• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Old Fart's Wish To Demolish Oxley Road House

Many stand to benefit once house is demolished. They were deprived for decades. If marketed well, which I have no doubt they would, the land could well fetch triple or more the prevailing rate psf.

It is about time the house is demolished to level the field.

Heard that his poor neighbours had to put up with all kinds of restrictions. Surrounding houses were selling cheap because of all these restrictions. Now that he is gone they will have to put up with the noise of construction once it is sold to developers.

So can I drive through Oxely Rd today without some Gurkha giving me the evil eye?

Seee3

LKY is quite paranoid & he must have taken "precautions"

Some people think that there is a secret tunnel.:confused:
Ya, there has been rumors that it lead to the prata shop a street away. That is no big deal. If it is a tunnel to keong siak rd or Geylang, then it should be best kept secret. :biggrin:

Heard that his poor neighbours had to put up with all kinds of restrictions. Surrounding houses were selling cheap because of all these restrictions. Now that he is gone they will have to put up with the noise of construction once it is sold to developers.

So can I drive through Oxely Rd today without some Gurkha giving me the evil eye?

All owners and tenants were screened previously. I wonder if Harry had the legal right to deprive others selling en-bloc for high rise condos. Based on his security? Surely he can move house.

leetahbah

He therefore added in his Lee Kuan Yew Will that “If our children are unable to demolish the House as a result of any changes in the law, rules or regulations binding them, it is my wish that the House never be opened to others except my children, their families and descendants.

Is Lee Kuan Yew being selfish?

Lee Kuan Yew not as noble as Winston Churchill and his Chartwell home.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chartwell

Can dun discuss LKY for awhile?
Getting old fart fatigue.
Just savour the moment the fink is finally dead....
Dun lose focus on overthrowing pap.....
Take a break have a kitkat

All owners and tenants were screened previously. I wonder if Harry had the legal right to deprive others selling en-bloc for high rise condos. Based on his security? Surely he can move house.

LKY screwed his neighbours & Sporeans. It was rumoured that he had already moved to the Istana. If his intention was to sell the house when he died then why did he waste taxpayers money on gurkhas guarding the empty home at Oxley Rd:confused:

Can dun discuss LKY for awhile?
Getting old fart fatigue.
Just savour the moment the fink is finally dead....
Dun lose focus on overthrowing pap.....
Take a break have a kitkat

Now that he is dead it is time to look for the skeletons. So expect more & not less discussion on the Lee family.

demolish and rebuild it somewhere as a heritage colonial architecture masterpiece. Not as LKY house. The land can then be developed as Lee condo.

The pappies are well known for demolishing colonial buildings, not constructing them. :wink:

So many shophouses have been destroyed by them. Better to build a condo or mall and huat from the land sale or rent collection. :cool:

At least have an Open House so the curious and the porlumpars can go there see see look look, take photos and videos. If you collect $1 per visitor think of the amount of money you can expect to receive!

My solution: Let the public perform their pilgrimage to their Oxley Mecca for the remainder of the SG50 year, then next year you want to demolish and build condo or hotel that's your problem. Singapore experiences land scarcity, no? Must optimise usage of land... that's why you tore down the red brick library and sold that land to some third-rate university funded by Indon crooks. :wink:

Win-win situation for everyone. :cool:

Charge $100 also the gong Cheebyes will come in droves.
Cannot charge less than casino levy.
Imagine if the 450k mourners turn up again....that's 45 mill for a few days....huat ah

Ya, there has been rumors that it lead to the prata shop a street away. That is no big deal. If it is a tunnel to keong siak rd or Geylang, then it should be best kept secret. :biggrin:

You mean it goes all the way to the previous rotund dark skin person, that run the Thosai & Prata, & Chapati House next to Plaza SINgapura?:biggrin:

LKY screwed his neighbours & Sporeans. It was rumoured that he had already moved to the Istana. If his intention was to sell the house when he died then why did he waste taxpayers money on gurkhas guarding the empty home at Oxley Rd:confused:

Because many handsome young men die die want to tackle Ling so papa had to protect her and her virginity.

They are afraid something like this may happen on the wedding night. :wink:

[video=youtube;7w5Do0a1G7Y]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7w5Do0a1G7Y[/video]

Leckmichamarsch

Many stand to benefit once house is demolished. They were deprived for decades. If marketed well, which I have no doubt they would, the land could well fetch triple or more the prevailing rate psf.

It is about time the house is demolished to level the field.

the inheritance has made each child n grandchild a multi millionaire already..... must add more??

The Hamsup young men, criteria, must be, deaf, mute & not completely blind...just poor in sight...still virgin? that is a 60 years old vintage....:biggrin:

whats the hurry in demolishing his house after his death?is he scared hordes of angry sinkies is marching down to oxley and burning it down?

Asterix

In his Lee Kuan Yew Will, he stated, “I further declare that it is my wish, and the wish of my late wife, KWA GEOK CHOO, that our house at 38 Oxley Road, Singapore 238629 (“the House”) be demolished immediately after my death or if my daughter, Wei Ling, would prefer to continue living in the original house, immediately after she moves out of the House. I would ask each of my children to ensure our wishes with respect to the demolition of the House be carried out.”

The Old Fart calls himself a lawyer?

My lawyer friends tell me that:

1) Whether a building of historical significance is to be preserved or not is a matter for the Antiquities Board or its equivalent in Sinkieland, which is probably a statutory board or something, to decide.

2) There will be a set criteria to guide the Antiquities Board in making its decision with respect to the Oxley Road House or for that matter Ah Kow's house.

3) If the Antiquities Board decide to preserve, it can either acquire the property (and pay "compensation" at below market rates same as for everyone else under set criteria) or fund the owners in preservation activities subject to conditions. Since the whole purpose of preservation is to enable the public to partake of the building's historical significance, there will be no such stoopid thing as "only for my family and descendents". Fark you LKY, in death also you so bloody useless and selfish.

4) Should any member of the public be unhappy with the decision of the Antiquities Board say not to preserve, he or she can file a lawsuit for judicial review.

5) There is a financial angle to this for the famiLEE. If the building is allowed to be demolished, it follows that the land upon which it sits can be redeveloped. The zoning will be changed to allow high rises and the owners will benefit. Normally, such owners are required to pay a development charge to reflect the increase in value of the land due to the change in zoning. Sinkies better make sure that this will not become another case of extra egg for their char kway teow if you know what I mean.

6) Debating this in Parliament is another way of milking the Old Fart's death for sympathy votes. However, if the above issues are highlighted and brought to the attention of the populace, it could well backfire, which is why I have the pleasure of bringing them up. :rolleyes:

7) To put it simply, Sinkies (through the Antiquities Board, an independent public body) should just say REQUEST DENIED.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEjjN0utj2o