• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cancer prevention and strategy for cure

suggest to cut down on or eliminate milk drinking, take soya milk instead.

I dun drink milk and yet my bone density is high. ( of course those milo, cakes, chocolate cannot avoid lah)

Thanks for the suggestion, yeah will sure cut down on the milk. Two glasses a day is the standard recommendation for Anlene milk, supposedly to fulfil all daily calcium requirement. May be try the soya milk, but must make sure non GMO soy.

I visited the NTUC branch at Toa Payoh & I saw that they have a brand named "Aussie Dream" which has organic Rice milk & organic Oat milk selling for $3.50 for a 1 litre carton. This is cheaper than the ones that used to sell for $5+

This is another organic option :smile:

Thanks. Actually what is rice and oat milk, is it worthwhile to drink rice milk when already eating brown rice and taking oat? :smile:

Canada is indeed a nice place there's a good healthcare system & it's free if you are poor. This applies especially to senior citizens who don't need to work until they drop dead. For the old if they are infirmed they have various types of assisted living homes & not just old folks homes. For decades they have have had buildings codes that required that buildings be accessible to wheelchairs.

There's also plenty of businesses that offer senior citizen discounts. You can even attend the Univ of Alta for free:eek: The old are treated with respect unlike in Spore where the gov't sees them as a liability:rolleyes:

Wow the old can study for free. Sounds like a real paradise vs the elderly clearing plates in food court to make a living! You already a PR in Canada? My friend applied but didn't go becos she said very hard to get a job there. In the end, her visa expired.

Sporeans have been brainwashed into thinking that you need a degree to make a decent living:(

You don't need a degree to get work in Canada. If you need training can go to one of their polys, can either do full-time or part-time courses at a very reasonable cost. Many of my friends did part-time as they wanted to "upgrade" their skills even though they already had jobs. This kiasu attitude is common among Sporeans who are new to Canada. It takes them time to relax & to realise that there is more to life than working:smile: The polys have also got placement programs to help student find jobs.

When I was in the hospital in Spore I met a nurse who went to work in Toronto because she saw that there was no future in Spore. Unfortunately she couldn't adjust to the cold climate. When you are older it becomes harder to adjust to a new place & culture. Pity because if she had gone to Vancouver I'm sure she would have liked it. It's got nice weather where it only rains instead of snowing & many oriental faces:smile:

It seems to me that your friend wasted her oppurtunity :rolleyes: Yes initially it might be difficult to find the same type of job she's doing in Spore but there alot of different jobs in Canada. Even if you have to start at entry level, the costs for housing, medical, cars,... is much lower than Spore. With "Canadian experience" she might have found something even better.

Thanks. Actually what is rice and oat milk, is it worthwhile to drink rice milk when already eating brown rice and taking oat? :smile:

It can be boring eating the same things day in & day out. Rice milk/oat milk is just a nice change for me.

However for some people who are lactose intolerant, it's the only milk they can tolerate.

Sporeans have been brainwashed into thinking that you need a degree to make a decent living:(

You don't need a degree to get work in Canada. If you need training can go to one of their polys, can either do full-time or part-time courses at a very reasonable cost. Many of my friends did part-time as they wanted to "upgrade" their skills even though they already had jobs. This kiasu attitude is common among Sporeans who are new to Canada. It takes them time to relax & to realise that there is more to life than working:smile: The polys have also got placement programs to help student find jobs.

When I was in the hospital in Spore I met a nurse who went to work in Toronto because she saw that there was no future in Spore. Unfortunately she couldn't adjust to the cold climate. When you are older it becomes harder to adjust to a new place & culture. Pity because if she had gone to Vancouver I'm sure she would have liked it. It's got nice weather where it only rains instead of snowing & many oriental faces:smile:

It seems to me that your friend wasted her oppurtunity :rolleyes: Yes initially it might be difficult to find the same type of job she's doing in Spore but there alot of different jobs in Canada. Even if you have to start at entry level, the costs for housing, medical, cars,... is much lower than Spore. With "Canadian experience" she might have found something even better.

Yeah our degrees all become useless in Canada :biggrin: However, my friend studied in Canada after secondary school and got Canadian degree so getting the PR is easy from what I heard. May be that is why she gave it up. She may have wasted the opportunity but I think she no regrets lah because after deciding not to go Canada and the visa expired a few years ago, she invested all her money into buying another two properties in Singapore and made good profits. :smile:

She may have wasted the opportunity but I think she no regrets lah because after deciding not to go Canada and the visa expired a few years ago, she invested all her money into buying another two properties in Singapore and made good profits. :smile:

What is important in life:confused:

I don't think its just about money. In the 1st world you don't really need alot of $$$ because medical, housing, car, etc is very reasonable & people don't really want to be tied down with a home. Many prefer to be mobile so that they can go where the jobs are. Have even met Canadians who haven't been back to Canada for decades.

Having a Canadian passport opens more doors than a Spore passport. You can more easily work in America, Europe, Aust,... & even Spore:smile: In Spore you even get to take out your CPF:rolleyes:

I've seen many of my ex-Sporeans friends who are now Australians & Canadians, they look much better than Sporeans of the same age. Probably due to more wear & tear in Spore from daily stress.

So your friend has 2 properties but what's going to happen in 10, 20, 30,... years time when she can't function without assistance:confused: Or there's a property crash:confused: Will she be another victim of foreign talent abuse?

I know someone who had cancer & his medical was something like $200,000+ :eek: It would probably be higher if he had lived:rolleyes:
Even those with a million$ are leaving Spore:eek:

FYI, iherb.com has a special going on until Aug 17th.

If your order totals is between US$40 to under US$80
And weighs less than 4 pounds.
Shipping by post to Spore is free.

In the past I've received such orders in 1 week.

Thanks! Will try it out.

What is important in life:confused:

I don't think its just about money. In the 1st world you don't really need alot of $$$ because medical, housing, car, etc is very reasonable & people don't really want to be tied down with a home. Many prefer to be mobile so that they can go where the jobs are. Have even met Canadians who haven't been back to Canada for decades.

Having a Canadian passport opens more doors than a Spore passport. You can more easily work in America, Europe, Aust,... & even Spore:smile: In Spore you even get to take out your CPF:rolleyes:

I've seen many of my ex-Sporeans friends who are now Australians & Canadians, they look much better than Sporeans of the same age. Probably due to more wear & tear in Spore from daily stress.

So your friend has 2 properties but what's going to happen in 10, 20, 30,... years time when she can't function without assistance:confused: Or there's a property crash:confused: Will she be another victim of foreign talent abuse?

I know someone who had cancer & his medical was something like $200,000+ :eek: It would probably be higher if he had lived:rolleyes:
Even those with a million$ are leaving Spore:eek:

Ehh some people migrate to Canada for better education for their children, some for nature, some for lower cost of living, etc. For my friend, she is single, loves shopping and these are not applicable. A suitable level job is important to her and she told me it is difficult to get same level job in Canada even though she studied there (she has not worked there before). So she made the choice based on these reasons and she is smart to have made good profits in the two properties (she has sold one of them and rented out the other). As for future, from what i heard, it is not difficult to get PR again since she studied there, so overall, she has no loss. :smile:

I guess girls have less motivation to leave Spore than the guys: NS, reservist, womens charter, & as the main bread winners the worry of a mortgage . However I've seen some girls eventually leave because even they face the same problems of age discrimination & cheap foreign labour :rolleyes:

There used to be a stigma attached to leaving Spore that's why the most common reason given is, it's for the children:biggrin:
It's only to close friends & relatives that they will share the truth, that they don't see a future in Spore :o

Saw this article that says eating fruits & veg daily can reduce heart disease risk by 30%. Exercise can reduce by 14%. Combining the two will be even better. Anti-oxidant from food/supplement and Omega 3 also helps prevent heart disease.

吃蔬果可降低心脏病

林弘谕 (2011-08-07)

调查数据显示,食用蔬果可有效降低心脏病达30%,运动则是14%;如果结合两者,效果会更好。

根据卫生部心脏健康统计数字显示,新加坡每天有15人死于心脑血管疾病(心脏病和中风)。2009年,本地死亡率中,31.6%与心血管疾病相关,也即是说,每三人中,有一人死于此类疾病。

伊丽沙白医药中心心脏血管、胸肺外科高级顾问医生陈言森受访时指出,从上述数字显示,人们无时无刻不受到心血管疾病的困扰。他说,从2007至2009年,每年平均有1万7000宗死亡病例,其中约5500宗与心血管疾病有关;冠心病介于19.2至20.1%;中风介于8.0%至8.7%;其他心脏疾病介于4.0至4.4%。至于心衰竭疾病的新病例则每年平均有3000多宗。

结合蔬果与运动

2004年的一份医药调查显示,5万3000多个急性心梗患者当中,血脂高者患上心血管疾病的比率增加3.25倍、吸烟2.87倍、糖尿病2.37倍,以及高血压1.91倍。这些都属于可控制的致病因素,因此只要平时多注意饮食与生活习惯,是可以保护心脏,预防心血管疾病的。

除了运动之外,陈言森医生也强调,每天进食蔬菜水果的重要性。调查数据显示,食用蔬果可有效降低心脏病达30%,运动则是14%;如果结合两者,效果会更好。

陈医生举出2010年美国农业部(USDA)公布的营养指南显示,每天的饮食中,一半应是蔬菜水果,另一半则是结合谷粮和蛋白质食品。他鼓励人们可以从吃新鲜沙律开始,华人不习惯吃沙律,可用水煮的蔬菜替代,然后,再配合糙米、燕麦或番薯,以及烤鱼或烤鸡肉等。

陈言森医生:人们无时无刻不受到心血管疾病的困扰。
  他说:“避免煎炸食物,除了烧烤外,也可用蒸煮的烹调方式。另外,也应摄取豆类食物,保持营养均衡。”

停经后女性与男性相差不远

在两性当中,超过50岁的男性得病概率为50%,女性40%;至于死亡病例,男性则较高,这跟体内雌性荷尔蒙有关,但是当女性停经后,其患上心血管疾病的概率即与男性相差无几。

心脏病高风险群包括:年龄超过45岁的男性,55岁或停经后的女性,家族有心脏病或猝死病史、高血压、高血脂、糖尿病、吸烟、肥胖、少运动、压力等。

心脏病典型症状包括:胸闷、胸痛、手臂疼痛、呼吸困难、心跳不规律等;女性更多的表现为背痛、下巴紧、手麻痹等。

Omega 3脂肪酸有助预防心血管疾病

陈医生说,要预防心血管疾病,必须注意两点:减少摄入低密度胆固醇(LDL),即坏胆固醇;再来是避免坏胆固醇在体内氧化。他说:“人们可从天然食物或保健营养补充品中,摄取抗氧化物,保持健康。另外,含Omega 3脂肪酸的食品也对预防心血管疾病有帮助。

Omega 3脂肪酸可分为:

DHA(二十二碳六烯酸)是一种不饱和脂肪酸,在人体内难以合成,只能通过食物获取。深海鱼类是摄取DHA良好来源,对健脑有益。

EPA(二十碳五烯酸),鱼油所含的不饱和脂肪酸,能直接保护心脏、稀释血浓度及降低甘油三酸脂与血压。

ALA(亚术酸)可从饮食中摄取,它主要存在于亚麻籽(flaxseed)和亚麻籽油等植物来源,而当人体拥有足够的EPA,就能自行制造ALA。

陈医生指出:“人们每天必须摄取足够的Omega 3脂肪酸,如果要预防心脏猝死,每天必须摄取1000mg(毫克)的Omega 3脂肪酸;要降低甘油三酸脂(triglycerides),则必须摄取1500至2000毫克。此外,足够的Omega 3脂肪酸,可降低血压、预防血栓的形成。”

《联合早报》

And some are like taking medicines with side effect, like i ever tried calcium supplement that caused constipation. Btw do you take calcium supplement, any recommendation? Heard the cheaper ones are made from shells and can cause kidney stones?

If you are still looking for a recommendation for calcium product. you can consider the following Life Extension product, Bone Restore.
http://www.iherb.com/Life-Extension-Bone-Restore-150-Capsules/6648?at=0

Calcium by itself is insufficient to build bone density. It requires other nutrients like Vit D, Magnesium, etc . Can read more about bones in the August edition of the Life Extension magazine at the NLB or can visit LE's website at http://www.lef.org/magazine/mag2011/mag2011_08.htm

If you are still looking for a recommendation for calcium product. you can consider the following Life Extension product, Bone Restore.
http://www.iherb.com/Life-Extension-Bone-Restore-150-Capsules/6648?at=0

Calcium by itself is insufficient to build bone density. It requires other nutrients like Vit D, Magnesium, etc . Can read more about bones in the August edition of the Life Extension magazine at the NLB or can visit LE's website at http://www.lef.org/magazine/mag2011/mag2011_08.htm

Thanks for the article, just read it. Looks like the calcium supplement that you suggested is good with dicalcium malate, calcium bis-glycinate that the article mentioned as the type of calcium that is easily absorbed. Will keep in mind, thanks!

Oh I did order from iherb during the free shipping promotion that you informed. Haven't received the shipment yet. The one I ordered has totally different type of calcium - calcium hydroxyapatite, citrate, alpha-ketoglutarate, aspartate, lysinate - hope it is just as absorbable!

But first of all, it must not cause constipation. Read somewhere that calcium carbonate caused constipation, that's why I chose this type without carbonate.

http://www.iherb.com/Country-Life-Calcium-Magnesium-with-Vitamin-D-Complex-240-Veggie-Caps/5601?at=0

But first of all, it must not cause constipation. Read somewhere that calcium carbonate caused constipation, that's why I chose this type without carbonate.

Can't help you there because I personally don't have any sensitivity issues with calcium.

You asked about the benefits of drinking rice milk if you are already eating brown rice? You are probably destroying some of the brown rice nutrients when you cook it. Drinking rice milk is more nutritious because you are not using any heat.

Nuts are very good for the diet. However it's difficult to find the raw unsalted, unprocessed variety. After reading about the health benefits(good for heart) of Almonds in the August issue of the Life Extension pp 89-92, I will be switching from rice milk to Almond milk:smile:

Hint: To see the whole LE magazine, it's better to go to this page http://www.lef.org/magazine/index.htm and select "View interactive format". In this format you can see the entire original magazine & flip through the whole magazine page by page much like with an ebook on an IPad.

Can't help you there because I personally don't have any sensitivity issues with calcium.

You asked about the benefits of drinking rice milk if you are already eating brown rice? You are probably destroying some of the brown rice nutrients when you cook it. Drinking rice milk is more nutritious because you are not using any heat.

Nuts are very good for the diet. However it's difficult to find the raw unsalted, unprocessed variety. After reading about the health benefits(good for heart) of Almonds in the August issue of the Life Extension pp 89-92, I will be switching from rice milk to Almond milk:smile:

Hint: To see the whole LE magazine, it's better to go to this page http://www.lef.org/magazine/index.htm and select "View interactive format". In this format you can see the entire original magazine & flip through the whole magazine page by page much like with an ebook on an IPad.

Thought cannot eat raw nuts? Read somewhere before that taking some kinds of raw nuts are even poisonous! I also eat almond almost daily, heard cannot take too much each time, max about 15 nuts.

Yeah usually they are the roasted and salted type. So I buy the Camel brand baked almonds - 450g for $9.10 - not mentioned on the package to be unsalted also. Another one I like is the honey flavour almond selling at Mustafa - 500g for $8.90 - this one is more tasty with the honey flavour.

Oh I also ordered some almonds from iherb in the same order - 454g for USD6.20 - the brand is Now Foods - roasted and salted.

Thought cannot eat raw nuts? Read somewhere before that taking some kinds of raw nuts are even poisonous! I also eat almond almost daily, heard cannot take too much each time, max about 15 nuts.

Yeah usually they are the roasted and salted type. So I buy the Camel brand baked almonds - 450g for $9.10 - not mentioned on the package to be unsalted also. Another one I like is the honey flavour almond selling at Mustafa - 500g for $8.90 - this one is more tasty with the honey flavour.

Oh I also ordered some almonds from iherb in the same order - 454g for USD6.20 - the brand is Now Foods - roasted and salted.

Unprocessed cashew nuts are poisonous. What you find in supermarkets are steamed or roasted & are safe.

At NTUC you can find raw organic almond nuts for $9+ . Walnuts is also good for the heart & it's anti-cancer properties. I'm no fan of nuts but willing to add it to my diet for it's health properties.

Now Foods is a good brand & very reasonably priced. I've bought their 1kg tub of arginine & 3 lbs tub of vitamin C. Allows me to take large doses at very low costs. I'll be trying their almond & walnut products when I make my next large order.

Hi johnny in regards to food i'm, on a high fat high protein low carb diet and i'm thinner now. I still eat the same amount of food though. Lots of fried or roasted chicken with veggies and all etc. Yeah in western food it comes with french fries which are carbs but i don't want to throw them away so i eat them.

greedy and cunning

hi Johnny333 ,

i made appointment at Impian Emas on 5th Sept.

but my jb freind told me the place is quite far [50min by taxi]
and quite dangerous to take taxi as some taxi drivers are crook.

he advise me to check out Putri Specialist Centre.

what are your opinions ?

hi Johnny333 ,

i made appointment at Impian Emas on 5th Sept.

but my jb freind told me the place is quite far [50min by taxi]
and quite dangerous to take taxi as some taxi drivers are crook.

he advise me to check out Putri Specialist Centre.

what are your opinions ?

The taxis in JB now all use the meter unlike in the past where "metered" rides was a rare thing. This year when I was going regularly to the clinic only had 1 case of not using the meter, but that was because it was broken & not because of an attempt to scam me.

I remember taking about 30+min. 50 minutes is on the high side :confused: Just remember to have small bills(10, 5,1 bills) for the taxi fare about RM$18 to RM$21. I always rounded the fare & let the cab driver keep the small change.

You might be pleasantly surprised by the cabbies there. Some have actually worked in Spore & sympathise with us "lesser mortals" :smile: Some are curious about the Impian Emas clinic as they have taken many Indonesians, Sporeans to this clinic. Others have got health problems & will ask you about the type & cost of treatment at the clinic. There are of course the crooks but if you avoid looking like a carrot head, they won't try anything funny :biggrin:

I think I've been to the Putri Specialist Centre. When I had a relapse this year, the doctor at Impian Emas Clinic sent me to Putri for Xrays & an echo examination. Putri might have a cardiologist but I don't know if they do chelation & EECP?.

I think you should go there at least for a look see & then decide if you feel comfortable with the place.