• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why sgplians are so proud of being able to speak english?

jiangrenhua

What is there to be proud of?

English is selected because we want to unite difference races.

It is just a convenient language to do so.

So dun be so proud that you can speak English lah!

me_member

Agree...
Especially where Singapore's national language is Malay...
1st Language is English...
If she's a "lian" then her 2nd language is Mandarin...
and her dialect is her "mother tongue"... Pretty screwed up aint it...

Bet she speaks English like Zoe Tay though...

greedy and cunning

why sgplians are so proud of being able to speak english?

don't make samleong laugh till he drop down.

sinkies can speak english ????? engrish perhaps.

Agoraphobic

What is there to be proud of?

English is selected because we want to unite difference races.

It is just a convenient language to do so.

So dun be so proud that you can speak English lah!

I do not know if it those who speak English are proud, but for a long time, for many, being able to speak English (not just in Sg, but many countries all over the world) means a certain level of upward mobility, just like in China today.

Unity? I think the binding language here is Singlish and in the past, Malay.