• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
After they get all the subsidies for HDB, education and government subisdies, and when they finally finished, they still have an advantage. The second generation Singaporean has a choice to choose to convert back to being a Malaysian again. Not alot of people knows about this.

Hi Cathy, i have sought learned bros here and none were able to shed more light, can you help to advise? This is as even those who went and convert to Singapore citizenship they cannot convert back. Would be great to find out more for them.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi bro,
i am not so sure about setting up business in m'sia, but i have singapore fren doing that, not sure how they do it, for sure he is not mm2h, is bro wugi wife malaysian? or else how he set up business for his wife in msia?

with macs singaporean can stay here for long time or forever at this moment, i don't noticed singaporean banned for entering msia so far, do you know msia will ban for entering spore if staying spore for more than 1 or 2 months without proper permit?

Hi Hillside,

There are ways, both my wife and myself are Singaporeans.
MACS is for 30 days and is valid up to 1 year. I have also posted the E IACS for Malaysians to enter into Singapore.

Only Singapore will be concerned if people overstay, Malaysians can extend to more than 30 days without a lot of fuss.
But why would they want to do that, they can just exit Singapore, do a U turn and go back every 30 days. Only limit
is the validity of their passports.

crystal_tiong

Bros/Sisters, misleading others through deliberate misinformation is very different from those posting out of sheer ignorance or just plain confused.

Some just sent this to me:

Subject: Beware

Hey bro, that he/she (you know who lah) is still in the forum, just using another nick and pretending to be one of u in Johor. Off and on, that person will post some good comments just to "camo" herself and con unsuspecting people but then take pot shots. I saw that she still doesn't reply directly to u when u reply her but replies to others instead with some of the points directed to u.

why not broadcast the person nick ? until now i also dun know who is it wor....

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes, you can only see elderly Malays working in JB. Most Chinese in JB retire when they are 50 because most of them were working as SBS drivers, aircon technicians in Singapore for 20 years. They can retire easily thanks to Singapore dollars because for every 10 years they work in Singapore, they need to work 25 years to enjoy the same level of salary. Even if they did not work in Singapore during their younger years, their kids would have studied, stayed or work in Singapore. With strong Singapore dollars and if the elderly Chinese still need to work, something is definitely wrong with that family.

Agree, not a lot of elderly are working over here. Maybe earlier generations worked in menial jobs but there are lots more that i saw working in MNCs and drawing at least 7k SGD a month. Some of my neighbours are living here and contemplating about using their CPF to buy HDB in Singapore. Another one bought a condo in Singapore. Another one sold off their condos, started their business/franchise back in Malaysia.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Originally Posted by hillside
why i want to take up citizenship if i am doing well and own several house in Singapore? PR or citizen is no different for me, i don't need the subsidy if i am doing well, HDB is not my choice. I still complaint about Malaysia because it is the FACTS, why restrict your choice and give up Malaysian citizen? there is no benefic to become Singapore citizen for the rich.

Hi Hillside,

No offence but your earlier comments were very confusing. In the end, everyone is entitled to complain about their own country especially if its backed up by FACTS. People from Singapore also have factual complaints, again this is not a discussion about which country is perfect though.

The grass is greener on the other side but its also sometimes you see things different or able to from another angle if you are viewing it from the others perspective.

cathylmg

Hi Cathy, i have sought learned bros here and none were able to shed more light, can you help to advise? This is as even those who went and convert to Singapore citizenship they cannot convert back. Would be great to find out more for them.

I got it from my Malaysian friend who converted to Singapore citizens. At that time, PR's school fees was starting to adjust upwards as compared to Singapore citizens. She converted because can qualify for a lot of things as I mentioned above. But if the kids were borned Malaysian, and follow their parents to convert, they can choose at the age of 21, to remain as Singaporean, or convert back to Malaysian. Malaysia side will recognise them.

Yap. Not many people knows about it. Not even Malaysian.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I got it from my Malaysian friend who converted to Singapore citizens. At that time, PR's school fees was starting to adjust upwards as compared to Singapore citizens. She converted because can qualify for a lot of things as I mentioned above. But if the kids were borned Malaysian, and follow their parents to convert, they can choose at the age of 21, to remain as Singaporean, or convert back to Malaysian. Malaysia side will recognise them.

Yap. Not many people knows about it. Not even Malaysian.

Hi Cathylmg, i see now, so you were referring to those who were born in Malaysia. Yes, that they know.

cathylmg

Hi Cathylmg, i see now, so you were referring to those who were born in Malaysia. Yes, that they know.

My point is anyone can come in, enjoy the benefits as a citizen, and ditch citizenship when its payback time. For this, they are obviously at an advantage. No matter converted or not.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes you are right on this. But those Malaysian buyers are rich Malaysians. How about the poor Malaysians? Those staying in Bukit Indah are hating Sporeans because Bukit Indah terraces are launched and sold at RM 400k + already. Just 5 years back, the price is only RM 100-rm200k.

Poor Sporeans staying in normal 3-4 rooms flat, struggle for 20-30 years in Spore and use their CPF to pay for their HDB loans fully can easily sell the HDB and pocket RM 1 million. If they still cannot pay up a simple HDB loan in 30 years, then we must question what they have been doing for the past 30 years? Lazing around? I see hardworking Malaysian old men coming in and out of Spore for over 30 years to work. It does means that jobs are plenty in Singapore in the past 30 years. Many losers like to gamble, drink and smoke for 40 years in Singapore, find China girls to be their girlfriends thinking there are real love, obviously we cant be bothered with them. If you give them S$1 million today, the next week they will blow up the million in MBS or RWS.

Those staying in Bukit Indah would actually be elated that their houses are worth much more now. Quite a few of those who bought there are not Singaporeans. Most property still have a quota and limit back then and quite a few of the houses are below the threshold back so were out of reach of Singaporeans. As you said 100-200k, back then it was still 250k as a minimum and double storey for foreigners.

Yes, Singaporeans can sell their HDB but where else do they stay in their own country once this is sold? Lets not forget that there are many rules for downgrading, etc in HDB. That was then with much lower prices and HDB loans. Again, the example is for menial type of jobs, i believe people are referring to PMETs here when they mentioned about job loss.

Not every Singaporean old man is a loser or will blow S$1m on MBS or RWS. This is one of the reasons folks up there gave when restricting CPF withdrawals.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
My point is anyone can come in, enjoy the benefits as a citizen, and ditch citizenship when its payback time. For this, they are obviously at an advantage. No matter converted or not.

Agree with your point 100%, thats why its so funny when you see so many people saying one is lucky to be a Singaporean but few actually want to be one when it comes to the crunch.

greddy88

I dont get any questions as to what I am doing in Singapore whenver I travel back to Singapore. This is a no-brainer question and if any custom boys were to ask this question, I would simply show him my passport. AS a Singapore citizen, why would Singapore custom officers ask me what I am doing in Singapore? To report for reservist ? :smile:

I did show but yes, it just goes to show that they do this so automatically that they are not deliberately giving anyone issues but just standard. We only got this occasionally at 2nd link but not at all at the first link.

i find it weird that our customs boys will ask us what are we doing in sg... but if they do, i'll say, hey sg is my home too, stayed for over 30yrs!

is the customs just having a small talk with you, asking what you do?
having small talk and kenna questioned are very different things..

cathylmg

Agree with your point 100%, thats why its so funny when you see so many people saying one is lucky to be a Singaporean but few actually want to be one when it comes to the crunch.

Sort of like '别人的儿子我来养, 大了才来领回去。。。‘ :biggrin:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I love Malaysia but I am not ready to take up a Malaysia citizenship and renounce my Singapore citizenship.

Hi HH, you mentioned you are 40, can you still take up Malaysian citizenship? Assuming one is keen to take up Malaysia citizenship.
As you mentioned, your dad is Malaysian so may be easier.

hillside

This is the same story bro, this is how our government use our money, they are not qualified, for sure many will default housing installment, majority willl be bumi la, no collateral, how secure the loan? haha 101% down the drain....lan lan lo.

Bro Hillside, i heard there is another story on this Gov funding of 100% loan to the poor - Do you know where they gonna get this funding from? I heard they will be using the funds from EPF! That's right! the people's money! the qeuivalent of CPF for SG.
So, if the G of Singapore uses your money and gives it to those that don't work hard and expect the G to take care of them....wonder how you would feel!
And what's the collateral? What if everyone stop paying their house instalments for any reason...then how? the ppl $$ up in smoke:confused:

In the 1st place these ppl are unable to get loan, coz they are not qualified to get one! So how secure is the loan from the CPF?

Just a thot...:eek:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thanks for the interest in looking at investing together. I have about 20 guys/gals who are keen. Sorry if you don't get a PM from me. I will PM those who are keen and who has been posting here for a while.

This is done organized by a very learned bro with impeccable background and again this has to be legit. For the old timers,
this is definitely not some get rich (Brenton T) type of scheme.

Its still early stages now so will share more once information is available. If we all do meet, again lets not talk about our online id. I am just glad if i did in any way direct or indirect helped out a little.

hillside

sorry another big point, you only explore city area, most of the small town/kampung left only infant, elderly and rich, malaysia facing big issue for this, all the young generation spread all over the big city and singapore. In fact many elderly still working in their kampung, my farther is one of them, not because he really need money but he enjoy working rather than face the 4 walls all the time, fyi my father work harder & tougher, thats why i leave, ha ha shame on me.

You will get to see how tough some of the eldery work, wiping table is nothing bro, most of the eldery in rural area of China work in the field, son work like hell in China big city.

I have been moving around JB for 1.5 years, seriously I have not see any old and feeble person working in menial jobs in JB, especially Chinese. The most is Malay cleaners who look like in their 60s. It is definitely not a norm for elderly to work in JB (or infact in China or anywhere else in the world). But in the No. 3 richest country, I have seen elderly even in their 70s, frail and bent over still clearing and wiping tables.

Narmi

I dont get any questions as to what I am doing in Singapore whenver I travel back to Singapore. This is a no-brainer question and if any custom boys were to ask this question, I would simply show him my passport. AS a Singapore citizen, why would Singapore custom officers ask me what I am doing in Singapore? To report for reservist ? :smile:

Report for reservist? Hhahahha cute answer lah Bro HH...DARN! come to think of it just received call up and still need to report for reservist :mad: Old man already still need to do sumore ..already gave 10yrs for ict and receive a watch and medal for that. Would appreciate if give me extra dough or perks for Army Vets like in US.

hillside

bro you making my blood boil too

That's perception mate and the data is all s@#$%#$....go down to the ground and you will hear a diffeent set of story altogether!! And that's the real deal..:biggrin:
And you always hear the G singing that the inflation rate is manageable at 3% every year for the past 5 year....yeah, 3% my a@#$!!!
All these are make believe and those lower educated ppl in MY are buying into all the just coz of the main media is controlled by the G...
Go read up in Malaysia Today/Kini and then you will know how they so clever to use the tax payers $$ to fund themselves fat!! And i believe the Chinese are the majority of these tax payers!! Come to think of it ..F@#$...i am one of them too!! but I dun get anything back....writign this down makes my blood boil!!:(:mad:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
i find it weird that our customs boys will ask us what are we doing in sg... but if they do, i'll say, hey sg is my home too, stayed for over 30yrs!

is the customs just having a small talk with you, asking what you do?
having small talk and kenna questioned are very different things..

Hi Greddy, literally interrogating me despite me showing my passport to him. Maybe like what a bro said, as citizenship can get so easily, almost anyone can hold a SG passport so they just want to be sure.

I have other pleasant experiences where they will ask me where i stay in Malaysia, etc. One guy and his colleagues were very interested but thier boss must have arrived as they clammed up real quick.

Status
Not open for further replies.