• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Please lah, it was Lee (unrelated) Kong Chian who introduced bi-lingualism in 1953

It may be worth noting that the bilingual policy was first proposed by Mr Lee Kong Chian in 1953 (The legacies of Tan Kah Kee and Lee Kong Chian: http://thelegacy.nl.sg/exh_education.html) and that LKY merely continued that policy. In fact, Lee Kong Chian introduced bilingual education to the Chinese High School as early as 1949 (Singapore Infopedia: http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_978_2006-06-16.html) and that many vernacular schools were already teaching English before that.

Page 81 Mr Tremewan’s book writes of the PAP seeking to destroy Chinese education, page 84 writes of the racial integration policy as a cover for an all-out attack on Chinese education, Page 85 writes of the PAP undermining Chinese education autonomy while attempting to win Malay support by appearing to be multiracial, Page 89 writes of the 1969 bilingual policy as one that appeased Chinese public opinion while completing the demolition of the Chinese education system.

Thus, a number of authors disagree with LKY’s version of the truth.

- http://trulysingapore.wordpress.com/2012/01/07/what-lies-ahead-in-bilingual-journey/

Unrepented

Re: Please lah, it was Lee (unrelated) Kong Chian who introduced bi-lingualism in 195

I still remember Kong Chian theater, with bubble gum stuck under the wooden seats:o Nice turtle soup across the road. Behind the theater, is Kong Guan, can go buy biscuit.:o

Re: Please lah, it was Lee (unrelated) Kong Chian who introduced bi-lingualism in 195

Lee Kong Chian

is related to

Tan Kah Kee

is related to

Tan Chin Tuan

is related to

Wee Kheng Chiang

is related to

Kwa Siew Tee

is related to

Kwa Geok Choo

is related

Lee Kuan Yew

Not related? Hardly.

I still remember Kong Chian theater, with bubble gum stuck under the wooden seats:o Nice turtle soup across the road. Behind the theater, is Kong Guan, can go buy biscuit.:o

The Kong Chian cinema at old New World was my childhood cinema. Lee Kong Chian also funded and founded National Library.

Unrepented

This one at tai seng:o Tio bo:confused:

The Kong Chian cinema at old New World was my childhood cinema. Lee Kong Chian also funded and founded National Library.

This one at tai seng:o Tio bo:confused:

Tai Seng I don't know. I only know the one at Toa Payoh named Kong Chian. For National Library, I'm very sure Lee Kong Chian funded and founded it. There was his plaque displayed at the gate at the old red-brick Stamford Road NL. I went there at least thrice per week during my sec. sch. days.

(My previous reference to New World was an error, typing too fast fingers over mind, apologies.)

Tai Seng I don't know. I only know the one at Toa Payoh named Kong Chian. For National Library, I'm very sure Lee Kong Chian funded and founded it. There was his plaque displayed at the gate at the old red-brick Stamford Road NL. I went there at least thrice per week during my sec. sch. days.

School auditoriums also named after him.

If you Sar Ji, you should be familiar with Tai Seng leh.

I know Tai Seng Hang but I don't know what Tai Seng got to do with Lee Kong Chian, really. It also got an MRT station a couple of years ago. Sometimes we still go there to drink. Beer Lao. But drink and chat only, not much action. Beach Road is still the best. The 08 almost totally defeated by our 32 + Thai alliance. :wink:

Not aware Beach Rd's 08. Always under the impression Tiong Gi Tong. Maybe just for GM and not beach Rd then. Si Tong ?

It was traditional 08 base from French Road to Beach Road, what we used to call from Siong Lim Pang Long to Goh Zho Bei. The border with 32 was Lavender Street. The border with 24 was Syed Alwi Road. There was a big gangfight some 3 years ago. The Thais decided to side with 32. The 32 + Thai alliance now covers whole Beach Road including Golden Mile. Not to say I claim credit for persuading the Thai fighters to side with us, many of the 08 fuckers were seasoned Thai pimps and could speak Thai very well too, even better than me.

Goh Zho Bei not SKT's? Maybe my info out-dated liao. 3 years ago is quite recent. Not aware of the clash. Any arrested and CLed?

Just rioting charges, no CLTPA charges. Served time and fucked off. I fucked off very fast next morning, no time for court case, booked instant airticket to US via internet since I got frequent flyer card and ran like hell. Later when the wind cools down, I was back after confirming with my sources. Nobody's being charged for murder or manslaughter. Just a a few Thais being charged for rioting, imprisoned a year or less since no weapons involved, then deported and banned.

Thanks. Will check when I meet up with Sar Ji kias.

Hahahhaaaaa .............. I am very familiar with 'garden'.

Then you must know the flags holders, Ah Bei (one-arm) and Ah Yao (one-kidney). Black Skin seldom come here nowadays, semi-retired, semi-runroad, and last but not least, me yours truly. We same stand same seat. 平起平坐。

They are old-timers. Younger chaps taken over. One went in recently for vice related offences.

I though Kong Chian was at Toa Payoh? New World Amusement park have one?