• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Scrobal analysis on CSJ on PAP Press

Another analysis amounting to nothing.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/bukit-batok-election-sdp-falls-short-best-shot-two-decades

Best shot in two decades? Based on what premise?

Cheap shot at CSJ.

The elephant in the room - election is not fair - was never mentioned!

Opposition politicians should stop giving credence to the PAP by participating in any elections. It is time to take the fight to the PAP on the role of the Elections Department.

Get the Election Department to be an independent Electoral Board, reporting to a panel of politicians comprising equal number of members from the main political parties. This Electoral Board will be funded adequately for it to enforce electoral laws that are comparable to those used in UK, Australia and Canada.

If this can't be met, then opposition politicians should just not participate in elections and mock the PAP.

by mentioning PT and CSJ they trying hard to drive a wedge between the best in SDP.

if they dont view SDP as a threat just like NSP, they would have long stop short of stooping so low.

I disagree with the report that Chee's character is the main reason for SDP's lost. They fall short of saying the sinkie effect of losing out on upgrading carrot which PAP used to threaten on every election. The reason why I hate Singapore is because no one, even reporters, dare to come clean on all the bad things that PAP did. Like I mentioned long ago, it is the sinkie effect, MOE has fed our children with all the wrong history and the sinkie parents are doing nothing about it. LKY said Singapore will not live beyond 100 if sinkies remain....sinkies.

enterprise2

Another analysis amounting to nothing.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/bukit-batok-election-sdp-falls-short-best-shot-two-decades

Best shot in two decades? Based on what premise?

Cheap shot at CSJ.

The elephant in the room - election is not fair - was never mentioned!

Opposition politicians should stop giving credence to the PAP by participating in any elections. It is time to take the fight to the PAP on the role of the Elections Department.

Get the Election Department to be an independent Electoral Board, reporting to a panel of politicians comprising equal number of members from the main political parties. This Electoral Board will be funded adequately for it to enforce electoral laws that are comparable to those used in UK, Australia and Canada.

If this can't be met, then opposition politicians should just not participate in elections and mock the PAP.

Election Department?? Wrong target. It's the PA - People's Association that is the elephant in the room. Remove the PA or put opp MPs in the PA and I guarantee u the vote swing will be massive!

borom

Not a single word in this "newspaper" on the main national issues of the day-rampant immigration leading to retrenchment of locals, overcrowding in public housing, public transportation, public hospitals, high cost of living, curbs on freedoms , SGH hepatitis gate ect2, .

We should not waste time reading this so call newspaper at all

An excellent article. I like the part where the reporter insinuates the wp is ineffective in parliament. Shiok!

Bukit Batok residents are country bumpkins of the highest order.

There was zero risk putting Chee in Parliament. History has shown that they would have end up with TWO political parties serving them at the same time plus the bonus would that Chee would be in parliament asking the hard questions... something that WP is loathe to do for their own reasons.

Plus it was stated that all the planned projects were NOT dependent on who was elected so they would have their cake and eaten it in more ways than one.

Plus there was zero risk of a freak election.

I'm so disappointed that the motivation to run this place is a big fat zero. It serves no purpose. All it does it preach to very small segment of the already converted.

As for BB residents all I can say to the 60% is "fuck you". There are no better words to describe how I feel.

Thick Face Black Heart

There was zero risk putting Chee in Parliament. History has shown that they would have end up with TWO political parties serving them at the same time plus the bonus would that Chee would be in parliament asking the hard questions... something that WP is loathe to do for their own reasons.

Plus it was stated that all the planned projects were NOT dependent on who was elected so they would have their cake and eaten it in more ways than one.

I'm so disappointed that the motivation to run this place is a big fat zero. It serves no purpose. All it does it preach to very small segment of the already converted.

As for BB residents all I can say to the 60% is "fuck you". There are no better words to describe how I feel.

Absolutely agree with your point of view.

Singaporean voters are kiasu. What they fear is the unknown. Will upgrading projects slow down because the opposition has been voted in? How will their daily commute, their estates change? What they can't answer, they prefer not to think about. The result in a default vote for PAP. Note that they don't love the PAP per se. They just don't want to take, what to both of us, is but a small risk.

Chee has had a record of vilification by the press as a result of his political missteps. From civil disobedience to defamation suits, he has earned bad stripes which cannot be washed off. Voters don't see him as a victim, but as someone who is stupid and unworthy. They don't see things you and I and 90% of this forum does.

SDP only started remaking itself in 2009 and its groundwork started off slow. Bukit Batok was never their stronghold because they never had a stronghold anywhere to begin with. BB however is PAP's stronghold and they have managed the HDB population with finesse using the carrot on the stick approach.

Absolutely agree with your point of view.

Singaporean voters are kiasu. What they fear is the unknown. Will upgrading projects slow down because the opposition has been voted in? How will their daily commute, their estates change? What they can't answer, they prefer not to think about. The result in a default vote for PAP. Note that they don't love the PAP per se. They just don't want to take, what to both of us, is but a small risk.

Chee has had a record of vilification by the press as a result of his political missteps. From civil disobedience to defamation suits, he has earned bad stripes which cannot be washed off. Voters don't see him as a victim, but as someone who is stupid and unworthy. They don't see things you and I and 90% of this forum does.

SDP only started remaking itself in 2009 and its groundwork started off slow. Bukit Batok was never their stronghold because they never had a stronghold anywhere to begin with. BB however is PAP's stronghold and they have managed the HDB population with finesse using the carrot on the stick approach.

I can understand some old farts not wanting to rock the boat but what has happened to the rest of the country????:eek:

The list of complaints about the PAP are endless. It is a known fact that 30% of sinkies are anti PAP and would vote for the opposition even if they did zero campaigning. All that was needed was another 21% with an average IQ to see the benefits of voting CSJ but it appears that the stupidity of sinkies runs a lot deeper than I ever realised.

All I can say is the PAP and the electorate make perfect bedfellows. The government loves fucking its citizens hard in the arse and the electorate just loves getting shafted till they bleed. It's a match made in heaven that will continue for a long time to come.

The smartest guy in this forum has been Tonychat all along. The rest of us were dumb enough to actually have some hope.

Haha. So are you finally going to convert this into a porn site?

Wunderfool

Around 9.25pm yesterday, the early results of the by-election the whole country's eyes had been on for the last nine days flashed across television.

You might have expected the Block 150 coffee shop in the very seat of contention - Bukit Batok - to be full of the chatter of excited voters eagerly awaiting the results.

But in the run-up, the patrons of the coffee shop just opposite the People's Action Party (PAP) branch were quietly focused on their food.

Then, the Chinese drama that had been playing gave way to a news bulletin. A sample count showed that the PAP's Mr Murali Pillai was in the lead against Singapore Democratic Party's Dr Chee Soon Juan.

And how was this greeted by Bukit Batok's kopitiam brigade? "As expected," one muttered in Mandarin, before returning to his drink. One woman, clad in white, pumped her fist in the air in triumph. Everyone else, having glanced up for the results, turned back to their food.

And that was that. At the huge central coffee shop at nearby Block 155, the TV channel hadn't even changed. It appeared to be another ordinary Saturday in the single-seat constituency. Away from the nine polling stations, you would not have realised that a by-election was being held.

Hours earlier, Block 155 had hummed gently with afternoon chatter - about everything except politics. Even a group of middle-aged men - usually a reliable demographic for political views - was talking about health issues instead.

"It's not exciting," said a semi-retired 67-year-old who wanted to be known only as Mr Tan. "Because we know it's very hard for Dr Chee to win."

Across the constituency, residents reacted with bemusement or amusement when I asked if they were excited about the by-election. A PAP presence in Bukit Batok seemed a given, a fact of life in the slow-paced estate.

BB Voters' apathetic realism thinking :
You itchy backside is it ? You want no upgrade arh !!! Now, Dr Chee had done us a favor by airing what he will do for BB residents in the election, that Ah Mu will have to rise up and deliver his promises right or no ?!!! WE DON'T WANT TO ROCK THE BOAT, OK !!!!

All I can say is the PAP and the electorate make perfect bedfellows. The government loves fucking its citizens hard in the arse and the electorate just loves getting shafted till they bleed. It's a match made in heaven that will continue for a long time to come.

Excellent post! With just 3 sentences, you have encapsulated everything about Singapore politics and its voters.

The bicycle thief approach to break the PAP stranglehold does not work. The voters will insist on having a cleanskin and qualification generally does not have to be impressive but helps. The PAP has lost all the by-elections since JBJ's victory or for 24 years until now. Look at Lee LiLian's background. If Paul Thambyah had contested we might not be in this position. A medical doctor and Professor from NUS mind you. SDP had it in their gift but did not use it.

Leepotism

BB residents, like the majority of sinkies all over the island, are suffering from learned helplessness. There's no way to help them.

Debonerman

The bicycle thief approach to break the PAP stranglehold does not work. The voters will insist on having a cleanskin and qualification generally does not have to be impressive but helps. The PAP has lost all the by-elections since JBJ's victory or for 24 years until now. Look at Lee LiLian's background. If Paul Thambyah had contested we might not be in this position. A medical doctor and Professor from NUS mind you. SDP had it in their gift but did not use it.

Which part of Chee's political ambition you do not understand? He is bent on setting Parliament chambers on fire if he gets elected. Paul Thambyah is not the kind of man for the job. And Singaporeans with more than half a brain can see that.

agree. not assistant prof or associate prof but a Full Prof! how many can boast such an achievement?

No use. Voters want people who can do things for them, like build a new playground, another coffeeshop etc, not another talking head talking theories and what ifs all the time. Talking does nothing. Arguing lagi worse. Begging and praying to the PAP deities is the way to get what you want.