• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How will SPH spin MRT fiasco tomorrow?

Nice-Gook

I am quite curious.Will thousands of passengers trapped be spin as mere hundreds?Will this story be in the 3rd or 4th page instead of front page?.....go on make a guess.

SMRT and the Home Affairs Ministry have been conducting emergency exercises quite regularly with scenarios of bomb blasts, gas attacks and what have you. Channel News Asia will televised those exercises, showing how calmly, promptly and efficiently the MRT staff and Home Affairs personnel will assist commuters out, attend to the aged and children, provide up-to-date information to everyone round the clock. It paints us a picture of how well things will be under control by SMRT and Home Affairs in such situations. So the people need not worry and can sleep soundly.

Today's incident is a peace time scenario, where the trains are disrupted due to techinical faults. And we all can see how much chaos there is. No communications whatsoever, nothing done to evacuate the commuters, despite the poor ventilation, they were left in the dark literally, what were asked of the MRT staff by the public receive more questions than answers, the MRT staff don't even knowwhat to say let alone what to do. Everyone was left clueless, so the message is fend for yourselves guys.

So even in such a relatively calm scenario as it is not an aggressive act of terrorism, the MRT and Home Affairs can't handle it at all. Do we still believe they can do so as they "wayang" on national tv in times of real emergencies. This is what S'pore has became under too long a PAP rule, everything is "wayang". PAP's only concern is to ensure that SMRT being a govt linked company continues to get higher and higher revenue every year. The public is the least of their concern.

palden

LFY: It is an honest mistake. Let's move on.
Saw: Got break down meh? Sorry counting my millions. If you don't like it don't take Loh.....

Nice-Gook

LFY: It is an honest mistake. Let's move on.
Saw: Got break down meh? Sorry counting my millions. If you don't like it don't take Loh.....

I am sure right at this hour the prostitutes in the Braddell brothel must be cracking their heads.....I would not be surprised if some prints could be recalled for reprint because PAP may not approve .How this fiasco appears in tomorrow's paper is critical.It should not be alarmist because it basically exposes the MRT bo chap administration.Of course how this event be eventually wrapped up can be forcasted----Lui will make all the noise and SMRT will be slapped with a 100k fine or so.From left pocket to the right pocket.But how SPH spins this story tomorrow means a lot to Leegime.

Nice-Gook

Maybe they will just ignore it:confused:

I hope they do that but that is an option they do not have.Why?Because thousands were trapped.Which means for each 1 trapped at least 4 in their homes know.I already knew this in my HDB void deck while waiting for the lift.Rumors travels like a wild fire.Hence SPH has no choice but to report.But their challenge is how to make it like a non event.Because this news is a real biggie that can upset the entire PAP.

I want to see if sinkies got the balls to bring smrt to court. I will have tons to say if sinkies are too stupid and ball-less to act

PM Lee on leave
By S Ramesh | Posted: 15 December 2011 2339 hrs
display_image.php
Photos 1 of 1

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
dotline_240.gif

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will be on leave from Friday till December 27.

A statement from the Prime Minister's Office said during his absence, Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security and Minister for Home Affairs Teo Chee Hean will be the Acting Prime Minister.

- CNA/ck

I am quite curious.Will thousands of passengers trapped be spin as mere hundreds?Will this story be in the 3rd or 4th page instead of front page?.....go on make a guess.

1. bro, it is easy and simple.
2. shittytimes: it reads as "1,400 commuters or more from the recent circle line fault were stranded in the north/south line last nite".
3. now, this is creative journalism mah.

SPH: "Commuters form flash mob in the North-South Line. They had an enjoyable hike inside underground train tunnels."

Today front page.
Next week don't be surprised if they will do an article on how the retail businesses are booming.

facebook

SPH : taxi commuters back in force on the 2nd day SMRT rose their taxi fares. SMRT reported a sharp increase in their taxi drivers income. Taxi drivers reported a shrap rise in ridership particularly along the stretch of road adjacent to bishan orchard mrt lines. SMRT can safely conclude that the recent rise in taxi fares are well accepted by the general public. We thank our taxi riders for their continued support in SMRT taxis. :biggrin:

Capano2121

1. bro, it is easy and simple.
2. shittytimes: it reads as "1,400 commuters or more from the recent circle line fault were stranded in the north/south line last nite".
3. now, this is creative journalism mah.

Yesterday in an unprecedented civil defense exercise, 1400 civilian volunteers participated in an emergency exercise on board the north south bound train. The exercise was a success & the relevant authorities show competence in handling & ensuring a smooth flow of operation despite the service breakdown! More of such exercises will be scheduled & unwilling participants are expected to just shut the hell up & bear with it as it is for the greater good of the nation!

Nice-Gook

Yup,this news is too big a story to hide so blatantly.Hence it hit the front page.I an sure most of the prostitutes in the Braddell brothel were fuming too since it must have hit them hard as they are very dependent on Bradell MRT station which is just next to their den.

But have you guys fail to notice what is obviously missing in the news?

Interviews lah.The first thing any reporter worth his/her salt would be there to interview those affected.Just watch CNN,BBC or what not.They would be there with their camera man on tow interviewing commuters first hand---that is called News.Not obfuscations released by SMRT as how events unfolded.The drama is missing.

Where did the CEO go?In any disaster you can expect the CEO on ground zero; at least meeting the press and giving assurances and personal apology.This one is missing in action.Nothing heard;not even a press release.

jw5 is right.Expect from next week onwards how SPH spins further.Machiam how this incident shows Sinkies calmness in disaster lah and what not.But nothing about the accountability of MRT--as a public transport.