• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The PAP's Aljunied dilemma By ST Rachael Chang Published on Dec 20, 2011

Thick Face Black Heart

I have more confidence in the PAP than that opposition group doing something. My reasons were stated in another post on the "shiok" factor. Honestly, TJS is overrated and increasing more so as time passes by. When I say overrated, I mean his potential command and rally over opposition personalities.

TJS is no KJ. He has better people skills and able to galvanize from across the parties (excluding WP). The PE is one telling example. Pulled the rug from under TKL and bought a lot of opposition (ex WP & ex GMS of course) to his side. You may say 25% is no biggie, but the winner and the one who was supposed to win were just 35% each.

Perspective

TJS is no KJ. He has better people skills and able to galvanize from across the parties (excluding WP). The PE is one telling example. Pulled the rug from under TKL and bought a lot of opposition (ex WP & ex GMS of course) to his side. You may say 25% is no biggie, but the winner and the one who was supposed to win were just 35% each.

TJS being no KJ doesn't mean he is LTK or CSM either. Honestly, it is not so difficult not to be KJ. But before people really knew KJ, they thought him to be like TJS now, and people are now beginning to see TJS for what he is as well, though TJS will never reach KJ's level. It is open info that Jeannette Aruldoss and Nicole Seah confidently stated that they will not leave their party. Why would they be so confident? Because they are not even perceiving any combo with him as a do-or-die thing, and not having him around is a political loss that must be avoided at all costs. They are friends though. None in SDP want to leave their parties for him either. That's the kind of pull or attraction TJS has? If TJS gives way and joins any party, he would still lose the bargaining power to negotiate any form of alliance.

As I said in a previous post, if I were TJS, I would join NSP now, ally with my PE comrades as well as the scholar couple, request that I be fielded in CCK in 2016 and keep walking the ground from now till 2016. Don't need to play high and mighty. But I may be wrong and he has given up the Parliamentary chase but is waiting for the PE 2017.

Fook Seng

I see disturbing signs, or good signs, depending on which side you are on. And I read it from the development around the SMRT debacle. There are signs that the ruling party is changing or attempting to change and there is a good reason for doing so. First of all, there are a couple of factors necessitating this change. One is the runaway cost of living caused by many things but possibly housing cost being the main culprit. Next is the issue of Ministerial salaries. My take on the Ministers' salaries is this: it was never meant to match the remuneration of private business owners. For example bankers who own their own banks, how can you match that? The large property developer is another example.The Ministers' salaries was meant to measure respectably with the CEOs of GLCs because they come from the same source, the same pawning pond. Over the past 10 years or so, the top GLC salaries have shot up tremendously, at first lagging by a lot overseas rates but now actually leading them. Now, for political reasons, ministerial salaries have to come down. The amount cannot be too little as it would not achieve the desired political impact. This will start a series of adjustments beginning with the salaries of the heads of GLCs in order to restore the equilibrium. From the signs shown in the SMRT incident, this has already started. If you analyse the Chairman's words - "the CEO will be held responsible" they tell as much. This Chairman means it. He is already well into his 60's. For many he should already be in his retirement. So what if he oversteps the line? More likely he is actually tasked to do what he is supposed to do. In the place of the lady
will be someone who is willing to accept a lower salary and this will go on one by one with the rest of the GLCs. Of course many of the elites will grumble. But salary is a relative thing and this brings me to the second factor - the cost of property, particularly the higher end properties. Those prices will be brought down to make it affordable to the elites. If they are locals or PRs, they are in fact getting a relative discount based on the new stamp duty scheme. This should adequately compensate them for their loss of income. When these two costs are lowered and in place, the overall cost of living will be moderated. What better way to ensure this than to have the policy makers be in the same boat as the rest of us. So I stress again. Things have already been started. For opposition members who have wanted to take advantage of the bad situation, they have to move fast. Otherwise, they will be too late.

Chia Ti Lik

Sorry, should be: "one week before nomination day, former WP candidate chia ti lik, who was heading the socialist front, went to the press to warn some of his Socialist front cadres that contesting TP would be against party rules (meaning, his rules) with possible disciplinary actions. "

Sorry, I still don't think that is accurate. :smile:

brocoli

It may even mean taking popular politicians like National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan or Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam away from safe terrain in the north and west to anchor these battlegrounds - and making these moves months or years before the next election.

the purpose of this thread is not to discuss divide and conquer tactics or TJS or KJ...

what if Khaw Boon Wan or Tharman go east coast ? Png and Gerald can never beat them

the purpose of this thread is not to discuss divide and conquer tactics or TJS or KJ...

what if Khaw Boon Wan or Tharman go east coast ? Png and Gerald can never beat them

Dear Frens,

just to get some opinions, which PAP minister is truly popular with the people?? I know that Amy Khor is popular but she is just an MP,, any others to add?

brocoli

Dear Frens,

just to get some opinions, which PAP minister is truly popular with the people?? I know that Amy Khor is popular but she is just an MP,, any others to add?

AMy is MOS, Halimah Yacob also popular, also MOS.....

Baey is also Popular...but MP

on another point just wan to add that I think PAP Aljunied Team is more or less formed....

Teo Ser Fuck is fucked.... Ong Ye Kung will still be there.... Lim KeXin, Victor Lye... I dun think PM is stupid enough to put Phua Siok Gek Cynthia again... but you never know

Perspective

AMy is MOS, Halimah Yacob also popular, also MOS.....

Baey is also Popular...but MP

on another point just wan to add that I think PAP Aljunied Team is more or less formed....

Teo Ser Fuck is fucked.... Ong Ye Kung will still be there.... Lim KeXin, Victor Lye... I dun think PM is stupid enough to put Phua Siok Gek Cynthia again... but you never know

Ong will be moved out. I expect all PAP 5 to be newbie candidates.

brocoli

I am not so sure about that. George Yeo was supposed to be popular as well.

Png and Gerald are not the same level as CSM, LTK, and SL.... and Tharman will be next PM

Ong will be moved out. I expect all PAP 5 to be newbie candidates.

Ong Ye Kung can get into cabinet @ 52 no problem .....

I think he wan to be in ALjunied,...... never underestimate an ego of a politician .... look @ GMS, TJS and KJ

I think Ong will only be moved out if PM is really short of 4G talent ..... which may or not be the case

Teo Ser Fuck is dispensible.... if he lead and win ..... he can get a full miniter post other wise he can go back to PTE sector... no big loss

If PAP is serious about aljunied.... put AMy, Halimah, Lily, Baey Yam Keng...

Thick Face Black Heart

I see disturbing signs, or good signs, depending on which side you are on. And I read it from the development around the SMRT debacle. There are signs that the ruling party is changing or attempting to change and there is a good reason for doing so. First of all, there are a couple of factors necessitating this change. One is the runaway cost of living caused by many things but possibly housing cost being the main culprit. Next is the issue of Ministerial salaries.

Fook,

You are one of those who write long paragraph, but I can still understand you perfectly.

Anyway, I understand your train of thought (no pun intended), but feel you are trying to think too many steps ahead. The PAP is too entrenched in its mindset that it must serve the interest of the elites. You want to bring private property down, reduce GLC CEO salaries, too many people will be hurt, and amongst those hurt will be those with real cadre-ship within the PAP. The 1000 strong PAP cadre wields real political power. They have also become addicted to the high life. You can't just give them a smaller carrot and think they will keep quiet. they will revolt.

I would like to see all the outcomes you stated, but feel it is now still to early to speculate.

But you are spot on regarding the part about ministerial salaries pegged to private sector CEO pay because talent scouting by PAP is done from same pool.

brocoli

Agree.....

why wun they used that GRC to get rid of people they wan to get rid like how they get5 rid of George Yeo...

will the 5 newbies wan to be in GRC with no leader at all ???

how is PAP goin to attract talent like that ?

CakeLengKia

most likely they will send a minister who is bound to retire to lead the team which comprises of cynthia phua and 3 other newbies

for ong ye kung who pap is trying to groom him into future minister most likely he will be sent to some pap safe zone.

brocoli

most likely they will send a minister who is bound to retire to lead the team which comprises of cynthia phua and 3 other newbies

for ong ye kung who pap is trying to groom him into future minister most likely he will be sent to some pap safe zone.

if they wan to send cynthia phua might as well dun send a team, sure lost deposit