• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Of Niches and Seng Kang West

songsongjurong

Re: Sengkang "temple" - 3 Day Old $1 Company Can Win HDB Tender

hope PAP RC dogs got the best unit overlooking the funeral parlor eventually.
or they could have gotten inside info and choose not to buy the units there.

fSMZ5fV.jpg

[h=1]HDB: WE'RE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR LOSSES FERNVALE RESIDENTS SUFFERED FROM NOT READING FINE PRINT[/h]

<iframe src="http://tpc.googlesyndication.com/safeframe/1-0-1/html/container.html" style="display: none; visibility: hidden;"></iframe>
<!-- /.block -->
<style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style>
Post date:
7 Jan 2015 - 5:42pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Future Fernvale Lea residents are asking for a refund from the Housing & Development Board (HDB) over the sudden appearance of a columbarium that would be built right next to their estate but it looks like the HDB has gotten itself covered even before the whole fracas began.

"There is really nothing to hide," PAP Member of Parliament Lam Pin Min for Sengkang West said.
But the HDB's fine print says otherwise.

It seemed to know how things would blow up and have removed itself from any responsibility in the fine prints.
Here is what has been happened.

In January 2012, the Fernvale Lea Build-to-Order project was put up for sale. All the Housing & Development Board (HDB) would say was that a Chinese temple would be built next to it.
Fine and well but then, Life Corp, under the guise of Eternal Pure Land, came along and won the tender to build a columbarium.

But Eternal Pure Land actually won the bid in July last year but for six months, HDB did not see it necessary at all to inform the future residents of Fernvale Lea.
But future residents only found out about the columbarium just before the turn of the new year - six months after Life Corp won the bid - and got the surprise of their lives.
The columbarium was beating the living daylights out of them even before it was built.

But to add to the insult, HDB, the Urban Redevelopment Authority and PAP Member of Parliament Lam Pin Min all blamed the residents for not having read the fine prints.
"It was indicated in the brochures, some of them might have missed it," Mr Lam retorted.

As if a columbarium was not enough, the government was going to make it a living hell for the residents.

So will HDB and the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) change the plans for the columbarium?
“We have to leave it up to the HDB and URA to assess the situation," Mr Lam said.

But HDB and URA said yesterday that the columbarium will continue as planned and said that Eternal Pure Land is committed to running the temple.

But where Life Corporation only set up Eternal Pure Land with $1 just a few days before the tender for the columbarium was to close, what kind of commitment is this?

Moreover, when Life Corporation announced the success of its bid, it said that it wanted "expand its presence in the enlarged bereavement business in Singapore with the columbarium facility".
It was never about the temple, was it?

So, will HDB give a refund, residents ask.

HDB said it will "look into the residents’ request for a refund".

The government was not going to back off, even though it looked like it was their fault right from the start.
In fact, the government did not want to commit to anything.

It seemed to want the future Fernvale Lea residents to suck it in and does not look like it wants to do anything about it.

HDB and URA also claimed that marketing brochures for Fernvale Lea for potential buyers of Fernvale Lea flats had indicated that the nearby Chinese temple might include ancillary services, such as a columbarium.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

But the residents shot back. All the map on the brochure said was that only a Chinese temple would be built next to Fernvale Lea.

It was only in very small print that is barely readable that, "places of worship may also include comlumbarium as an ancillary use."
Also, "The implementation of the facilities is subject to review by the Government or competent authorities."
"Competent" authorities, it said.

But here comes the shocker.

The HDB had already planned to washed its hands off this right from the start.

In its brochure, it also said, "HDB shall not be responsible in any way for any damage or loss suffered by any person whether directly or indirecly as a result of reliance on the said information or as a result of any error or omission therein."

And HDB had the audacity to say that "reasonable care has been taken in providing this information".

Doesn't look like "reasonable care" to conceal the information of the "comlumbarium" in small print, does it?

Guess what? Looks like HDB knew that the whole issue might blow up at some point and it has already put in disclaimers in the fine print to protect itself.

"HDB shall not be responsible in any way for any damage or loss," it said, even if the person who suffered the loss relied on their "said information".

So, HDB is pretty much saying that they had created a misleading brochure, and if future Fernvale Lea Residents had read their misleading brochure and suffered, then it is too bad for the residents.
You, the Fernvale Lea residents, have to take responsibility for the mess that HDB created, it seems to be the case.

Good luck, Fernvale Lea.

HDB has planned to wash its hand off right from the start.
Now where is National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan when you need him?

Tags:

Editorials

For all that do not know Life Corp used to be known as CordLife, before they changed their name to Life Corporation,

Do you all know who is on the cordlife (now Life Corp) member of advisory board, yes its PATRICK TAN

Yes its MR Patrick Tan whose father is also known as KFC and got 12 yrs NS deferment

Do you all know who is on the cordlife (now Life Corp) member of advisory board, yes its Kanwaljit Soin

Yes its its Kanwaljit Soin the former NMP

So you say leh they bid for the can win tender or not?

Actually, right now, one of the directors of Cordlife is Dr. Goh jin Hian, son of Goh Chok Tong and the twin brother of the Sarong party girl daughter who married the brit angmo and now living in London. Also, another director is a Mr. Ho Sheng. Perhaps cousin or some other relative or Ho Ching ? But Life Corp claims they are not related to Cordlife.

What did i tell you? You can't possibly outsmart us competent authorities and loyal servants of the Lees. We told you to watch out yet you walk right into it with your eyes open. The elder Lee is spot on about sinkies.

songsongjurong

parallel with bukit batok rat mountain, PAP are mow exercising max. restraint from commenting...but not when AHPETC is in play..

rambo22

If Sgporeans Boycott the Eternal Columbarium

The sg$1 aussie comp up lorry

maybe HDB will convert the columbarium to a high tech aquarium

all the niches can put fighting fishes

neddy

Re: If Sgporeans Boycott the Eternal Columbarium

Wah, your mouth so stink. even the fighting fish will die.

Don't worry about Singkies boycotting, you will just be slapping yourself stupid!

LKY will then occupy it as if it was his Mausoleum n pinkie will charge $500 per visit for all loyal supporters and $50 for non believers. but dont worry, you will be getting $1000 vouchers to use as part of the Progressive bonus for 2015 pork barrel package.

songsongjurong

S$1.00 company, the banks, contactors,employees,sub contractor,suppliers,vendor will 上西天。

useless pple will be strung fr the lampost along both sides of the boulevard like champ elysees

Sinkies are complaining about this columbarium like they complained about National Service decades ago. But in the end, PAP did not back down from populist pressure and did what was right. They were later on vindicated for standing firm on the NS issue. It's gonna be the same for the columbarium. The same John Tan who challenged MP Lam Pin Min on this matter would be thanking MP Lam years down the road for building this columbarium in his Seng Kang West SMC.

palden

Won't boycott. When open, all Sinkees will rush to support as it is near their home.

Arizona

Re: Video - Lam Pin Min's Dialogue With Residents About The Planned Columbarium

Dr Lam told me that it is absolutely a Chinese temple. The God that they are worshipping is 财神爷, the God of Fortune. This God is very special, even if you pray and believe in him, you are totally free to concurrently believe in as many other religions as you wish. Also, any entity can believe in him, hence it is OK for a commercial entity to run a temple to worship him.

Told u in person or social media? :biggrin:

I should buy Dr Lam tea next time we meet at grassroots functions. He's such a patient guy who can put up with all the nonsense from these plebians who don't know their place. I would have scolded them long ago. There's no way we can have a debate unless you first know your place in the social order.

Stompiss

No need to engage with them, just vote PAP out! OUT!

hofmann

I should buy Dr Lam tea next time we meet at grassroots functions. He's such a patient guy who can put up with all the nonsense from these plebians who don't know their place. I would have scolded them long ago. There's no way we can have a debate unless you first know your place in the social order.

yes yes, buy him tea. cake too. curry puffs? why not a new car too.

Re: One question about Fernvale dialogue session.

Seng Kang West will be under AMK GRC in next election!!!:p

It could be under Punggol-Pasir Ris too. DPM Teo Chee Hean is well-respected by most sinkies, and he is more than a match for any WP candidate. Other party candidates are not even worth mentioning.

Tuayapeh

Fernvale Columbarium: Yet another AIM????

If nobody could be bothered to investigate ....why not do the expose online and show how fucked up and useless are the fucking CPIB when shit like this that stinks to high heaven is left in the open and they blamelessly watch it unfold...

fuck you pap and your chronic crony capitalism!!!!