• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forest City

Investor888

My nephew who is a Professor in a Singapore university also had his wedding held at Sutera Utama Peking Restaurant some years back.

I remember the price was S$200 or so per table compared to S$1000 in Singapore. The food is so much better than the $1000 Orchard Road weddings that I have been too!

Why so pathetic? A lower grade restaurant in Singapore will save all the guests from their inconvenience. Besides, the Peking Restoran in JB is also not 5-star, but I still prefer their branch in Sutera Mall than the ones in Taman Sentosa and Taman Molek..

winners

My nephew who is a Professor in a Singapore university also had his wedding held at Sutera Utama Peking Restaurant some years back.

I remember the price was S$200 or so per table compared to S$1000 in Singapore. The food is so much better than the $1000 Orchard Road weddings that I have been too!
It's true that the one in Sutera is more palatable. My high class (atas) sister (who easily spends S$48++ for a plate of Hokkien Noodles with Maine Lobster at the Justin Quek's Sky On 57 Restaurant in MBS) also agreed when I brought her family there previously. Their other 2 branches however, cannot make it, especially the 1 in Taman Sentosa.

ECboy

Wedding last 2-3 hrs, it's such a waste of money and worst is most probably cannot make back from ang pow if hold in SG. I did mine in JB at a Golf club, 55 tables, net net made RM5k. Including flying some relatives in from overseas, flying some specialist from overseas, etc etc.

winners

Wedding last 2-3 hrs, it's such a waste of money and worst is most probably cannot make back from ang pow if hold in SG. I did mine in JB at a Golf club, 55 tables, net net made RM5k. Including flying some relatives in from overseas, flying some specialist from overseas, etc etc.
My JB neighbor lagi sak. He held his wedding banquet at The Grand Straits Garden Royal Ballroom in Danga Bay and the couple donated all the proceeds to their appointed charity organizations.

Ralders

My JB neighbor lagi sak. He held his wedding banquet at The Grand Straits Garden Royal Ballroom in Danga Bay and the couple donated all the proceeds to their appointed charity organizations.

Lan sai. jb all are poor people or poor act rich boasting dog.
Treat atap burglary house as bungalow.

winners

Lan sai. jb all are poor people or poor act rich boasting dog.
Treat atap burglary house as bungalow.
That's where you are wrong. The previous owner of my current house is so damned rich that he has a few houses in JB alone, 1 for each of his children. He owns a large hardware shop in Tampoi. Many of my neighbors have plantations in Pontain, Kota Tinggi, etc. I am the poor one with only 1 house in JB.

Ralders

That's where you are wrong. The previous owner of my current house is so damned rich that he has a few houses in JB alone, 1 for each of his children. He owns a large hardware shop in Tampoi. Many of my neighbors have plantations in Pontain, Kota Tinggi, etc. I am the poor one with only 1 house in JB.
U must a bankruptcy.run away dog.

rotikok

Why...You cant tahan got jb ppl richer than u isnt? Still stuck in ur hdb huh?

Those rich malaysian, much like rich indon chinese, controlled natural resources, and have more way to be filthy rich, not like sg ppl, relying mostly on ppty, want to chop tree also takut kena fine. Not all jb ppl live atap burglary house ok, same thing, not all singaporean live on tree. Dont be extreme.

Investor888

A few years ago I parked my car at Tampines to climb up a Mango tree and collected some 20+ fresh mangoes. When coming down the police patrol pass by and arrested me. End up I was given a stern warning at the Police station by the A-ASS-PEE. Reason? Plucking Mangoes! Welcome to Singapore!

Those rich malaysian, much like rich indon chinese, controlled natural resources, and have more way to be filthy rich, not like sg ppl, relying mostly on ppty, want to chop tree also takut kena fine. Not all jb ppl live atap burglary house ok, same thing, not all singaporean live on tree. Dont be extreme.

Investor888

I got a pilot friend want to show off at a 5 star hotel for his wedding. Ended up lost S$50,000 and had to borrow money from his friends ( me included ).

I have been advising him to try some lower end neighbourhood eatery for his wedding but he wanted " FACE "

sgcount

I got a pilot friend want to show off at a 5 star hotel for his wedding. Ended up lost S$50,000 and had to borrow money from his friends ( me included ).

I have been advising him to try some lower end neighbourhood eatery for his wedding but he wanted " FACE "

How did he lose the S$50k? He could not recoup the money from the wedding ang baos? I feel if he and his wife are happy on that occasion, maybe the S$50k is worth it. Anyway, pilots earn a lot... he can easily make back the money? :smile:

Worst case I've heard is couples who already booked their wedding but decided to not get married. All money paid is forfeited. That one really lose for nothing.

ECboy

How did he lose the S$50k? He could not recoup the money from the wedding ang baos? I feel if he and his wife are happy on that occasion, maybe the S$50k is worth it. Anyway, pilots earn a lot... he can easily make back the money? :smile:

Worst case I've heard is couples who already booked their wedding but decided to not get married. All money paid is forfeited. That one really lose for nothing.

Splurging on wedding is seriously waste of money, today i ask my wife of 4 years, did she regret spending so much and putting so many useless things above our long term plans, she said yes. I don't blame her though as we were always shown what was "ideal" in the media and social sites, etc.

winners

This Ralders Sinkie bugger hasn't seen much of the world yet lah. Still sucking his mother's breast milk. He cannot survive in today's society if he continues to live inside his own cocoon.

Furthermore, his brain contains only shit inside. Why? He doesn't even know that bankruptcies cannot live in a foreign country. He just got himself shot in his own foot with his stupidity. What a toad he is? My Signature below says it all for me.

Investor888

I don't know if pilot earns a lot.. surely not enough for his condo and BMWs.

alleyboy

This Ralders Sinkie bugger hasn't seen much of the world yet lah. Still sucking his mother's breast milk. He cannot survive in today's society if he continues to live inside his own cocoon.

Ignore that sinkie Raiders. Hes anti Malaysia. He just come here to flame good people here. Nothing to contribute to this thread.

winners

Ignore that sinkie Raiders. Hes anti Malaysia. He just come here to flame good people here. Nothing to contribute to this thread.
Yes I agree with you. If you have been following my posts, generally, I don't antagonize the forumers in this "Living In JB" Section forum unless being provoked. One may politely disagree with my posts but need not be rude, sarcastic and uncouth.

sgtsk

英国《金融时报》中文网6月20日文章,原题:中国学生留学美国低龄化 越来越多中国父母决定把孩子送往美国接受高中教育,但现实真如他们所愿吗?
赴美念高中的中国留学生越来越多。中国教育部数据显示,中国出国留学人数2015年继续上升,首次突破50万。而美国是中国学生留学首选目的地。据美国教育协会报告,2007到2015年,中国赴美留学人数每年保持两位数增幅,2014~2015学年首次超过30万,占全美国际学生总数的31.2%。
当大量学生前往美国之际,中国留学生的组成已发生变化。美国国土安全部等的数据显示,近年来中国学生赴美就读本科、研究生仍为大宗,但两者增速皆放缓。而就读高中的人数近十年来增长强劲。2004至2015年,持f-1国际学生签证在美读高中的中国学生从433人增至4.3万人,11年来增长将近百倍。
也许在美念高中有机会提升申请美国大学的竞争力,但花费并非每个中国家庭都能承受。根据规定,持f-1的国际学生大部分只能在美国公立高中学习一年。若想获得美国高中学位,中国家长大多选择让孩子进入学费高昂的私立高中。美私立高中年均学费约1.3万美元,国际学生还须缴纳额外费用,住宿学校学费更贵,每年约1万至6万美元。
除了家庭经济压力,小留学生们也得独自面对成长的代价。南京的王琴2010年前往波士顿一所私立高中就读。王坦承美国高中提升了她的学术能力,但这段经历并不利于青春期个人成长。由于中美文化不同,“在社交上的经验不是很愉快。” 她甚至说若成为母亲,不会选择把子女送出国独自念高中。此外,正值青春期的孩子若缺乏父母在身边监护,还可能产生脱序行为。一些小留学生购买奢侈品、相互攀比,更有甚者荒废学业。(作者陈帼豪、 史书华)