution he had suffered "

hahahahahahahahha

Does Chee wish to compare his suffering:

610x.jpg

to those in BURMA?
monk%2B1.jpg

to those in CHINA?
Falun_Gong_Demonstration.jpg

to those at the hands of the US?
naked_detainee_dogs_abuse.jpe

Even maids suffer more than HIM
Nirmala2.jpg

The monster LKY was created because many Sporeans didn't want to rock the boat & closed their eyes to his abuses. Many Sporeans chose to let others do the sacrificing, while they continue to get their upgrades :rolleyes:

When PAP increases the cost, they scream & demand why the opposition isn't doing anything:confused: Never mind that they didn't support the opposition & there's only 2 :rolleyes:

If nothing is done about the familee what hope has Spore citizens got:confused:
How many Spore citizens have lost their jobs :confused: How many can't find a job :confused: For those who still have a job, are you getting paid enough until you get replaced by a foreigner :confused:

ThePlen

"Dr Chee’s personal testimony of the human rights abuses and political persecution he had suffered "

hahahahahahahahha

Does Chee wish to compare his suffering:

610x.jpg

to those in BURMA?
monk%2B1.jpg

to those in CHINA?
Falun_Gong_Demonstration.jpg

to those at the hands of the US?
naked_detainee_dogs_abuse.jpe

Even maids suffer more than HIM
Nirmala2.jpg

i cannot agree with u more

Internet Brigade

And to put things in better perspective...

DAW Aung San Suu Kyi's party (NLD) won 82% of parliamentary seats in 1990. She has been in detention and house arrest ever since.

DOCTOR Chee Soon Juan's party (SDP) contested 7 seats in GE2006 and got only 4% of the votes!! And has gone to jail for 2 weeks at a time for a few times only

ooohhh the humanity....

Genius you say.

Is DOCTOR chee aware that singapore is an export-driven economy with Singapore as its biggest trade partner?

Is DOCTOR chee aware that the US will do business with anyone (iraq, iran, n korea, sudan, burma...) as long as their is something to be earned?

Is DOCTOR chee aware that his same argument can be used to say the US shouldnt trade with CHINA?

What rubbish is he talking about. And he says he cares for the ordinary Singaporeans.

Hellooo.... has DOCTOR chee heard of the trickle down effect? Not everything must go straight into peoples pockets you know.

Our consolation is that nobody takes him seriously and only pay him lipservice because its fun to see a little doggies get so excited when you show him a snack.

Then you should ask him, why come here and sprout nonsense. I believe he is contactable. why not go to him? Oh.. i forgot.. balless right?

If your fucking PAP govt cannot handle such situation then they should leave the seat for others, why still do thick skin and glue to the seat?

D

Diao Chan

And to put things in better perspective...

DAW Aung San Suu Kyi's party (NLD) won 82% of parliamentary seats in 1990. She has been in detention and house arrest ever since.

DOCTOR Chee Soon Juan's party (SDP) contested 7 seats in GE2006 and got only 4% of the votes!! And has gone to jail for 2 weeks at a time for a few times only

ooohhh the humanity....

You dumbfuck! We can see alright. No need the use for big red fonts! :oIo:

methink

cleareyes

If the US agrees with Chee, what will happen to us?

I dont know who or what or whatever wrote that article but the person must be n drugs.

To get US to punsih Singapore over PAP? Over what? Human rights abuse? Does the US have the time to handle any form of human rights issue when their own economy and social system need a revamp?

Before PAP suffers, common Singaporeans will suffer worse. Chee want to whack PAP but he end up whack the whole of Singapore. Its small wonder SDP is not gaining grounds in terms of support. Their walkaboit in Bukit Panjang was a disaster and at Chong pang, they were heavily ignored. Have they ever asked themselves, some of self-evaluation, what they are doing and what result have they got?

Do they really care for Singapore????

Unfortunatly for the rest of the oppositions, the mass media has the habit of lumping SDP with the rest and end up the rest of the opposition had to suffer because of how stupid and how ignorant of antics they have performed.

I do hope SDP wake up their bloody idea or else, we will still find it hard to have more oppositions to be voted in as proper MPs.

I dont know who or what or whatever wrote that article but the person must be n drugs.

To get US to punsih Singapore over PAP? Over what? Human rights abuse? Does the US have the time to handle any form of human rights issue when their own economy and social system need a revamp?

Before PAP suffers, common Singaporeans will suffer worse. Chee want to whack PAP but he end up whack the whole of Singapore. Its small wonder SDP is not gaining grounds in terms of support. Their walkaboit in Bukit Panjang was a disaster and at Chong pang, they were heavily ignored. Have they ever asked themselves, some of self-evaluation, what they are doing and what result have they got?

Do they really care for Singapore????

Unfortunatly for the rest of the oppositions, the mass media has the habit of lumping SDP with the rest and end up the rest of the opposition had to suffer because of how stupid and how ignorant of antics they have performed.

I do hope SDP wake up their bloody idea or else, we will still find it hard to have more oppositions to be voted in as proper MPs.

SDP will not ask things like that lah.. DR Chee is a genius..

I thought it is the PAP that post stupid things such as Sinkies are rich because debt is rising slowly. WAHAHAHAH.. everytime i write that i wanna laugh.

It is the sinkies that should help themselves in taking care of their own ass, why always has the habit to ask USA this ask USA that...

Oh i forgot.. sinkies got no balls to even take care of themselves...