• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Amos Yee's "LKY Is Finally Dead" Speech Makes A Lot Of Sense Without The Expletives

xingguy

One blogger, Jess C Scot, has remove the expletives in Amos Yee's "Lee Kuan Yew Is Finally Dead" speech and you can see it make a lot of sense.

“Lee Kuan Yew is Finally Dead,” by Amos Yee

Video text transcribed by Jess C Scott (clean version)

amos-yee2.jpg

Amos Yee

Lee Kuan Yew is dead, finally.

Why hasn’t anyone said, “Yeah, the guy is dead!”

Lee Kuan Yew was a horrible person.

Because everyone is scared. Everyone is afraid that if they say something like that, they might get into trouble which — give LKY credit — was primarily the impact of his legacy.

But I’m not afraid.

So if Lee Hsien Loong wishes to sue me, I will oblige to dance with him.

Lee Kuan Yew, contrary to popular belief, was a horrible person and an awful leader to our country. He was a dictator, but managed to fool most of the world to think he was democratic. And he did so by still granting us the opportunity to vote, to make it seem like we have freedom of choice.

However, during [his] rule, he controlled the entire media and education, proliferating nationalistic propaganda on a daily basis. And he placed an excessive surplus of his books in popular bookstores. In most of his books, look at how he self-indulgently plasters reams of pages with these montages of pictures of his experiences. Like “Ooh, look how much better I am compared to you.”

And of course he is absolutely notorious for suing people who criticised him, forcing them into jail and leading them into bankruptcy. Apparently, his thirst for suing is hereditary, too. So he created an environment where his blatant flaws as a leader were hidden, because most people were afraid of criticising him in fear of being found guilty by the judicial system that he controls. So everything that people hear is about how great Lee Kuan Yew is.

Of course he is able to deceive people into voting for him. Despite our voting rights, he is undoubtedly totalitarian.

Now seeing what LKY has done, I’m sure many individuals who have done similar things comes to mind. But I’m going to compare him to someone that people haven’t really mentioned before: Jesus. And the aptness of that analogy is heightened, seeing how Christians seem to be a really big fan of him. They are both power-hungry and malicious, but deceive others into thinking that they are compassionate and kind. Their impact and legacy will ultimately not last as more and more people find out that they’re full of bull. And LKY’s followers are completely delusional and ignorant, and have absolutely no sound logic or knowledge about him that is grounded in reality, which LKY very easily manipulates, similar to the Christian knowledge of the Bible and the work of a multitude of priests.

On the surface, he seemed quite successful. He turned Singapore from a small seaport into a bustling metropolis, rife with skyscrapers and its own casino. World leaders seem to like him, most notably Margaret Thatcher, and many foreigners and millionaires wish to invest in Singapore.

But if you look deeper, and you find out what the true nature of LKY’s Singapore is…I’m sure most of your parents have told you how luxurious Singapore is, and how, if you go to another country, it would be much harder and much more expensive.

But all you have to do is do a Google search, look at our country’s statistics, and you will find out how delusional and ignorant your parents are.

Most people in Singapore are struggling to make ends meet. And it is reported that Singaporeans work the longest hours in the world. We are one of the richest countries in the world, but we have one of the highest income inequalities, highest poverty rates, and our government spends one of the lowest on healthcare and social security.

The money spent on the public is so low, it’s more representative of a third world country. And yet the amount of taxes is one of the highest in first world countries. And political leaders in Singapore earn more than quadruple the amount earned by political leaders in the United States. They are acquiring so much money — why aren’t they spending it on the people? What are they actually spending it on?

One time, an SDP member told me that once they got into power, they are going to take the key and open every cupboard, and search out all the information on the government spending to find out what those motherf**kers have been doing with all that money.

And whenever somebody wonders online if the government is pocketing the money for themselves, they get sued. Quite suspicious, isn’t it?

How LKY deemed what he considered as success was solely predicated upon measurable, concrete results: a rich country, the love of major powers, a positive public image. And his emphasis on results was transcendent onto how Singaporeans led their lives. Somebody who has the better house, the better results in an exam, the better degree — is deemed “more successful” than the other person.

Because of this emphasis on pure materialism, it sacrificed our happiness.

Because if someone is more concerned about money and status over what they’re actually doing and their life, no shit you would lead a depressing life.

I think the biggest flaw of LKY as a leader to our nation, is that he honestly thought that money and status equated to happiness. And his failure to understand how false that was really showed, leading us to be one of the richest countries in the world, and one of the most depressed.

Ultimately, how do you quantify a great leader?

It is by how he creates a place where people are able to live happily and prosper, based on their own unique attributes. And he hasn’t. So no matter how rich the country he made is, it doesn’t mean a thing.

His death was great for him too, seeing how he was struggling with an illness for several years and even declared that he wished he was dead. He should have asked his son to pull the plug or committed suicide by himself. But he didn’t. You know why?

Because if he did, his band of sycophants might despise him. And his oh-so-great reputation that he so desperately tried to uphold, might shatter. Because it would be deemed quite controversial for a leader to end his life with suicide.

And it is rather tragic, isn’t it, that he had to suffer the last few years with the atmosphere or materialism and the need for a positive image that he himself created.

So there you go: Lee Kuan Yew, an overrated, over-glorified person, a dictator, and exceptionally Machiavellian in nature. With his death and the upcoming elections next year, there is a high chance, that us citizens of Singapore [can] finally change things for the better.

Let’s all hope for change.

For good change, for every possible kind.

End of Article​

nhRqF2X.png

zeroo

Re: Amos Yee's "LKY Is Finally Dead" Speech Makes A Lot Of Sense Without The Expletiv

The boy has been saying things look like it was scripted. He’s using material all produced only by one person. His behaviour looks no different from those of Chee Soon Juan, the issues he talks about is no different from those that the die-hard opposition parties have said ad-nauseum.

The words he used are verbatim from opposition propaganda.

The “statistics” he quoted are all from Roy Ngerng’s site.

And a 16 year old boy dares challenge a legal suit? Without financial or legal backing?

Unlikely.

16 years is a young age, but it doesn’t mean that teenagers are stupid.

If he has indeed been used by characters with a political agenda, then I pity the boy. In fact, I pity those who have been used as pawns in an effort to raise the political capital of others, under the guise of “freedom of speech” and “liberation of Singaporeans”.

Of late, a handful of very young people have been pulling Chee antics. Not just young people, VERY young people. Han Hui Hui, Roy Ngerng and now Amos Yee. Trust me: they been recruited from the same source and trained by the same people.

With political activity heating up, I think it is important for all of us: young and old, to inoculate ourselves from toxic messages. We’re all intelligent people… and like Amos says, it doesn’t take more than a search on Google to get some answers.

We need to think, question and understand the issues of the day and arrive at good answers. We need to refute propaganda belt out by parties who have sights sent on power.

http://www.fivestarsandamoon.com/heres-why-i-think-amos-yee-is-being-used/

xingguy

Re: Amos Yee's "LKY Is Finally Dead" Speech Makes A Lot Of Sense Without The Expletiv

The boy has been saying things look like it was scripted. He’s using material all produced only by one person. His behaviour looks no different from those of Chee Soon Juan, the issues he talks about is no different from those that the die-hard opposition parties have said ad-nauseum.

And a 16 year old boy dares challenge a legal suit? Without financial or legal backing?

Unlikely.

If he has indeed been used by characters with a political agenda, then I pity the boy. In fact, I pity those who have been used as pawns in an effort to raise the political capital of others, under the guise of “freedom of speech” and “liberation of Singaporeans”.

Of late, a handful of very young people have been pulling Chee antics. Not just young people, VERY young people. Han Hui Hui, Roy Ngerng and now Amos Yee. Trust me: they been recruited from the same source and trained by the same people.

With political activity heating up, I think it is important for all of us: young and old, to inoculate ourselves from toxic messages. We’re all intelligent people… and like Amos says, it doesn’t take more than a search on Google to get some answers.

We need to think, question and understand the issues of the day and arrive at good answers. We need to refute propaganda belt out by parties who have sights sent on power.

Replace the word opposition with PAP, and the words highlighted in blue are exactly what the scums in white and young scums in white are.

What a fucktard article from a PAP IB site.

Incapable of critical thinking, they now smear Amos with what they would normally do.

No propaganda shit is as stinky as that of the state controlled MSM.

iluvgst

lky did say before that he was swept to power on a leftist platform and thereafter went centre (i would say more right-centre in retrospect) and never looked back. Guess the opposition is playing the same leftist card to win power from pap.

xingguy

Here, a video that shows Amos is a smart kid.

[video=youtube;U-OrH5H87J4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-OrH5H87J4[/video]

For those who harps on his use of expletives, don't be so anal.

Even uni student say fuck at their graduation ceremony, a valedictorian no less.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=te7FLD4qHBU

Here is a smart man talking about the benefits of swearing.

[video=youtube;s_osQvkeNRM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_osQvkeNRM[/video]

xingguy

Source: Colin Goh & Yen Yen Woo Blog

Merde, Je Suis Amos
by Colin | Mar 31, 2015 | Blog, Parenting, Singapore | 37 comments

FreeAmosYee-1080x675.jpg

Haven’t updated this blog in yonks because I’ve been too busy to think, let alone post my thoughts on anything. (More news to come!)

But I just had to grapple with why I’m thinking about Amos Yee far more than I’d prefer.

When I first saw the 17 year-old troll’s notorious YouTube video, I rolled my eyes and thought, “Wah piang, he’s going to kena sai.”

When I heard that people had filed police reports against him, I thought, “Si gin nah had it coming, but 20 wrongs piled on one wrong don’t make a right.”

When I heard that the police had actually gone out to arrest him, I thought, “Well, what are they to do? Ignore so many police reports? They’re just doing their job.”

When I heard that Amos was being charged, I thought, “Well, he started the ball rolling, so due process has to take place. Hopefully, he’ll be let off with a ‘stern warning’ like so many before him. Sure he’ll be inconvenienced and traumatized along the way, but he has every chance to come out of this smarter and humbler.”

So I was happily purchasing figurative popcorn to watch the circus when I heard the report that his mother had said Amos was “beyond control.”

I then found myself feeling very, very sad.

Now that I’m a dad myself, I must admit that Amos is every parent’s nightmare; a talented, intelligent kid with potentially sociopathic tendencies. Even worse, a child like him might be MY fault as a parent.

And then I remembered, wait a minute, I AM Amos.

In 2000, I started a satirical website poking fun at all things Singaporean, including its politicians, with the word ‘cock’ in its name, which led to Parliament debating whether they could ‘get’ me. It’s an act that caused a rift between my parents and me that still hasn’t entirely healed, even after the Prime Minister said some nice things about the site during a National Day Rally speech. I’d started it as a lark and never anticipated the extent of its impact. And I was a 30 year-old lawyer then. What more a 17 year-old?

At the time, many questioned my sanity too, but I soon went on to do less sensational and arguably more worthy pursuits, and I hope Amos will as well.

I should also say that what Amos said in his rant, whether about Mr. Lee or Christianity, should be nothing new to anyone who maintains any interest in socio-political affairs. They’re the same old potshots critics have been taking at those subjects for years.

Was his video offensive? I guess, but really, if we as adults are offended by a mouthy 17 year-old to the point of threatening him with actual bodily harm, then our problems are bigger than his. (I’m surprised no one has made a police report against the guy who threatened to castrate Amos.)

In fact, the only thing that truly annoyed me was that he was pontificating about things that someone his age couldn’t possibly understand in a meaningful way, and in a pretentious accent to boot.

But this is a realisation that comes with age, and saying dumb things is just part of being 17. If you read his blog post about his experiences at Zhong Hua Secondary, you can see that he’s the stereotypical misunderstood-outsider-emo-goth-freakazoid who’s the protagonist of practically every teen movie, ballad and young adult novel ever made.

It’s not entirely his fault. At that age, our brains undergo changes that are beyond our control, and some have it worse than others. Some react by binge drinking or experimenting with drugs and unsafe sexual practices, and some record and upload unfortunate videos.

So fine. Even though I don’t think the matter should have ever reached the police, it’s stirring up some useful debates about free expression, youth, maturity, tolerance, timing, the Internet, forgiveness, etc, so perhaps the whole wayang will lead to some good after all. At the very least it’ll make other trolls think a bit harder before trolling, assuming trolls have any self-awareness to begin with.

But if we actually send him to jail, we would not just have destroyed his future over an adolescent act, we would also have undermined the legacy of our dearly departed founding Prime Minister, and only proved his critics right – that Singapore is not a mature country after all, but some kind of posh and draconian kindergarten.

Anyway, I’m sure whatever is going on with him now, both in public and at home, is more than sufficient punishment already. Can you imagine growing up knowing you brought your parents such public embarrassment? I wince just imagining what his next reunion dinner will be like.

Also, as someone who comes from a Christian family, I can’t help but ask myself: What would Jesus do? If I recall my bible studies correctly, the most likely answer would be to forgive.

We all make mistakes. Even Mr. Lee admitted he’d done much more terrible things along the way, albeit for much more honorable reasons. Judging by the phenomenal outpouring of emotion last week, we more than forgave him, and in that spirit, perhaps we should leave a little leeway for Amos.

UPDATE:

Wah Lau Eh. After I posted this piece to Facebook, I unleashed the most heated thread I’ve ever opened.

What a reaction to wake up to! I’d been posting food porn and family snaps for so long, I forgot what else can happen on social media.

Just some clarifications and mea culpas.

1. In hindsight, my little attention-grabbing graphic might have driven the conversation off the rails a bit. ‘Free Amos Yee’ just seemed to roll trippingly off the tongue, because, you know, ‘free’ rhymes with ‘Yee’. But of course I knew that he was on bail and hasn’t been sentenced yet. My point was not to have him released with no consequences whatsoever. He should be punished, and I would think an arrest and public humiliation would already be punishment. I just felt that giving a kid a custodial sentence for an idiotic first offense would be overkill. My graphic should have said ‘Please Punish But Don’t Jail Amos’. Less catchy, more accurate. My bad.

2. And yes, I know many of you think some jail time would teach him exactly the right lesson. Maybe you’re right, but I’m just a big softie and I think a teenager deserves at least one chance before a prison record affects his employment, travel and other prospects forever.

3. As for whether it’s premature to campaign for no jail before he’s sentenced, I think it’s pointless to close the gate after the horse has bolted. In my experience, all authorities pay attention to community mores when making decisions, and I simply felt, based on what I was seeing online, that the ‘jail-the-fella’ camp was more vocal than those in my corner. And I still think so.

4. Many have said that based on his smirks and hand waving to the press, he seems to be basking in the attention rather than showing contrition. Maybe. But it could easily be someone trying to put on a bravura front rather than confront the horror of his act. I just don’t know. I don’t feel comfortable presuming to know what’s inside a person’s head, especially a teenager’s, without more information.

5. And even if he is unremorseful now, assuming he’s not a hardened sociopath, he will be when grows up and realizes what he did. I think his reputation is already m&d, and a prison record, at least for a first offense, is really, just over-egging the pudding. If he continues to do this even after being let off with a fine, then that’s a different story.

6. And I really feel for his parents a lot. Because if I were them, I’d be asking myself if I did anything to influence him. Maybe they did. But who really knows? Are the parents of serial killers or gangsters or drug addicts partially to blame? Could his bad behavior been the influence of others we’re as yet unaware of? How much free will do we really have? I just don’t feel qualified to make a pronouncement.

All I feel entitled to express is empathy.

And on that note, back to food porn. (Sigh.)

End of Article​

lky did say before that he was swept to power on a leftist platform and thereafter went centre (i would say more right-centre in retrospect) and never looked back. Guess the opposition is playing the same leftist card to win power from pap.

Criticizing the so-called legacy of a recently dead dictator is somehow 'leftist'. :rolleyes:

Left vs right is a false dichotomy. There are two types of politicians: those who serve the people vs those who serve corporate interests and screw over the people for personal interests. Politicians who are given plenty of unchecked power tend to belong to the second category.

Faker

Amos is charged on 'verbal' insulting the christian faith via a video which lky was the main subject! What happened to this Yeo Hwee Ping, the christian taleban who launched a physical holy attack on a taoist ALTAR?

[video=youtube;UX3Dej6aR9E]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UX3Dej6aR9E[/video]

yeo hwee ping thread: http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?192274-Woman-Destroys-Taoist-Prayer-Items-At-HDB-Void-Deck

really why dun you take the bible and koran and remove all the violence in it and print it out, for all to see. Put your home address on the new bible and koran too, i am sure it will make a lot of sense too.

Unlikely.

He saw the light ...and he will be a lightning rod for more youths to rise and challenge the PAP.

xingguy

Netizen's view on Amos Yee

When Amos stirs a thought
=====================

I didn't want to watch Amos Yee's infamous video on LKY, but after he was arrested, I felt compelled to do so, as I wanted to know what went awry.

The first thing to my mind was his mother, as I could suddenly identify with her. Amos reminded me of an incident some years ago that involved my son.

He was ten, bored, and was asked to watch movies while waiting for the rest of the school to finish exams. So he organized a protest.

The school summoned me and complained about my son. Since his GEP class finished exams ahead of the mainstream, they were asked to stick around for half a day while the school arranged movies for them. He felt that that was counter productive and wanted to go home instead. So he stood on the chair and instigated the rest of the class to protest.

The school was unhappy, so I was called in together with some folks from MOE. The principal shook his head, the teachers threw their hands up in horror, and the funniest thing was, I was more worried about the educators' reaction than my son.

Why are we not allowed to have a different view. In fact, why are we not allowed to have a view?

While the rest of the educators were busy explaining to me why this behavior was not acceptable, the Indian lady from the MOE exceptionally gifted branch said, "You know, we need to teach him where and how to voice out his convictions in a proper way."

She gave me one of the most important lessons about bringing up kids who are perceptive enough to have strong and different views. She taught me to teach my son to voice his unorthodox standpoints in the right tone and attitude, to the right parties so that they are heard.

In our family, we strive hard to teach our kids to have a stance about most things: from what they want to eat, to the school they want to go to, to the places they want to visit, to their career choices and the kinds of friends they want to have.

Of course, we also let them have the liberty to decide their friends, their religions, the courses they want to take, and their political affiliations.

Most of the time, their decisions are in line with our preferences, but sometimes, they are not. Our job then, is to learn to respect the difference and agree to disagree. Sometimes, they go their ways and realize we are right and they turn back. Sometimes, they find their own ways and prove us wrong. Most importantly, our relationships are always in tact.

The danger of only accepting narrow bands of thinking in families, schools, institutions and companies, punishing and ostracizing adults and children for steering out of this band, is that we will hamper original thinking through non-acceptance of differences, and exchange risky innovative thinking for fear.

Do we want to walk into a school to find a whole school of boys with the same hairstyle, or do we prefer one where everyone is neat but everyone allowed to have a style and expression of his own? Does everyone have to agree on one view or are we to respect the differences?

If we teach our young how to vocalize their different views in constructive ways, if we can show them where their facts are wrong and where they have plausible arguments, if we are humble enough to listen to them substantiate their points, then, instead of criminals, we could make geniuses out of them.

If we ill-treat them for having different viewpoints, then they either succumb to the punishment and forgo their ideals, or they become bitter and rebel.

I do not share all of Amos's opinion of LKY and Jesus Christ, but that does not mean he is wrong and I am right. He just has different views. And since these are just opinions, I find it hard to agree to punish him or choose to get offended by him.

How we react to this little son of Singapore, though to a small extent, will reflect who we are, what we represent, and what our future generations will be like.

And because I am Singaporean and Christian, I find it hard to cast a stone at him. Instead, I choose to believe he can be a great person if only we choose to do the right things to steer him to right path. How he, and the rest of our children turn out will depend on us. Do we wish to be a society that embraces differences, or one that only accepts one way of thinking.

How dogmatic do we want our sons to be? How peremptory do we want our children to be? How our future leaders will be like depends on how placid we are today to our young.

End of Article​

11701_10152857101544141_560946761867946613_n.jpg

Asterix

Five thousand lousy dollars was spent to furnish a maternity room for wife of President of United States, without his authorisation, no doubt it was done by over zealous assistants, and he gets screwed by the free press for wasting taxpayers' money.

Some Old Fart hijacked an entire SIA plane and turned it into a flying hospital for his beloved Gecko and daft Sinkies choose to close both eyes! As JFK would say, this is a monumental FARK UP!

[video=youtube;Hs2KiBiPU6w]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hs2KiBiPU6w[/video]

well thanks to the twenty nothing better to do person, the news appear on every single major english newspaper in the world. It just ruin our reputation.
We should arrest these people who made the police report for betraying our country.