• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why is Pinky still keeping these two incompetent and overpaid ministars?

PrinceCharming

The first incompetent is: Vivian B.

Dengue cases expected to surpass 1,000 a week

Epidemic worrying as Singapore just entering season for disease: Vivian

By Salma Khalik Senior Health Correspondent, The Straits Times, 12 June 2013, Front page

THE number of dengue infections is rising at a faster rate and is expected to top 1,000 infections a week - possibly as soon as this week.

Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Vivian Balakrishnan said this is worrying because Singapore is just entering the dengue season, which usually runs from June to August.

So far this year, 9,544 people have fallen ill and two men have died from the disease.

Concerned over the way things are shaping up, Dr Balakrishnan and Dr Amy Khor, Minister of State for Health, held a joint press conference yesterday.

Dr Balakrishnan warned that the worst is yet to come. Should the full-blown epidemic shift from the east, where it now is, to the west - and early indications point to that happening - "the numbers will shoot through the roof", he said.

As it is, the dengue clusters this year are bigger than usual and active for a longer period.

The National Environment Agency's (NEA) head, Mr Andrew Tan, said it will step up efforts by recruiting 300 more officers to add to its current pool of 850. This will allow all homes in active clusters to be inspected within a week.

Dr Balakrishnan also urged people to open their doors to the inspectors, as these visits help to protect them. To make it more convenient, inspectors can also check homes at night or at the weekend.

NEA used its legislative powers to get a locksmith to open 10 homes this year when residents did not respond to notices sent to them.

But efforts by the Government alone will not be enough to win the fight against dengue. People must stop being complacent and take an active role, said Dr Balakrishnan.

"I am appealing for greater social consciousness and personal responsibility on the part of Singaporeans," he said.

He added that the spread of dengue is a self-inflicted problem. The bulk of mosquito breeding is still found in homes. Many of those found in public places are caused by litter.

Dr Balakrishnan said a population's ability to deal with any epidemic is personal hygiene and collective responsibility. "You are at risk if your neighbour's health is compromised," he said.

Meanwhile, Dr Khor said the Ministry of Health (MOH) has been working closely with hospitals to ensure that there are enough beds in preparation for a surge in dengue numbers.

There are about 120 dengue patients warded in a public hospital at any time, taking up 1.8 per cent of beds.

Since March, the hospitals have added 160 beds, with 90 more expected by the end of this year, said Dr Khor. These are beds set up in observation areas and along corridors, but fitted properly for hospital use.

No dengue patient will be turned away because of the lack of beds, she said.

Following the death of the first dengue victim, Mr Ang Yong Han, 20, MOH sent a reminder to hospitals to give priority to patients who return within a short period to the emergency department.

On his second visit to Tan Tock Seng Hospital, Mr Ang left before he could be seen by a doctor, after waiting for more than two hours.

rambo22

what do you expect when he himself is lagi more incompetent and overpaid

PrinceCharming

The second imcompetent is: Penang Cow

Letter to The Straits Times Forum, published online on 12 June 2013

Pay closer attention to treatment of dengue patients

IT IS sad to learn that a second person has died from dengue, which is a disease that be prevented. Both deaths appeared to be related to the medical attention given to them.

My wife recovered from dengue fever just one month ago, and my 17-year-old son had to be hospitalised last week, also due to dengue.

We were not very pleased with the medical attention he received. The general practitioner we consulted recommended that my son be hospitalised when his platelet count fell to 99, given that he has a heart problem.

We went to a hospital's accident and emergency department, and after my son's blood pressure stabilised, we had to go home because there was no bed available.

My son was then referred to the polyclinic for his follow-up treatment. When his platelet count fell to the low 50s, a young doctor at the polyclinic said that he looked well and did not need to be admitted. He told us to watch out
for any signs of bleeding.

Early the next morning, my son had a bad nose bleed and was finally hospitalised. He is still in hospital and in a stable condition after receiving a platelet transfusion.

Why do hospitals admit a patient only when his condition deteriorates to a critical level?

Is it possible that the two dengue-related deaths could have been prevented with early hospitalisation and treatment? Also, do junior doctors have the experience to correctly identify dengue symptoms and decide on the
necessary course of treatment?

To be on the safe side, it may be better for hospitals to quickly admit patients with dengue symptoms as family members may not know what to look out for as the fever progresses and internal bleeding begins.

I urge the Health Ministry to pay closer attention to the treatment of dengue patients, especially when the disease does not seem to be going away.

Derek Seet Chang Hui

what do you expect when himself is lagi more incompetent and lagi overpaid

You can guess how many billions the Lee Family has been hiding from Singaporeans. I bet even the Kwa's family have equal distribution of ill-gotten funds in the name of managing our reserives.

rambo22

You can guess how many billions the Lee Family has been hiding from Singaporeans. I bet even the Kwa's family have equal distribution of ill-gotten funds in the name of managing our reserives.

Executive Profile*

Hong Pak Kua

Group Chief Executive Officer, Managing Director, Non Independent Director and Member of Investment Committee, ComfortDelGro Corporation Limited

Age Total Calculated Compensation This person is connected to 59 board members in 7 different organizations across 8 different industries.

See Board Relationships
68 --

Background*

Mr. Hong Pak Kua has been Managing Director and Group Chief Executive Officer of ComfortDelGro Corporation Limited since 2003. Mr. Kua served as Managing Director of Sheng-Li Holding Co Pte Ltd. He served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Times Publishing Limited from 1989 to 2001. He serves on various community and voluntary organisations. He has been Non-Executive Deputy Chairman of SBS Transit Ltd. since January 1, 2003. Mr. Kua has been the Deputy Chairman ...

is this Kua guy OLD MAN bro-in-law?
KGC bro

Ms Vivian is always blaming ...blame WP TC for the NEA screwup, blame the people for dengue problem ...when will be blame LHL for his incompetence?

ILovePAP

Its a nature problem. Why blame PAP. Do u think Oppo in power can cause dengue to disappear?

escher

Why sinkies kept voting and voting for those PAP maggots knowing that PAP are incompetent and fucking and screwing sinkies of money?
If Sinkies do not vote for PAP can Pinky be up there?
Can Pinky be stacking all his fucking useless self serving PAP bastards into ministries and running dogs into top posts as civil serpents?

VOTE ALL THOSE PAP BASTARDS OUT IN 2016

steffychun

By Salma Khalik Senior Health Correspondent, The Straits Times, 12 June 2013, Front page

THE number of dengue infections is rising at a faster rate and is expected to top 1,000 infections a week - possibly as soon as this week.

Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Vivian Balakrishnan said this is worrying because Singapore is just entering the dengue season, which usually runs from June to August.

So far this year, 9,544 people have fallen ill and two men have died from the disease.

Concerned over the way things are shaping up, Dr Balakrishnan and Dr Amy Khor, Minister of State for Health, held a joint press conference yesterday.

Dr Balakrishnan warned that the worst is yet to come. Should the full-blown epidemic shift from the east, where it now is, to the west - and early indications point to that happening - "the numbers will shoot through the roof", he said.

As it is, the dengue clusters this year are bigger than usual and active for a longer period.

The National Environment Agency's (NEA) head, Mr Andrew Tan, said it will step up efforts by recruiting 300 more officers to add to its current pool of 850. This will allow all homes in active clusters to be inspected within a week.

Dr Balakrishnan also urged people to open their doors to the inspectors, as these visits help to protect them. To make it more convenient, inspectors can also check homes at night or at the weekend.

NEA used its legislative powers to get a locksmith to open 10 homes this year when residents did not respond to notices sent to them.

But efforts by the Government alone will not be enough to win the fight against dengue. People must stop being complacent and take an active role, said Dr Balakrishnan.

"I am appealing for greater social consciousness and personal responsibility on the part of Singaporeans," he said.

He added that the spread of dengue is a self-inflicted problem. The bulk of mosquito breeding is still found in homes. Many of those found in public places are caused by litter.

Dr Balakrishnan said a population's ability to deal with any epidemic is personal hygiene and collective responsibility. "You are at risk if your neighbour's health is compromised," he said.

Meanwhile, Dr Khor said the Ministry of Health (MOH) has been working closely with hospitals to ensure that there are enough beds in preparation for a surge in dengue numbers.

There are about 120 dengue patients warded in a public hospital at any time, taking up 1.8 per cent of beds.

Since March, the hospitals have added 160 beds, with 90 more expected by the end of this year, said Dr Khor. These are beds set up in observation areas and along corridors, but fitted properly for hospital use.

Following the death of the first dengue victim, Mr Ang Yong Han, 20, MOH sent a reminder to hospitals to give priority to patients who return within a short period to the emergency department.

On his second visit to Tan Tock Seng Hospital, Mr Ang left before he could be seen by a doctor, after waiting for more than two hours.

Not Ministers problem. Ronnie Tay's.

steffychun

Not Ministers problem. Ronnie Tay's.

You al cheapo + daft Sinkees go and die lah! Donch you dare take my gambling fund to buy hospital beds hor! *hee*hee*

It is only not too long ago the FAP Traitors shoved this down SGs' throats in their bid to perpetuate one Familee's rule:

http://population.sg/

6.9M Population for a Dynamic Singapore: Population White Paper

=> The root cause of the problem was the FAP Traitors' mindless importing of filthy FTrash to replace SGs, cutting corners in maintenance. Yet these bastards can have the gall to blame SGs in one broad statement. Ain't these bastards fantastic?

Its a nature problem. Why blame PAP. Do u think Oppo in power can cause dengue to disappear?

No, the oppositions will not make the dengue cases to disappear, at least, there will be FRESH BLOOD, with fresher ideas & much more aptitude to do the jib. Where now, we have an over rated, often trumpeting, 'elephant', in a drunken stupor, trying to find a solution, only to blame that the grass in which it is sleeping is not comfortable.

People of my generation had seen the PAP, from the time, we were fighting for self-government, to the communists threat...the....it is HISTORY by itself, not just HIS STORY!.. say no more...

PAP was once an opposition...did that generation say, can an opposition solve their problems & give them a future??. Can PAP solve the dengue or any virus problems, the answer is NO!.

Look at the SARS outbreaks...whom did the minister in charge then blame?? no need for guessing...the people..same goes with the current one..the PEOPLE again.

Dengue had been around for a very long time, I myself was infected 17 years ago, but the body fought off the virus. That was when the area in which I lived hada dengue outbreak, it had been 17 years. Every year since then, there would be a dengue outbreak in where I live. Every time, NEA will come knocking on every doors, scour everywhere for a source..they do find isolated cases...& have they eradicated the cause?? I have pointed out to NEA, to look up & they have the answer to about say 30-40% of the probable cause, but time after time, nothing was done. The answer is & will always be, blame the residents for breeding mosquitoes in their homes...by the way, the mosquitoes take the elevator too...??

Can PAP solve this problem, since they are in charge of NEA...why do you think the oppositions cannot, if they were given the task to run NEA...and maybe, many of the public institution...

Why do you think we should not blame the PAP, the people gave their trust, believe & their hard earned money to them..we expect, better results since they are ever so boastful of their achievements...can we not blame THEM??:rolleyes:

No need to go into the fact that they have brought us from swamps, villages, urban slums to where we , we all know that by heart...what is the children phrase again, "self praise, International disgrace"..