• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Desmond says handing over ageing assets for Taxpayers to fix is better for SMRT

As the CEO of a public listed company, he does have to explain the deal to his shareholders but look at what he is saying below. Essentially the Govt and the people got the wrong end of the bargain. If this is indeed the situation, the net book value may not be the appropriate pricing model. So who is right - Desmond or Khaw? Did Singaporeans get the short end of the stick. Well at least Desmond thinks so.

I am actually horrified about what he said. I initially thought he was would leave but I think now that he is going to milk this arrangement. Do bear in mind that both under Saw and him, SMRT failed to maintain the assets transferred to them thus the series of disruptions. Sure they had to pay penalties but these ended up as operating expenses and the profits show the treatment by SMRT was no skin of their back. It was Singapore commuters that paid the price.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/sticking-current-model-could-have-led-financial-woes-smrt-ceo

Sticking to current model could have led to financial woes for SMRT: CEO
Declining trend in profitability would have hampered SMRT’s ability to deliver quality service, says chief executive

BY
ALFRED CHUA
[email protected]ISHED: 12:15 AM, JULY 16, 2016UPDATED: 12:22 AM, JULY 16, 2016
SINGAPORE — Trotting out figures in recent years and projections ahead, SMRT painted a picture on Friday (July 15) of its possible financial woes should it continue operating under the current rail operations framework.

Due to the expected continued rise in rail-related capital expenditure to counter the ageing network and higher costs from the raised regulatory standards — which has not been matched by revenue from fare adjustments — the rail operator’s head honcho Desmond Kuek said the declining trend in profitability would have hampered the company’s ability to perform its core role of delivering quality service to commuters.

“A declining trend can be observed in SMRT’s rail-related opportunities since FY2012. Despite the steady increase in non-fare earnings, this trend is expected to persist under the current financing framework, as the additional capital expenditure and increased depreciation would exert additional pressure on the future cashflow and profits of the SMRT Trains entity,” he added.

Shifting away from the current asset-heavy business model, therefore, is not just the sustainable option for SMRT, but also beneficial for commuters since it would be freed up to focus on providing reliable and well-maintained rail services, Mr Kuek told a media briefing.

He spoke a few hours after the Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced the New Rail Financing Framework. Mr Kuek said SMRT currently faces three challenges under the existing financing framework.

The first is heavy capital expenditure due to an ageing rail network, with costs expected to increase over the next five years. The company’s total spending to upkeep its current rail network is expected to reach around S$2.8 billion. Fare increments have also not kept pace with the fare adjustment formula, said Mr Kuek.

The shortfall from rail fare and the commuter concessions, absorbed by SMRT since Financial Year (FY) 2001, totalled S$1.2 billion and S$700 million, respectively.

Lastly, SMRT is also faced with increased maintenance and operational costs, reaching S$693 million in FY16 — an increase from S$662 million in the previous financial year. This year’s maintenance-related expenses accounted for 45 per cent of rail fare revenue.

Under the new financing framework, which will affect its North-South, East-West lines, Circle Line and the Bukit Panjang LRT Line, the LTA will take over ownership of SMRT’s rail operating assets.

SMRT will be granted a licence to run the rail lines for 15 years, starting from Oct 1 this year, with a possible extension of another five years.

The trains run by SMRT are also expected to comply with stricter Maintenance Performance Standards, such as the mean kilometres between failures, set by the LTA.

The operator will also pay a licence charge to the LTA, which will go into the Railway Sinking Fund for the maintaining of rail assets. The licence charge will be structured to allow SMRT to achieve an earnings before interest and tax (EBIT) margin of about 5 per cent a year.

When asked by TODAY about how much SMRT is expected to pay for its licence charge, Mr Kuek declined to give an estimate, adding that the charge would “fluctuate from year to year”. Meanwhile, the operator is expected to announce a date for its Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) by August, with the EGM to be held by September.

The transfer to the new financing framework starts on Oct 1.

Mr Kuek also noted that the company does not intend to use proceeds from the sale of its assets — totalling S$1.06 billion — to pay any special dividend to its shareholders. Instead, it plans to use the proceeds to pay off part of a projected debt of S$762 million, which was partially incurred while funding rail operating asset investments. The other portions of the sale will go towards paying taxes, and investment in developing and strengthening rail engineering competencies.

Responding to TODAY’s question about why negotiations for the transition to the new financing framework were only concluded now since they began in 2011, Mr Kuek said the transition was an “intricate and complex process”.

“We own a significant amount of operating assets, (and there is) a lot to be discussed about how these assets have to be handed over.”

He said there were at least 60,000 line items to be accounted for, which will take time to properly account for and hand over.

Moving forward, Mr Kuek said the rail operator will be committed to meet the higher maintenance requirements set out by the new framework.

As such, the company will beef up hiring for its maintenance workforce, adding about 20 per cent, or at least 700, more employees.

Satyr

Sorry, dealing with the government and their cronies will always be "heads I win , tails you lose".

nayr69sg

Staff member
In essence the previous CEOs of SMRT and the incumbent have mismanaged SMRT to the point of insolvency.

The Singapore government and the people have bailed out SMRT shareholders.

So....why not nationalize the MRT system?

Oh well. I am no General. What do I know about business right????

Satyr

In essence the previous CEOs of SMRT and the incumbent have mismanaged SMRT to the point of insolvency.

This is a semi-nationalization. Theoretically, the operator can be anyone, even Richard Branson. But practically it has to be a crony. Who says Singapore is not creative. We are. We just use creativity to destroy value.

Microsoft

So we use tax to pay for maint...use cash to pay for ticket. Lidat win leow lor...oh wait...70% say not enuff...mus pay some more. :biggrin::biggrin:

This is a preemptive bailout.
Well done pap.....when it comes to profit pappies dun fuck around and waste time.

greedy and cunning

clearly proved that
a "private" company
owned by the garberment
run by any former minister or army general ,
and relate-thief
is bound to fail.

Bigfuck

Like I told the clueless TS, you do not talk about profits when you cannot pay for the financing and purchase of the assets. Claiming profit is a joke. The money comes from where? Taxpayers. So SMRT is a tax agency that makes money at taxpayer expense. It is like saying your father give you money to run your business which your revenues can never pay up for the shops that you have to buy to sell your products. If public goods are important, sales and rental of land (all fake prices by government intervention) should be used to fund the railway lines and not damned additional taxes.

Leckmichamarsch

LOL we now hv the excuse that Quackie spends too much time on asset-related matters instead of operational thingie esp reliability - when you are running an engrg bias business it must be maintenance. MRO and uptime and operational efficiencies ........ something which SAF dun give a flying fuck!!
Hey why we got am ex Army running SMRT?????

Hans168

This is systematic privatization failure. It put to shame a milestone of world crazz transportation system.

to start with the scholar idiots dun understand the GARUDA principles, ie Good And Reliable Under Dutch Adminstration only

how can big public transportation be successful as public listed company managed by monkeys like Saw PH and Des Quack?? typically PAP wanting to eat the cake and still hv it..!!! bloody fools!!

Bigfuck

to start with the scholar idiots dun understand the GARUDA principles, ie Good And Reliable Under Dutch Adminstration only

how can big public transportation be successful as public listed company managed by monkeys like Saw PH and Des Quack?? typically PAP wanting to eat the cake and still hv it..!!! bloody fools!!

These people are talking cock when they claim to be CEOs with no real experience. Who would you bet your money to run GIC, Buffet or HC?

Brightkid

I have not read a single article on the topic.

However, I will bet my last dollar that ultimately, it's the taxpayers, through the govt, and the commuters, will be paying for this merry go round of money.

PAP govt has the enviable history of selling money making assets (eg power stations) and buying back money loosing investments as in this rail/train case. Else, it will be selling off once-upon-a-time golden goose killed by some no-business-experience scholar generals.

Basically, all I am seeing here is dessie Quack coming in to complain and whine about how tough it is to run SMRT and how much is the cost due to aging facilities and what not. And that the trend is towards unprofitability and what not shit. From what i can say of this press release, the following can be summarize.

1) This is a threat by Dessie. He wants to revise the rules and put in the New Rail Financing Framework, or else...............there will be losses and unprofitabilty. Well, who gives a shit. If SMRT loses money, that is their problem. That is a private ltd company.The govt. is not in the business of bailing out the private companies.

2) If Dessie thinks that he cannot make SMRT profitable, then perhaps he should resign his position and let the BOD appoint a real transport professional to run it.

3) Dessie has not indicated what he did before in the past to the rectify the situation at SMRT and how he arrive at the conclusion that there will be future losses or lack of profitability. Basically, he is an idiot with no mass transit experience telling us that it cannot be profitable in the future. Why should we believe him?

4) If SMRT cannot make money and need to change the rules of the game, why doesn't LTA and MOT open the contract to other parties. Perhaps SBS transit would want to take over all the SMRt operations. Maybe a new tender can be put out there and invite international companies to run the SMRT portion of the transit operations. Perhaps HKG MTR want to put in a bid and take a crack at it.

5) I say call SMRT on its bluff. Balless Penang Khaw should just say "Sorry to hear that you are having such difficulties making money on a monopoly that we gave you, how about you give it up and we put another company in to run it?" U will see Dessie Quack do the fastest about face in history.

6) What SMRT wants is to transfer more and more of the cost component to the taxpayer vis having LTA take over these costs through the new rail framework. If this is the case, then there is a very strong case for just nationalizing the whole works. The savings alone from the elimination of all these ex scholar general salaries will be well worth it. While we are at it, nothing wrong with dissolving LTA and putting it into MOT as a regular department.

These are the logical questions and thought process after such an announcement by Quack. I wonder if WP, SHit Times, or any one else will raise them.

these r the same bunch of muthurfarkers who will not hesitate to shame those who handed over their aging parents aka PG50 assets for gahment to manage.

Socialise cost,privatise profit.I thought this kind of thing only happen in the banking sector and crooked wall street usa bailout but now apparently even public transport companies can do it.in the business or money making world,which idiot would accept all the cost liabilities risk and debt and take none of the upside,is Singapore a charity?is PAP a non profit organization?obviously not since their motto is Profits above People!!pap is taking economics to a whole new level.they scare smrt stock drop to zero and become laughing stock?why not offer a 10 to 1 buyout of all smrt shares next week since u are in the business of throwing money away?let me sell everything and buy 10k shares first.

Satyr

LOL we now hv the excuse that Quackie spends too much time on asset-related matters instead of operational thingie esp reliability - when you are running an engrg bias business it must be maintenance. MRO and uptime and operational efficiencies ........ something which SAF dun give a flying fuck!!
Hey why we got am ex Army running SMRT?????

I think the SAF has to be involved in maintenance, MRO, uptime and operational efficiency. They handle masses of equipment. However I do not believe Dessie personally encountered this much in the army. This can be left to underlings when you give them plenty of money with which to play. Effectively, he has no experience in these matters.

now im starting to think maybe Saw piak Hwa was a genius ceo compared to these bunch of papier mache general morons.maybe she forsaw that the cost of infrastructure and maintenance and renewal of equipment was going to crush the company eventually so she desperately sought ways to delay costs and increase revenues in other ways.she should have opened a chain of duty free shops in the mrt stations,at least its more justifiable then asking government and taxpayers to foot billions of infrastructure cost.duty free shopping,both sinkies and foreigners would love it.look at how successful DFS is,their founder Chuck feeney,who gave away all his money all 7 billion of it to his native country ireland and the poor countries of africa and asia when he was still alive,started out in the 60s with 5 duty free shops with a staff of 30 people selling to jap tourists in hawaii,by the 70s they employed over 5000 people with revenues of 3 billion a year.

Unrepented

simi merry go round, and right left pocket..........this is a one way street ah......and tax payers are not in the ferrari.....70% willingly pay for the ferrari and see them zoom pass..........and applaude the drivers for being good........

I have not read a single article on the topic.

However, I will bet my last dollar that ultimately, it's the taxpayers, through the govt, and the commuters, will be paying for this merry go round of money.

PAP govt has the enviable history of selling money making assets (eg power stations) and buying back money loosing investments as in this rail/train case. Else, it will be selling off once-upon-a-time golden goose killed by some no-business-experience scholar generals.