• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Former Perm Sec: Educated Public The Best Defence Against The Opposition!! PAP! PAP!

In a conference held by the Lee Kuan School of Public Policy and Institute of Policy Studies (IPS), the Senior Fellow of Singapore Management University (SMU) Bilahari Kausikan accused Singapore Opposition parties and anti-PAP activists of exploiting foreign policy issues for their own gain.

1.jpg

Also currently the ambassador-at-large and policy adviser for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA), Bilahari remarked that these domestic groups are fanning public discontent against the ruling PAP Government:

"One opposition party has attempted to use our Middle East policies and relations with our neighbours for political advantage (while) some anti-establishment types - so-called activists - have tried to use our ASEAN policy to fan public discontent over foreign labour."

Bilahari then claimed that these attempts were however clumsily executed and the Singapore public remains disinterested and indifferent in foreign policy. The former Permanent Secretary of MFA said that the best defence against these Opposition parties and anti-establishment activists is an "educated" public, and that the current National Education taught in Singapore schools should do more in terms of "reflecting" Singapore's foreign policies "realities" and history.

Currently, social studies and national education teaching material in Singapore's government schools are heavily peppered with propaganda and half-truth especially in history and foreign policies. Two of the most "taught" topics are National Service (which is fast seeing irrelevance due to the unfair priorities given to foreigners and new citizens) and Singapore's Independence, where former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew was glorified as Singapore's founding father while his iron-fisted atrocities like wrongful allegations and unhonourable detention without trials of his political opponents become censored.

Singapore academics like Bilahari Kausikan are largely politically biased and pro-government. Other academics who have criticized the ruling party will be chastised and not have their tenure continued like Cherian George.

http://statestimesreview.com/2015/0...oit-foreign-policy-issues-for-their-own-gain/

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
Re: Former Perm Sec: Educated Public The Best Defence Against The Opposition!! PAP! P

A brainwashed public is bad for the opposition

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Cheah. If the public was dis-interested, then why he still bother to say it in public?

HTOLAS

Re: Former Perm Sec: Educated Public The Best Defence Against The Opposition!! PAP! P

Many former colonialists (including the British) also thought that an 'educated public' would surely see the value of their (European) domination.

Rumpole

Ooi, Mister Bilahari Whatever, if you had kept your mouth shut we might have taught you were clever!

[video=youtube;yeF_o1Ss1NQ]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeF_o1Ss1NQ[/video]

Wasn't invited to be PAP candidate for so long ...still trying the MOST POWERFUL MAN.

Sick dog.

Was he the MFA PS when the free trade deal was signed with India?

If he is, we should lynch him for opening the flood gate for the invasion of Ah Nehs.

Our foreign policy is in shambles, thank to an inept Foreign Minister and MFA senior officials.

nirvarq

A brainwashed public is bad for the opposition

I beg to differ I think a brainwashed opposition is bad for the public....

Why are there no voices from opposition to rally the cause for so many cases need I refresh y'all ?

I thought the Opposition's promise is to have a voice for us ?!!!

Yes i Am sad that after working 50 years for Singapore to our so call 1st world country now you all make us wait 8hrs for A&E when I have chest pain.. and pushed to Hospital walkway while waiting lying there with needles and drips....

You ALL have fucking failed us. You're just useless kpkb good for nothing.........

Was he the MFA PS when the free trade deal was signed with India?

If he is, we should lynch him for opening the flood gate for the invasion of Ah Nehs.

prolly the muther farker who signed the free route for qantas to europe without getting anything in return for SIA to USA.

You dont need much to educate the sinkie public they are already well educated,just need a few dvds and a lky musicals and sinkies will be clapping to the beat.

iamhere

FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP.........
MAY PAPEES, CRONIES N FAMILIES BURN ETERNALLY IN HELLS.........
MAJULLAH SINGAPURA.........
GOD BLESS SINGAPORE..............
REMEMBER to

VOTE papees OUT

do yrself, yr forefathers and yr generations to come, a favor, a service and a long-awaited justice

:wink::wink::wink::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::wink::wink::wink:

iamhere says a lot about this:"The democracy shall cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those LEECHES who would not.”