• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

IDA probes claim about employee's 'fake' MBA

Published on Apr 21, 2015
[h=2]IDA probes claim about employee's 'fake' MBA[/h]

FENG ZENGKUN

THE Infocomm Development Authority (IDA) is investigating a claim that one of its employees possesses a fake master's degree.

In a Facebook note yesterday, IDA said it is continuing to look into the case of Nisha Padmanabhan, who joined the agency last year with a master's degree from Southern Pacific University, which is based online.

The university has been alleged to be a "degree mill" - an institution selling non-accredited educational credentials or diplomas for a fee - and was closed in the United States by a court order. It is now apparently operating in Malaysia.

IDA has been criticised online, after a netizen accused it earlier this month of hiring Ms Padmanabhan despite her alleged phoney qualification.

Last week, IDA responded on its Facebook page by saying that Ms Padmanabhan, a Singapore citizen, had received a bachelor's degree from "a reputable university".

According to her LinkedIn page, she has a bachelor's in electronics and telecommunication from the University of Mumbai in India, and worked for nearly 14 years in various firms before joining IDA.

"She was recruited because of this bachelor's degree, extensive past work experience and good track record," IDA said.

"Nisha pursued an MBA (the master's degree) out of personal interest, and it was not a relevant certificate for her position in IDA, though she was open about the fact that she had obtained it."

In fact, 93 per cent of IDA staff hired at the level of applications consultant were hired because of their bachelor's degree.

The criticism against IDA continued, however, with several people hijacking its Facebook posts on other subjects to comment on Ms Padmanabhan's hiring and the agency's handling of the case.

In its latest Facebook post on the matter yesterday, IDA said: "We understand your sentiments and concerns, and we are continuing to look into the matter."

It also asked people who have comments to share them on the post, or e-mail them to [email protected]

It added that it would moderate comments more actively on the rest of its Facebook posts, so that the discussion would remain civil and constructive. It said it does not generally remove comments, but reserves the right to remove those that contain vulgarities, are personal attacks against individuals or are deemed inappropriate.

[email protected]

xpo2015

Can anyone explain the definition of degree mill?

If you need to take exams, write papers and handup your work is it still considered as degree mill if it is not as comparable as Standford or Harvard or Cambridge or Oxford's? What about OZ Unis? Are they considered as degree mills too?

Come on what is there to investigate about this shitskin? At least she is not those lying shitskins. She spoke the truth and declared the truth. The one need investigation is IDA themselves for accepting a degree from degree mill.

Incredible InDiA

hqdefault.jpg

SgParent

Come on what is there to investigate about this shitskin? At least she is not those lying shitskins. She spoke the truth and declared the truth. The one need investigation is IDA themselves for accepting a degree from degree mill.
speaking the truth means delibrately listing a fake cert like it is real? i thought we have another description called "deceiving"?

This is the usual FAP's way to placate SGs. Expect this 'investigation' to drag its feet till some SG with fake degree kena arrested immediately when SGs start to remember the case will they act on it. We saw this in Amos Yee vs Pinoy nurse saga, right?

Bingo bro, shameless people we have in charge

If IDA was run by the oppositions, you can be sure that, cow$8 will tell them, to come clean & suggest that those in charge commit harakiri...but this is "kar kee lang"...it is ok, to "overlook" the mistakes & play Taichi so that, everyone will forget.:rolleyes:

Unfortunate for Sporeans that some mistakes can never be forgotten. If you are in your 50's you will remember your missing CPF. For the young, they will remember that they are unemployed or stuck in some low paying job. For everyone there is the high cost of living in Spore

That is why if the PAP delays the GE, they will lose the so called sympathy votes from LKY's death. Personally I don't believe that there is much sympathy for LHL. The 60% who voted for the PAP did so because LKY was still around & they did not vote for LHL who has proven himself to be incompetent idiot.

If IDA was run by the opposition, Singapore would have degenerated back into third world status. We wouldn't even be attractive to foreigners with real degrees, let alone those from degree mills.

We won't have 2.9 million foreigners if WP ran sinkapore. Sinkapore would truly be a land for sinkees. Sinkees will be the priority of a WP government.

Boliao

If you need to take exams, write papers and handup your work is it still considered as degree mill if it is not as comparable as Standford or Harvard or Cambridge or Oxford's? What about OZ Unis? Are they considered as degree mills too?

A degree mill is an unaccredited "university" that issues degrees based on "life experiences". Students gain their qualification without having to attend classes and complete assignments. They are unaccredited because they usually do not provide approved curriculum and there are no formal assessment of the student's understanding/ knowledge of the subject(s).

In simple terms, if you do not need to take exams/ tests to earn your degree. It is most likely from a degree mill.

leetahbah

No, for the scenario you quoted, if you take exams, write papers and handup your work, duration of degree is 3-4 years, it is not degree mill.

Generally, if you pay $$$ to get the degree without taking exams, write papers and attend lectures, then it is degree mill.

If you obtain the degree in less than the standard number of years, not counting prior learning/exemptions, then it is a degree mill. For example, obtaining a bachelor degree in 6 months instead of the standard 3-4 years.

If you take exam but whether you pass or fail the exam, you will still be awarded a degree as long you pay $$$, then it is a degree mill.

Most Oz Unis are not degree mill. You can check with the Australian Education Ministry to confirm.

Boliao

If you've have worked with IDA or knew the employees they have (as I have), you will know that people IDA are mostly useless. All they do is sending their senior managers all over the world to attend events and shows. None of them actually produce anything. No one in the industry respect IDA or know what it is for. Well, actually they do - it is a waste of taxpayer's money.

Remember the $388million "mistake" that IDA gave to Singtel as part of them opening up their monopoly?

yellowarse

A degree mill is an unaccredited "university" that issues degrees based on "life experiences". Students gain their qualification without having to attend classes and complete assignments. They are unaccredited because they usually do not provide approved curriculum and there are no formal assessment of the student's understanding/ knowledge of the subject(s).

It's not just the lack of curricula for degree mills. It's simply the fact that the degrees are bought for a fee. The 'life experiences' are simply a one-page listing of your educational and job qualifications and a short essay.

That's why it's not an issue of accreditation. It's fraud, and in the US it's a felony to use a fraudulent degree to apply for a job.

A friend with links to a degree mill once promised me not only a doctoral degree but also a 'Professor' title to my name, in exchange for a 5-figure sum.