• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chillout

Yeah at Setia Tropika we have 2 years of free maintenance. My free maintenance is due to end in November this year.

But i guess this may be extended since my precint is not complete yet.

The new tenants too need 2 years of free maintenance right?

So i may end up getting 4 years.

Not bad i guess.

Keeping my fingers crossed now hoping for an additional 2 years of free security.

Just because the precinct is not complete, is no excuse to waive maintenance fee. My precinct is also not complete and we pay maintenance the moment title transfers.

Reason for maintenance fee is also to built up the sinking fund, which will be used for future improvement or additional work. Don't know what is the law here, but in Singapore, developer has to pay towards the maintenance/sinking fund for all unsold properties. So if developer waives your fee, the developer has to make up the shortfall for you coz it is not fair to others who are paying as they will bear the burden for the upkeep of the estate.

I will demand to see the book as I don't intend to pay towards the improvement work, so that the developer can sell their next project well. The wear and tear is due to heavy usage of the roads from construction of new precincts, therefore the cost should go towards the developer not residents. Transparency is the name of the game.

Chillout

I find it strange that condo maintenance fee in Malaysia seems to be not much cheaper than the condo maintenance fees in Singapore, whereas their condo prices are much cheaper. I have seen one old condo in JB with units asking RM250k to RM370k (depending on condition) and yet their maintenance fee is like 25 ct per sq ft and the condo unit size is about 2200 sq ft.

Condo maintenance in Singapore? I think generally quite ok leh except may be the really old or waiting for en-bloc ones? But one thing is the HDBs are very diligent at painting every 5 years while may not be that frequent for condos.

My sentiment exactly. My believe is nobody bothers to check out the accounts and it is left to the MCST/developer to do what they please. The fee we pay is for service rendered but one do not just quietly accept whatever is thrown your way and kowtow with a thank you for fear of being labelled complaint queen/Singaporean. This is nonsense as we are not living in public housing run by town council.

In LF, Mulpha will not hand over the running of the estate to the residents which has its pro and cons. It would be ideal if we get to vet the accounts and make sure that they do not conveniently pass some of the construction cost for new precincts to us.

Not true that condo does not need to be diligent with painting every 5 years. All buildings are required by law to paint every 5 years. Can stretch another year or so if the condition is still good.

contra

We went through a period of darkness afterwards, then strange thing happened, businesses picked up, my hubby worked very hard on his business. I didn't had go back to work since then. I think he also felt the same calling as you do. That is to provide. We are better off now, although still poor.... :smile:

Hi cathy,
your postings have been raw and real and touching. you have a good family, life partner and survived the tough life challenges. for those, you are one of the richest persons around...

InformedHH

I hope you have read through and realised that most people here in Johore can afford a lot more than what you can afford in your Pigeon hole.

Ur not welcome here.

We do not need people who want us to insult their intelligence. We are not that bad.

If however you try this stunt again or try and be rude to us watch it.

I am the self appointed gate keeper here.

There are business men here apart from investors like Wuqi, Cathy and jason amonst others.

Watch your tongue before you get scalded.:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Many thanks Avalon, for a minute I felt like I walked into a lion's den. Your welcoming reply is very much appreciated.

InformedHH

Thanks Wuqi. You are the only one out here who has analysed and replied to pleb well.

Most others have helped him reinforce his dumb brain cells that Singaporeans living across the causeway are a bunch of twits.

Hey guys,

Been down with really bad flu recently. Didn't feel well when i was back in SG and must have caught the flu bug.

Ok Pleb, as some of the folks here have already indicated, there is a wide range of people and different circumstances have made them make their move here.

There are people who are moving out here because of frustration living in a cooped up place with too many people. There are also lots who are escaping escalating costs in SG. Yet others who are here because they want to enjoy themselves with the clean air.

Amongst my neighbours, i have retired doctors, lawyers and an architect, all from Singapore. I also have a couple of divers who are living here. All of them still either have condos, HDB and/or landed property in Singapore. All can make it anytime they need to back in SG.

Take one of my closest friends here for example, he has 5 properties here plus his HDB back in SG. He recently sold off a private apartment back in SG. His HDB and cars are fully paid up. 2 of his properties here are fully paid up. He pays our SG government about 30k tax a year. His properties here are all rented out except for the one he stays in. His cars here are fully paid up. He is in his early 30s and have the same desire to be here as well.

So its not only the push factor that is part of the equation but the pull factor as well.

InformedHH

That is really nice. Horizon Hills is the place to be.

Yes they do, the specialists and doctors are all staying in Nusa Idaman and surronding properties. Had a tenant whose child was very sick and they were attended by specialist who arrived within 15 minutes.

InformedHH

Sorry wuqi, i was annoyed with his "if you could afford to live in Singapore statement". Annoyed me no end.

Bro InformedHH, i think pleb was just analyzing the factors that made us came out to JB and wanted to discuss.
Wishing all a great week and coming weekend. :smile:

InformedHH

Belated!!!

But better late than never.

You had sufficient time to ponder.

So well... Welcome to the forum.:smile:

Dear all,

apologies as I am under moderation so there is a lag in my posts.

To those who have replied to my question thus far, I really appreciate the candid replies.

The first chap who replied (other than the toto winner! - nice one btw), I rubbed him the wrong way so was taken aback with the barrage that ensued that I thought I entered a lion's den smeared with butcher juice, but subsequent replies have been really telling, constructive and definitely useful.

Well, the reason why I am asking is because I think I fall into the category where if all goes to plan, I should be able to achieve my goals within a reasonable time frame and probably still be able to live (survive?) in Sg , cost-wise. I'm not one to compare who has more or who spends more (we all have different needs and wants), etc, but my needs are fairly modest, and I am so lucky that my spouse's approach is congruent to mine. So, if I complete the execution of my plans well, we should be ok, not wealthy, but everything will be paid up in a few years.

Someone asked a bit about me. I'm middle aged, I run a small business. Very small. I used to be a corporate guy but left because I didn't feel the lifestyle was sustainable, earn more, somehow spend more, easy to get sucked into the "keeping up with joneses" syndrome - perhaps it was my industry, and weakness of my character at that time. I earn much less now, but am infinitely happier. Striking out on my own has taught me a number of very useful lessons, especially how to live well within one's means.

There has been a strong desire or maybe a feeling of restlessness, which prompted me to look beyond our shores. I have lived abroad before, in a number of countries, but I have been back in Sg permanently for 15 years already.

So I looked around, and it looks like Johor is the logical choice (I too like Camerons but it's a bit remote).

So as I go in and out while exploring etc, one of the questions I asked myself was well, if money wasn't a consideration, would I still be thinking of this move?

And that prompted my initial post.

Someone asked about my views on this, I am still undecided, but I think there is a tipping point. And perhaps, I am not beyond that point to make the stay in SG compelling. In other words, everything will be so much more manageable if I made the move, therefore the scale tips in the direction of change.

Well, as it stands, it looks like me and the mrs will take the plunge, and to Wuqi et al, many thanks for the constructive replies, prior and subsequent to this post.

We all have a different story, I for one, consider myself very lucky to have had the experiences I've had thus far.

And oh yes, very important: To some others who say those who reply "yes, if I had enough money, I wouldn't move", I do not think it suggests "loser" as someone crudely put. I don't think anyone mature enough would suggest this.

Anyone who's made the move out of choice, has the respect of many for the courage displayed for stepping into unchartered territory.

I hope that the original aggravated poster will be able to accept my conciliatory approach, as no angst was intended on my part.

The consideration to move, is not only one of logistics, but also whether or not emotional well-being, health, stress levels, etc improve over time. In this regard, it is not about the money...

Once again, thanks to all.

Pleb.

InformedHH

nice posting

Hi Pleb, I have not move in to Johor yet but it's a confirmed decision to do so as i have been looking for a place for a few mths nw. & I just sold my HDB a few days back so it's a matter of time before I move in to Johor. I would like to share with u my decision to do so. It is not a matter of $$$ since I m single, no family commitment & quite comfortable with my own lifestyle. Not for retirement too, I m only 35 tis year.....long way from it. For investment? Nah. IMHO, I believe Singapore properties still yield beta returns. So nw if u add it all up, why would a young single middle class Singaporean move in to Johor?......For Quality of Life.....I have stayed & worked in Seoul for six mths, had a house in Bkk, working in Singapore & travel bac every mth for 5-7days stay for 3 years. & I come to realized that Singapore is really one of the most undesirable place to live in these past few years. Working is still quite ok here. I stay in a HDB where there are alot of ppl arnd but when compared to a similar place I have in Bkk, the warmth, friendliness & the simplicity of the neighborhood, u can call it the "kampung" feel, Singapore pales in comparison. Compared with a big metropolitan lifestyle in Seoul, Singapore is like no where near it. Tho there are traffics jams, crowded public transports, dirty places in Bkk, high cost of living in Seoul etc but in general, the ppl are happier there & I can feel it cos I m human. With this said, I too can feel that the ppl in Singapore are mostly unhappy or have alot of problems with human relationships. Examples like estranged relationships, affairs & divorces are so common in Singapore. Look at the statistics of the things I mentioned & u will be surprise at where we rank. The constant rat race, the measure of one's worth by the car we drive, the house we stay, the clothes wear etc is stressful. And when all these are achieved, the new cycle starts again. The measure of one's wealth by Hw many cars we have, Hw many properties we have, on & on. Singapore has become a very superficial society. I am not impress by this type of life. Cos life is not just abt these to me at least. I m still young & single. Do I want to live the rest of my life measuring up to a society's expectations? Hell no. Do I want my children to grow up to be obsess with material gains, forgetting how to be happy with just what we are, where we are, who we are & who we are with? Hell no.....i m not saying Singapore is a bad place to live in for all of us. It is a country with many merits. But sadly, after living in it for 35 years, I felt that the country for the past few years went thru much drastic changes......I can go on & on abt the many reasons why I made this decision to move to Johor. Affordability is the least of it cos when I made the decision to sell my HDB, I was planning to buy a condo in Singapore. But eversince I went in to Nusajaya, I have not look bac since. Thanks to those who took time to view my humble posting.

InformedHH

Intime to come one of the universities there or the other will offer all the courses that rake in the bucks including computers and IT.

If im not wrong its RM 90k for one year. But you dun need good academic grades to go in.

So as long as you satisfy the basic eligibility criteria you are in.

I just checked the rates in Spore are S$ 20k a year for Singaporeans. But ofcourse its a gruelling admission process.

rm90k is for how many year huh? May I know? Am also thinking of send my kids to Nusajaya for their University educations. But proberly Computer related. Don't know whether got these kind of courses.

InformedHH

Dear Cathy, teachers dun earn a lot these days. Last time even worse.

http://www.moe.edu.sg/careers/teach/career-info/salary/

For so little money you want them to work like dogs is it?

Come on lah. Give them a break.

Handling a bunch of 30 idiots who have been pampered by their parents no end is no joke. And that too for such a measly pay.

Would you do their job for this pay?

Which reminds me of the degree qualifications requirements to teach in a primary school? Why do you need a degree to teach primary school subjects? It used to be mininmum 'A' Level. Now choose u-grads instead. But I thought passion for teaching is the most crucial thing.

Today is meet the parents day. The way they talk is like you better get you child to do these do that, as if I'm am the teacher responsible for their results. And if can't catch up better have extra tuition. Then what are teachers for? With the current scholar system and that kind of pay, I bet you are just going to attract those who are just in for the money. Not people who passionate enough to teach.

InformedHH

Thats creative.

My son is so interested in fixing gadgets that he wanna open his very own computer repair store at Sim Lim Square. He even save up to by his own toy securities gadgets like line traps and is asking to buy a laser beams....I bet he thought its so be fun! LOL!

InformedHH

You can call me damn rude for all i care.

But you are definitely not poor.

If you were... you would be living in a one room flat and taking up assistance from the Spore Govt. You would not be buying a property here.

Remember the welfare measures are really suited for the poor in Spore. However they may not suit the sandwiched class.

So chill off and remember you are not poor.

Dun try and act as one.

There is no free lunch nor free sympathy.

Tell Pleb that as well.

I don't know what is the reason for your move to JB, whether alternative lifestyle or whatever, but what gives you the right to call people who are looking for lower cost alternative for retirement as LOSERS? You are so damn rude! :mad:

Charlie258

My two and a half cents:

[-/abbreviated/]

Dun follow blindly what the Insurance agents/brokers/financial advisers in any

Im not talking about speculation. I dun speculate. Singapore has loads of speculators. I am not one of them.

Another important aspect regarding investments is where we try to be smarter than the analysts who invest in the markets by "Timing the Market"

Unless you are a PRO (which most of us are not) its never good to time the market.

DCA is a much better. You can grow your wealth slowly. There are those who argue that the associated costs are high. Yet the pros outweigh the cons and its a systematic and steady way to grow your nest egg.

Singapore is now offering DCA for past few years. However emerging markets have offered this and other creative investment methods for a much longer time.

I am no financial adviser. However what ever i have said is true.

Critics abound! Ofcourse!!

Oh my JB -->> Investments.
:o:o

Firstly let me just say I agree completely with your comments about the financial advisors/insurance agents/brokers/relationship managers/etc. These guys are a real piece of work, aren't they? No money and struggling along, and yet have the nerve and the gall to give "advice" to people far wiser, far more sophisticated, and far richer than they can ever hope to become in their pathetic lifetimes.

May I ask what you mean when you say DCA? Do you mean dollar cost averaging?

cathylmg

Intime to come one of the universities there or the other will offer all the courses that rake in the bucks including computers and IT.

If im not wrong its RM 90k for one year. But you dun need good academic grades to go in.

So as long as you satisfy the basic eligibility criteria you are in.

I just checked the rates in Spore are S$ 20k a year for Singaporeans. But ofcourse its a gruelling admission process.

Wow! Its about S$20K difference. And also can use our CPF if study in Singapore. I wonder if they will allow us to use our CPF for University education over that. If it comes true, it will be great!

Status
Not open for further replies.