• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pay SGD$1,600 for dishwasher, but cannot find Singaporeans to take. You believe?

ChaoPappyPoodle

It is interesting that you rule out retirees for dish washing. Then what have i been seeing in coffeeshops or hawker centres? Were those dishwashers actually young people disguising themselves as old retirees? Must be la! Or can i say you talk cock?

If you need to ask me if the definition of lowly educated comprises of the realm of intellectually challenged, then you are clearly hopeless.

Coffeeshops and hawker centres use plastic plates which are light. Restaurants use mostly porcelain plates which are a lot heavier. :cool:

Pinkieslut

Before everyone scream bloody murder about the pay and "lazy" Singaporeans, can one take a look at the article about Jumbo's rental in Vivo jumping by 50%?

It is amazing that many of the major malls (including Vivocity) have a lot of space which are not leased, and with the poor economic/retail conditions, the landlords here (oligopoly of a few GLCs and private players) can still push the rent up by 50%. Imagine what happens during "boom" times. Must be multiple times of the original rent.

Coffeeshops and hawker centres use plastic plates which are light. Restaurants use mostly porcelain plates which are a lot heavier. :cool:

i dunno abt other fancy restaurant but the last time i ate in jumbo, i remember they are plastic lor. most of us who go reservist should notice that the cookhouse dishwasher aunties are mostly those 40-50yo type and camp cookhouse also have plenty to wash where a least a thousand personnel eat their meal each day three time a day. so i see no problem for middle age folks to work as dishwasher at a month for $1600.00. i dunno the working hour each day but on a 8hr shift for 5.5days week, that will be about $9 an hour which is not bad. i think if they eligable for the tips collected then they may get even more. if there is shift allowance then even better.

as for bro amobea claim that it a young person job, i beg to differ. everyday i see three 60yo+ loading and unloading 20kg bags of flour for $100 a day, so not all old folks are as weak as u tot to be. i agree with sam and scrooball (clone) that many but not all singaporeans want easy aircon job with high pay. in the past, most restaurants dishwashers were local, so the main issue is not what one had to do in the job but whether the salary are fair. so the arguement whether what age group of workers can tahan the strain of the job are nonsense but should just see whether the salary are fair or not.

of course, i not sure the $1600 is basic pay or projected salary after all benefits counted in. if it basic pay, then it a fair amount for a dishwasher.

i dunno abt other fancy restaurant but the last time i ate in jumbo, i remember they are plastic lor. most of us who go reservist should notice that the cookhouse dishwasher aunties are mostly those 40-50yo type and camp cookhouse also have plenty to wash where a least a thousand personnel eat their meal each day three time a day. so i see no problem for middle age folks to work as dishwasher at a month for $1600.00. i dunno the working hour each day but on a 8hr shift for 5.5days week, that will be about $9 an hour which is not bad. i think if they eligable for the tips collected then they may get even more. if there is shift allowance then even better.

as for bro amobea claim that it a young person job, i beg to differ. everyday i see three 60yo+ loading and unloading 20kg bags of flour for $100 a day, so not all old folks are as weak as u tot to be. i agree with sam and scrooball (clone) that many but not all singaporeans want easy aircon job with high pay. in the past, most restaurants dishwashers were local, so the main issue is not what one had to do in the job but whether the salary are fair. so the arguement whether what age group of workers can tahan the strain of the job are nonsense but should just see whether the salary are fair or not.

of course, i not sure the $1600 is basic pay or projected salary after all benefits counted in. if it basic pay, then it a fair amount for a dishwasher.

bro, of cse, there are retirees who are physically fit and can handle heavy manual work. What i am saying is retirees in general. Abv 65 yo.

generally, there are choices available for one to work - given 1600, there are other more "attractive" options out there with "better" working conditions.

In fact, I can say unless the pay goes up by another 200 more, there will be few takers from Singaporeans.

If we look at the jobless ratings revealed at 2% for 2011 (as stated in Shit Times), there will be few takers.

Before everyone scream bloody murder about the pay and "lazy" Singaporeans, can one take a look at the article about Jumbo's rental in Vivo jumping by 50%?

It is amazing that many of the major malls (including Vivocity) have a lot of space which are not leased, and with the poor economic/retail conditions, the landlords here (oligopoly of a few GLCs and private players) can still push the rent up by 50%. Imagine what happens during "boom" times. Must be multiple times of the original rent.

vivo city is maple tree --thats GIC for you.

bro, of cse, there are retirees who are physically fit and can handle heavy manual work. What i am saying is retirees in general. Abv 65 yo.

generally, there are choices available for one to work - given 1600, there are other more "attractive" options out there with "better" working conditions.

In fact, I can say unless the pay goes up by another 200 more, there will be few takers from Singaporeans.

If we look at the jobless ratings revealed at 2% for 2011 (as stated in Shit Times), there will be few takers.

Stop lying la.

Look at what you said below....You said "nature of job rules out retirees". But you did not say "some retirees" or "most retirees". So now after your stupidity is exposed, you are trying to say "retirees in general".

1600 for dishwasher - nature of job rules out retirees. it is physically demanding - crates of creamic / procelain plates / bowls no joke to load and unload from the dishwasher. You have to be able to lift heavy loads, work in slippery / hot kitchen environment.

Stop lying la.

Look at what you said below....You said "nature of job rules out retirees". But you did not say "some retirees" or "most retirees". So now after your stupidity is exposed, you are trying to say "retirees in general".

?? wah seh...u mean i need to be so specific har?

what is this, court submission >? LOL

hey...back from lunch liao right? answer my question please.

Unfortunately, this grp of people are rare species these days.

and even security guard today require min. O levels.

to your second part of the qn...sorry...i single....

Rare? Do you have the statistics to back up your claim? How rare is rare? Pls answer and do not dodge. If dunno, just say dunno.

if u r toking abt retiree who have education, then may there are relac jobs out there for them that pay better. But the real world there are many more 40-60yo who are without an education who can work as a dishwasher. mind u, $1.6k is much higher than the pittance pay by mcdonald. $1.6k i admit is not enough to raise a family but it can supplement the family income if both work. jumbo i believe have shift work, so got chance to tolong team leader for working hrs that is easy for family life. $1.6k is even much higher than my first office job which take home is less than $1k.

but the main issue i have with the article is that i dun believe dishwasher basic can reach $1.6k a month. must be included all the OT and shift allowance.

An employer will pay u based on the revenue you can generate for him, not based on the number of children you have. So if people say stupid things like "$1,600 how to support a family of 4?", then they are daft.

Based on their theory, i can pay lower wage to a single person without a family to feed?

Rare? Do you have the statistics to back up your claim? How rare is rare? Pls answer and do not dodge. If dunno, just say dunno.

hmm...here's what i found for 2008.

assuming the birth rate for S'pore = 8.5 /1,000. Given 3million singaporean, birth = 25,500

assuming no infant mortality...all these kids survive to schooling. Dropout rate of 1.6% , you get 408. is that considered high?

2The dropout rate in Singapore is now at 1.6%, and has been decreasing considerably from 5.3% in 1997 and 3.6% in 2002. The decrease has reflected improvements at all levels and amongst students of all ethnic groups.

hmm...here's what i found for 2008.

assuming the birth rate for S'pore = 8.5 /1,000. Given 3million singaporean, birth = 25,500

assuming no infant mortality...all these kids survive to schooling. Dropout rate of 1.6% , you get 408. is that considered high?

2The dropout rate in Singapore is now at 1.6%, and has been decreasing considerably from 5.3% in 1997 and 3.6% in 2002. The decrease has reflected improvements at all levels and amongst students of all ethnic groups.

Silly silly. Your stats reflect ongoing trend tracking youths, but totally disregard the entire scope of older citizens who have low or even no education prior to that.

You wanna play statistics with me? You messed with the wrong fella. Furthermore, what is the significance level used?

Silly silly. Your stats reflect ongoing trend tracking youths, but totally disregard the entire scope of older citizens who have low or even no education prior to that.

You wanna play statistics with me? You messed with the wrong fella. Furthermore, what is the significance level used?

LOL...so share your findings please.