• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's hidden history

Harry Lee

Wang Sa's hair was ok by Singapore's standard .....

comp2.jpg

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/SyOolXuNrH8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Banana peel.....:biggrin:

Harry Lee

images

This silly super-scale school principal Philip Liau checked our hair as if we were subversive elements. Lost all respect for him after that....... :oIo: :mad:

Windsor

History Of Old Chinese Business Names

The word “Chop” was commonly used in those days to refer to a company/business, e.g, Chop Leong Seng. Some companies still retained the practice of having the word "Chop" as part of their business names, whilst most has dropped it's use.

Debonerman

images

This silly super-scale school principal Philip Liau checked our hair as if we were subversive elements. Lost all respect for him after that....... :oIo: :mad:

If it is any consolation to you RI boy, your super scale dead dude had one hell of a fucked up son named Alvin! I lost respect for him too!:p

Harry Lee

Hidden History : Millie Small in Singapore

boy-lollipop.jpg

This girl took Singapore by storm with her hit song "My Boy Lollipop".
She migrated and lived in Singapore from 1971 to 1973.
If I am not wrong, I think she was not given PR and had to leave.....:eek:

So sad..... ( today they give citizenship to Gong Li and Jet Li when they do not even live here..... :oIo:smile:

Listen to Millie Small once more here :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCUcbRTB6Rs :smile:

Were you around when she graced our black and white TVs?

hairylee

If it is any consolation to you RI boy, your super scale dead dude had one hell of a fucked up son named Alvin! I lost respect for him too!:p

How fuck up is the son? If he is in a position to command your disrespect that means this Alvin is in some top position.

Harry Lee

One day, a schoolgirl from Pulau Brani joined a competition to see who could sing like Millie Small. This schoolgirl won handsdown....her name was Veronica Soon, and she went on to perform professionally as Veronica Young

SSVeronIMG_0005.jpg

Veronica with her backup the Silver Strings at the competition held in Sky Cinema.

num%C3%A9risation0007.jpg

Cute lah..... this Kampung girl
:smile:

HTOLAS

These images bring back the sad memory of how the extremist implementation of the Speak Mandarin Campaign diminished the impact of Wang Sa and Ye Fung. It also seriously undermined the career of Lei Dai Sor (not to be mistaken for a contributor to this forum) who ended his days doing recordings for Australian networks broadcasting to Cantonese speakers in Australia.

All three gentlemen are cultural icons of Singapore.

Wang Sa's hair was ok by Singapore's standard .....

comp2.jpg

The Banana peel.....:biggrin:

Harry Lee

Hidden History : Wei Ling Scores!!

Proxy_002-6.png

Dont play play.... this girl is top student of the 1972 HSC batch.

The other girl is Pamela Loke.... I wonder where she is now?

Harry Lee

binturong1.jpg

binturong.jpg

chey...... all my postings on the Binturong and the Black Panther scare disappeared in this new forum ....... boo hoo hoo....:mad:

... Dont play play.... this girl is top student of the 1972 HSC batch.

The other girl is Pamela Loke.... I wonder where she is now?
seems like ah hean oso a top student dat same yr ... but his name oni in, errr, fine print ... :o

Harry Lee

I am back with more stories :

SKYSCRAPPERS OF SINGAPORE

in 1939, our first very tall building, The Cathay, was only eight floors high. In 2006, it was sexed up into a modern glass-and-metal beast but retained its original art-deco façade. Our oldest un-renovated skyscraper is technically the old block of the Bank of China Building, built in 1954 with a whopping 18 floors

Harry Lee

480764816_c79fe4dc88.jpg

View from Bras Basah Road next to CHIJ...

Then there was Odeon.....

I remember there were great Char Kway Teow stalls next to both Theatres....... yummy...

• 480770015_40490ccd04.jpg
    480770015_40490ccd04.jpg
    56.2 KB · Views: 530

Harry Lee

480762292_a7f97bc8da.jpg

Food next to Capitol was not so great.... but we had MPH next door to kill time while waiting for the show.... or go to National Library for the noodles.... or go to the stalls next to the SJI field where the Indian Rojak was shoik...

Harry Lee

4365322950_780008b4e9_o.jpg

We relied on Green Bus No 175 to get to SAFTI.....

This pic was taken along Bukit Timah Road, outside ChunTin Road, next to the Beauty World and Chung Khiaw Bank across the canal. Bus stops at Rex theatre and 7th mile village were always full of NS men ....

Harry Lee

We had cops directing traffic....

P9180016.JPG

and I was always impressed when they traveled free on buses.... waving away the bus conductor, if he was not in uniform....

Nationalday2.jpg

You don't argue with cops in those days..... you run if the Ang Chia types show up.....

jiakhongleow

Chop was used to replace Shop. It is follwoing the malay style putting kedai first before name. becos S look like 5 and in cantonese 5 sounds like 'umm' which sound like 'no no no' and since then Chop was used.

History Of Old Chinese Business Names

The word “Chop” was commonly used in those days to refer to a company/business, e.g, Chop Leong Seng. Some companies still retained the practice of having the word "Chop" as part of their business names, whilst most has dropped it's use.