• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vacation Ideas - Ask & Share

Raiders

Hi, I am not into finance and politics and thus cannot contribute much in those 2 areas. However, I love to travel and it is the time of the year when everyone starts to plan for their year end vacation.

I start this thread to allow like minded people to share their past trips experience and to seek advice on their impending trips. To start the ball rolling, I will post my contribution about my D.I.Y self planned Taiwan Trip last November.

I know that many people have visited Taiwan but most people go with tour and for those who went on a D.I.Y trip, they tend to stick around Taipei. Mine was a 1 week trip and I only managed to have time to visit Taipei, Taizhong, Hualian and Yilan. The trip was super rush and I wished that I had more time to explore these beautiful cities.

Date: November 2010
Visited: Taipei, Jiufen, Danshui, Taizhong, Hualian, Yilan.
Mode of transport: Mostly bullet trains and trains
Total Spent: $3000 SGD (from airfares to everything)
Favorite Place: Hualien - Seven Stars Bay
Regreted Not To Spend More Time In: Taizhong's Sun Moon Lake, Jiufen
Most Overhyped Attraction: Yilan's Shangrila Farm Resort

The most memorable place that we visited was Seven Stars Bay 七星坛 in Hualian. It is a peaceful seaside town with very little tourists. The shore was filled by pebbles instead of sands which makes the place unique. We booked a hotel that overlooks the sea (just 100 metres away) and it was really soothing to hear the waves as we relax inside the room. From the room, we could even see the sunrise and the mountains. In the evening, we walked to a small house-restaurent recommended by the driver of the hotel. The place is a house and the owner had turn the front yard into a small dining area and a bar counter. The place serves BBQ meat and vegetables done in the simplest method and yet it was one of the nicest meal we had. The owner had given up his job in Taipei and together with his wife/gf, returned home to Hualian and set up his small dining business. We had some small chat and I was asking him how he was able to give up everything in Taipei and live a simple life in Hualian. He only replied, "没有什么可不可以的,只有要不要” That moment, a famous quote in Sammyboy suddenly comes to mind. "The cowards never started and the weak died along the way"

The 2 places in our trip that we regreted not spending enough time there were, Sun Moon Lake and Jiufen. We were there in the daytime and missed out on the sunset and the night view which would have been very beautiful. Try the cable car rides and the near vertical climb up the mountains will bring some thrills for those action seekers. Jiufen seems to be very crowded with tourists and if you do not want to take the long journey bus there, you might want to visit Danshui instead. Danshui offers the usual souvenirs that Jiufen offers but it is nearer to Taipei City, more accessible with the train stopping at the town, more locals to mingle with and has a fantastic night market. For people who loves Naraya bags, there is 1 shop in Danshui that sells the bags and the prices are at least 50% cheaper than getting them in Singapore.

The most over rated place during the whole trip would be Shangrila Farm resort. There is basically nothing to do there, not much fruits to pluck. The only plus points about the place is that they have an activity of releasing the sky lanterns which is a beautiful sight in the night sky. Personally, I love the salted pork set in their restaurant. The other plus point is that there is a very cute Malaysian tourism student on attachment there and that is one sweet eye candy :p

Tokyo, London, Las Vegas and New York is best place to go vacation. Tokyo for shopping, London for museums, Las Vegas for cirque du soleil and New York for broadway shows.

Achieved my lifetime dream of goin to Liverpool and watching my beloved Reds in action at Anfield 6 years ago.. Went there with my bro in law.. The atmosphere was superb, the sun in full splendour shining all around the old famed stadium.. The crowd in full voice.. Spent 8 days in UK. Then we head our way to London.. Did some shopping.. Quite expensive staying at the Capital.. I splurged nearly 2k snapping up shirts and jeans at Paul Smith and Stone Island..

Raiders

You forgot to mentioned the bin lang mei and the many KTVs in Taiwan leh.

This one everyone knows mah. And as our boss Sam always say, don't ask things that people already know. :biggrin: My purpose of starting this thread is to let people have an understanding of what I see and feel about those places that I have visited. If they happen to be visiting those places in the near future and wants to know my opinion about those places, they can do so in this thread. Everyone is free to post their experience, not just me.

Talking about the betal nut girls and KTV, you have to remember that my wife is watching me like a little lion. The trip before Taiwan, we went to Bangkok and I pretended that I had a really backache and needed a massage at the hotel's massage parlour. She gracefully agreed and I happily made my way down to the place and was horrified to see the masseurs looking more like those pros in Desker Road. No wonder my little lion was so nice and allowed me to go!!!

Ash007

You got ask her to join in bo ?

This one everyone knows mah. And as our boss Sam always say, don't ask things that people already know. :biggrin: My purpose of starting this thread is to let people have an understanding of what I see and feel about those places that I have visited. If they happen to be visiting those places in the near future and wants to know my opinion about those places, they can do so in this thread. Everyone is free to post their experience, not just me.

Talking about the betal nut girls and KTV, you have to remember that my wife is watching me like a little lion. The trip before Taiwan, we went to Bangkok and I pretended that I had a really backache and needed a massage at the hotel's massage parlour. She gracefully agreed and I happily made my way down to the place and was horrified to see the masseurs looking more like those pros in Desker Road. No wonder my little lion was so nice and allowed me to go!!!

Raiders

Hi Brother Singveld and Zeddy,

Any plans for holidays this coming year end? I'm planning to bring my wife to Hanoi-Sapa instead of the usual Hanoi-Halong Bay route. My brother ever went to Lao Cai (the town to pass by to go to Sapa and also the last town before one actually crosses the border to China) and he was saying that the chickens there only costs $10SGD a pop :o

Those places that both of you mentioned is off the budget for me. We are saving hard now for future uncertainties.

Raiders

You got ask her to join in bo ?

She must be hiding inside the room laughing her ass off!!! In the end, I did not proceed, or should I say, I did not even enter the glass door.

Talking about Bangkok, first timer there, please be aware of their "Lucky Buddha Day" and Thai Girls Show. My wife and I being first timers got chopped at a jewellery shop (luckily only a small amount of money) for a piece of worthless stone and $2000 Thai Baht in a Thai Girls Show pub. For those wanting to view the Thai Girls Show, please visit those shops on the first floor whereby the public street is just outside. NEVER make the mistake of going to those on the 2nd floor!

Ok, time to go meet client. See you all at 5pm :wink:

Bro Raiders, I have yet to go to Hanoi but 4 years back my company's vessel did a stop over at Saigon Port.. Was there for only 3 days but had the chance of exploring Ho Chin Minh.. The place is full of lovely old buildings maybe because of its past French influence.. The food and the beer is quite cheap.. Pls do try the local delicacies there.. One of my work colleague did the unthinkable by drinking wine mixed with Cobra's blood..:eek: But of course I did not try it lah...

Char_Azn

Spend a month in Europe back in 09 and managed to get my laptop and passport stolen
http://char-azn.xanga.com/717246195/the-europe-trippart-2/
http://char-azn.xanga.com/717298333/the-europe-trippart-3/
http://char-azn.xanga.com/717782362/the-europe-trippart-4/

Took a few days off during my work trip to Japan last year
http://char-azn.xanga.com/730249507/the-japan-trip/

Also visited the Middle East last year
http://char-azn.xanga.com/743275469/the-middle-east-trip-pt-1-uae-and-egypt/
http://char-azn.xanga.com/743292177/the-middle-east-trip-pt-2-jordan-and-the-holy-kingdom/

I was in the US earlier this year, traveled to Las Vegas, New York and D.C.. Will be on a working trip to India in Oct and I plan to visit Varanasi to see "The River" which everyone kept asking me about. No other major plans this year saving up for a big vacation next year to South America now that SIA is flying to Brazil.

applei

you or anyone can go solo to these places, it's easier within cities, going by metro or subway, but one has to walk and climb alot...
london and surrounds - parks, museums, old architectures, shopping, galleries, etc.
paris - museums, old architectures, shopping, etc.
tokyo+yokohama+mitaka+mt fuji - shopping, concerts/performances, nature, museums especially animation characters types like ghibli museum, old architectures, etc.
osaka+nara+kobe+kyoto - nature, museums, old architectures, shopping etc.
melbourne & surrounds - old architectures, museums, nature, shopping, etc.

I like traveling to places when language is totally foreign and communications is a challenge, like Japanese cities and Paris... that will show myself how i get around in those situations... and it is exciting, because it's trying not to be easy.

My recent trip to Melbourne after more than 15 years or so, showed that the city has grown much "older". The colors are duller and certain places that I like was no longer there. Many Asia migrants though, but I faced less racism compared to previous times.

Char_Azn

Wah Char_Azn, you so open now ahh... put your blogspot here, LOL

Even if I don't put my personal assistant will come in and show my blog address big big on his signature. Makes no difference. Got another joker and all his clones(I loss count of the number of clones he has) have my Skydiving video as his sig. In any case the stuff in my blog are things I don't have a problem sharing. And I like traveling and like to discuss with fellow travels about our traveling experience. I met a lot of nice pple during my travels where we share stories, experiences and travel photos

Even if I don't put my personal assistant will come in and show my blog address big big on his signature. Makes no difference. Got another joker with and all his clones(I loss count of the number of clones he has) have my Skydiving video as his sig. In any case the stuff in my blog are things I don't have a problem sharing. And I like traveling and like to discuss with fellow travels about our traveling experience. I met a lot of nice pple during my travels where we share stories, experiences and travel photos

===
good for u bro...u look well travelled...u r lucky man, get to travel to many places.

LOL your assistant...i wonder she is a sexy, foxy girl friday who likes to sit on your lap and sai-nai LOL...

btw, he/she tone down eh...scared being wiped out...

no lah...we want dankos around don't we...LOL

I am sorry, I know very little about budget tour. There are many other here who can help you.

Hi Brother Singveld and Zeddy,

Any plans for holidays this coming year end? I'm planning to bring my wife to Hanoi-Sapa instead of the usual Hanoi-Halong Bay route. My brother ever went to Lao Cai (the town to pass by to go to Sapa and also the last town before one actually crosses the border to China) and he was saying that the chickens there only costs $10SGD a pop :o

Those places that both of you mentioned is off the budget for me. We are saving hard now for future uncertainties.

If you are going to Europe free & easy get a Eurail Pass & expect to do alot of walking:smile:

You have to get the Eurail Pass outside of Europe. Can't buy it in Europe itself.

Char_Azn

===

LOL your assistant...i wonder she is a sexy, foxy girl friday who likes to sit on your lap and sai-nai LOL...

btw, he/she tone down eh...scared being wiped out...

no lah...we want dankos around don't we...LOL

I have little problem with pple flaming me, bugging me or poking fun at me. My only problem with him right now is he freaking publish my office address in his sig once he remove that(which I think he did) I'm fine with him around.

I never pretend to be something I'm not so getting "exposed" never really affected me as much as some of the jokers in here. Whatever I said and do here, is reflected in my blog.

Char_Azn

If you are going to Europe free & easy get a Eurail Pass & expect to do alot of walking:smile:

You have to get the Eurail Pass outside of Europe. Can't buy it in Europe itself.

Actually U can buy it in Europe. I was in Europe and my Eurail pass and passport got stolen. I managed to purchase another one at the Train station. It's a bit more exp to buy it in Europe though