• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

1st ministar casualty

3_M

With LTY out, it will take some pressure off PAP with issues pertaining to transport simply because opposition no longer has an unpopular target (LTY) to attack.

Lui wasn't responsible for overcrowding (which I believe is a key reason why public transport problems persist).

It's LHL.

zeroo

Re: I am distraught that Minister Lui Tuck Yew is stepping down.

Lui Tuck Yew and I entered politics in the same year, 2006. He announced his stepping down from politics and will not contest in the upcoming General Elections.

Tuck Yew is a man of integrity, principles and honour. When approached by PM, he accepted what he knew then was one of the most challenging portfolios in Cabinet, the job of Transport Minister. He had witnessed what past transport ministers went through professionally and personally ; but I had never heard him complain.

Tuck Yew calmly took strategic decisions to address the transport issues in maintenance, train line extensions, bus and train service enhancements. The root causes for our transport problems were several and significant; and required careful analysis and resourcing. The positive outcomes of the measures put in place will mostly be felt in the next few years.

The major train disruptions did not stop immediately and Tuck Yew took the brunt of public anger. He took criticisms and online flaming in his stride, and quietly focused on resolving problems on the ground. I wish he had stayed on to see the fruits of his labour.

As my GRC team mate, Tuck Yew is a diligent and sincere leader who treats his residents, grassroots and activists with respect and dignity. No airs. No wayang. Full of heart.

Both Tuck Yew and I take care of parts of Little India where the most serious of riots in Singapore in 40 years erupted during our term of service . We served closely in the aftermath of the shocking Little India riot, working on policies and legislation to restore normalcy and a sense of security for our residents. He was always cool, calm and considerate.

Whenever I approached him for help on road and transport problems faced by my more vulnerable residents, Tuck Yew would always study the facts and he would never say no to doing the right thing. The latest he did for my numerous elderly and needy residents in the Beach Road estate was to construct a lift for an overhead pedestrian bridge (OHB), although this is usually reserved for OHBs near heavily-used MRTs.

I will really miss him.

Denise Phua
11 August 2015

Huat-Ah

Thanks bushtucker and Narong pointing it out. Actually i know Main Minister draw much more than $15k. Probably 6 figure per month. But i can't be bother to post the exact figure.

zeroo

To AHPETC residents,

You have elected WP to be your MPs wishing that they will speak up not only for your constituency but Singapore as whole. You have sacrificed George Yeo , one of the outstanding minister, in the process.

What happen next ? Your TC become technically insolvent. Victim? WP only want to explain to their own residents. Strange, instead of clearing the doubts, WP supported propaganda The OnlineCitizen claimed WP has been fixed.

Now Liu Tuck Liew decided not to contest in the election. WP and The OnlineCitizen must be very happy.

The cancer that AHPETC residents planted, is growing. Vote WP out before the cancer kill Singapore.

God Bless Singapore

11885370_1651499621732465_8140097909898590682_n.jpg

if only there was more endeavour from him to bring down train fares, all these show is more transport to create more revenue. nothing there to benefit the commuters.

To AHPETC residents,

You have elected WP to be your MPs wishing that they will speak up not only for your constituency but Singapore as whole. You have sacrificed George Yeo , one of the outstanding minister, in the process.

to all paper generals

over the years you have benefitted from FAP's relentless effort to promote you so that you can cross over to the civil service, lose all your military commands you so endear and eventually to lose your job and entitlement as well.

let you be warned no porn lui is just a starter. you may be next.

Kuailan

Re: Shocking news!! LTY steps down... source: Yahoo news

Nothing shocking cos he knows The END is NEAR!!

He a wise man to leave before being Knock out!!

Leave with Dignity! One up for you LTY!!

Re: Shocking news!! LTY steps down... source: Yahoo news

Nothing shocking cos he knows The END is NEAR!!

He a wise man to leave before being Knock out!!

Leave with Dignity! One up for you LTY!!

he got choice meh?

Re: Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew leaving us in the lurch!

Tuck Yew took Penang Khaw's advice to harakiri. Death over dishonour. :(
Now you see why sinkies all gone, left matlanders lording over their home turf.

sirus

Lui knows the MRT system cannot be fixed so he kuat kuat lari.

NS and NEL lines experience service disruption after Jubilee weekend

AUGUST 11, 2015

This morning as commuters on the North-South Line were making their way back to work and school after the Jubilee Weekend, train disruption took place along the North South Line between Choa Chu Kang MRT and Jurong East MRT station.

These delays were said to have occurred at about 7.30am.

There was no mention of the train disruption via the official social media platforms of SMRT despite being a requirement set out by the Land Transport Authority.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2015/08/ns-and-nel-lines-experience-service-disruption-after-jubilee-weekend/

Wunderfool

There is nothing to be distraught about. This is the virtue of the meritocratic system. If the minister fails to meet the standard, he or she has to go.

Tuck Yew knew that his fate was sealed after the "mother of all train breakdown" happened. The NS and EW lines were down for 3.5 hours. 250,000 passengers were affected. This was not a small matter.

Worst, no one in SMRT could explain the cause of the train breakdown and find a fix.

Confidence in Singapore well-reputed efficient transport system was utterly shattered. Even when the trains were resumed on the next day, the government was in tenterhooks as to when the trains might fail again. It was only after SMRT got in the external consultants that the root cause was found and preventive actions put in place.

It is unfortunate that Tuck Yew , despite his diligence and sincerity , could not get the SMRT to put their act together to prevent future train disruption since 2011.

The PAP has to make one of the most difficult decisions in order to uphold their system of accountability that they attest to, namely the system of meritocracy, but more importantly, the hard decision has to be made for the interests of Singapore and Singaporeans.

sorry to disAppoint you but pinoy lead by elo bellow will take over before the m&ds

Lui knows the MRT system cannot be fixed so he kuat kuat lari.

NS and NEL lines experience service disruption after Jubilee weekend

AUGUST 11, 2015

This morning as commuters on the North-South Line were making their way back to work and school after the Jubilee Weekend, train disruption took place along the North South Line between Choa Chu Kang MRT and Jurong East MRT station.

These delays were said to have occurred at about 7.30am.

There was no mention of the train disruption via the official social media platforms of SMRT despite being a requirement set out by the Land Transport Authority.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2015/08/ns-and-nel-lines-experience-service-disruption-after-jubilee-weekend/

See lah, this is exactly what happens when everyone boards the train at the same time. Josephine Teo is such a wise woman.

Before the collapse of Aljunied GRC, GCT told us they (Cabinet) cannot afford to lose Geroge Yeo. Well, we did lose him. Any impact on S'pore's position in the world? No. Why no one now say we can't afford to lose Tuck Yew? It goes to show that like underwears, they can be discarded and changed anytime without any consequences.

how can singapore survive without him... just imagine... no More porn lui

Chicken-Little01.png

Before the collapse of Aljunied GRC, GCT told us they (Cabinet) cannot afford to lose Geroge Yeo. Well, we did lose him. Any impact on S'pore's position in the world? No. Why no one now say we can't afford to lose Tuck Yew? It goes to show that like underwears, they can be discarded and changed anytime without any consequences.

The pappies like to to spread fear, uncertainty and doubt so the more gullible ones continue to support them.

Amos Yee was right when he called LKY a 'world renowned hustler'. LKY's minions are hustlers too.

Unrepented

1) Who placed his predecessors there?

2) Who placed him there?

3) Who decides to remove him?

All of the above sinkies fault ah?

Sinkies don't want tin tin, can ah? finally thru back door go in parliament. Sinkies can choose ah:confused::o:rolleyes:

..........He inherited the system that was not well taken care of by his predecessors ...............wanted him out, perhaps can nominate on of the WPs MPs to the job, see how well or whether they have the guts to take on the job!

TracyTan866

True. PAP leaders are over rated. They are as dispensable as anyone else