• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Unbelievable - Myanmar "Doctor" accepted by SMC without verification.

Generally, the pappies are not too bad when compared to other countries in SE Asia but they are dumb as well to allow foreigners to use fake degrees and CVs to secure jobs in civil service. The oppo parties did not open the gate to allow these fakers to walk into the island; LKY did it.

My thinking is the pappies are no different from third world govt. In fact, when compared to other s.e.a govt they are worse off for looking after the foreigners instead of locals.

If a doctor is genuinely qualified, it does not matter whether he is from India, Nigeria or even from Mars.

The problem is this burmese doctor whose qualification is suspect is allowed to go free by the court when the stupid judge should have realised the onus of proof is on the burmese to show the court her certificate is genuine.

The prosecution did not have to prove her certificate is fake; the prosecution just need to charge that her certificate is a fake to secure an indictment if the burmese fail to discharge her onus of proof that she holds a genuine certificate.

If her onus of proof is in doubt, which is obviously so, or there are circumstantial evidence to conclude the certificate is not properly issued, the prosecution case should stand but the judge opted to decide otherwise. Funny decision of this judge.

Yes it's funny to have a case of cannot prove the cert is true or fake. Like that how to trust the doctors are properly qualified?

So Austria is so problematic now? No wonder they are so unhappy to be complaining about these refugees during holiday without any prompt from me. It is surreal to hear their complaints that are no different from Sporeans complaints of govt taking too many foreigners and giving them benefits. It's not that bad to be stranded in a train stop that looks like bus stop, waiting for train for more than one hour and wondering when the train was coming, talking to these people one realised that humans are all the same reaction when overwhelmed with foreigners. It's not true at all Sporeans are xenophobic like what pappies and foreigners said of us.

In case there are stupid sinkies around, I should make it clear it's human reaction when overwhelmed with foreigners taking benefits . As opposed to the other way of foreigners contributing jobs and giving benefits to locals . For example in Switzerland there are overwhelming so many Indian tourists and you see Swiss people welcoming them as they are tourists who contributed money and created jobs for them. People who cannot welcome investors and tourists are xenophobic. Just ask the Msia govt to close the border lah if Johoreans especially hate Singaporeans. Don't take our money and yet hate us and harm people like me who spoke the truth about them. Get it?

This is a case of not only SMC screwing up but the prosecution as well. The prosecution apparently are not disputing or not in a position to dispute that she graduated as a qualified doctor form University of Yangon. This was made clear by the judge. Why would a qualified medical graduate not register with her own country's registration board. There is also no record of her being disbarred. Massive cock-up by AG. There is also nothing reported about what she was working before going to SGH. Seriously SMC admits people who have no working history? Either the press reporting is bad or this is truly a shambles.

what is happening at SMC and the hospitals with this fake credential Myanmar dr has been happening within all stratas of singapore society and professions. If such an important life and death profession can be so easily penetrated by people with fake credentials, then what about FTs working as engineers, pilots, accountants, bus drivers, etc. There must be a higher percentage of such frauds in these other professions. The PAP, it it intends to regain even a modicum of credibility, it has to vigorously investigate all FTs working in singapore. A simple website or phone number to call reporting these fakes is a good start. People who work with these frauds know whether they are really qualified or not. They don't even have to go through the judicial system and clog it up with lawyers and court costs. Just march them to the plane, deport them and confiscate all their CPF.

So I suppose the fabled Singaporean bureaucratic efficiency. Lots of rules but no enforcement. Cutting corners when nobody is looking. Perhaps SMC asked her to ownself check ownself? :rolleyes:

SMC wants to earn a lousy $650 in registration fee, they are willing to register any shit qualified "doctor" for this money.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I'm of the opinion that we intervene far too much in order to prolong life. Heart attacks, strokes, diabetes etc is nature's way of telling us that we have used up our quota of good health and that the end is forthcoming.

I wear a DNR bracelet and I sincerely hope I am allowed to go when mother nature calls time out.

The person I admire the most is my good friend's Uncle who lives in rural NZ. His kidneys failed and when he was told that he would have to start dialysis immediately he told the doctors to bugger off.

He went home and called his family together to tell them he was dying. No amount of persuasion could budge him from his decision to refuse treatment. 3 weeks later he died a peaceful death with his family by his side. He was 66.

This taught me that the quality of life was far more important than quantity of years we remain alive... or half alive as is the case for many.

Good point. And I agree. I once had a patient with poorly controlled diabetes and high blood pressure. Was not taking his meds regularly either. I was young then and tried to impress upon him to take his meds properly. He asked me "Young doctor, have you doctors found the elixir of life?" I replied no. He asked "What are the 3 most common causes of death and which of those 3 would you choose to die from if you had a choice?" I replied "Heart disease, Cancer, Stroke. I would choose Heart attack. Cancer would be the last on my list". He told me that he too wished to die from a Heart attack. He asked me" What are the risk factors for heart attack?"

High blood pressure and diabetes would be some of them. His idea was he could choose how he dies but he cannot choose how long he will live. So by having high blood pressure and diabetes that is poorly controlled it would give him the best chance of dying from a heart attack. I see the wisdom in that line of thought too.

Now here is the problem. High blood pressure and diabetes are chronic diseases that don't really show any symptoms till they are pretty advanced or you get complications from.

The vast majority of people who get diagnosed with these diseases is because they are scared about their health and went to see a doctor to get checked to see if they had these illnesses.

In other words, the people who go to see the doctor tend to be the ones who fear death and fear illness. What they actually want to hear is that tests all done, everything is A-Ok. When told they have this and that disease and should take medication they argue left right centre. Say dowan. But then also scared to die. Want doctor to help but dowan take medicine. Too troublesome too expensive. Blah blah blah.

Sigh. If you really do not want to take medication, then don't go to doctor. I guarantee you, you never see a doctor ever in your life, you will never take any medication in your life. You will die naturally. But of course when you go to see a doctor, you will get pissed if you hear the doctor tell you that right? "What kind of doctor are you? Tell me go die???"

Well too bad I am in this profession lah.

The other one is they take the medication, their diabetes and high blood pressure is well controlled. Then they stop taking the medicine. They will say ok already no need to take medicine lah. Why must take? I ask them do you brush your teeth everyday? Why not go dentist, get a good cleaning then forever no need to brush teeth.

(Previously I would ask do you bathe everyday. I stopped cos too many people would say no. Not everyday.)

Oh well. Seriously, if you don't want to take medicine, don't want to prolong life. Then please don't go to any doctor don't go to any hospital. Just stay at home. Problem is once you are in the clinic, the doctor becomes responsible. Have to document carefully what was said and discussed. While the patient may not want to take meds or dialysis and want to die at home, the CHILDREN may think otherwise and later complain and accuse doctor of negligence. It is a stinky world.

When the Indian employee got away with her rubbish credentials, it was a warning of the rot that set in. I am sure we were surprised that IDA chose not act. Now this doctor. If they allow this poor level of scrutiny for the medical profession, you must wonder what about engineers, accountants, dentists and other professions that supposedly controlled by an Act of Parliament.

In 2009 PRC citizen went to Myanmar and obtained her MBBS there. She is one of 2 doctors who were found guilty when their Patient Franklin Heng died after a liposuction procedure in 2009. Her name is Dr Zhu Xiu Chun @ Myint Mint Kyi. After paying the fine she is still practising. After she left Myanmar she practised medicine in Naru, a tiny pacific island nation. Her practise is in Orchard Road. When it is a difficult process she gets a locally qualified doctor to do the surgery while she assist. She owns the clinic but she is not a specialist nor GP but she is on SMC register.

This is the quality we have. Go figure.

When the Indian employee got away with her rubbish credentials, it was a warning of the rot that set in. I am sure we were surprised that IDA chose not act. Now this doctor. If they allow this poor level of scrutiny for the medical profession, you must wonder what about engineers, accountants, dentists and other professions that supposedly controlled by an Act of Parliament.

In 2009 PRC citizen went to Myanmar and obtained her MBBS there. She is one of 2 doctors who were found guilty when their Patient Franklin Heng died after a liposuction procedure in 2009. Her name is Dr Zhu Xiu Chun @ Myint Mint Kyi. After paying the fine she is still practising. After she left Myanmar she practised medicine in Naru, a tiny pacific island nation. Her practise is in Orchard Road. When it is a difficult process she gets a locally qualified doctor to do the surgery while she assist. She owns the clinic but she is not a specialist nor GP but she is on SMC register.

It sounds like this burmese bitch is quite sharp when it comes to doing business. Our local GPs can also do the same. What's stopping them from setting up a similar business model instead of taking a safe job in the government hospital? What's the point of investing so much money and time into studying medicine if you can't make lots of money from it?

I know of a number of sinkies who sold their family property to help their son or daughter go study medicine. You can imagine their grief when they learn their kids after becoming a doctor, decide to embark on the poverty route by becoming free doctors in Third World shitholes with idiotic groups like Doctors Without Borders.

FangSinGuek

Looks like it is not just lifts, or Indians with fake degrees doing IT. Now a foreign doctor that SMC admitted without verification. Just yesterday a dental clinic with 2 outlets reported to the Police for lodging false claims for reimbursement.

Singapore going to the dogs?

http://theindependent.sg/smc-issuin...ors-with-unaccredited-degree-to-work-here/SMC issuing “temporary” license to foreign doctors with unaccredited degree to work here
By The Independent - June 23, 2016 0 1000
Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter

By: Forever Vagabond

It was reported in ST today that a doctor from Myanmar has been cleared of producing fake medical certificates to SMC (http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/judge-yangon-doctors-papers-may-not-be-fake).
The judge said that just because Dr Hnin Wai Hlaing was not on the Myanmar Medical Council’s (MMC) registration list did not mean her certificates from MMC were fake. The prosecution’s witness, an official from MMC, had earlier conceded in court that it was difficult to determine if Dr Hnin’s registration certificate was false because the MMC has many versions of the registration card.

The judge agreed with the defence that there could have been an administrative lapse on the part of MMC.

Dr Hnin accepted by SMC to work in Singapore
ST reported that Dr Hnin graduated from the University of Medicine in Yangon and worked as a doctor in Myanmar before moving to Singapore.
3To practise medicine in Singapore, all doctors need to be approved by the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), a government statutory board in-charge of medical licensing.

Apparently, SMC did not do any verification with MMC and went ahead to register Dr Hnin. She then went to work at the National Cancer Centre in SGH.

It was SGH which did a verification check with MMC. At the time, MMC replied to SGH that it did not issue a registration certificate to Dr Hnin. Subsequently, SGH terminated her contract and informed SMC in 2014.

SMC then decided to charge her for producing 2 “fake” MMC certificates to SMC for registration but as events turned out, the judge ruled otherwise. The judge felt that reasonable doubt had been raised by the defence as to the accuracy of the MMC’s manual register.

Loophole for doctors from unaccredited medical schools to practise in Singapore?

According to SMC’s own website (http://www.healthprofessionals.gov....eddoctor/international_medical_graduates.html), for doctors with foreign medical degree, only those who graduated from any of the below approved list of medical schools are recognised by SMC:

http://www.healthprofessionals.gov.... Registrable Basic Medical Qualifications.pdf

University of Yangon is not in the list. SMC specifically stated in red on its website:

“The Singapore Medical Council (SMC) would like to highlight that International Medical Graduates who do not hold qualifications which are recognised by the SMC, will not be eligible to apply for medical registration to practise in Singapore. This applies to all applicants.”

Then on the last line comes the caveat. SMC also said:

“Doctors who do not meet the criteria for conditional registration may apply for temporary registration, subject to existing criteria for temporary registration.”

Indeed, a search in SMC’s registry shows that a number of doctors from Myanmar armed only with a medical degree from University of Yangon were given “temporary registration” by SMC. For example, these 2 doctors from Myanmar were given “temporary registration” to work as medical practitioners in Ng Teng Fong General Hospital in Jurong:
4It seems like in order to satisfy the demand for doctors in coping with the explosive growth of Singapore population in recent years, SMC is resorting to issuing “temporary registration” for doctors with unaccredited 3rd world medical degrees so as to circumvent the strict criteria for “conditional registration” and “full Registration” (conditionally registered doctors are supervised – they can apply for full registration after they have fulfilled a specified period of service).

Regardless of the “temporary registration” status, these foreign doctors are now practising medicine here in our public hospitals with unaccredited medical degrees.

So, for the parents who have to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to get their children study medicine overseas because they weren’t selected by our local medical schools, it may perhaps be easier and cheaper for them to send their children to those unaccredited 3rd world medical schools like University of Yangon instead.

How good is the teaching and practise of medicine in Myanmar?
If that good why the Sr General came here often for treatments?????????????????????????????

FangSinGuek

SMC does not recognize any medical degree from Myanmar.
My question is simple:
Since SMC does not recognize medical degree from Mynamar, why this doctor can work here? (even if his Myanmar degree is real)

Why this doctor has the gall to fight the case??????? !!!! sgian dun want to die in the hands of f trash doctors
I hv a fren who almost gone blind after 2 years of treatment by f trash ah neh eye doctors in CGH - finally they surrendered!! & push the case to SGH!!!!

Satyr

Now I wonder if it was LKY shooting arrows here and there that kept this entire crony-laden system working. The rot in a once healthy system always shows in small ways. The frequency of breakdowns in MRT services, shortage of hospital beds, lift malfunctions, substandard accreditation policies.This is a very bad sign. And the people responsible are beaming every day, pointing to their 70% mandate that everything is going well. David Cameron had a strong mandate, he went from depending on a coalition with the Lib Dems to an outright majority. Well done, Old Chap. So now there's Brexit. Where is Britain and Cameron now ? The PAP has become like some banks - too big to fail, so people keep voting them in. When they do fail, it will be the serfs here picking up the pieces.

Still cannot beat the PRC who qualified in the US whose licence was revoked in 1999 by the US. He came to Singapore and joined NUS in 2001. He worked here for 13 years and became a Prof until TRE spilled the beans. Singapore Govt and SMC covered it up and refuse to acknowledge they made a mistake. Then quietly told him to leave after a while. He is now teaching and practising in China.

Yes, funnily it was Old Man that kept them on their toes. A "benevolent" dictator who also looked after his family well.

Now I wonder if it was LKY shooting arrows here and there that kept this entire crony-laden system working. The rot in a once healthy system always shows in small ways. The frequency of breakdowns in MRT services, shortage of hospital beds, lift malfunctions, substandard accreditation policies.This is a very bad sign. And the people responsible are beaming every day, pointing to their 70% mandate that everything is going well. David Cameron had a strong mandate, he went from depending on a coalition with the Lib Dems to an outright majority. Well done, Old Chap. So now there's Brexit. Where is Britain and Cameron now ? The PAP has become like some banks - too big to fail, so people keep voting them in. When they do fail, it will be the serfs here picking up the pieces.

Brightkid

These are just some of the frustrations of the 30%. There's so much shits and rots floating around yet the PAP government continues as if they'd built and truly first-class nation. I can agree back in the 80s then when holding a SG passport while going through other country's custom was a pride. Not any more with this current group of MIWs.

Know of cases of highly qualified sinkies went overseas to study in recognise UNIs in healthcare and when back after graduation, govberment hospitals rejected the candidates to join them yet hired those with suspicious degrees foreigners instead? These qualified sinkies went off back to the country of study, got their PR/citizenships and stayed and contribute there. Siinkapor left with foreigners with suspicious qualification!

Look at all other countries around. No need look far like Taiwan, US, etc. Just Phillipines. They voted a President that voters think can change the direction of the country. BRexit was an eye opener what people will do to take ownership of their lives and change the course of their country. Sinkies? As long as not in my backyard, don't care, don't want to know la. Upgrade their pigeon holes and give them GST vouchers can already.

... The rot in a once healthy system always shows in small ways. The frequency of breakdowns in MRT services, shortage of hospital beds, lift malfunctions, substandard accreditation policies.This is a very bad sign ...
ze rot has spread like wildfire ... juz like forest fires in indon, nutting real is being done 2 stop it ... cover ups, self delusions, playing semantics r ze order of ze day ...

Hans168

Looks like it is not just lifts, or Indians with fake degrees doing IT. Now a foreign doctor that SMC admitted without verification. Just yesterday a dental clinic with 2 outlets reported to the Police for lodging false claims for reimbursement.

Singapore going to the dogs?

reds of thousands of dollars to get their children study medicine overseas because they weren’t selected by our local medical schools, it may perhaps be easier and cheaper for them to send their children to those unaccredited 3rd world medical schools like University of Yangon instead.

sg has been dogged by papigs for 50 years, so not surprising that little red dot gone to the dogs................. even Harebabi son want to makan sgian by selling screwed up properties to sgian................ Jusuf Bacharuddin Habibie - no shame bastard exploited us as EDB officer n then Prez now want to sell shit to us

Why this doctor has the gall to fight the case??????? !!!! sgian dun want to die in the hands of f trash doctors I hv a fren who almost gone blind after 2 years of treatment by f trash ah neh eye doctors in CGH - finally they surrendered!! & push the case to SGH!!!!
She went to fight the case because she knew she will win. If she lost the case, that means that SMC was incompetent and negligent for letting her in. PAP dare not let SMC credibility become damaged until like that. Someone forgot to give the memo to shanmugam not to prosecute the bitch.

Hans168

This is scary, isn't it? Imagine getting admitted into the Govt hospital and you get your case doctor who hailed from burma, pinoyland or ah neh land and you just need to pray you will leave the hospital alive.

just decline treatment and run off quick quick........... show these charlatans your contempt