• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sagitarius

Businesses feeling the crunch from rise in Causeway toll fees
By Loi Kar Yee and Monica Kotwani POSTED: 08 Aug 2014 22:56 UPDATED: 08 Aug 2014 23:39 (As above)

I tend to see shopkeepers in Woodlands and the two casinos could be slightly affected but other than that, the moderated increase in fees at Singapore's side is easier to be accepted by the people. The effects of the toll hikes at JB's side on the other hand adversely affects JB people very much more. One could be the PMET workers who live in JB. Another could be residents visiting friends and relatives in Singapore.......Not forgetting the great Iskandar projects which could succeed better if there is ease of traffic. Last year they opened the "third link" near to Hello Kitty but most of the ferries go to Indonesia.

Someone in JB said they took two years to study the matter before the increase......I think they just kept the matter in abeyance until Najib okayed the VEP fee.

menghuii

spore only policy for the toll is it should be free flowing
msia purpose of toll is to fund the building of roads and maintain the ciq.
spore vep is to control number of cars using their roads
msia is still thinking of a reason to impose the vep
so what is there for both countries to discuss?

cow138

Even long holiday, Singaporeans are not biting. Causeway seems clear today.
Looks like the toll measures is very effective in stopping visitors to Johor.
Apparently no one wants to be a carrot head.

PuteriWorld

This morning the entire Causeway was jammed all the way into Singapore custom for at lease two hours

Even long holiday, Singaporeans are not biting. Causeway seems clear today.
Looks like the toll measures is very effective in stopping visitors to Johor.
Apparently no one wants to be a carrot head.

cow138

Noon time seems to be clear from the traffic camera.
Even now at 10 is still clear on both sides.
Don't think that there is heavy traffic

freedom

Went in today to collect keys cause only day free. Brought my maid along to clean up the house and glad to find my neighbours very friendly. But when going back stuck in a jam at JB side, took the bus lane and kena fined! Now wondering how to pay fine? At a police station? Anyone can advise?

ComingToJB

Today went in.. Over at KSL.. Car washing so quiet.. Only 2-3 cars.. Car accessories oso much lesser cars.. Shopping also not crowded..
To me, retail business seems like drop between 40-60%.. Quite bad

Stevewish

Today went in.. Over at KSL.. Car washing so quiet.. Only 2-3 cars.. Car accessories oso much lesser cars.. Shopping also not crowded..
To me, retail business seems like drop between 40-60%.. Quite bad

BUT traffic still heavy at this hour !
jam.jpg

PuteriWorld

Went in today to collect keys cause only day free. Brought my maid along to clean up the house and glad to find my neighbours very friendly. But when going back stuck in a jam at JB side, took the bus lane and kena fined! Now wondering how to pay fine? At a police station? Anyone can advise?

Never give coffee $$$?

PuteriWorld

Now 230am an the jam is massive coming into Singapore still @ Woodlands.

Looks like the toll charges is not significant to make JB economy bust. I still hear of colleagues and friends going to R&F and Country Garden to snap up properties this weekend when I don't dare to buy anymore

malpaso

Looks like the toll charges is not significant to make JB economy bust. I still hear of colleagues and friends going to R&F and Country Garden to snap up properties this weekend when I don't dare to buy anymore

maybe you should write to LTA again..suggest even higher toll. 200 SGD per entry should do it for about 5 months.. Hoh seh liao lah!

malpaso

where to pay should be stated in the summons chit. ask for a discount. say you really didn't know and you won't do it again etc etc. look contrite.

FHBH12

SG side has not implemented toll yet. It will be a killer to retail and F&B businesses in southern JB. Expect their customers to drop by another 20-30% once implemented.

cow138

SG side has not implemented toll yet. It will be a killer to retail and F&B businesses in southern JB. Expect their customers to drop by another 20-30% once implemented.

Yup. Just wait till Singapore cut in. Should be interesting to see the backlash.

PuteriWorld

My neighbour who is a Petrol Warrior asked to change RM 250 worth of Ringgit. He is going into JB to pump full tank of petrol on early Sunday morning. As a petrol warrior he said its more of a breeze to pump petrol and back. No jams on early Sunday morning. I forgot to ask if he will still go when Spore tolls increase to match JB toll end of the month.

PuteriWorld

I realise $35 VEP has made Malaysia cars in Singapore drop by 10-20% but not a lot. So I may shoot again to ask for S$50 and also asked LTA to increase the toll to match those of Malaysia. Its a big loss if we are charging S$1.20 still and they are charging RM 16.50 per round trip as both spend equal amount of resources to maintain the roads. Singapore cannot afford to suffer losses, be it 1cent or half a cent.

Win at all cost. If cannot win, erect some new laws

maybe you should write to LTA again..suggest even higher toll. 200 SGD per entry should do it for about 5 months.. Hoh seh liao lah!

FHBH12

I realise $35 VEP has made Malaysia cars in Singapore drop by 10-20% but not a lot. So I may shoot again to ask for S$50 and also asked LTA to increase the toll to match those of Malaysia. Its a big loss if we are charging S$1.20 still and they are charging RM 16.50 per round trip as both spend equal amount of resources to maintain the roads. Singapore cannot afford to suffer losses, be it 1cent or half a cent.

Win at all cost. If cannot win, erect some new laws

JB's economy is strongly based on retail and F&B. Once these pillars are hit, we are likely to see businesses closing shop. Retrenchment will be in the air within 6 months after SG raises the toll. Crime rate may go up and property prices are likely to stagnant in areas where SG visitors traditionally spend their money (i.e. zones A and B). Puteri Harbour will be hit as well.

PuteriWorld

JB's economy is strongly based on retail and F&B. Once these pillars are hit, we are likely to see businesses closing shop. Retrenchment will be in the air within 6 months after SG raises the toll. Crime rate may go up and property prices are likely to stagnant in areas where SG visitors traditionally spend their money (i.e. zones A and B). Puteri Harbour will be hit as well.

Since when did crime rate ever go down in JB? Its always high. I find it shocking during my weekend trip to Malaysia that the place is still congested as before. Singaporeans are still flocking to Jusco /Giant to shop and my massage parlour is still fully booked as usual.

Sometimes I wonder when will I ever get peace? Even Sunway Iskandar and Puteri Harbour were packed with visitors when I visited during National Day.. The former were packed with Malaysia cars ( many from KL and none from Singapore ) and the latter had many non-Singaporean visitors though. I was told Sunway Condos / apartments had overwhelming response for the top floors and they might even need to ballot.. again.. donno real or not.

Then received a call from a Malaysia friend who asked if Country Garden is a good buy cos the entire development was impressive. Another call came in from a Singapore-based good friend who asked if R&F was a good bargain.

Both were for weekend stay and never drive in and out of JB. Maybe this group of buyers are not hit

I do hope the LTA quickly matches the toll so that peace can be returned. I would like to drop by country garden and R&F to visit the beach which is reputed to be serene and tranquil

Sagitarius

If the summons is issued by the Police, it could be compounded at the Police Station. I believe it is written on the summons. But if it is a MPJB summons, it could be compounded at their office next to the JB's Post Office....When we pay (usually in cash) within 14 days, they would give a discount of 50%. After 14 days, we could still get a discount if we give good reasons...

Status
Not open for further replies.