• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

vincentck

When I reno my house, I plan on putting sufficient airconds... i know how it's like with insufficient air-conditioning in the house; Made a mistake with my first apmt, so now will do better. Thanks for your advice.

Anyway, I hope I don't use it as often as you guys, altho as of now, I have my room AC on to cool down my living room... hehhe

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Good for you Vincentck, always slightly overpowered and never underpowered. I made the same mistake for one of my houses. Now i know better. There are also exhuast/extractor fans you can get for your toilets or even for rooms if you have a high ceiling and in a house. You can also use an attic fan or those industrial types which spins by itself to get rid of warm or hot air in the house. Keeps it cool and reduces your bills. I use exhuast fans in the kitchen as well to get rid of the build up heat.

Analytical Professor

Yes you can tell the difference. I love wild pork. But dunno when i will have the great fortune to buy it.

ANd yes about the chicken. I cant agree less. In spore i only buy frozen chicken to save a few $. But in Malaysia i buy fresh chicken. Its so juicy and yummy. The first time i had a bite when we cooked it in our own home.... Wow... So succulent and juicy.

Nothing tastes like fresh. Isnt it Wuqi?

Agreed, the taste is.......special. You can tell the difference rightaway. Also, even the chicken here taste better, at least according to my learned relatives.

Analytical Professor

I just heard that Berjaya has obtained the license to start Cable TV services. Obviously they are gonna compete with Astro which means cable Tv prices will tumble.

By when? How fast? When will they have their distribution network available countrywide? I have no clue... Anyone got any idea?

Analytical Professor

Yeah LeMans quite far for me to travel.

But i love pork.

Nothing like fresh pork unlike the one we get in Spore.

Wah you really like pork. There is a morning market near the police post opposite Petronas (where you can take the bus to Jurong East). The pork comes in van sales that park there in the morning, usually by 9am it is gone, that is where i bought minced pork at MYR12 per kg. However this is on Bukit Indah Jalan Ceria side, might be too far for you.

Analytical Professor

Which highway you talking about Wuqi? Coastal?

You drove from where to where?

Lucky you.... if its the coastal one....

Im still waiting for my EDL.

But one good thing is since i love to shop around Bukit Indah the CH will help me zip to Causeway... Wow... Cant wait for that to happen...
Speaking of which, went "accidentally" through the new highway just now, this is steady
man, drove for 7 minutes as the highway is really almost done.

Analytical Professor

The movers will handle it for you.

Tong Carriage handled it for me.

So dun worry.

No need to sell bro.

Hi Polymin, did you have to pay "extra" for moving the fridge, TV and other electronic appliances? I'm planning to move to Nusajaya in October this year and I have a 42" LCD TV and a HTS system. Thinking of whether to sell it off in SG to avoid paying high taxes instead of moving it to Nusajaya. Thanks.

Analytical Professor

Yeah at KIP MArt the one near Skudai i could not find Pork. Probably halal. ur rite.

Il try the Bestmart. Is it the one at Nusa Bestari? OR are there any around ST where i live?

Pork you can get at Bestmart, i think Kipmart is halal if i am not mistaken. There is also a wet market that is near the Carrefour (near to) Tebrau city. Perling also has a wet market that is quite cheap.

Analytical Professor

Which "cheonging" you referring to? Bar/KTV/Massage?

:p:p

I think something happens at the Platinum Bistro too if i am not wrong? I just looked from outside... Not sure what goes on though..

By the way, bros who need to "chiong" will be pleased to know that there are many aplenty along Nusa Bestari side.

Just need to be more observant as my learned friends here found out recently.

QUOTE]

rw6akr

By the way, bros, there is the Notice of Assessment (March & Aug if i am not wrong) that one needs to pay by end of March i believe, if not you would incur penalty. Bros who are already living here please take note. The quit rent is by May and you can pay online. The Notice of Assessment (their version of property tax) can be paid near the Perling market (for those living at the 2nd link area) instead of going down to MPJBT.

I have managed to pay it online using HSBC (Malaysia) Internet Banking. Not sure if other banks can offer same service but I found it quite convenient.

There are actually two things to remember:
1. House Assessment (http://mpjbt.gov.my) - first Half by 28 Feb & Second Half by 30 Aug
2. Quit Rent - (http://onlinepayment.johor.gov.my) - before 31st of May

rw6akr

By the way, one of my learned friends here heard about Unifi:
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/10/15/business/7229175&sec=business
Supposed to be quite good but doesn't cover HH yet though.
It is already available at East Ledang and I'm quite happy to use it. My subscription is for 10Mbps and that allow me to watch IPTV online (~100 channels in Russian language) without problems. That includes normal TV like quality (most of the channels) and even HD channels and couple of 3D channels.

You can check if your area is covered and find additional information about the service using the link below:
http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=63&Itemid=213

The only disadvantage is price as it is quite more expensive than similar service in Singapore. Hopefully they can improve that with time...

LeMans2011

It is already available at East Ledang and I'm quite happy to use it. My subscription is for 10Mbps and that allow me to watch IPTV online (~100 channels in Russian language) without problems. That includes normal TV like quality (most of the channels) and even HD channels and couple of 3D channels.

You can check if your area is covered and find additional information about the service using the link below:
http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=63&Itemid=213
The only disadvantage is price as it is quite more expensive than similar service in Singapore. Hopefully they can improve that with time...

Had friends watching IPTV in SG with device purchased from Sim Lim... i think for their case the programs are in Chinese.
I wonder if the same device can be used over at EL. Can you share how much is the monthly subscription for this high speed internet? Ok i just saw at the website it must be MYR199 p/mth?

Analytical Professor

I paid my property tax at MBJB opposite waterfront

the Quit rent i did it online using a Credit Card.

I have managed to pay it online using HSBC (Malaysia) Internet Banking. Not sure if other banks can offer same service but I found it quite convenient.

There are actually two things to remember:
1. House Assessment (http://mpjbt.gov.my) - first Half by 28 Feb & Second Half by 30 Aug
2. Quit Rent - (http://onlinepayment.johor.gov.my) - before 31st of May

Analytical Professor

I fully agree with you that service at Setia Tropika especially the RC is fantastic. I have no problems with rectifications or any other issues.

Could the 3 year warranty offered by Setia be one of the reasons for its expensive pricing?

In addition someone told me its classified as Prime land? Now what the hell does prime land mean?

Why is it prime?

I went around hunting for houses from Dato Onn to Adda Heights tp Kempas Utama and back to Setia Tropika. I must say that their house is very expansive in local context. However their service is good. How's that for comparison?

Analytical Professor

Yes Cathy tuition fees have shot up dramatically. You know yesterday Tuition teacher 2 was supposed to come in the afternoon and at night to my house for mandarin lessons. Unfortunately she called sick and cancelled. She has done it many times and i have tried not to show my disappointment. That is one of the reasons that i have got tuition teacher no 1 who comes on mondays and wednesdays.

Tuition teacher no 2 is on tuesdays and thursdays. However this weekend we are not going over to ST. So tuition teacher no 2 is also coming on Saturday and Sunday. This is in addition to the afternoon lessons on 2-3 days for my son who is slighty weaker. He he...

Yeah Kiasu ism at its worst....

My tuition teacher no 2 gives lots of excuses like Grandpa fainted and bleeding, grandpa in hospital, i got flu its contagious, i got eye infection its contagious, i am very tired, the list is never ending.

Trust them to be innovative!

You sound like a tyipcal kiasu parent to me. keke!

I got this tutor sometime around Dec last year. She was teaching fulltime. During the holidays it was ok. Then after school reopen, she gave lotsa excuses for not coming. Sometimes stopping for 1 lesson then come, sometime 2 lesson every alternate week. Then it gets longger and longger. The reasons she gave was grandma pass away, fever, diarhea, outstations, blah, blah....Now she finally said that she could not concentrate on her business so she have to resign. I suspect she is choosing between students who are easier to teach lah. Nowadays tuition fees have shoot up so high, its so difficult to get a responsible teacher with a reasonable fee here.

Was hoping that I can get one in JB instead.

Analytical Professor

Thankfully Investor you atleast read me right:smile::smile:

Cheers..

Actually i got annoyed when i was read wrongly and wanted to shoot off on a tangent. But then better sense prevailed and i chose to not get offended.

Yes i was talking about the sustainability of the city in the long term. Hence i spoke about economy, seed capital from govt, non existence of MNCs, lack of an efficient PTS, low wages, kampung economy etc. Nothing to do with criticising anyone.

And when i meant Iskandar i meant the whole of Iskandar, not just NusaJaya.

Also when the lady wrote that she could not even make the money she invested it got me worked up quite a bit considering her location was pretty decent and considering that the amount she had put in 10 years ago was a pretty huge amount. Cause just 4 years back properties were still available at 200k rm.

I believe JB has reduced my stress levels and possibly added a couple of years to my life. And i am happy for that.

Analytical Professor - From my reading of your previous post, I realized that your concern is more of the long term(5-25 years) 'sustainability' of this new city. Most of us have the confidence in capital appreciation of Nusajaya's properties for the next 5 years and I believe that you feel the same way too. It's just that you suddenly worry about longer term, am I right? If it's one, there's nothing to worry about as long as you enjoy it and moreover it has the magic to add a few more years to your life, that's the beauty of it don't you agree? QUOTE]

Status
Not open for further replies.