• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gic/cpf investments - ‘ida type’ due diligence?

[h=1]GIC/CPF INVESTMENTS - ‘IDA TYPE’ DUE DILIGENCE?[/h]
Post date:
1 May 2015 - 2:02pm

Most of the reserves managed by GIC originated from CPF members, ie more than S$ 1/4 TRILLION. Billion$ in returns generated from past CPF investments were not returned to their rightful owners, CPF members. It’s therefore appropriate to refer to GIC’s investments as CPF investments.

In an earlier post in December last year, I highlighted GIC’s S$260 million investment in Serco Group Plc, a UK company. Within 5 months, our CPF investment collapsed by 40%.

GIC appeared to be speculating with our CPF savings, trying to pick Serco’s bottom; its share price had almost halved from a year earlier. GIC’s due diligence seems to be similar to IDA’s.
wlemoticon-sadsmile1.png

Long-term Serco Group PLC chart

In another post in November last year, I questioned if there was an exit plan since Serco’s fundamentals had changed with the announcement of a £550m rights issue. But between face saving and tikam-tikam-and-hope-for-the-best, GIC chose the latter. GIC has no exit plan. Serco investment may be the nextLondon Mining where GIC had ‘buy high, sell low’. Only this time its strategy is likely to be ‘buy low, sell lower’.

According to the SWFI, GIC has participated in a 1 for 1 rights issue at 101 p , doubling its 35.17 million shares to about 70 million shares. In the latest rights issue, GIC has increased the investment by S$73 million (35.17 million X 101 p X 2.05), bringing the total Serco investment to about $333 million.

Serco has collapsed to about 134 p, which means GIC is sitting on paper losses of about S$140 million.

It appears GIC is speculating and when the investment has failed, throw good money after bad. No worries cause the $20 billion per year from our CPF tap will never run dry.

Changes in Serco’s fundamentals cannot be ignored as there are opportunity costs in holding onto an underwater investment.

To put it into perspective, global indices have been making new highs since 2013 but GIC has to pick a stock whose price had to decline by 63% (from 360 p to 134 p) in just 10 months? There are tens of thousands of stocks for GIC to choose from and picking on one hell of a loser is like striking Toto. In this case, CPF members will be giving away the Toto prize.

If GIC did not conduct ‘IDA type’ of due diligence, how did CPF members end up with Serco as one of our investments?

Phillip Ang
*The writer blogs at https://likedatosocanmeh.wordpress.com/

These guys have never heard of the phrase "the lower can get lower" and that the new norm is not to buy low and sell high, but to buy high and sell higher.

Anyone attending a basic course on technical trading would have known that the time was not right to buy yet.

i suspect that LHL and cronies are SHORTING whenever GIC and Temasek is buying...........to make money from our CPF money

Got excuse to give some friends a posh executive post in london, new York, beijing, Tokyo, Sydney with all these investments.

"In this case, CPF members will be giving away the Toto prize"

The People's hard earn, blood, sweat & tears money, is a perpetual "TOTO PRIZE"....they strike it all the time, for it is a perpetual gift, the 60% gave them the mandate...perpetually!

In any other countries, those in Iran , Iraq etc....you play with the people's money...you get shot on the spot, or in some Asian countries, they commit hara kiri....but here, they " COME CLEAN"!

You no play football? Ball drop of course will bounce up again.

We are not playing with balls. the 60% don't have balls...mee siam mai hum, have one faulty one now...we are talking about investments...MONEY dude!...what goes into the 'black hole of investing' , in which our experts "investors" are famous for...you hear, no BOUNCE...there is nothing in a black hole..

But do not despair....the "blood bank' ( CPF) is healthy....still plenty of BOUNCE...

Pek Kim Lui

Not only IDA way of doing due D but oso to snuff out airing of it in Hong Lim - not a single word reported in ST prostitue times................see the arrogance of SPH - they decide what you get to read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If a press does not report hot button issues, what fucking purspose it serve?? Papig mouthpiece but we pay to read its shitty news!

this only happens when FAP are in charge. these street gang racers think they are like F1. more like Fail One.